Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Reliable Credit Association Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 462-3000 Fax: (503) 462-3040 View Additional Phone Numbers 10690 SE Mcloughlin Blvd, Milwaukie, OR 97222 http://www.reliablecredit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers direct loans and dealer sales financing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reliable Credit Association Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Reliable Credit Association Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Reliable Credit Association Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1959 Business started: 09/01/1958 Business started locally: 09/01/1958 Business incorporated 09/30/1958 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs
Phone Number: (503) 378-4140
dcbs.dfcsmail@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee Holzman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Holzman, President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
Reliable Credit Association
Additional Information

According to information provided by Reliable Credit Association, this location is closed. Questions or concerns regarding this business may be directed to the main location at 10690 SE McLoughlin Blvd, Milwaukie, OR or (503) 462-3000. For the company's BBB Business Review, visit http://www.bbb.org/oregon/business-reviews/consumer-finance-and-loan-companies/reliable-credit-association-in-milwaukie-or-50001524.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Reliable Credit Association Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1005 N Riverside Ave STE 200

    Medford, OR 97501

  • 10690 SE Mcloughlin Blvd

    Milwaukie, OR 97222 (503) 385-4480 (541) 773-2423

  • 3000 Market St NE Ste 517

    Salem, OR 97301

  • 365 Coburg Rd

    Eugene, OR 97401

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Todd A******** constantly threatened and harassed my wife and I. He constantly threatened to repo our cars even when we were not behind on payments. For over 2 years I payed my payments and payed more than the minimum due, I lost my job and wanted to have my payment pushed to the back cause they do that with everyone. Todd A******** said that he would come repo the cars and would not give us lein way at all. Todd a******** believes that I almost got him fired when in reality it was his ignorance that almost got him fired. He threatened my wife over the phone which they have cause all calls are recorded or so they say. Todd A******** had a vendetta against me and my wife and unfairly authorized repos when we were not behind on payments finally I got sick of todd a******** and stoped making payments and let them repo my car. Todd a******** should be investagated

Desired Settlement: I want my money back the interest rate was borderline illegal

Business Response:

Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (“Reliable”) takes seriously all consumer complaints.  Reliable conducted a review of the consumer’s accounts and interviewed the employees who serviced the accounts, the results of which do not support the allegations made by the consumer.  Instead, the investigation revealed that Reliable worked with the consumer for months to find mutually beneficial resolutions to address the delinquent accounts.  However, the investigation also revealed that the consumer sent Reliable verbally abusive messages and threatened our employees with imminent physical harm.

Due to the consumer’s financial hardships, the consumer was unable to make payments on his accounts with Reliable and was in default.  The consumer did not respond to Reliable’s efforts to make contact with him to discuss the accounts.   Accordingly, Reliable had no choice but to attempt to repossess the consumer’s vehicles to protect its security interest.   Reliable lawfully repossessed one vehicle but called off the repossession on the other vehicle after the consumer sent Reliable an electronic message on April 5, 2016 containing obscene language and a threat to stay off of his property or our employee would be shot.  Due to that threat and Reliable’s concern for the welfare of its employees, Reliable will not attempt to repossesses the remaining vehicle. 

The consumer’s accounts have been assigned for collection to a third-party collection agency.  However, if the consumer would like to further discuss his account standing, customer service issues, or disposition of vehicles he is welcome to contact a Reliable Credit manager.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

4/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We conducted business with another client with a loan through Reliable. This was work on a motorcycle that the client refused to pay for, we put a lien on the bike, received title and right to sell the bike for the money owed. Reliable now has us connected to the client that is not paying his account. Stating we held the bike hostage from them. They relayed they would not do future business or approve a loan for us. We tried to provided the legal documentation and they where not interested.

Desired Settlement: They need to be informed by BBB of our complaint and our names should be removed in association with the client that owes them for the bike.

Business Response:

The consumer filed this BBB complaint on April 10, 2016.  On April 11, 2016, the consumer contacted Reliable Credit Association, Inc. ("Reliable") to discuss whether Reliable would finance the consumer's potential purchase of a motorcycle through ********* *********. This consumer had some prior interactions with Reliable related to another Reliable account belonging to a different consumer.  Reliable suffered a large loss on that account.  The consumer expressed concern that Reliable may not finance the ********* ********** purchase due to the issue with the other account.  Reliable advised the consumer that it would not be an issue and Reliable would be more than happy to process an application.  To date, Reliable has yet to receive an application from the consumer or ********* **********

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: While Reliable encouraged us to submit an application, the Manager relayed verbally, twice,  that they most likely would not finance us.  I was not going to submit an application and have my credit run, when they had no intention of financing another loan.  I want to know that our name has been removed from the other account as any sort of reference. They have the right to take legal action and report back credit on the other individual to recoup their loss.  Our account with them was on good standings and now paid off. I do not trust that we will ever be able to have a loan processed and approved with this company as things stand. 
Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response:

We have again investigated the consumer’s allegations.  Based on interviews of Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (“Reliable”) employees and a review of Reliable’s system notes and comments, the consumer’s allegations that Reliable would likely not finance her is unfounded.  

On April 11, 2016, the consumer called Reliable, saying she wanted to submit an application to Reliable through a motorcycle dealership.  Reliable told the consumer that Reliable would be more than happy to process the application.  The consumer said she was concerned that her application would be turned down due to the consumer’s involvement with the collateral on another Reliable account.  That other account was charged off causing a loss to Reliable.  Reliable told the consumer that what occurred on the other account was a concern but should not be an issue as Reliable understood that the consumer did what she needed to do to protect her interest in the collateral.  Reliable again reiterated that Reliable would process her application. 

As to the consumer’s request that her name be removed from the other account as a reference, the consumer is not listed on the other account as a reference.  The consumer’s name appears only in the system comments to that account.  Reliable cannot remove system comments, but those comments will not affect how Reliable processes future applications from the consumer or how Reliable conducts its underwriting process. 

Reliable understands the consumer’s lack of trust that a loan will be processed and approved by Reliable and we apologize for any confusion arising from the April 11, 2016 telephone conversation.  However, Reliable is unable to tell the consumer (or any consumer) whether she will be approved for a loan without first processing an application.   Reliable continues to encourage the consumer to submit her application to Reliable for consideration.

If the consumer has additional questions or concerns, she should feel free to call me. 

Michael A******

Manager

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

I understand that while the conversation was not found in documentation regarding the fact they would not finance us again (because we held the vehicle hostage) and that was concerning from a business standpoint, I was more interested in them having the BBB involved so that hopefully in the future they treat their client a little differently.  They know that they will be held accountable for what they "say" and everyone has the freedom to report bad acts of bad business.

 

No matter what they documented or relayed in this instance,   They business relationship ended with their attitude towards a good standing client.  I sought financial support elsewhere and will not ever do business with then again.  Sad because I was the good client.

Sincerely,
******* *******

2/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Someone bought a car in my name and i contacted the company and let them know this account is fraud they said the account has been given over to collections and they seem like they will not help and they this account is fraud and my next complaint is attorney general and cfpb

Desired Settlement: i want this account removed from my credit and i want them to admit someone use my name.

Business Response:

On December 8, 2014 Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (“Reliable”) purchased a retail installment contract (“contract”) between a consumer identified in the contract as Mr. **** and I-Carz Auto Sales (“I-Carz”) for the purchase of a vehicle.

Between December 3, 2014 and April 7, 2015 Reliable had numerous contacts with the consumer and he never mentioned to Reliable that the account was fraudulent. The defaulted contract was eventually assigned to a repossession company on April 14, 2015.  The vehicle has never been recovered, and the contract remains in default.

Over five months later, on December 15, 2015, a consumer representing himself as Mr. **** called Reliable and claimed that he lost his driver’s license and the vehicle was fraudulently purchased in his name.  He stated that he filed a fraud claim with the police department and asked Reliable to send him a copy of the contract.  Pursuant to Reliable’s Identity Theft Prevention Program (“Program”), Reliable told Mr. **** that it needed a written request for the contract, a copy of the police report evidencing his claim of identity theft, and a copy of an identification document (i.e., his driver’s license) before Reliable could release the records.  He hung up the phone.  Immediately thereafter, Reliable twice called him back and he hung up both times.

He telephoned Reliable again on January 6, 2016 and asked if Reliable received the police report that he allegedly faxed.  Reliable had received no such documentation and gave him an email address where he could resend the police report.  To date Reliable has not received the requested information via fax, US mail or email.

Reliable would gladly provide him a copy of the contract if, in compliance with Reliable’s Program, he sends Reliable the previously requested documentation evidencing his claim of identity theft, or a properly completed affidavit of identity theft available at http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/pdf-0094-identity-theft-affidavit.pdf,

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: first off you never called me whatever number you have is not me so please don't state i hung up on you guys twice. second you guys were in contact with the person who took my identity i barely found out about the account and called in do you guys have the recordings? please match them to when i called in as its not the same person. I faxed the paperwork twice to you guys and have emailed the FTC AFFDAVIT over so that you guys cane help me fix the issue. Your repo company must not be no good as i got a bill from a tow yard for almost 6k stating they have a vehicle of mine. I have not gotten any vehicle from this place as if you check all the information out you will find that is not me you guys have not even look into the matter i am a victim of fraud and im getting treated like i did something wrong. I have emailed over again the Ftc papers to brent he said they will be put in the file and that was it he said he does not deal with this type of issue and i would have to speak to someone else that can help me.

Sincerely,

**** ****

Business Response:

Re: Complaint# ********

Dear Complaint Dept.,

I am responding regarding the follow up complaint filed by Mr. ****. On February 4, 2016, we finally received the Identity Theft Victim’s Complaint and Affidavit (“Affidavit”) necessary to initiate our investigation of Mr. ****’s claims of identity theft. We have yet to receive a copy of the police report but the Affidavit is sufficient for Reliable to initiate its investigation.

Today we are sending Mr. **** copies of all the documents he requested on the account.  Those documents are being sent to the address Mr. **** noted in his Affidavit.  In addition, until we are finished with our investigation and determine if there has been any identity theft committed, we have suspended all reporting to the credit reporting agencies for Mr. ****.

Regarding the impound notice that Mr. **** references in his complaint, we received the impound notice in October, 2015.  We did not recover the vehicle from impound because the costs of recovery and selling the vehicle at auction would exceed the value of the vehicle. 

    

Mr. **** is free to contact me if he has any further questions.

Sincerely,

Fred H****

Manager

10/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I been working with them financing my working truck for 4 years and i was owing $700usd. i tryed to pay on line and they didnt allowed my payment neither by the phone. Vehicle got recover and the towing company wrecked all to total loss, they charge me towing fee and did not want to be responsable for the waist in time and damage to my bussines with any kind of refund at least for the Towing service so i payed them a total of $1195 usd. in order to have the title of my destroyed vehicle. I wont be able to work because this mistake. The towing service advertise, that they are damage free towing( ******** **** ******** . In Portlad Or) But i guess that this have to be a separate complain. Let me know.

Desired Settlement: I want the total amount refund because the damage affected my business and financial and living situation very bad.

Business Response:

BBB complaint case #********

 

Reliable Credit Association,
Inc. (“RCA”) has completed an internal review of this matter.  Mr. ******* was delinquent on his auto loan
which resulted in repossession after several attempts by phone and mail to
contact him with no response.  During the
course of the repossession there was damage to the lower front bumper and
quarter panel, the repossession company filed a claim with their insurance
company and Mr. ******* was notified directly with the claim information.  Mr. ******* did pay his balance in full with
RCA to redeem the vehicle.

 

The debtor may contact me
directly at ************ to discuss his account further during our normal
business hours.

 

Sarah B****

Reliable Credit Association,
Inc.

Manager

 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer LT was repossessed on 12/12/14 as I was 1.5 payments behind. After retrieving my belonging from the tow company (they had been removed from my vehicle which I did not see on the property) I started asking what dollar amount if any I could pay to get the truck back. I ended up paying $6,200 to get my contract reinstated. When I picked up my vehicle, it was at an Auction site. They brought it out to me and I noticed the front bumper was loose on one side. They said it hadn't happened there and that they take pictures of all vehicles when received. Reliable said to call the towing company, ******** ****** and they have been unwilling to help even though ****** at Reliable led me to believe differently. One clip that holds the bumper cover on is broken and another is missing. Those clips can not be replaced, a new bumper cover must be ordered. I received a quote for $820 to replace the cover and paint it to match my vehicle. The covers run around $400 online. I tried to determine if I could just fix it myself.

Desired Settlement: I want them to make my vehicle whole to the state it was in when I parked in my carport on 12/12/14. If they can get the work done for less, that is fine too but the current quote is $820.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/23) */ Dear *******: Thank you for the opportunity to investigate your complaint. Our records indicate that the vehicle was repossessed December 12, 2014. You made payment, signed a release of claims, and reinstated the contract on December 22, 2014. You phone our office and notified a representative of the bumper damage on January 15, 2015. The release of claims you signed states, in part, "Customer accepts the Automobile and the personal property AS-IS, WHERE-IS" and "Customer releases and discharges Reliable, and its contractors, suppliers, vendors, agents, attorneys, affiliates, shareholders, officers, and directors, and will defend, indemnify, and hold the Released Parties harmless from any and all claims, demands, actions, causes of actions and damages". A copy of the entire release was provided to you when you reinstated the contract. Another copy may be provided to you upon request. Despite your waiver of all claims it is our desire that you are satisfied. To that end, I have contacted both the repossession company and the auction. I have reviewed the condition reports and photographs. Slight bumper damage is evident. Both the auction and the repossession company deny damaging the vehicle. There is no definitive way to determine when the damage occurred or who caused it. However, the auction has offered to repair the bumper free of charge. Please contact me to make arrangements for the repair. Sincerely, ****** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX

12/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from ********************** about 8 months ago which was financed through Reliable Credit. I questioned the value of the vehicle when I purchased it and was given a Blue Book Price from the dealer, which I have since found, was clear not valid. I've requested a copy of this from my file at Reliable Credit but they will not release it to me. I believe they financed my vehicle knowing the value was grossly overstated to the point that I am now unable to trade it in because of the loan amount on it. The vehicle has not functioned properly since the purchase and a complaint for that has been filed against ****************.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the loan balance to correctly reflect the actual value of the vehicle ($2500 in the very best condition, which it clearly isn't since it is mechanically defective), and to be given credit for the payments I have made against the true value of the vehicle. I traded in a vehicle that was valued at $2000 so I feel the dealership that I purchased the vehicle from should be responsible for all but $500 of the vehicle and the extended warranty amount of $2500. I feel the loan amount should have originally been for $3000 and the balance should be that amount less the 7 or 8 payments I have already made. At a minimum I would like a copy of the Blue Book valuation given to them by the lot so that I can pursue other avenues of righting this wrong doing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Re: Case No. XXXXXXXX This letter is in response to your complaint that was submitted to the Better Business Bureau October 20th, 2014/ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. As you state in your complaint, "I purchased a vehicle from ****** **** **** ******** Reliable Credit was not a party to the sale of the vehicle. The date on the Retail Installment Contract ("RIC") that financed your purchase is February 15th, 2014. The sale price of $7999.00, as stated in the RIC, was negotiated between you and the dealership. Two days after your purchase, February 17th, 2014, Reliable Credit received your vehicle loan application. After establishing your creditworthiness through extensive underwriting your application was approved and the RIC was purchased from the dealer. The underwriting process, among other things, included a telephone interview with you. During this telephone interview the terms of the contract and the vehicle valuation paperwork from the dealer were discussed and verified with you. Our documentation shows that there were no discrepancies in the sale price or the vehicle mileage and equipment. As a normal course of business, at the time the loan application is submitted, a dealer will provide Reliable Credit with a collateral valuation document. Reliable uses this document in the underwriting process. The vehicle valuation information is for Reliable and the contents are used in the negotiation of the purchase of the RIC. The consumer is not involved in this process. If a consumer and dealer wish to use a collateral valuation document in their negotiation they may do so, but without involving Reliable. I hope this information will be of value to you. Please contact me directly at the number below if I can be of any further assistance. Thank you. ****** ***** Reliable Credit Association Inc. XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is in response to the information received from Reliable Credit. I actually did dispute the first application that was sent to you because of "Safe Guard" being added to the contract without my knowledge. I had to go back down to the dealership and resign the paperwork. Once this was done, I started having major issues with the vehicle and called Reliable Credit asking if there was anything you could do and also requesting a copy of the "valuation" documentation you received from the dealership. It became very apparent very early on that the vehicles price had been falsified. I spoke with, I believe *********, at Reliable and explained this to her. She said that she could not release information to me, even though it is a part of my financial file. The price of the vehicle was financed for over 450% of its value. I've never heard of a financial institute that doesn't insure the price the vehicle is financed for is not within a reasonable amount of its true value. In checking with other financial institutes, I believe the highest I've seen allowed is 125% of the value. I'm asking that you release the documentation to me so that I can pursue my options, or that you work with ****** **** **** to get an appropriate amount financed for the vehicle. I'm fully aware that I went over the documentation with a financial person (again I think her name was *********) at the beginning of the contract. I also told her at that time that options she was reading to me that were listed on the appraisal were not options that the vehicle had on it. She pretty much ignored those facts and continued with her questions. Thank you, ***** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/11/25) */ Re: Case No. XXXXXXXX In response to your rebuttal: There is no documentation indicating a discrepancy between the collateral valuation document and the actual vehicle equipment, options, and mileage. As I have explained in two prior responses, if there was a discrepancy it would be an issue between the dealer and Reliable Credit. The collateral valuation document provided to Reliable Credit by the dealer was the industry standard "Kelley Blue Book Karpower Online value." The document is specific to Oregon zip code 97027 and has the effective dates 1/24/2014-1/30/2014. The "Total Suggested Retail Value" was $6344.00. As the document states "Values are subjective opinions." Ultimately the sale price was determined by negotiation between you and the dealer. Thank you. ****** ***** Reliable Credit Association, Inc. XXXXX ** ********** ***** Milwaukie, Oregon 97222 XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's useless to try to explain the issues that happened as well as the fact that I DID clearly state to the person who called from Reliable Credit that the vehicle did NOT have options that were listed. Although you say it is an issue between the dealer and Reliable Credit, that is not entirely true. The issue affects me directly because the value of the vehicle was so grossly over stated that I've been placed into a vehicle that is not dependable and that I still have to keep because it is so upside down in the loan. I strongly suggest that Reliable Credit do their own valuation of the vehicle to see that what I am saying is very true and that possibly a future purchaser will not have to endure all of the financial and emotional torment that this has cased not only myself, but my family members that rely on a dependable vehicle.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my auto loan contract was signed it stated I could pay off my loan, in full, at any time with no early payment penalties. Upon calling the office today to make a payoff via phone I was informed the business practices, and thus my contract, had been changed and consumers could no longer pay anything in full via ACH payments unless they owed $2500 or less as the company now only accepts payments of $2500 or less and you can only make one of these payments per week. Effectively preventing everyone from avoiding unnecessary interest accumulations, AND negating any 10 day payoff amount request made by consumers if amounts owed are more than $5000.

Desired Settlement: That any and all changes to payments or other business practices such as information sharing with third parties, selling of accounts, ect, that directly affect a consumers ability to pay on or pay off any loans be submitted to consumers in writing via the US postal service not less than 30 days before said change takes effect.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ On August 25, 2014, the consumer called the Eugene office of Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (Reliable) to submit an ACH payment to pay off the balance owing on their account. On that date, the total payoff amount was $5,066.27, and Reliable informed the consumer that it would not be able to take the full payoff in a single ACH transaction. In order to mitigate the risk of loss due to fraud (for example), Reliable limits total ACH payments to $2,500.00 per week per account. Reliable accepts many other forms of payment including cash, check, cashier's check, money order and debit card. Customers may make such payments online and via telephone (ACH and debit card, subject to the previously mentioned maximum), via mail, and in person at any Reliable branch office. These alternatives were communicated to the consumer during the initial call on August 25th. During the initial call and subsequent call also on August 25th, Reliable provided other suggestions for payment including mailing a cashier's check which Reliable would backdate (the effective date of payment) to August 25th to prevent the consumer's account from accruing any additional interest. This suggestion was not acceptable to the consumer. Because the consumer was unwilling to mail in a payment, Reliable offered to backdate all individual ACH payments to August 25th until the payments amounted to the payoff amount quoted on August 25th. Reliable is not required to do this but made this accommodation to satisfy the consumer's request. The consumer's allegations that Reliable's business practices and terms of their retail installment contract (RIC) had changed without prior notification to the consumer are not accurate. The consumer's RIC, which states, "If I pay off early, I will not have to pay a penalty," is accurate and consistent with Reliable's business practices. Regardless of what this or any RIC states or permits, Reliable does not assess any form of prepayment penalty fee. The fact that electronic payments are subject to a weekly maximum does not constitute a change in terms or business practices. Reliable is within its legal right to impose such maximums and would also be within its legal right to not accept electronic payments entirely. As previously stated, customers are permitted to pay in multiple other ways that are not subject to transactional maximums.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle financed by Reliable Credit on 1-13-14. I called in response to why i have not received my vehicle plates since the trip permit issued expired. On today's date 4-23-14, i am advised by the rep that it will be at least another 6-8 weeks, probably longer until i receive the plates, until then i would have to purchase a trip permit since the dealer provided the paper work 2 months late which this is why i have not received the plates. This was not part of the contract signed that i have already signed stating the licensing fees and title fees are specific in price and the company has had ample time to provide the plates to me. I feel i should not have to pay more for something i had nothing to do with obtaining. The price for permits for the next two or three months would come to total of 60.00 which i feel can and will be spent else where other then a permit to drive a vehicle that i purchased under the impression i would have the plates, and registration taken care of prior to this. Reliable credit is saying its the dealer and the dealer is saying its reliable credit who dropped the ball. What it boils down to is me the consumer did not drop the ball and i have held up to all of the standards of the contract, so must the other party..

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the money i will have to pay for trip permits. Or the company can take the money i have paid into the permits off one of my monthly payments. I would be happy to provide receipts and or any information need to get this resolved fairly and swiftly as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/25) */ Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (Reliable) purchased a retail installment contract from ********* **** ******** (Dealer) for this customer dated 1/13/14. Our records indicate that title documents were received from the dealer and submitted to the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) on 1/22/14. A representative of Reliable contacted DMV on 3/12/14 to find out the status of the title transfer and discovered that the Dealer failed to supply a required vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection document needed to complete the title transaction. The Dealer was contacted by Reliable and the appropriate inspection document was presented to us on 3/26/14. Reliable forwarded the document to the Vehicle Processing 2 unit of DMV on 3/26/14. Reliable contacted DMV again at 10:34 AM on 4/23/14 to again follow the status of the title processing. Vehicle Processing 2 verified receipt of the appropriate documents and stated that they would issue license plates directly to the customer once they were finished processing the transaction. At 2:09 PM that same day, 4/23/14, the customer contacted Reliable and spoke to an Assistant Manager to find out the status on their license plates. Reliable explained the situation and that we are waiting for DMV to finish the transaction, and referred the customer to the Dealer who may be able to provide a new temporary permit. The customer became upset and ended the phone conversation. Immediately after the customer ended the call with Reliable, the Assistant Manager contacted the Dealer and explained the customer's frustration. The Dealer claimed they would see if they could issue another temporary permit to the customer. Upon receipt of this complaint, I contacted **** ******** the Manager of the Dealer, and advised him that they should issue the customer a new temporary permit. The customer can contact Bill at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While speaking with ***** she herself contacted the dealer with me on the phone and advised me that the dealer will NOT provide me another permit and it will have to be purchased at the **** When I advised her that I do not feel that i should since this should have only been a two month process, she placed me on hold and then someone else comes on the line. This person was highly insulting and condescending and just flat out rude. After telling me it was not reliable credits fault it was the dealers for not sending the needed paper work on time. So I stated this was not my fault so you as the company should resolve this issue. The manager states and I quote " Well its not mine either and you need to go purchase the permit, we are not going to do anything about it." I at that point ended the call. I then contacted the *** MYSELF and they stated reliable credit had just submitted the paper work on 4-23-14 not 3-26-14 as they are saying. After speaking with a manager at the *** and advised them of the situation, it was stated a simple phone call would have resolved this issue with in minutes of contacting the **** Which as the customer seems a little seems lazy and unsympathetic by reliable credit. With being in a "management" position some one would think or have some common sense. I can for surely say this issue was resolved with no help from ** **** ******** nor Reliable credit and I will make sure that i spread the word how they treat people they do business with.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Below is an email I sent out to the attorney Reliable credit hired to contact me. Today I was phoned by a neighbor to inform me that my sons truck had been repossessed and their newly installed retaining wall was destroyed by the repossession people driving through it. When I arrived home I found my 50,000 duck worth had been "moved" to clear room for the people to drive off my RV pad adjoined with the neighbors property. A large deep scratch and chunk out of the pin stripe on my "perfect" boat was also discovered. The new gravel also just put in weeks prior was a mess with ruts from the driver attempting to clear the wall with the truck. Burning out over and over again as the truck was tightly parked between my cargo trailer and boat along side of my home on my RV pad giving only inches to move the truck. I called the attorney I had received the letter from only to be told she was "unavailable" I then proceeded to leave a detailed message on her voice mail stating my intentions of calling police and yes I did call. Ms. ** **** did respond back. but when I asked her who the company was taking the truck she "didn't know" I then explained my email I did double check in my sent box and the address she had listed on her letterhead as being delivered. Ms ** **** then stated she had not received any such email. I asked her to furnish me details on the repo company so I may assist the police in criminal charges to damages to my property. She said she would promptly return my call and also she would send me an email to the "two" email addresses I provided her to insure a delivery of any future emails but as of nowI have not had any email or call. I do not believe I will hear from her at this point. I paid for the truck in full at the dealership where it was purchased only to be called a liar in carefully chosen words by Ms. ** ***** I provided several documents to the investigation of the dealership that stole 100's of peoples money and shut down and ran from town. After all of the allegations the repossession and damages I sent over an additional email stating I would like to have a reply back and also my truck her clients stole from my private property while damaging my neighbors wall leaving a huge mess and my boat a criminal manner. Still nothing. I originally spoke to a manager at reliable credit when the discovery of ****** *** connection scams was brought to my attention by DMV he was nice and I thought we talked through the entire process and I gave him everything that satisfied police as well as DMV. Reliable credit is the only party that has a problem . I began researching and it appears the company has a lot of problems with a lot of people. It appears to me they conduct their business a lot like the ****** *** connection Car dealership that scammed 100's of people. Sounds like a great likely hood of reliable credit being much like ****** *** connection the company that they deal with closely on a daily basis.A large group of scammers. PLEASE KEEP READING THE TWO EMAILS BELOW ***** ******** kc ********@msn.com ************@gmail.com Mar 17 (11 days ago) to ******* Hello I am writing in response to your letter you sent me about the purchase of a 2006 Chevy Colorado. I would like to make a few things clear on the events on the purchase and your accusations made towards me. First I would like to address your concerns stated in the letter about the contract. I did in fact work with ****** *** ********** and used Reliable Credit as a credit line. However when we called in for the payoff amount we were told to pay them not Reliable. It was prior to the contract being purchased by Reliable Credit. The ************** took the money and supplied a receipt along with the contact signed off as paid in full. I do not know exactly what the company has used for their receipts I was given different receipts on different occasions. The original receipt was given to DMV by my son when he had went in to get his licensing and registration for the truck. The staff made copies of all the paperwork we had been given, and did not return most of it claiming they needed the paper work to work on getting our title and registration. The woman my son spoke to at DMV called whom ever was in charge in over seeing the *** connection transactions with purchasers being harmed. My understanding is DMV had been working on the case with other resources and had been handling everything with the ****** *** connection purchasers that had been scammed . I forwarded copies of all the documents I had concerning the sale of the vehicle to Reliable credit. The packet contained the same information supplied to DMV and police. I have been cooperative with all matTers and supplied documents as requested by DMV police and Reliable credit. You stated the contract was purchased by Reliable credit on June 24, 2014. The vehicle was paid for prior to the 24th. I was issued a bad check from reliable for repair on the 24th when reliable returned the vehicle to me. The balance was paid prior to that and My son was instructed by the dealership to pay them and it would be forwarded to Reliable credit with all the other paperwork upon closing the transaction. They claimed they had not yet submitted all the loan documents so they were still responsible for the auto until it was paid. Reliable paid for the contract on the 24th the truck was paid off by our side prior to closing the contract with Reliable and **************. As far as the receipt goes I did not welcome your accusations of the receipts not being genuine. Wording of that statement was directed at me and my son personally. I have no criminal history what so ever nor does my son. The facts to the purchase of the truck are documented and have been forwarded to your clients along with every ones statements. You have a dealership that has scammed 100's of people including my self and my son . Then you have us . Any person with logical thinking can see who the scammers are. I have owned a business for over 22 years and am a honest tax paying citizen that ran into the wrong group at a car dealership. My son me and his boss paid off a truck that turned into being a nightmare. We have all made statements and are now being harassed by reliable as they too were victims of the scammers. My boy is an only child, he has went through three open heart surgeries, he worked his *** off to buy this truck. Excuse my language, but he did. The people at this dealership screwed over my son. Who does that to a kid buying his first truck? Scum that's who. You claim I did not "offer" any evidence I don't know what more you want than a receipt from the dealer and contract they also signed off on. I not only would like for your client to fix this with the dealership "they" purchased the "contract" from whom ever. They are no longer in business. Reliable is now making me and my son their target for payment they did not receive from the scammers. I would like for them to please send me some type of documentation they have of this transaction I will present it to an attorney along with all the other paperwork that seems to be "missing" or "not genuine" that they "claim" or shall I say "allege" to be missing. Please forgive my frustrations however this has not been a pleasant experience for me or my son and purchasing his first truck. Your account of what I stated to Reliable credit is also off as well. I put the down payment of 1000 on the truck I was issued two receipts. Then my son and his boss returned to the dealership after we called about pay off and was directed to pay them. He did as the dealership directed him to do. He was given a receipt that was typed rather than hand written and a signature on the contract "copy" we were given. All have been sent to your client. My hope is that Reliable will file their claim against their bond as I suggested they do in the beginning when we spoke rather than continue to harass me and my son for a vehicle we already paid for. If an employee of ************** says this ,that, or the other it must be true ? Im sorry not only am I offended I am going to file a complaint against Reliable if this nonsense continues with them. I will expect the title along with the fees we paid to ************** for title and registration Reliable is holding to be refunded to me with in 30 days or I will move forward file a complaint and seek an attorney to handle any other matters regarding Reliable credit. To recap 1. I would like for Reliable credit to supply me with all the documents in my file they may or may not have. 2. I would like for the logical thinking of who the scammers may or may not be 3.When they logic surfaces and it will trust me ,it will, a written apology to my son from reliable credit for all his troubles. 4. A letter stating that Reliable has began to seek the responsible parties rather than continuing harassing us. 5.I would also appreciate you rescinding the accusations directed at me my family and friends . Not one of us have ever been in trouble with the law. Moreover the accusations are slanderous and could end up with a law suit if I see it documented again as I further look into Reliable Credit"s transactions and correspondences with **************. The accusations are the topper after standing in the bank with a bad check from these people and looked at like a criminal for a bad check they wrote me and hundreds of others .On that note please be very careful of your words directed towards me from here forward. I am very sensitive to the nature and choice of your words directed at me. 6. I will expect a refund of fees I paid for title and registration credited to Reliable credit returned to me along with the "missing title" DMV has made several attempts to collect from your client. I will thank you in advance for your cooperation in the matter and quickly resolving your clients issues by seeking the appropriate party. THE ABOVE EMAIL WAS SENT 11 DAYS PRIOR TO THE REPOSSESSION OF THE TRUCK WITH ZERO RESPONSE FROM THE ATTORNEY MS MCGAIR OR RELIABLE CREDIT BELOW IS MY SECOND EMAIL ALSO NOT RESPONDED TO PLEASE CONTINUE READING ***** *****/ ****** ****** PO BOX XXXXX Portland Or. XXXXX 2006 Chevrolet Colorado kc ********@msn.com ************@gmail.com 4:27 PM (4 hours ago) to ******* Hello ** ****** I spoke with the police today they came out and they are currently investigating into the matter with the truck and the property damage caused by your clients repossession company. The company came on to my private property and caused damages to my boat and drove through the retaining wall causing it to collapse and making a huge mess in my neighbors drive way. The wall has to be all taken apart and rebuilt. Your clients repossession company had no right to touch my boat let alone to move it . The damages caused I will be getting an estimate for and will forward the estimates to you directly and you may then forward those to your client. I will also have an estimate for the retaining wall repair. I will expect for the parties responsible for the damages to issue a payment upon receipt of my estimates. I will submit them to you for the costs for repairs. If there is a problem with this please advise me now . I will have my attorney handle it then charge for his costs as well. Either way I am going to be paid for it. My neighbors witnessed everything and is willing to come forward as a witness to the event. . Next you claim to have not received my email. my email was sent 11 days ago to you . please revisit your inbox. I also now have the company responsible for the damages thank you so much for getting back to me right away on that as you said you would. The police appreciated it as well. Really? To recap now... Your clients were not owners of the contract I signed until the 26th of June. The claim you thought you had is unenforceable. The company I purchased my sons truck through is made up of fraud and scammers. The company is no longer in business. A company your clients worked very closely with daily. I paid the car dealer in full and have proof of payment in addition to witnesses I can bring in to court. The company wrote me a fraudulent check for repairs in addition to numerous other promises they did not deliver on I have in writing. They took my trade and down payment in addition to the pay off BEFORE your company actually paid for the contract if that was actually the case. I have spent alot of money fixing this truck to just get through DEQ. I paid for my licensing TWICE and your clients have kept the funds from me after repeated requests to return them. I have provided proof of all my statements and cooperated FULLY with the investigation. Your clients have not supplied one single document to me with a date a, signature or any type of document what so ever supporting any type of possible claim to my truck after I requested them to do so. Bottom line ...Your clients company fraudulently obtained a title to my truck.Your clients then directed some one to steal the truck from my private property. Your clients "representatives" caused damages to my boat and also my neighbors retaining wall they paid to have installed just weeks ago. Your Firm can not seem to find my reply to the one letter demanding a response with in 10 days and address the correspondence . Your clients acted with out any kind of, valid contract , any rights to my truck, nor follow the ones they actually wrote out not bothering to check to see if I did in fact reply to the letter and its accusatory manner it was drafted in. Right now your client is not looking very good at this point. Actually your client is looking just like Oregon ************** and their business tactIics. The sheriff can proceed with my complaint as criminal once he is able to locate the company you seem to be unsure of a location or contact info for. My son's property is in the truck in addition to his i pad he just purchased. I am now working with the FTC. I have already spoke to them regarding the conduct of your clients and their unlawfull practices. Your clients are a direct relation to Oregon ************** . They were very interested in speaking to me in addition I will be sure to follow up with them and a FULL investigation of your clients services and business practices will be looked into. DMV is also aware of the fast one that was pulled on them. Their mistake is making them potentially also liable for the actions of your clients and repo company as well. The woman I spoke to knew of the mistake and is very happy to assist me in moving forward against your clients the repo company if needed. I will be very certain to follow up with my sheriffs department later today on the criminal charges. I will be sure they are held accountable. **********, You and your clients screwed up big time! I will wait for your reply today and proceed next week with the rest of my resolutions to this mess your client has created. I want my son truck back TODAY! If it is not returned I will have no choice but to turn everything over to law enforcement and my attorney. Do you honestly think I am going to pay for a truck and put thousands more into it and let some scammers walk with it? I will direct my attorney to you personally as well as the sheriffs department for their further needs after today. Your letter states that your company owned the contract after the 26th. The truck was paid for in full on or about the 19th. You tell me **********. Do you honestly think that the contract is enforceable with those dates and my proof of payments witnesses and required steps I have taken to follow the letter of the law VS you not even reading your email and scammers with a unenforceable business contract and a mass lawsuit with the company your clients sisters with? have a nice day ***********. I will look for your email some time today. Thank You ***** *****

Desired Settlement: the settlement I was seeking was for my truck back. My damages repaired and my title. I will now however keep investigating this business and also the laws. It appears to me discussing the matter with my attorney and also some sites he encouraged me to visit I will have a very strong case against this business in damages criminal charges and unlawful business practices and on and on... I am not gong to put almost 150000 into a truck and allow some people like this to steal it with out going through all the nessacary steps like I did over the last year to follow the law. They have reported to my credit took this truck and think they are one up in the pack of scum balls that steal peoples money because they were burned by one of their own. Nope highly unlikely that this company will like the dollar amount on my settlement offer nor the attorney fees that come with it. Also.... yes I am finding every single complaint form I can in addition to TV news station. See I did this with ******** furniture store when they pulled **** like this with a close friend. Yeah they closed the store when I was done and there was some serious changes made. I would like to suggest to others the FTC and consumer protection agencies are there to help against people like this. The news is always happy to get a good story too. So Reliable credit When the FTC is climbing up your ... I mean looking into your practices oh and they will remember it will cost you more to defend this claim than what that truck was ever worth in addition to that what you are going to cough up because you will have to pay me. I promise you that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ ********************* with ****************** issued a formal response to this debtors claims on 3/31/14. I have removed nonpublic personally identifiable information pertaining to the debtor only, and have attached this response below. Dear* As you know, this firm represents Reliable Credit Association, Inc. ("Reliable"). I am writing in response to your March 17th and March 28th emails and telephone calls. As explained below, Reliable had the right to repossess the 2006 Chevrolet pickup ("Veh1cle") because your claim that you paid the dealer for the Vehicle is not a valid defense against Reliable's rights under the Retail Installment Contract ("Contract") which you signed and which the ********************* ("Dealer") assigned to Reliable. First, I want to reiterate What I told you during our phone call on March 28, 2014 regarding the March 17th email that you sent me. That email was caught in my firm's spam filter and thus I did not receive it. When you mentioned the email to me on March 28th, I went into my firm's spam filter and was able to locate the email using the email address you gave me. Because neither Reliable nor I received a response to my March 6, 2014 letter within the specified ten days, Reliable issued a repossession order for the Vehicle due to your default under the Contract. After receiving your March 17th email on March 28th, Reliable has had an opportunity to further investigate your claim to payment. I have set forth a timeline below which sets forth the history of the Contract: - June 15, 2013: You signed the Contract. - June 20, 2013: Reliable received the Contract from the Dealer. - June 21, 2013: Reliable called you and conducted a Contract Verification by telephone. During this call, you confirmed the validity and accuracy of the Contract. In particular, you confirmed that you had made a $1,000 down payment, and did not identify this alleged $6,600 payment that you now claim to have made "prior to June 24th." More importantly, in that telephone call, you were told that Reliable was now the owner of the Contract and that all payments were to be made to Reliable. At that moment, you knew that a payment to the Dealer would not satisfy your payment obligations under the Contract. According to Reliable's records, you made no mention of having paid the Dealer for the full price of the car. Had you done so, Reliable would not have purchased the Contract. - June 24, 2013: Reliable paid the Dealer for the purchase of the Contract. I have enclosed a copy of the Contract assigned to Reliable as well as a copy of the check for the purchase price as it appears that you requested these items in your March 28th email. Notably, in your initial letter to Reliable, you did not identify when you made the $6,600 payment to the Dealer. However, in your March 28th email, you indicate that the payment was made on June 19, 2013. Yet, in your initial telephone communications with Reliable, you told it that you paid the Dealer on June 26, 2013. It seems clear that your recent statement that you paid the dealer on June 19th is not accurate. If you had paid the Dealer on that date, you would certainly have told Reliable that when it called you to verify the Contract on June 21st. If your original statement of June 26th is correct, then Reliable was the owner of the Contract on that date and you knew that Reliable was the owner of the Contract. In fact, in your March 17th email to me, you stated that the Dealer told you that they would forward the payment to Reliable. This statement is a clear admission that you knew that the payment was owed to Reliable, not the Dealer. Not only was your alleged payment ineffective because you paid the Dealer, instead of Reliable, but serious questions remain about the payment. First, you have failed to provide any documentation as to the source of the funds used to make the payment, despite a request for further documentation in my March 6, 2014 letter. Moreover, the receipt that you rely upon is not only a form that is unlike the other receipts issued by the Dealer, but it contains an address of P.O. Box ****** in Portland. This is not the Dealer's address. In fact, our research shows that the address is invalid and does not exist. Without waiving any of the above arguments, Reliable remains willing to consider any evidence that you can offer regarding this $6,600 payment and may be willing to make accommodations to you with respect to the Contract and the Vehicle if it is satisfied that you did actually pay the Dealer $6,600. Other evidence would include such things as bank statements that reflect the source of the $6,600 and sworn statements as to how the sums were delivered and to whom they were delivered. In sum, the Contract is owned by Reliable and is in default as a result of your failure to make payments. Reliable holds the original title to the Vehicle and its security iterest is noted on the title. Consequently, Reliable was entitled to repossess the Vehicle and is also entitled to sell it. In your email, you imply that Reliable is responsible for any wrongful acts committed by the Dealer. That is not accurate. The Dealer is and was a completely separate entity from Reliable. Reliable has no control over the Dealer. Contrary to your allegations, the mere fact that Reliable bought contracts from the Dealer is insufficient to make Reliable responsible for the Dealer's actions. Reliable purchases contracts from many Dealers and the relationship between Reliable and the Dealer is nothing more than an arms-length vendor/vendee relationship. Finally, I want to address the allegations you have made about the repossession and the alleged damage to your boat and a "retaining wall." Reliable has investigated your allegations and spoken with the repossession company. The repossession company reports that its agent was given permission by your neighbor to come upon your neighbor's property in order to access the Vehicle. The repossession company denies that it moved or damaged your boat. Apparently one rock from a small rock border did fall down in the process and was replaced by the repossession agent. If you have photographs (preferably time and date-stamped) of the alleged damage, or other contrary information, please provide it to me so that Reliable can consider it in the course of its investigation into your claims. Sincerely, ****************

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a lot of money for interest that Reliable Credit Association charged me for every day that my payment was late. It stated no where in my contact that they would charge me interest for everyday that my payment was late. 2nd I could not find in my contract where it stated that I must have $500 deductible on my insurance and was changed with 1 year of forced placed coverage that I was paying double for! 3rd after paying all this extra money they said that I owed for late payments and forced insurance they stated that if I pay the balance in cashiers check or money order they would send my title to me immediately. They still put a 2 week hold on my title. All this being said I have paid them so much money 32% interest, every time I made a payment I had to pay a 6.00 processing fee. I know that was due to the lack of good credit but this just seems like this should be illegal. They are very rude and really could care less about what you need. They could never answer me on why they are holding my title (which they still are). I have to have some rights to this and not be treated like I don't! Also I have since read reviews from other people about this company and all of them are bad so that has to say something!

Desired Settlement: I am looking for my money I paid for force place insurance, I want my money back that I had to pay for all interest charged for everyday that it was late but paid before 30 days late. I want my title and the money I had to pay for the cashiers check ,and the overnight processing fee that I had to pay to get it there on time so that I could have my title when I needed it!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ BBB Response from Reliable Credit Association, Inc. Reliable Credit appreciates our customer's questions with regards to the retail installment contract she entered into on 1/05/2011 which was subsequently purchased by Reliable Credit. We wish to make sure her questions are fully answered as detailed below. With regards to the accrual of interest on the account: During the purchase of the vehicle from the automobile dealer our customer signed several documents outlining the terms she was agreeing to as a part of the financing of the vehicle. The first of these documents was an Oregon Retail Installment Contract (OADA form 300). This contract, which is a simple interest industry standard contract, has specific language located in the section adjacent to the Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure with regards to the accrual of interest. This language is as follows; "I will pay interest on the Principle Balance outstanding each day at the Annual Percentage Rate. The total of payments and Finance Charge shown above assume I will pay exactly as agreed. If I pay late or less than the required payment, the finance charge is increased. If I pay more than the required payment, the finance charge is decreased." Simply put if payments are not made on or before the due date of the contract the principle balance will remain greater than scheduled causing the daily interest accrual to be higher than outlined in the original disclosure. With regards to the Insurance requirements: In addition to the contract disclosure with regards to the accrual of interest it also outlines in section 4 subsection 4.1 requirements of insurance; "I'll keep the property insured by companies acceptable to you with collision and comprehensive insurance, and any other insurance that you may require" Our customer signed two documents outlining the requirement of a $500 maximum deductible. These documents, a notice of required insurance and a Retail Installment Contract Addendum, each expressly describe the requirement for insurance and coverage that is acceptable for the contract. The contract also states in subsection 4.4; "If any of these things agreed to in section 4 are not done, you may do them and charge me for the cost of doing so." Over the course of the account the customer was continually asked for proof of satisfactory insurance, we expressed the need for it to be documented, and Reliable Credit made every attempt to verify any information provided. In addition we have offered to refund any charges for insurance that were applied to the account upon receipt of proof that the customer had coverage in place that meant the requirements outlined in the loan during the periods in question. The paid paperwork for the account has been processed and her title has been mailed out to her. We hope that this answers our customer's questions with regards to this matter and are happy to supply her with copies of all the documents from her vehicle purchase. If there are any additional questions we would be more than happy to answer those as well.

2/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received their correspondence when I applied for loan and the company violates consumer/costumer privacy as the letter stated a denial of the loan I applied for and is visible from the window envelope with my full name and address. It is stated as (first line on the body of the letter) "We recently received your request for credit submitted to us by........ second line on the body of the letter) wished to purchase merchandise. Unfortunately, we are unable t......... third line on the body of the letter) for the following reason (s): these 3 lines on the body of the letter are visible from the window of the envelope.

Desired Settlement: I highly respect privacy of others, especially with my privacy I expect this should be a practice being performed from a big company like Reliable Credit Associations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ Reliable Credit would like to thank this applicant for making us aware of this incident. We have a robust Customer Information Safeguards Program ("CISP") to ensure the security and confidentiality of nonpublic personal information. We are investigating this incident and will make any necessary improvements, including providing additional training to employees that process the mail. Please contact me if you have any questions, comments or concerns.

10/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i recenty receieved a letter of denial of credit and the reason was collections and i called to requiest credit report from each company and when i came upon (the work number XXXXX *************** louis. mo XXXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX)and when a recording of a dating or sex site answered, i dont and have never answered or used anything like this before,so please make sure in the future thay get their facts staright before thay turn good honiest disabled custmers away. thank you.

Desired Settlement: to make sure this dont happen to good people that had a bad past...........?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (Reliable) completed an investigation into the complaint presented in case number XXXXXXXX. Reliable contacted the appropriate consumer reporting agency and confirmed the telephone number provided in the adverse action notice did have an incorrect digit. This has since been corrected. We appreciate this matter being brought to our attention. If the complainant incurred any costs for dialing the incorrect telephone number we are interested in reimbursing him. I may be contacted directly by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX, by email to *********@reliablecredit.com or by mail to ** *** XXXXX Milwaukie, OR. 97269. ******* ******* Reliable Credit Association, Inc. Manager

10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car and had Reliable Credit as the finance company received my payment coupons and made my payments last one made in July 2013 I received a call end of August telling me I missed my payment I told them my car was paid off made all of the 36 payments I was told that I was "late" on a payment told them I NEVER received anything stating one of my payments arrived late asked hoe much I owed I was told $2200. I asked for new payment coupons and paperwork extending the contract, waited a week did not receive anything in the mail so I called back again was told by a different person that they would get it in the mail. Again I waited still nothing called left a voicemail with my information per ***** they never received this voicemail or the one after I left. Then I called again so the 5th call again was told would send out , never received. on September 29th at 10pm someone pounded on my door my family was in bed, I went to door and the guy said he was from Reliable Credit. There were no markings on the truck, no business card, and no paperwork was provided to me the car was already hooked up. On Monday I called Reliable and spoke with ***** who advised that to get my car would cost me $2600 to get back asked if they would negotiate the price and was told no. I told ***** that I had spoken to 3 different people he said no notes on my account and that there were only him, ***** and **** in the office. IO called back later and a ******* answered the phone and he said he was in the same office, so why the lie? At this point I am afraid to pay the $2600 I do not think this will be the end of this company. ***** in our conversation said he had called my work and been hung up on, how is that my fault? I was proactive and willing to pay their exhorbate cost of 1 late payment just to keep my car, but in the end it did not matter. Please tell me how to proceed?

Desired Settlement: I want my car back with a reasonable amount due for the one late charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Reliable Credit did repossess the 2006 Buick Lacrosse on September 29th of this year. At the time of repossession our customer's retail installment contract was in default; due for the August 15th and September 15th payments. The current payoff balance as of today is 2,601.29 which includes the $250 recovery fee billed to the account from **** ****** ********* Our customer had two conversations with this office prior to the repossession of her vehicle. This first was on August 8th when she spoke with ****** who explained why she had a balance with us and quoted her a payoff at that time of $2,246.08. It was explained to her that her balance remaining on her simple interest contract was due to her poor payment history (12 times over 15 days late, 4 times over 30 days late, 25 late charges, 4 NSF fees), and her lack of full coverage insurance on the vehicle ($574 of collateral protection insurance). ****** told her that we would extend the contract for her and allow her to continue making the $237.61 monthly payment instead of demanding the entire balance since the account was due to mature. She was told that her next scheduled payment was to be on August 15th. The second conversation was when she called us back on September 13th and spoke to *****. Our customer refused to send her August 15th payment until she received a new payment booklet from us. ***** advised her that we will send her a payment booklet, which was sent the same day, and that she should send the August 15th payment in since the account was in default and by the time she would receive the booklet she would have two payments due to us. Our customer informed ***** that we would have to wait until September 20th for payments. On September 17th we still had not received her August 15th payment so we sent her a 7 day demand letter. On September 20th and 24th we left voice messages on her mobile phone voice mail with no response. On September 25th we assigned the account for repossession. Our customer spoke with ***** on September 30th and he informed her that since the vehicle has been repossessed that she would need to payoff the balance in full to redeem her vehicle. The customer called back later that same day and spoke to ***** again, wanting to settle the account for less than what was owed. ***** advised her as he had done earlier in the day that the full payoff is now due. This office is willing to offer our customer an additional reasonable amount of time to come up with the payoff amount for her to get the vehicle back if she would like to contact us. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response do to it all being all fault information that they provided. None of the conversations every went that way prior to the September 30th conversation. First payment book was requested August 8th not September 13th and no mail or voicemails to my mobile phone were ever received from them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/11) */ We will provide our customer a complete transaction history of the account along with all of our internal comments documenting all calls made, received, and letters sent for the dates of July 26th thru September 30th. This documentation will be sent regular mail to our customer today, October 11, 2013. Our internal records (from July 26th thru September 30th) show that this office made 10 calls to her cell phone, 5 calls to her place of employment, sent 9 letters (including the coupon booklet on 9/13 and the Enforcement Notice giving 7 days to comply prior to repossession which was sent on 9/17) and 4 emails. Voicemails or messages were left with each of the 15 calls made. Those records also show the customer calling in on 8/9, 9/13, and then after the vehicle was repossessed on 9/30. This office is willing to give our customer a reasonable amount of time to redeem the vehicle as previously stated if she would like to contact us.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Reliable Credit Association Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart