Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Equitable Finance

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 465-6472 Fax: (208) 442-0717 View Additional Phone Numbers 1112 Caldwell Blvd., Nampa, ID 83651 http://www.equitablefinco.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides financial services including loans.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Equitable Finance include:

  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s)

Factors that raised the rating for Equitable Finance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Equitable Finance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2012 Business started: 09/29/1992 in OR Business started locally: 01/17/2006 Business under new ownership as of: 01/01/2014
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Department of Finance
P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0031
http://finance.idaho.gov/
Fax Number: 208-332-8098

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Slaikjer, Compliance Officer Mr. Marcus Truscott, President Mr. Jeff Rosati, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Slaikjer, Compliance Officer
Principal: Mr. Marcus Truscott, President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Financial Services Financing Consultants Loans

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 9AM-5PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Cards
Service Area
Idaho and Oregon
Alternate Business Names
Finco Holding Corp The Equitable Finance Company
Products & Services

BBB advises consumers to consider other possibilities before deciding on a payday loan:
• If you need credit, shop carefully. Consider a small loan from your credit union or a small loan company, an advance on pay from your employer, or a loan from family or friends.
• Ask your creditors for more time to pay your bills. Find out what they will charge for that service - as a late charge, an additional finance charge, or a higher interest rate. Make a realistic budget, and figure your monthly and daily expenditures.
• Build some savings - even small deposits can help - to avoid borrowing for emergencies, unexpected expenses or other items. If you need help working out a debt repayment plan with creditors or developing a budget, contact your local consumer credit counseling service. There are non-profit groups that offer credit guidance to consumers for little or no cost.
• If you decide you must use a payday loan, borrow only as much as you can afford to pay with your next paycheck and still have enough funds to make it to the next payday.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Equitable Finance has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1112 Caldwell Blvd.

    Nampa, ID 83651 (208) 465-6472

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    181 Blue Lake Blvd N.

    Twin Falls, ID 83301 (208) 244-3501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5800 W. Fairview Ave.

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 344-3134

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been promised 4 times by 4 different people that my car title would be returned to me since I paid off my loan. I have requested it numerous times in the last 8 months since I pd off my loan with no action just broken promises

Desired Settlement: Please send me or order me another car title

Business Response:

TO: Whom it concerns

RE: Release of lien and forwarding of Title for Loan ********* ****** *******

From: **** ********

On 03/29/2016 my office received a complaint from the Better Business Bureau from ****** ******* asking why he has not received the Title on the loan he paid off on 10/15/2015.  On that same date my office had received a call from the DMV asking for a copy of the note and security agreement so they could issue a duplicate Title. This information was sent. My office has verified that a duplicated title will be issue and sent out on the 30th of March 2016.

I apologize for the length of time it has taken to get this issue resolved. I agree that the issue should have not taken this long.  Once the loan is paid off the process to release the title is a simple one as the title should be in the customers file.  In this instance the title was not in the customers file. A duplicate title request was sent to the DMV and they received the request for title on the 29th of February 2016.

To respond to the concerns of talking to 4 different Equitable Finance employees and not getting resolution.  I can assure you the same issue will not happen again.

According to the DMV my office will have the title to be able to release to you at the Beginning of April. Upon which time we will contact ****** ******* to give him the Title to the Auto.

Regards 

**** ********

Branch Manager

Equitable Finance

5800 West Fairview Ave

Boise, ID 83704

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau: As long as the Title Issue is resolved in the next couple of weeks I will be OK with this response.


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Sincerely,

****** *******

8/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extremely unprofessional, not willing to correct mistakes they have made, and blame you. Use phrases such as "The little boy who cried wolf." When going through hardships from an accident where I was not able to walk and missed a bunch of work due to a fractured tibia, among other injuries, from being ran over by a truck, they were not willing to help me in any way. Actually ended up taking my car from me after falling a month and a half behind due to my accident and after paying $845 to get it back said that they would work with me on that months payment, but when it came down to it they expected my payment after it was just 15 days past due and threatened to take my car again if I did not pay by June 30th, got my car back June 10th. I ended up having to borrow the money, signed an agreement for $90.20 to extend my payment out which actually ended up being void due to the managers mistake again and ended up having to actually pay $137.66. This was on June 30th. Today, July 1st, they ended up running my debit card for $290.83, which my standard payment is $287.50, after we had already made the agreement, signed a document, and had paid. When I called them to ask why this was done the manager told me that it was "My fault, that this is why my payments should be made on time, and then said that he would get in contact with me. This was at 10:51am it is now 1:16 pm and nothing has been done about it, and I still have yet to be contacted. I ended up contacting their traveling manager, since they are not a corporation and are not BBB accredited, whom seemed very pleasant, who said he would contact the manager at the branch. Still waiting on a response. This is not the only problem that I have had with this company.

Desired Settlement: A refund, and that my account be transferred to a different branch so I no longer have to deal with the unprofessionalism, rudeness, and issue.

Business Response: 7/21 - **** (Director of Operations) and **** (Boise Branch Manager) reached out to customer and both parties have agreed to temporarily modify her pmts down to $140 a month for 3mths to help her out with her loss of income she has had due to her accident. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Equitable Finance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart