Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Seattle Grout & Tile

Phone: (206) 310-9127 View Additional Phone Numbers 16824 42nd Dr SE, Bothell, WA 98012

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial tile and grout services, including installation, repair and cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Seattle Grout & Tile
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 2006 Business started: 07/01/1999 Business started locally: 07/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian Leahu, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Leahu, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Swimming Pool Service & Repair Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile & Marble Tile & Grout Cleaning Grout Resurfacing & Repair Tile Restoration Caulking Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 10am - 6pm

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Seattle Grout & Tile has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    16824 42nd Dr SE

    Bothell, WA 98012 (206) 310-9127


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honestly, I don't know what to say about ***** and his business. I've done quite a bit of work on homes myself so I'm not completely dumbfounded by contractors/home services alike.I decided to list my home for sale and just wanted to do some refreshing in the bathroom. When I got started with an epoxy enamel on my bathtub, I realized the prior owner of my condo had already done a botched job so my dad layering more epoxy on epoxy causes this orange peel look. We tried to scrape it off and had most of it done but realized we were way behind my contract to sell schedule. I called around and couldn't find a contractor available immediately and I stumbled onto *****'s yelp business review. He picked up and just like a prior reviewer, was surprised he was willing to take the job just like that.He shows up and takes a look at my bathtub and that's when I realized I should have sent him running along. He looked completely bewildered and said he had never see anything like this. He grabs his tools from the truck and makes a few feeble attempts at scraping the epoxy. I told him I had been using acetone since it really is one of the only things that break up epoxy other than even more harmful chemicals. He continues to do it even though I politely and passively tells him I was going to call a contractor the next day. About 2 hours later, he charges me $200 and makes a remark that he would normally charge $700. I'm thinking, okay, yes, it sucks and it's not fun to scrape epoxy but its certainly not skilled labor, its just manual labor. Anyway, he stopped after 2 hours and said he would send one of his brother's guys out the next day for 15-16 dollars an hour to finish the work. I said okay. The next day, he tells my via text his labor guy bailed so he was going to come after his project. I asked him for a price and he didn't respond but he responded to everything else. I don't know if his guy actually bailed or he just saw an easy way to tack on another $200 - $300. At that point, I think his guilty conscience finally kicked in and he realized he was taking advantage of me. I had a contractor come that very next day and he said I should have never allowed a grout guy come in and tell me how it can be done. He told me that only licensed, bonded and insured all around contractors can advise on the best and most affordable solution. And yes, I went with that contractor and that $200 could have gone towards it since it wasn't much more. I want to say that he genuinely wanted to help but he also saw huge $$$ when he knew the job required no skill just manual labor. He knows the reason why I'm selling my property too. In a simple sentence, my life is literally depending on the proceeds of my sale and if he knew he couldn't fix the problem 15-20 minutes in, he should have told me and left. I would have gladly paid him for 15 minutes of work. I hope he sees this and is ashamed of himself for taking advantage of a sick person. Even if he meant well BUT knew he didn't have a clue as to what he was doing, the honest thing would have been to just admit it and not continue wasting his time and my money. I ended up having to pay him and then hire a contractor who did know how to fix it cheaper.Word of advice to those seeking home improvement, keep calling around and asking for quotes. Ask for pictures and expertise as to what they have done.

Desired Settlement: I wish I didn't let him stay but I did so I'm not going to discredit his work. However, it was not worth $200 and he should not have continued to do anything when he knew he had no idea what he was getting into.Requesting $75 dollar refund.

Business Response: The lady called me saying she had an emergancy with her tubsurround, her place will be on the market in 3 days and she had epoxy haze all over it, I was at work in seattle at the time, i told her i would stop by after work around 6-7pm, I got to her place, walked in the bathroom and the tubsurround wall tiles were painted with an epoxy spray can, I told her i never see this before painted on the tile, but will give it a shot to remove it. she told me she had been using a paint thiner to remove it
so i got some tools from my car and started to remove this epoxy paint of the walls, I apply paint thiner on walls and scrape it of with razorblade, two hours later i removed about 60% of the epoxy paint,  it was 9pm by now so i was tired from working all day, and told her if she want me to come back the next day after work i would finish the job for $700 total, to remove epoxy, regrout shower, recaulk and clear seal, fair price for that kind of work, anyway the next day she told me she got someone else to do the work for pizza, i said ok and that was that, i will pay her $75 no problem 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Seattle Grout & Tile
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart