Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Spam Arrest LLC

Phone: (206) 965-8767 7683 SE 27th St Pmb 273, Mercer Island, WA 98040 http://www.spamarrest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete spam and virus protection solutions for enterprise and service providers as well as individual users.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spam Arrest LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Spam Arrest LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has received complaints concerning sales practice and refund issues. Consumers allege after signing up for a free trial offer from Spam Arrest, the company charges them $29.95 for the spam-blocking service. Consumers further allege when contacting Spam Arrest regarding the charge, the company refuses to issue a refund.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spam Arrest LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2003 Business started: 09/01/2001 Business started locally: 09/01/2001 Business incorporated 09/12/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Cartmell, Owner Ms. Louise Harb, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Cartmell, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Louise Harb, Director of Operations
Business Category

Computers - Network Security Computers Hardware, Software & Services Wired Telecommunications Carriers (NAICS: 517110)

Alternate Business Names
Spam Arrest

Additional Locations

  • 7683 SE 27th St Pmb 273

    Mercer Island, WA 98040 (206) 965-8767

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged my account for a service I have not used in over 502 days. