Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Build NW Inc

Phone: (253) 566-0341 Fax: (253) 566-0403 12621 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood, WA 98499 http://www.advancedbuildnw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial new construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Build NW Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Build NW Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Build NW Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 1999 Business started: 07/01/1995 Business started locally: 07/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Elizabeth Nicks, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Elizabeth Nicks, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Home Builders Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 12621 Pacific Hwy SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 566-0341

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Advanced Build to build a private residence in November 2011. Ground was broken in January 2012. Now, 2 1/2 years after starting construction, the house is only to the point of the exterior shell and rough utilities, which have not yet passed inspection. We have made repeated inquiries by e-mail and phone. Many of our messages have been ignored. The delay and poor customer service have become intolerable.

Desired Settlement: Complete the project in a timely manner, as stated in the original contract. Provide a timeline with dates and adhere to it. Demonstrate more appropriate customer service by identifying and assigning a project manager for a consistent point of contact and timely communication.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/18) */ I have discussed the situation with the customers and we have come to an understanding. We are building a custom home for them and they have had a difficult time understanding that there are a lot of factors that influence the timeline for construction. There have been a couple of delays on our end due to circumstances beyond our control (special order material shipments being delayed...our HVAC subcontractor going out of business due to health reasons), but the majority of the delays have been caused by the customer. Every time we turn around, they are wanting to make some sort of change, or add something, or want us to look into different materials for them and every time this happens, we have to stop and help them to gather all the information they are asking for and then wait for them to tell us what they have decided. We have explained to them many times that when they halt the process, it causes a snowball effect. If I have to reschedule a subcontractor, sometimes it is a month or more before I can get them back. This is a customer that takes months to make a decision about things that we need to know in order to proceed and then shows up on the job site and decides that they don't like something and demands that we change it. On top of that, he has been verbally abusive and degrading to our employees and subcontractors...to the point where nobody wants to go anywhere near the job. He spent months with our electrician changing things and adding things...so much that the electrical inspector said that he has never seen a house with as much wiring as this one. He has had us move the same wall at least 6 times that I know of....I think that half of his house has actually been built more than once. It has been extremely frustrating for us and we have actually been in a position where we could legally walk away from this job for some time now. We have not done that because we value our customers and our reputation as a construction company. I would like to also state that this customer attempted to withdraw his complaint, but was told that it was too late for it to be removed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Build NW Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)