Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cascade Design/Build Inc

Phone: (206) 632-4300 Fax: (206) 632-7061 4902 Aurora Ave N, Ste A, Seattle, WA 98103

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers home remodeling services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cascade Design/Build Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cascade Design/Build Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Douglas Reymore, Owner Mrs. Lourdes Reymore, Co-Owner Dixie Rose, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Reymore, Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Lourdes Reymore, Co-Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Restoration & Preservation Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Cascade Construction Design/Build Inc Cascade Construction Inc Cascade Design/Build

Additional Locations

  • 4902 Aurora Ave N, Ste A

    Seattle, WA 98103 (206) 632-4300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kitchen Cabinet Warranty Issue and installation refund cost

Desired Settlement: Kitchen Cabinet Warranty Issue and installation refund cost. One of our cabinet doors is warped badly and one of the other doors is slightly warped. Two of our cabinet drawers need a slight adjustment. The cabinet company need to visit our sight to see if the problems cab be corrected

Business Response: This warranty-related work was already completed in a timely fashion last week, after following up with the cabinet company, ordering the replacement cabinet doors, and scheduling the installation along with minor adjustment to a couple of drawer fronts.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The important response for an Invoice and Installation Cost was never addresses.


***** ******

Business Response:

Thursday, September 15, 2016




We would like to advise the Better Business Bureau that, through our insurance company, Cascade Design/Build has reached an agreed resolution with the ******s concerning their complaint, and that the case can be closed.


Many thanks,

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/11/15 We signed a contract with Cascade Design/Build on July 30 2015 and paid our down payment. At the time of this writing it is mid December. We feel this was adequate time to remodel a 110 sq ft kitchen. Currently we have placed a temporary Jack Post to hold up the ceiling and roof where they removed a load bearing wall, we want them to correct this problem. Their solution should be verified by a structural engineering company. The load bearing capacity of the repaired roof support must be the same as it was before the wall removal. I have been sending the Contractor multiple request to correct this condition since early November and he has continually ignore me, only in the last week has he been willing to discuss this issue and now he wants additional money to correct his mistake. They destroyed a section of our kitchen floor which needs to be replaced, but we need the roof support problem fix before installing a new floor. As a second issue we paid over $50,000 to remodel this 110 sq ft kitchen and want to know the cost of all labor and material. They will not release any of this information to us except for change notices. Again I have been sending the Contractor multiple request for this information and have been ignored. I have a time line of correspondence and pictures prepared related to this problem, that can be provide at your request. We would appreciate any help or advice you could give us to resolve these problem.

Desired Settlement: Since they removed a major load bearing wall. We want the roof structure examined by a qualified engineer to make sure it will support the same load (like snow) that the rest of the roof supports. We want to know the cost of all material and labor. So we can tell what we are paying for.

Business Response:

This e-mail is in response to ***** ******’s complaint with your ID ********:

With regard to the load-bearing mentioned in the customer’s complaint, the interior wall in question was not technically a “load-bearing wall”, but rather an interior partition wall with one load point helping to brace a portion of the roof above. It was explained to the homeowners upon detailed review of the original specifications prior to starting work on the project that, if the wall in question (or a portion thereof) was found to be load-bearing, we would determine what additional work was needed to compensate for opening it up, review our recommendation and the costing (which could be time and materials for certain specific cases) with the homeowners for their approval. After this load point was determined (no “mistake”), we had a lead carpenter install temporary bracing, while we further assessed the area and consulted a licensed architect. The architect recommended a series of 2x4 braces in the area, and we lined up a framer to put in the permanent supports. On the day the framer and crew were scheduled to do the work, the homeowners stopped them, saying they wanted a structural engineer to make a recommendation. The homeowner (husband) told me they were going to consult a structural engineer on their own and present his/her recommendation to us for costing, so that we could do a change order and the related work (after their approval and payment). Our contract clearly states that any additional work necessitated by code, etc. not in the specifications of the contract will be addressed in a change order for the homeowners’ approval and payment. That’s the last we have heard from the homeowners regarding the structural work. They never got back to us.

We have completed all the contracted work (including paying in advance for floor-related work through their flooring subcontractor), and need to be paid the balance due. With regard to the homeowners’ request for a breakdown of labor and materials, they are apparently confused. Our primary contracts are always for a fixed price – not labor and materials. An exception, as stated above, would be for an added line item that could not be accurately costed out ahead of time. The homeowners added four change orders to the original scope of work and price. The most recent change order included eight line items. All changes to the scope of work add to the total time of the project for costing out the requested labor and materials, and doing the additional work. Each of those requested change orders included a detailed description of the added scope, and a price. The homeowners approved all four, and paid for them, and the work was completed.

Best regards,

Doug R******

Cascade Design/Build



Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because

:As far as the wall not being an important support wall it provided major Knee Wall support for 25 ft of roof. Your carpenter provided a temp support under my direction on Dec 8. We were left with out full support from OCT 26 to Dec 8 (when I installed a Jack Post to support the ceiling). If a heavy snow would have occurred during that time frame some severe damage could have occurred to our roof without this support. As it is now we are having problems with two doors in the kitchen area closing correctly because of this.

Our contract does not say anything about accepting the removal of a roof support wall  (that would be crazy) the contract stated "Open up the non-bearing doorway wall"  That was the whole reason for accepting the job. If all  those other things you are dreaming up were really in our copy of the contract we would never have accepted the job.
I totally disapprove of the way this job was handled. Contractors should not remove ANY kind of support wall without providing a direct replacement immediately, even if the customer wants you to. That is dangerous and irresponsible.

We do not understand what a "Fixed Price" means normally when I purchase something I always get a receipt or an invoice. This should be explained fully in the contract. In fact my copy of the contract that you and I signed on July 30, does not contain any pricing information at all. I can send you a copy if you want. I assumed the final pricing would be determined at the end of the job.

Currently  the roof support addition has been completed at my expense so we can stop discussing that. We are anxious to get this job closed. Now that we know you agree to the floor replacement I will call and set it up right away.

This is a $55,000 kitchen so we are asking our insurance company for additional coverage, but they want to know the cost of cabinets, backsplash and countertop. Since you paid for these changes we want you to give us that information.

You need to replace the sink water Faucett damaged during installation.

The following refunds are needed:

$712 for PUCK lights never installed
$715 for a switch and under cabinet lights never installed, since I have no invoice I priced these at Lowes and for our cabinets it would be $715.
$350 for the difference to install 1 3 way switch instead of 2 4 way switches.
$48  for the replacement of faulty circuit breaker


***** ******

Business Response:

Attached here is our follow-up response to the above complaint. Also attached is a complete copy of the signed and approved original specifications and costing for the ****** remodel project. The homeowners subsequently requested, and paid for, additional work, documented in change orders. If you wish, we can forward those as well.

Please let us know if there is any additional information we can provide.

Best regards,


Doug R******

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We need a detail Invoice from you so we know what we bought what it cost and when it was bought. This will allow us to upgrade our homeowner insurance and qualify for all the warranty's provided buy the cabinet, backsplash, countertop and Delta Faucett manufactures. For instance the Canyon Creek Cabinets have a life time warranty but we have no way to validate our warranty without an Invoice to prove we are the owners. The same thing applies to everything else. We have not received a single pice of paper from you regarding the warrant or anything else for this job. The only way I found out there was a Lifetime warranty on them was by visiting the Canyon Creek Showroom.
Your last response claimed that you sent us some receipts. That is crazy I have never received any paper from you of any kind. I did ask you for information however on the following emails 11/22, 11/29, 12/02, 12/04, 12/07, 12/08 you never responded to any of these requests. 

Here are the checks we paid to Cascade Design/Build ck#3996 $15,304.49 ck#4008 $940.37 ck#4009 $4,101.23 ck#4025 $429.04 ck#4029 $4,372.71 ck#4035 $4372.71 ck#4036 #4372.71 ck#4037 $4372.71 ck#4045 $4372.71 ck#4046 $4372.71 ck#1521 $8,031.49 
= $55,042.88 This is the amount of dollars your invoice should cover.

We keep the invoice from all our home improvement projects in a separate folder so they can be used to increase the Cost Basis of our home. This will allow us to save thousands of dollars in capital gains tax when we sell our home. We want an invoice from you that shows how our $55,042.88 was used and what was purchased. It should be able to pass an IRS audit where the cost may be checked to be sure they are reasonable. This will allow us to claim the Capital Gains tax savings we are entitled to.

I hope you are not doing this to all your customers if so they could loose thousands of dollars in capital Gain tax relief when they sell their homes.

It was interesting in your last response when you said that a total breakdown of the entire project cost would not be possible. Here is a general description of a contractor from Wikipedia. 

"Responsibilities may include applying for building permits, securing the property, providing temporary utilities on site, managing personnel on site, providing site surveying and engineering, disposing or recycling of construction waste, monitoring schedules and cash flows, and maintaining ACCURATE RECORDS."

It appears from your last response your accurate records for the entire project are not available. You are a licensed business and I am sure all these records are available.

The reason the PUCK and under cabinet lights were not installed is because these cabinets are designed to have trim pieces installed under the cabinet. The lights are then installed and hidden behind that trim. Since you never installed the trim for us the electrician had no place to install the lights. You are the contractor it was your job to coordinate the cabinet installer and electricians work so all parts of the job could be completed.  Currently we have no over the sink lights and no under cabinet lights. And by the way all those trim pieces are still laying in the garage where Canyon Creek delivered them, they must be worth $600 dollars and since we paid for them and they were not installed for us we want a refund for them also. 

We are ready any time to get Faucet changed out just send me an email to give me the date and time.

The Conversion of existing sws to 4 way and add 2-4 Way switch's was not done as described in Change notice 4. Instead 2 - 2 way switches were converted to 3 way and 1 - 3 way added, it takes a lot less time to install one additional 3 way than 2 new 4 way switches. We want a refund for the labor and material saved by not installing the 4-way switches. $ 150
Your last response claims that the sw by the bathroom was converted to 4 way that doesn't make any since because the other two switches it works with are 3 - Way a 4 way in that location would not be required. The labor cost saved by running a new cable through the ceiling and down a wall by the front bedroom for an additional 4 Way Sw is a very time consuming job that we paid for and was never done.

The faulty circuit breaker kept turning of all the kitchen and dinning room lights. I emailed the electrician and they said the failure would stop after a few weeks. I finally asked a friend about this and he found that one of the circuit breakers installed (which should have been new) was an older used breaker with a bare spot on the ground lead. He replaced it for me which corrected the problem, I want a refund for the new breaker.

I don't see why you are charging us $450 for your carpenter and the pictures you took. Normally I don't pay anyone to take pictures. That carpenter doesn't work for me he works for you.

The way I see these rebates is as follows:
- 712 PUCK Lights not installed
- 48  Faulty Circuit Breaker
- 150 change notice 4 way sws
- 600 Cabinet TrimBoards not installed
- 500 Under Cabinet Lights not installed

$2,186.36 - $2,010 = $176.36

We will send you a check for this amount after you replace our Faucet.


***** ******

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cascade Design and Build was hired to remodel our kitchen and living room. As part of the remodel, they refinished our existing hardwood floors and extended hardwood floors into the kitchen and dining room they remodeled. Within the first year, the hardwoods (new and existing) started separating and cracking (up to 1/16th of an inch) to the point that you could feel the separation when walking on them. I contacted **** (the owner of Cascade) to discuss the warranty and having the hardwoods floors refinished. He made an appointment with me the following week to look at the floors and agreed they should be refinished. Cascade initially made the request to the hardwood flooring company they hired ******** ****** to refinish the hardwood floors. ******* ***** turned down the request without even coming to the house to see the quality of the job. They also followed up with the company ********* ************ who installed the flooring as a sub-contractor on behalf of ******* ***** ******** recommended filling the cracks, but would not refinish the floors. I did not believe this was an appropriate solution for our new floors, so I decided to get additional opinions and called two local hardwood flooring companies to inspect our floors and make recommendations. Both of the companies that came out were of the same opinion, the floors require sanding and refinishing. They both stated that simply filling the cracks would not achieve a long term correction to the issues. As for the new hardwood floors in the kitchen and dining room, the best guess is that the floor was refinished prior to the water damage (caused by Cascade Design and *************** being fully corrected. Where the water damage was, the floor boards have a wave to them, and there were multiple cracks that measured up to 1/16th of an inch between the individual hardwood boards. They both agreed that since this is a new hardwood floor, that there should have been no movement, that the floor should not have separated anywhere and that the only way to correct the issue is through sanding down and refinishing the floors. For the existing hardwoods they explained that the hardwood floors may not keep all the fill and that some cracking could be expected, but they stated that the amount of cracking in the first year was unacceptable. They stated that a Swedish finish should have been used as it has a stronger bonding agent and would hold up better in a house of this generation. I provided these competitive bids to Cascade, but they refuse to have the hardwood floors refinished and will only offer to fill the cracks in our new hardwoods.

Desired Settlement: Sanding of the existing hardwood flooring and refinishing with a Swedish finish.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/02) */ We requested an evaluation of the floor finish from a third-party floor finishing professional, **** ******** at *** **** ******* Here is that evaluation: From: **** ******** mailto:****@*************.com Sent: Thursday, May 02, 2013 1:11 PM To: ****** Subject: ********* edited Hello, I inspected the hardwood floor at the ********* residence at XXXX XX** *** ** on May 2nd, 2013 and have the following observations. The floor was cracking at the seams in a few areas. I notice the one newly installed area was having air from the heating vent blowing directly on it. This has caused the boards to dry out and separate. There was also an area by the kitchen sink that has expanded and created a bump. This was caused by excessive moisture. And there were a few pre-existing hardwood areas where the boards have separated. The cause of this is that the floor has dried out and shrunk. In my opinion the separated areas are a environmental issue, not an installation or a lack of following the correct installation procedures. The expanded bump in the wood by the sink was caused by moisture. I would expect that over time that area will dry out and cease to be a bump. That might take a while and it might cause the boards to be compressed. When a board is compressed then a crack will most likely be apparent. The solution to the cracking areas is to oil putty the effected areas. The solution for the bumpy area is to let it dry more, then oil putty if needed. Adding another coat of finish wood be helpful in keeping the putty secure, but should not be the responsibility of the hardwood contractor. One other observation I had was that the existing wood floor was loose and squeaked. This can be caused by having past excessive moisture on the floor, or an unstable environment. What happens is that the wood expands from moisture, then when it dries the nails holding floor down can loosen. This can also explain the instability of the existing hardwood. Also hardwood floors almost always shrink up in the winter. Because of the heating of the house it will cause the humidity to drop and the floors will shrink. In the summer the heat is off the humidity rises. A construction environment can also cause humidity issues. During a remodel it is almost impossible to create a stable environment, and should not be expected. So the ********* floor might expand over the summer and the cracks could go away. I would recommend waiting to do any filling of the cracks until September. Overall the floor installation, sanding and finishing was good. **** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* ****** *** **** **** ** ******* *** Kenmore WA, 98028 Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX http://www.*************.com/ Our subsequent response to the clients was this: Wednesday, November 13, 2013 Hi ***** - In response to your e-mail of last Wednesday, Cascade is willing to take care of any and all hardwood seam separations in the main floor hardwood through the utilization of the product best recognized and recommended in the hardwood floor finishing industry for that purpose: ******** pre-finished putty: http://********.com/woodfiller/prefinish.html. Let us know if you would like to go ahead and schedule this work, and we'll coordinate. Regards, **** ******* Cascade Design/Build XXX-XXX-XXXX/XXX-XXX-XXXX As suggested by *** ******** of *** **** ******* there are issues in the home beyond the professional floor finishing done there.The product we propose to use is made specifically for the purpose of filling and finishing the tiny cracks in the flooring. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept this new offer. When we receive payment from Cascade Design and Build, we will schedule the floors to be refinished by the professional of our choice, using the finish of our choice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/16) */ We simply disagree on what is the reasonable remediation here, so we propose to pay the homeowners $1,200 and they can do whatever they prefer.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cascade Design/Build Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)