Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc

Phone: (360) 435-6992 Fax: (360) 435-3588 View Additional Phone Numbers 18931 59th Ave NE  Ste 5, Arlington, WA 98223 http://www.rainydaybs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers drainage and waterproofing services for crawl spaces and basements, and also stabilizes settling foundations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 2007 Business started: 12/01/2006 in WA Business started locally: 12/01/2006 Business incorporated 11/30/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Malsch, President Mrs. Lovisa Malsch, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Malsch, President
Business Category

Contractor - Crawl Space Concrete Repair/Leveling Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Sump Pump Contractors Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Contractor - Insulation Waterproofing Contractors Basement Waterproofing Dehumidifying Equipment Waterproofing Materials Mold & Mildew Inspection Mold & Mildew Remediation Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Insulation Removal All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Method(s) of Payment
cash, check,all major credit cards, and also offer financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 18931 59th Ave NE
    Ste 5

    Arlington, WA 98223 (877) 724-6992 (360) 435-6992

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company claims they will provide a free written estimate. After 6 months, and 2 email reminders asking for the written or emailed estimate, this has still not been provided.

Desired Settlement: I would like the written estimate, via postal mail or email, that their advertising states I am entitled to, and which they confirmed via email that they would send to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/04/24) */ Thursday, April 24, 2014 Regarding: XXXXXXXX RDBS Customer #XXXXX ********, ****** **** ***** ** Anacortes,WA 98221 Dear BBB Resolutions Consultant, At Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc. (RDBS) we value our customers, our reputation, and our membership in the BBB. We take great pride in providing excellent products and services to our clients and in providing responsive "Wow" customer service. We are extremely dismayed that this particular homeowner has chosen to file a complaint against us in spite of our best efforts to resolve his concerns. We feel the complaint is the result of a misunderstanding on the homeowner's part and find it somewhat ironic that the type of repair this homeowner needs is not even within the scope of services that our company provides or has ever provided! RDBS joined the BBB at the earliest date possible after starting our family owned and operated Company in 2006. As you know a business must be legitimate and remain in business for a year before becoming eligible to apply for membership. After the waiting period, we became an Accredited Member of the BBB in 2007. To our knowledge, after meeting with thousands of homeowners to provide free estimates, and after repairing hundreds and hundreds of homes, until now, we have never received a single complaint from anyone. We were very excited this last year when after being in business for the required 7 years we finally received the BBB's A+ rating we had sought after and worked so hard to achieve. Because RDBS keeps an up to date data base of all phone calls and communications with anyone who calls our company, I have been able to thoroughly review our records of all contacts/communications with this homeowner. Additionally, it was I personally, who met with this homeowner on 9/12/2013 so I have first-hand recollection of meeting with him. Our first contact with this homeowner was when he called at 11:28 am on 8/5/2013 and left a message requesting a return call. We called back at 11:56 am the same day and answered his questions about the services we provide. Our office staff attempted to make an appointment to provide an estimate, but the homeowner was not yet ready to schedule. On 8/6/2013 the homeowner called back again and our office staff scheduled to provide a free estimate on 9/12/2013 at 2:00 pm with the owner of RDBS. On 8/7/2013 our RDBS staff followed up by sending a "pre-mailer" with color brochures and educational information about the services we provide, financing options, and some other information about the upcoming appointment, a personal profile of the estimator who would be meeting with him, and how long the appointment would take. On 9/5/2013 our office staff called and left a message to confirm the appointment time with the homeowner. On 9/10/2013 the homeowner called back and confirmed the appointment. On 9/12/2013 our owner called at 1:40 pm after leaving his previous appointment to let the homeowner know he was in route and would be arriving about 15 minutes late due to the prior appointment running late. On 9/12/2013 the owner/president of RDBS met with this homeowner at his residence to assess his concerns with his garage settlement issues. Our owner did a thorough inspection of the foundations which support the garage and house. He carefully measured and made a "job drawing." He then checked the elevations of the foundation, garage floor, driveway, some concrete patios, and walks. It was determined that the foundation itself was stable and had not settled, but the garage floor, driveway, and patios were settling because they had been placed on poorly compacted backfill. At this point our owner reviewed his findings and provided the homeowner with a thorough explanation of the nature and extent of his settlement issues. Our owner then explained the difference between foundation settlement and slab settlement and the difference between "piering" repairs and "slabjacking" type repairs. The homeowner was told that the type of repair he needed was "slabjacking." Our owner explained that this was good news for the homeowner because generally speaking "slabjacking" repairs are usually much less disruptive, and also much less costly than "piering" repairs. Our owner then explained that although RDBS does provide "piering" repairs, we do not currently provide "slabjacking" services ourselves but we do network with other contractors who do. Our owner then offered to refer the homeowner to a reputable contractor who provides that type of work and offered to call that contractor right then and there if the homeowner wanted him to. The homeowner said he understood what had been explained to him and appreciated all the work our owner had done so far and that he would also appreciate being referred to a "slabjacking" contractor. Our owner then called the other contractor, put him on speaker phone, introduced the homeowner, and proceeded to explain the nature and extent of the slab settlement. Our owner was then able to get a verbal ballpark estimate from the other contractor for the repairs needed. The other contractor offered to schedule the work and was willing to send an estimator out to provide a free written estimate with an exact price for the work. At that point the homeowner said he did not want to schedule the work or the estimate because he was going on a trip out of town and preferred to wait till after he returned. The homeowner asked how long the estimate was good for and our owner said he did not know about the other contractor's estimate, but that our estimates are valid for 60 days. The homeowner then said he was sorry for calling us out for something we don't do, but our owner explained to him that we do not mind at all because quite often we do find foundation settlement issues that we can repair when homeowners are experiencing issues like his, and it's just not possible to make the determination of what is settling and which type of repair is needed unless we've come out and done an inspection. Our owner then offered to inspect his crawlspace as well while he was there but the homeowner declined to have him do so. Our owner then left. He had spent approximately 2 hours with the homeowner and done his best to provide good information and assist the homeowner in acquiring a free estimate from another contractor for services he needed that our company does not provide. On 12/9/2012 (three months later) the homeowner emailed RDBS at 8:48 am stating that our owner had said he would email an estimate and that he had not received it yet and asked to receive the estimate. At 12:08 the same day our office staff replied to the email stating that they would let the owner know and that he would be in touch to arrange for the estimate. (Our office did not realize that the homeowner had already been told we do not do this type of work." At that time the owner had injured his back and was at home on bed rest. Even though he was still off work for a couple weeks, the next week our owner attempted to call the homeowner to provide the contact information for the "slabjacking" contractor. Our owner then tried to call again after the holidays. In both cases there was no answer, and there was not a working voice mail where a message could be left. On 2/16/14 the homeowner emailed RDBS again stating that he had waited another 2 months and still wanted the estimate. Our office staff then called our owner who was out on appointments and left a message that he needed to call the homeowner right away. At his next opportunity between appointments our owner again called the homeowner's number and once again there was no answer and no opportunity to leave a message. Our owner attempted calling several times that day and the next, with the same results. On March 18 our RDBS office staff received a call from the BBB that this homeowner had filed a complaint and still wanted us to provide him with an estimate. Our co-owner was called by our office and she called the BBB that day to respond to the complaint. Our owner was then informed of the complaint and he once again tried to call the homeowner. This time he answered! At this point our owner informed the homeowner that he had tried repeatedly to return his calls but that he never answered. The homeowner claimed that he never received a message and our owner replied that he could not leave one. The homeowner said he found that odd since as far as he knew his voicemail worked fine. Our owner then reminded the homeowner that our company does not provide "slabjacking" services and that he had tried to connect him with someone who could when he was out at the home but that it was the homeowner himself who had stated that he did not want the written estimate at that time and that he would wait till after his trip. After a moment of silence the homeowner simply said, "Well I want the estimate now". Our owner then asked why he had filed the complaint and the homeowner said, "Because your website promises a free written estimate and you failed to do so. I have waited 6 months and I want the estimate." At this point our owner was beginning to feel that this customer was not recalling the facts correctly and was also being disagreeable and unreasonable. Our owner then asked if the homeowner