Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R H Smith Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 483-4040 Fax: (206) 243-9313 View Additional Phone Numbers 12925 Des Moines Memorial Dr, Burien, WA 98168 http://www.rhsmithco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers classic coatings, vinyl, cedar siding, hardplank siding, sunrooms, and windows services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R H Smith Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for R H Smith Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R H Smith Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1933 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1933
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Hal Smith, President Ms. Linda Jorstad, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Jorstad, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Hal Smith, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)


Additional Locations

  • 12925 Des Moines Memorial Dr

    Burien, WA 98168 (206) 243-9300 (866) 483-4040

  • PO Box 66558

    Burien, WA 98166

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They installed a sun room last May and two weeks ago I noticed water dripping from one of the seams. I have made five calls to them, had to leave messages on four of them, and did get a call back after the third. I was told that someone would be out to look it. If, possible, that day. No one has shown up and no one has returned may last two calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like my roof fixed.

Business Response: We have made contact with the customer and are arranging a time to inspect the roof. 

3/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To: R.H. Smith CO. Below is a copy of an attachment in an email sent by me to your company on Jan 27, 2014. As of today, I have had no response from you. Please provide facts & metrics in response to my warranty support request. Attention: Manager, customer service Dear Sir/Madam I notified you by phone 12/17/2013 left a message requesting warranty support that the texcote paint system on my home exterior has blistered & is not performing per product claim. Reference: Texcote Warranty # XXXXX Someone from your office responded within a week or so & reported they would send someone to inspect my home. I notified that person we would be out of town for the holidays & would not return until early January. I said they were free to look at the home without us, & suggested they gain entry to our fenced back yard by simply reaching over the fence & unlatching gate from inside. When asked if we had any pets in the back yard, I replied we do not. I was made to understand someone from your company would arrive to inspect the home & notify me of the status. Furthermore, if warranty repair was authorized, I understood such warranty work must wait until the weather changed from our usual winter wet to dry climate. I called your office 3 times (Jan 14, 15, & 17) and left a message requesting status of warranty claim. Problem is, no one from your company has returned my calls, nor have I received anything in the mail from you. This lack of response is troubling, and I wonder what your policy is concerning customer issues response time. I'd appreciate a timely reply explaining your approach to customer service and the status of my warranty service request. Thank you **** *******

Desired Settlement: Rectification for peeling, blistered & cracked home sealing / paint system. System was applied by R. H. Smith Co employees, system is not performing to warranty. Except for a single telephone call prior to end of December, company has not replied to numerous warranty support requests in January 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/02/26) */ We are responding to complaint about our company. We were not able to respond on your website so I am sending you a email. Regarding case # XXXXXXXX. Customer has been contacted and a mutually agreed time to meet at the house will be made. Sent from my iPhone

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DO NOT RETURN PHONE CALLS. AND KEEP GETTING RUN AROUND AND EXCUSES AND HAVE NOT STARTED JOB. AFTER ASSURANCES THAT WILL DONE . HAVE HEARD NEXT WEEK OVER AND OVER FOR THE PAST 3 WEEKS . ALWAYS SOME EXCUSAE ON WHY JOB HAS NOT BEEN STARTED

Desired Settlement: COMPLETE THE JOB IN THE NEXT WEEK. OR WANT MONEY $1900.00 BACK FOR THE MATERIALS THAT WAS GIVEN TO THEM ON OCTOBER 2 2013. WITH AN ASSURANCE THAT JOB WOULD BE COMPLETE IN OCTOBEWR OR THE 1ST WEEK IN NOVEMBER. IT IS NOVEMBER 12, 2013 HAVE NOT STARTED JOB. NOR HAVE THEY TOLD ME WHEN. OTHER THAN I AM NEXT. HAVE BEEN HEARINBG THAT FOR THE PAST TWO WEEKS

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/19) */ All of customers phone calls to our office were returned as soon as we could. Customer contracted our company to apply a exterior coating system to the outside walls of her home. Good weather is mandatory to applying this coating. We explained numerous times that we could not complete the job in front of hers because of bad weather. When the weather allowed us to finish the previous job we would then have the crews start her job. We have always explained the reason to why we could not start her job and have not given her the run around. As of this time we have been able to start her job but again we have to have some favorable weather to complete.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on R H Smith Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)