BBB Accredited Business since

F/X Repair & Remodeling

Phone: (503) 542-4442 Fax: (503) 542-4441 View Additional Phone Numbers 2950 NW 29th Ave, Portland, OR 97210 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fxrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that F/X Repair & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for F/X Repair & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on F/X Repair & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1996 Business started: 07/01/1994 in OR Business started locally: 07/01/1994 Business incorporated 03/21/1994 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Alvis, President Miss. Amity Fry, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Alvis, President
Customer Contact: Miss. Amity Fry, Office Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Exterior Structures - Barn Construction Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Handyman Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Stair Builders Cabinets Fence Contractors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Vinyl Custom Framing Ceiling Removal Christmas Lights & Decorations Fire Damage Restoration Pressure Washing Windows - Repairing Tile & Marble Insulation Removal Wall & Ceiling Texturing Contractor - Commercial Contractor - Sheetrock Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Contractors - Flooring Quartz Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Outdoor Kitchens Design & Build Contractor Building Restoration & Preservation Carpenters Contractors - Ceiling Contractors - Acoustical Ceiling Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Contractors - Gutters Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roof Decks Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Basement Waterproofing Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
7:00am - 3:00pm
Method(s) of Payment
Checks & Cash

Additional Locations

  • 2950 NW 29th Ave

    Portland, OR 97210 (503) 297-8682 (503) 542-4442 (503) 542-4440 (360) 254-0044

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: F/X Repair remodeled our upstairs master bath and installed a new shower bath combo unit.A year later we had a major leak coming from the drain of the new shower bath.It filled the ceiling ofour downstairs bath with water.Tom an employee from F/X came by and said he would do the drywall on the downstairs bath and paint it.He completed the drywall and said he would come back and "paint the bathroom".When someone says they are going to paint the bathroom and yet knows they are going to do a partial paint job they usually say something.After the paint was completed I came home to find a halfway painted bath.I called Tom and he was adament about not coming back to finish.The owner Bob A**** felt the same way.This raised my curiosity.Iwrote and asked if Tom has a plumbers licence,and if my drain was ever inspected prior to finishing thejob.He has never answered this question.

Desired Settlement: Complete the paint job.

Business Response:

We completed a full master bath remodel in June 2014 (or about)......on 12 May 2015, they called about a leak.....our Lead
was on site 13 May and found they had already had a plumber arranged to repair the leak and replace the
fiberglass tub.   The ******* bought the tub directly for the remodel.    Our experience is that the style fiberglass
tub they bought often cracks and is the cause of the leak as the slope drives the leak to the drain pipe....and, during
this scope on 13 May we were not in a position to determine the exact cause of the leak or a combination.

As the tub was being replaced due to the crack....seems that most likely this was the cause if not at minimum a
contribution.    We did not debate........just arranged to repair the drywall damage below the master in the bath.
The agreed we should wait till all the replacement is completed and some time to make sure no further leaking.
We made these arrangements at no cost even though we do not warrant products which the owners purchase
themselves.    We asked the ****** to put out the paint we used last year so we could re use.

We returned and repaired the drywall on 16 July.     During the next weeks, we called and emailed numerous times
to complete the painting.   When we showed to complete the painting after the finally returned our calls and email,
we found that they had changed to a much different color so we completed the two walls damaged and completed
the full section repainting of one wall and the ceiling.  Normally, a spot
touch up works very effectively when the original painting is less than 2 years old.

Our Lead did tell them we were going to paint the repair.....we never indicated that we were going to repaint the full
bathroom especially in that the tub was the cause of the leak in some portion or maybe the sole leak !!!   The fact is
we do not know and if just the tub was the cause this would not have been a warrant for us.

On his comment on the plumbing, there was not change in the drain or supply lines to replace the tub, just
re connections.    So, our understanding is that this does not require a plumber's lic.   Our contract does
stimulate this variable and also has the add if the customer or homeowner wants this only to be done
with a Permit layout.  

So, in my opinion.....we did a great service beyond the call of duty, so to speak....
           a.  we backed our work for free even though is likely their purchased material caused the leak
                   and did not debate in even a hint,  of our backing regardless without charge.
           b.  we used the different color or paint without charging even though this took more time
                          than using the same color.

Appreciate your suggestion and feedback on our description.

Bob A****, President
F/X Repair & Remodeling



We were




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on F/X Repair & Remodeling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)