Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sharp Estates Construction Inc

Phone: (253) 549-3303 PO Box 15, Fox Island, WA 98333 http://sharpestatesconst.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential remodeling services including consultation and design, kitchen, bath, additions, decks, and fences.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sharp Estates Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sharp Estates Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sharp Estates Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2008 Business started: 05/01/1992 Business started locally: 05/01/1992 Business incorporated 05/26/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andy Sharp, Owner Mr. George Sharp, aka Andy
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Sharp, Owner
Business Category

Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements - Additions Painters - Commercial or Residential Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Contractor - Commercial Kitchen Remodeling All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7am - 6pm
Method(s) of Payment
cash, check

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 15

    Fox Island, WA 98333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Are new business hired Sharpe Estates Construction for General Construction. The contract was signed but we never received a scope of work for the architect or electrical design. Meetings were held and in spite of our opinion, the GC apparently approved the architect to do the work. The architect was *** *************** ******* Two weeks later, we were charged for 106 hours of architectural work even though never gave final approval. This included pictures and schematics of a finished product. When we inquired about the work, the architect claimed that his wife worked on the design with him since the GC said it was an urgent matter thus the 106 hours worked in two weeks charged. This came as a shock to our team. I have already paid almost $10,000 for work that was incomplete and that I will not use anyway. Furthermore, we hired someone else to do a design with engineering for $3,000. An adjacent business did similar work for $10,000 (design/engineering) for a 30,000 sq ft project; ours was 10,000 sq. ft. The issue is work was done without prior approval by the customer. Account_Number: Contract

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund ** believes he is entitled to further payment. We request that no further payment be made. We have full documentation and witnesses to attest to these claims.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/21) */ This client hired Sharp Estates to prepare designs and a budget for a tenant improvement project. He expressed that great haste was required, and that his quality expectations were high. We have a signed contract for the design and research. The contract stated clearly our hourly rate for this work, which he approved before any work began. We met several times as the designs progressed and we began developing a preliminary budget commensurate with the designs. The budget was higher than the client was prepared for, and he began insinuating that we were overcharging him, when in fact the terms of our arrangement were clearly stated in the contract. The high budget figures were nothing more than a function of the design that the client was requesting, and he was simply unprepared for the expense of what he was asking for. We communicated that if he wanted the project to cost less, then he would have to scale back the design, which he said he was unwilling to do. He is saying that the issue is work done without approval which is entirely untrue. We had several design meetings to discuss and refine our progress, and he was very enthusiastic until the preliminary budget figures began coming in. After terminating our contract and refusing to pay for work that he contracted us to do, he is now responding to our insistence that he pay by making unfounded claims about our intentions, which had always been stated clearly in our contract. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) GC definitely did not consult us prior to approving an architectual expenditure for $15,000 USD. Furthermore, the GC continued to insist that the budget should be above $400,000 when in fact the actual and final budget is $106,000. The GC wanted my partners to convince me to accept this budget. I have paid the GC/architect almost $10,000 and terminated the contract. Our firm decided not even to use his work and we started over. The new architect/engineer cost $3,000 in total. Again, it was fortunate that we terminated the contract when we did, otherwise we would've paid the majority of our budget to the GC for unapproved work. In fact. the architect was surprised that he did not have more direct contact with us, the client, in order to get the appropriate project and design. It is the fiduciary responsibility for the contract to act on behalf of the client. To not have a scope of work defined with at least two or three different bids from various contractors is unprofessional and unacceptable to us. I will be very happy to submit our bids that we have received for all contract work in a court of law in order to show the egregious nature and unprofessionalism given by the general contract Sharpe Estates. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/08) */ This client hired Sharp Estates to prepare designs and a budget for a tenant improvement project. He expressed that great haste was required, and that his quality expectations were high. We have a signed contract for the design and research. The contract stated clearly our hourly rate for this work, which he approved before any work began. We met several times as the designs progressed and we began developing a preliminary budget commensurate with the designs. The budget was higher than the client was prepared for, and he began insinuating that we were overcharging him, when in fact the terms of our arrangement were clearly stated in the contract. The high budget figures were nothing more than a function of the design that the client was requesting, and he was simply unprepared for the expense of what he was asking for. We communicated that if he wanted the project to cost less, he would have to scale back the design, which he said he was unwilling to do. Now that our relationship has been terminated by the client, he is refusing to pay the balance owing on the design and research that he contracted with us. He is stating that since terminating our contract, he has found another designer and contractor to do the work for significantly less. This assertion may be true, but if it is, then he has altered the design significantly. What he had requested from Sharp Estates was a design for 4,000 sq feet of growing and processing rooms, an office/ control room and bathroom, including shower. We were also arranging the placement and connection of a mobile home on the property, including plumbing, electrical and sewer connections. He was shown these preliminary designs, which he approved, and a budget which he did not. He is stating that I was trying to force him to accept the budget. This is not true. I was trying to get him to accept that the budget was commensurate with the level of design he was requesting, based on the initial estimates I was receiving. I clearly communicated that if he did not have the amount of money available to do the work we had designed, he would have to scale the design back. I did press him for a decision on this point, because it was necessary to furnish subcontractors with final designs in order to get the accurate budget figures he was requesting. He simply replied that we would have to find a way to do it for less. The budget amounts he is now stating that he is getting the work done for indicate that the design has been scaled back considerably from what he initially contracted us to do. We were being asked for 4,000 sq. feet of finished space, which included a reasonable amount of demolition and reconstruction of an existing space, and included a mobile chain hoist, in addition to extensive ventilation, plumbing and electrical requirements. There is no possible way that he is building the space that he asked us to design for the figures he is stating in his complaint. He has redesigned his project, and is electing not to pay us, because he is not using our designs, despite his contractual obligation to do so. I have been absolutely clear, forthright and honest in my communication with the client, and always endeavored to give him what he was requesting. He has thanked me for this effort by forcing me to take him to court to get him to honor his contract, and by lodging complaints that I am acting unprofessionally. These claims are completely unfounded.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sharp Estates Construction Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)