would retract the complaint if he provided him with the other contractor's contact information. The homeowner said he would not. At this point, our owner said he was reluctant provide the homeowner with the other contractor's contact information if the homeowner who knows we do not do this type of work was not willing to retract his unreasonable complaint. The homeowner then said, Well then, I guess this conversation is over" and hung up on our owner. Our owner tried again to call the homeowner back but the phone now went into voice mail. Our owner then left a message that the homeowner was being unreasonable and he could not in good conscience provide the contact information for the other contractor if this was the manner in which the homeowner would also treat his contractor friend. We have had no other contact with this homeowner since he hung up on our owner. It is ironic that the homeowner is still stating to the BBB that he still wants the written estimate from us! We apologize to the homeowner if we have in any way offended or disappointed him, but we simply cannot provide an estimate for services our company does not provide! In retrospect our owner apologizes to the homeowner and the BBB that he did not call the office staff when he could not reach the homeowner and have them send an email stating that he was trying to call and unable to leave messages. Our owner also again requests that the homeowner try to understand that after missing a lot of work due to his back injury our owner was extremely busy out in the field and was not in the office to reply to the homeowner's emails. Since this homeowner had already been advised that we do not do this type of work, and when he was not reachable by phone to clear up the misunderstanding and allow us to point him I the right direction, our owner feels that this complaint is invalid and unsubstantiated and should be dismissed. We respectfully feel this is a willful misrepresentation by this homeowner, for reasons we do not understand, of this homeowner's experience with our company. Our company would greatly appreciate any efforts the BBB can provide to resolve this complaint and not have it blemish our record with the BBB. Since like most businesses we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone, at this point in light of this homeowner's verbal statements to our owner and his refusal to be reasonable, we would not be willing to provide an estimate for any repairs on any property owned by this homeowner, nor would we be willing to refer this homeowner to another reputable and trusted contractor within our network. Finally, we take this complaint very seriously. Although we did engage in a couple of phone conversations with the BBB regarding this mater, we have not responded to this complaint in writing till now because our owner and co-owner were out of town from 3/31/2014 till 4/15/2014. As you might appreciate we were extremely busy just before we left town and were also quite busy catching up during the first week after our return. Warm Regards, *** ****** President Rainy Day Basement Sysems, Inc. ***@rainydaybs.com Cell: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Office: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Toll Free: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ****** was going to provide me the written estimate via email. He stated he could mail it, but then he decided email might be better. That is why I have emailed twice asking for the written estimate. Also, he claims he was not able to leave a phone message...this seems to be a fabrication because my voicemail has been working fine all during this time. Even if there were problems with voicemail, why did he choose not to send an email stating that I was mistaken and would not receive a written estimate. Email has been confirmed to be "working" just fine. Mr. ****** is also forgetting what he said to me on the phone...that he would not provide an estimate "especially since you filed a complaint against me". I never stated that I would be unwilling to retract my complaint, and he never offered any contact info for another business. He also offered multiple reasons why he had not sent an estimate...none of which explains why they didn't just send a brief email. Since he refuses to send me a written estimate, I would be happy if he would just send me the job drawing that he made, along with the ballpark cost for the job. However, I do feel he has been dishonest in this matter, especially given the fact that email was confirmed to be working and yet no attempt was made to explain things in writing via email. If things were as he stated, why would he not simply clarify that via email? I know this is a case of one word versus another, but his statements do not fit the facts. In summary, if he would just send the job drawing and the ballpark figure for the job cost, I would consider the matter closed. Final Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2014/07/07) */ 07/07/14 Dear BBB Staff, We are extremely dismayed that this particular homeowner has chosen to file a complaint and has continued to pursue it in spite of our best efforts to resolve his concerns. We extend our most sincere apologies if our inability to provide an estimate when we were at this home has somehow offended or disappointed him, but we simply cannot provide an estimate for services our company does not provide! This complaint is the result of a misunderstanding on the homeowner's part. It is also quite ironic that even though this homeowner is fully aware that the type of repairs needed is not within the scope of services that our company provides (or has ever provided) that he continues to pursue it! We have had no other contact with this homeowner since he hung up on our owner. It is not reasonable that after all these months the homeowner is still stubbornly insisting to the BBB that he wants us to provide a written estimate when he was told from the outset of the free inspection and again in our previous response to the BBB that our company does not provide the services he needs! Our company does frequently refer this type of work to other reputable contractors. In an effort to help him we even called one of these contractors while we were at his home, and tried to arrange for him to receive an estimate from them for what he needed. The homeowner was about to leave for a vacation and did not want to get the other contractor's estimate at that time. We could not have done more than we did! Please take note that this homeowner did not even attempt to contact us again for several months after our free inspection. The owner of RDBS again requests that the homeowner please try to understand that after missing a lot of work due to his back injury our owner was extremely busy out in the field and was not in the office to reply to the homeowner's emails. Our office staff certainly would not have told him we would be providing an estimate if they had been aware the homeowner was already told we do not provide those services. When the homeowner was not at first reachable by phone our owner tried again and did attempt to leave a message. When our owner did finally reach him in person via phone, the homeowner hung up on our owner when he tried to clear up the misunderstanding. In retrospect our owner apologizes to the homeowner that he did not call the RDBS office staff when he could not reach the homeowner via phone and have them send an email stating that he was trying to call and unable to leave messages. Our post inspection experience with this homeowner leaves us no choice but to conclude that this is now a willful misrepresentation by this homeowner, for reasons we do not understand, of this homeowner's experience with our company. Finally, like most businesses, we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone. In light of this homeowner's verbal statements, his hanging up on our owner when we tried to call and clear this up, and his refusal to be reasonable, even if this homeowner needed the services we DO provide, we would no longer be willing to provide any estimates for any repairs on any property owned by this homeowner, now or in the future unless he were to take a different bent and apologize for and retract this misrepresentation. Nor would we be willing to refer this homeowner to another reputable and trusted contractor who could provide these services. Because of this homeowner's unreasonable attitude our owner feels that this complaint is invalid, unsubstantiated, and should be dismissed. Our company would greatly appreciate any efforts the BBB can provide to resolve this complaint respectfully asks that you dismiss it as ridiculous and not have it blemish our previously spotless record with the BBB. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 26, 2014/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't believe it is unreasonable to expect to receive something that was promised. I believe the owner is falsely stating that I was told I would not receive a written estimate since they don't do this type of work. Also, the owner states that I hung up when he was trying to clear up the misunderstanding...actually I asked the owner for exactly what I am asking now, but I was told by the owner 'I won't provide that to you, especially after you filed a complaint against me'. The owner was about to hand me the job drawing with an estimated cost, but then decided he needed to do some finishing touches and he stated he would email it to me. This was the reason why I contacted them twice via email...because I was still expecting this info to be emailed to me. The owner continues to state that he tried unsuccessfully to contact me by phone....yet no one else had any problems leaving messages on my phone during the time in question. And the owner is stating he did not contact me via email because he was busy or infirm...yet why did no one tell me that in an email. Instead, I emailed twice seeking assistance, and received none. Either way, I was promised the drawing and a written estimate of the cost via email. That is all I am requesting...and if he can no longer provide the job drawing, then just an email stating the ballpark figure for the cost of the repairs and the areas that would be repaired (i.e., sidewalk entrance to the house, driveway, garage, and backyard patio). This is not unreasonable. In summary, even though this is one person's word against another, I feel the BBB should take into account the fact that the owner failed to respond and clarify things via email (which was working fine), claims to have attempted to call but was not able to get through (even though no one else reported a problem with calling or leaving messages), and it was only after I filed the complaint that the owner finally contacted me. Also the BBB should consider the fact that the owner refuses to provide something as simple as an estimated cost and what repairs were included in that cost.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rainy Day Basement Systems Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart