Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general construction services, specializing in roofing and siding.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American West Contracting Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American West Contracting Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American West Contracting Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2000 Business started locally: 04/01/2000 Business incorporated 03/26/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Spear, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Spear, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 915 S Ridgewood Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98405 (253) 359-4371 (866) 741-6423

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The roof of my home was replaced by the company in 2011. It showed signs of leakage at the end of November, 2015. My entire living room ceiling and insulation had to be removed during mitigation. The hardwood floors and walls were damaged. I tried communicating with the company owner numerous times via emails, texts, and voice messages. He will not respond directly and never came out in person to view the extensive damage in progress. In December, Counter flashing was then installed by the ridge cap where the leaks were entering. More water came in days after this installation. He has charged me for this work that actually worsened the problem. At that point he sent out his project manager to temporarily cover only half of the roof. The manager said they had discussed the possibility of "raising the ridge cap" but did not explain why. I was told that the issues would be dealt with but then heard no more. On Jan. 29, 2016 I sent a priority letter to Mr. S**** detailing the problems and asking that his insurance cover the cost of a roof replacement. State Farm claim reps and another BBB affiliated roofer found the following, among other problems: 1) Soft decking, some of which appears to be from the original 1960 roof 2) TPO material poorly applied (this was the first job of its type that the roofer had done) 3) Ridge cap, vents and counter flashing inadequately installed and sealed 4) Many areas are spongy and dangerous to walk on, with pooling in low spots 5) a smell of mold is pervasive in my home This morning there is now staining and bubbling on the ceilings in my kitchen and back bedroom. My roof has failed, with insulation damaged along with the ceilings. The WeatherBond membrane is only warrantied for 15 years for the material itself when it comes to use on residences. Labor is not covered. My finances are extremely limited. My utility bills have gone up, along with the homeowner insurance deductible. It is damp, drafty and cold in my home.

Desired Settlement: Without any charge to myself: 1) Entire roof replacement, including new decking, repair of damaged areas such as fascia, preferably by another contractor. I have lost faith in the roofer. 2) Removal and replacement of ALL old insulation 3) Removal, replacement, prep and finishing of damaged ceiling and wall drywall 4) Refinishing of hardwood and tile flooring damaged in the process 5) Other resulting damages or needed replacements such as correctly installed roof vents that may come to light during the process 6) The company owner should reimburse the insurance deductible that I had to cover for the first round of damage. However, I wouldn't expect the company owner to pay for inside repairs already covered by my insurance for the living room unless further damage is discovered in the re-roofing process. Whether State Farm chooses to pursue subrogation is up to them. I want a final, reliable result that is of quality. This has been a highly stressful ongoing experience.

Business Response:

American West Contracting received a roof repair call from ***** ***** in late November 2015.    A very heavy rain and wind storm had occurred on Nov. 17th which killed three people and left several hundred thousand people without power.  Our roofing technician, Matthew A******, was sent out to see what happened.  Matt thought at first that wind driven rain had made its way into the vent system some how so he added some sealant in hopes to prevent it from happening and arranged to come back with a more permanent solution.  He went back in early December and added some extra metal baffles to the ridge vent to stop any wind driven rain from getting inside the Coravent Vent System.  We then billed for the work.  When it leaked again in January Matt went back out and placed a small tarp over the area until we came up with a new plan.  Since January we drafted a plan to raise the ridge vent so that no puddling water could seep in.  

 

We are still not certain why or how the water entered into the roof system in November 2015 but we made efforts to help fix the roof vent.  The roof installed in 2011 went through many other storms and years of wear and did not leak until shortly after a major storm in Nov. 2015.  

 

This project was contracted with American West Contracting through the City of Tacoma and ***** ***** with a one year labor warranty. The roof warranty ended in 2012.  We received a letter from ***** ***** stating that she refused to pay the invoice since the roof is still not fixed.  I understand that the flashing repair did not work so I removed the invoice from our system and have been waiting to hear back from ***** about the new proposed roof repair. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Robert S****

Owner

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Since filing the complaint there have been 3 additional professionals to inspect American West’s work.  The news has been progressively worse.  Another roofer was here on March 22 who had extensive low pitch roof experience. Among other things, the ridge cap looks to be installed incorrectly, if in fact the roof pitch lent itself to the success of one at all. 

A consultant contractor and a manufacturer’s rep inspected on April 11.  Their report is being processed.  I don’t expect it to be radically different than what the previous 4 professionals had to say.  I have also received a response from the Cor-a-Vent company, and am trying to clarify a couple points.

My roof actually HAS been deteriorating from the very beginning due to multiple things done just plain wrong or sloppily. Mr. S**** tries to isolate the leak source to the ridge vent.  He blames the weather and the municipal department that handled my loan, apparently taking no responsibility for installations done poorly, or ongoing damage, while citing a ONE year warranty.  Okay, let’s go there.  Adequate airflow isn’t present between the ceiling and roof. I question whether air sealing work was performed on the gypsum board ceiling before the insulation was installed. Water and condensation have been collecting under my entire roof since 2011.  Ongoing deterioration in the opposite back corner of my house shows that more is happening than just ridge cap failure in the front half.  It just took El Nino to bring this to light.  Many people have ridge caps that don’t leak into their homes.  The counterflashing, or metal baffling worsened an already bad issue with the ridge cap, NOT addressing other significant problems.  A one year warranty?  Regardless of what the municipal department guaranteed, the roofer doesn’t have the honor and pride of workmanship to go beyond that? 

 

It appears that my home has “wet-roof failure” due to inappropriate use and poorly done application of the WeatherBond TPO membrane on a residential low pitch roof with both incorrect and old insulations, poor venting, and differences in outer and interior temperatures promoting condensation in an already rainy locale. Photographs from the ServPro water mitigators show the mess developing under the roof.  It’s ugly.  I offered to the owner all my photographs in addition to those received from State Farm, ServPro, and two BBB roofers. He hasn’t accepted, or even shown up to personally check the damage.

In addition, the owner’s dates are off in his response. I have seen no one since December 18, 2015. I initially contacted the owner on Nov. 28, 2015 with follow-ups on 11/30 & 12/03. His technician came out on Friday, Dec. 4, and installed counter flashing (metal baffles). The repair invoice was dated 12/07, emailed 12/09.  On December 18th there was water running down the center beam in my living room, pooling on the hardwood floor. Across the room, drip stains were appearing on the clear plastic put up in place of the ceiling and insulation removed by the mitigators. The technician came that day to put a plastic cover over only half the length of the ridge vent.  When leaving he said that he didn't know how or when, but that they would take care of whatever the problem was.

I told him that much more than the ridge cap was at issue.  By that point, the State Farm claims inspector said she had "serious concerns" about the ENTIRE roof.  On a 4+ year-old roof, she found spongy decking that was unsafe to walk on.  She herself had already talked to the owner. He told her flat-out that he had no intention of further action. I had also contacted WeatherBond, and a rep talked to him as well. Yet at no point has the owner looked at the deteriorating roof and progressive interior damage.

 

A second copy of the flashing bill arrived on January 29, 2016 which was the first contact since the temporary cover. I sent a Priority, tracked letter that day to the business. It detailed what had been happening and my concerns, plus questioning why I should pay for work resulting in more damage.  I heard nothing until reaching out to the municipal department that administered my loan for home repairs. A representative contacted him on March 14.  He emailed a rebuttal to us on the 15th, stating that he'd sent me a proposal to raise the ridge cap.  I had literally just received it in the mail, after contacting the department.  In the BBB response, he says he's waited to hear back from me in regards to the proposed $900 ridge cap raise.  However, I’d already answered in a March 16 email to him and the municipal rep :

 

"The quote I just received is asking me to pay $900 to fix the ridge cap that he should have known would need to be higher to begin with.  The fact that the cap is rusting, and that the sealing wasn't done well in areas makes this proposal unconscionable."

 

I'd call that a "No" to his proposal.

 




Sincerely,

***** *****

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Just because a business owner says they have a good record doesn’t make it so.  He may have an A+ rating but there is at least one BBB complaint on record other than mine under this business name.  The contractor had a tax problem with the Dept. of Labor and Industries.  Other issues since the early 2000s when the original company was formed are listed under the contractor's name on the Washington State Courts site.  The most recent is dated in 2016.

In response to some of the business owner’s points :  This company may be doing 30 jobs a month now, but probably not in 2011 when working on the roof and other areas of my home.  There should have been more oversight on the job.  As said before, my residence was the first where the company installed a membrane roof.  The roofer was required to take a class to learn how to do this correctly.  Apparently that knowledge wasn’t passed on to his workers.  Some things were done wrong or poorly. My concerns were dismissed and brushed off.  My guess is that if they installed TPO on subsequent residences, especially those with low-pitch roofs (mine is around 2/12), problems will be coming to light.  The follow up of a ridge cap wasn’t a good choice, and most likely didn’t follow manufacturer’s specs.

How is it that the business owner says on April 22nd that “I have seen maybe pictures and know exactly what is going on” since his prior response around April 13th  of  “We are still not certain why or how the water entered the roof system…?” Other construction professionals suggest that the reason this roofer didn’t come out personally to look is because he knew what a bad job was done.  I’m not sure about his reference to “maybe” pictures.  Only 4 could be uploaded on BBB.  This time I’ve included a zip file of interior shots, plus 3 more photos.  In December I offered a flash drive with all pictures from (by now) 5 different sources including drone shots, that he chose not to accept.  That drive was instead given to the city contracting consultant on April 11, 2016. 

His assistant has been out here twice, not “several times.”  His last visit was Dec. 18, 2015.  I have a living room with a plastic sheeting ceiling, no insulation, mildewy smell, and belongings shifted around for going on half a year.  Add to that the stress while trying to resolve worsening problems, and health issues stemming from this deterioration.  Allergies are developing that I haven’t had before. Recently I had my first migraine in 42 years. I’m concerned about black mold, both above the ceiling, and under the siding. The damage seems to be especially worse directly above my bedroom on the North back side.

The fascia and soffiting have been affected.  The electrical wiring is possibly compromised.  Most of the gypsum board ceiling and all insulation will need to be replaced.  Spraying it with antimicrobial solution won’t be acceptable.  My utility costs have risen.  This is despite keeping the thermostat set during the winter at a balmy 62 degrees during the day, and 60 at night.  My homeowner’s insurance has gone up.  I’m on an extremely limited income. 

The municipal department should be involved with reparations.  I agree with that much of what the business owner has said.  Whichever city inspector passed this job must have not known much about either low pitch roofs or correctly installed TPO.  Although the contractor blames problems on the department’s influence in the choice and use of insulation, the carport TPO covering also shows deterioration as first noted by the State Farm rep.  There’s no insulation there, just improperly applied membrane.  

After the consultant submits his report of findings with that of the TPO rep, the business owner is welcome to verify by going on my roof as long as he’s with someone I trust.  I’m leery of having more people up there because of the spots that are simply unsafe to walk on.  His opportunity to make things right when I was keeping this between the two of us is over.  Almost 4 months passed before I contacted the municipal department and BBB.  The only communication from the company since Dec. 18, 2015 were 2 bills despite the letter I sent to the contractor in January asking him to talk with me.   A proposal for a $900 fix arrived when I contacted the city in March. 

Whether repairs are funded through business insurance, bond, or a combination with the city, I have already paid substantially for this mess and owe for the initial loan paying for the company’s work.  Plus, I paid my home insurance deductible of $1156 towards the claim I had to make in December.  I should be reimbursed.  Why should I contribute another cent that I don’t have anyway?

American West will not be working on my house again.  Another contractor will have to do the repairs.  There are other options that I’ve been reluctant to pursue, but will if an acceptable resolution is not offered.  The value of my house which is my main investment has been negatively affected.  My home where I hoped to live out my life is uncomfortable and damaged.  Yes, it really IS that bad.  All things considered, I’ve been patient.

 

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: I have read the remarks and have stated everything I know about this complaint.

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired American West Contracting to fix our deck including changing the posts for a two level deck. After the deck was completed, and we paid in full for the deck. After that, they installed the railings; at which time we noticed that the railings are not level. We asked them to fix the railing, but they couldn't. We then noticed that it was the deck itself that was not level. We have contacted the company multiple times to fix the deck problem, they insisted that we pay for the railing first and extra money to fix the deck before they show up. We insisted that the railing cannot be leveled until the deck is level, and that they need to fix the deck first. Unfortunately, they did not show up to fix the deck after multiple attempts from us to contact them, and they insist that it is "not their problem" that the deck was not level even though they changed the posts of the deck. In addition, they are threatening us by charging interests on the "railing money that we owe" at 2% a month which we had no prior agreements. In addition, they are threatening to lien our house.

Desired Settlement: We need to fix the deck so it is safe for people to walk on. Either they fix it to our satisfaction which means up to code or we hire someone else to fix it and we will have to subtract the cost from their estimate.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/01) */ I, ****** *****, DBA American West Contracting, Co. entered into a deck repair and replacement contract and also a railing contract over seven months ago. Due to changes in the railing contract the project exceeded two months and was completed in late July 2014. The deck in question was contracted as a deck repair which included replacing the decking and two large round posts. The contract specifically stated that any other structural repairs (i.e. beams and joists.) were not included and would be considered additional work orders. During the project we found two joists to be rotted and repaired them. It was noted after replacement of the decking, posts, and railing that the sixteen foot long beam on the lower deck was out of level. The house was built in 1975, recently purchased by **** and ****, and has a deck beam that is not level. **** and ****, nor me, nor my employees, knew about it until after we did deck repair work. The entire deck is 16 feet long and projects 6 feet out from the house. The deck slopes from one side to the other by approx. 1.5". If we had replaced the entire deck this issue would not have come up. I do not think that it is my responsibility to repair the deck beam at no cost especially since we contracted to only replace decking, posts, and railings, and noted in the contract that the existing other structural members were excluded. I offered to fix the beam for $750. The homeowners not only refused to pay the $75 dollars for repairing the rotted joists but also refused the $750 offer to repair the beam and claimed that it should have been done during the repair of the decking and posts. After multiple conversations about how neither of us knew the beam was not level, that it was not part of the contract, and their refusal to pay for the railing I was forced to threaten interest charges and property lien. The homeowners, **** and ****, have left me with over seven thousand dollars of debt as I have paid for all the materials and labor for the railings on three different decks. The materials were over five thousand dollars. Because of the refusal to pay for the additional rot repair I asked **** and **** to pay for the railings first before I could help them with the beam. They refused. This disagreement has gone on for over three months and I need this money to run my operations so I recently offered to split the cost to repair the beam ($375). I have not heard back.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American West Contracting Co
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)