This business is not BBB accredited.

Cornerstone Remodel & Design LLC

Phone: (907) 336-0484 Fax: (907) 929-5480 View Additional Phone Numbers 601 W 58th Ave Ste 140, Anchorage, AK 99518 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cornerstoneremodel.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home repair and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Cornerstone Remodel & Design LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Cornerstone Remodel & Design LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cornerstone Remodel & Design LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2012 Business started: 05/01/2011 Business started locally: 05/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Darryl Waters, Owner Mr. Jesus Garcia, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darryl Waters, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cornerstone Remodel & Design LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    601 W 58th Ave Ste 140

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (855) 826-8716 (907) 336-0484

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An agreement was made with Cornerstone Remodel & Design for furnace repair, deck replacement, & window replacements in exchange for our 1996 36' Newmar Dutchstar Motorhome and cash. This agreement was made over three years ago. Since that time the furnace work has not been completed, the deck that was built, we were told by the workmen he sent over, is inadequate (they even took pictures to protect themselves), and no windows have been replaced. When we have tried to contact Mr. ****** we do not get a response, or they say someone will be over and no one shows up.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the furnace completed, the windows replaced and the repairs to the joists made per Mr. ****** suggestion rather than the extended ledger boards, or the Motorhome returned in like or better condition than when it was turned over to Mr. ****** for payment in full. Our Credit Union will not refinance our home at a lower interest rate until all work is completed. Mr. ****** knew this from the beginning and it has cost us greatly these last three years, during this time the interest rates have continued to rise.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The job started around October and to this day not been finished completely. The quality of work is very poor. If we tried to sell our house right now I would have to pay another contractor to come and fix the work they have done from my cabinets, tile floor, the window, the deck and the list keeps going. I finally got******** to come back to look at the deck which was not even bolted down and the support beam's could of came out and hurt someone. My deck is still not done and the window is still not even done. ******** keeps telling me that he will be over to fix things but that is what I always keep hearing from him. He has had his workers here to fix things and nothing is fixed correctly and they have to keep coming back. I have also been lied to to********. I also have saved text messages to show the times I have contacted him and pictures nto show the poor quality of work and the issues are still not resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the work that is not correct (deck, window, broken cabinet and the leveling of the cabinets, tile that is uneven, the crooked dry wall etc.) to be fixed by a licensed contractor (not cornerstone) that can do the job the right way the first time and who has employees that know what they are doing.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/08/05) */ I have resolved the issues with Cornerstone Remodel and Design and would like to remove this complaint.

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All plumbing was done illegally, including no vents used for drains, rubber pipes used under floor and plumbing connections installed in illegal orientations. Both windows installed are crooked and without proper support/headers. Skylights installed are hanging by one joist in a 'pivoting' manner, and has compromised the roofs strength. Joists were cut for plumbing in a way that has severely weakened their strength, some only have 1 or 2 inches left in them. The one completed shower that they tiled is now leaking water into the adjoining wardrobe and we have wet carpet, wet walls and mold as a result. The electrical outlets and light in rooms below have been effected and do not work correctly. Damage was done to ceilings below the bathrooms and to walls in neighboring rooms. We have had a structural engineer and 4 licensed plumbers in to confirm the extent of the damage that has been done to our house. This job was said to take 5-6 weeks but after 8 weeks we were no where near completion and we had discovered all the work that had been done was done negligently.

Desired Settlement: We are after a full refund. None of the work done is adequate to last a month of usage. Work has to be redone and all tile work needs to be replaced to fix the shower. The damage done to joists and the roof needs to be repaired according to the structural engineers analysis. This is going to cost more than what we have paid Cornerstone. If we are left with no alternative but to take it to court then I will be seeking more damages to cover these costs and for pain and suffering, as I'm 20 weeks pregnant and the stress and mold issues have left me with additional tests needed for my pregnancy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/03) */ The work done at this home was not done well, we are in communication with the husband to pay for corrective measures so the owners can have their bathrooms completed. We are willing to pay the bills on the project and take responsibility. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 27, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept their response because he has not been in contact with our lawyer to arrange any kind of payment. We contacted the bond company and notified them that court proceedings will start against Cornerstone and the bond company unless we receive the bond money and then the bond company will be free from litigation. If Cornerstone is serious about repayments then they need to arrange a legally binding contract with our lawyer stating an agreement to repay the money that it has cost us to fix the damages they made to our house. We have received no money from Cornerstone and have no reason to believe they are sincere in their desire to make things right. Final Business Response /* (4000, 38, 2014/01/28) */ We in fact have been in touch with ****** ******* the clients lawyer and have a written document present and a payment. We have instructed the bond company to release the $10K to the client and we are prepare to make arrangements for balance to be paid in order to cover the cost of the repairs that we are responsible for. We have talked to *** ******** on 1/14/2014 about payment arrangements and was told that he has to report to the client and get payment arrangements approved by Ms.***. We have every intention to meet our obligation to this client, and again we are very sorry to have been associated with such a mess. We have made significant changes in personnel and project over sight to ensure nothing like this happens in the future. We will make it right with the client.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Cornerstone Remodel & Design LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart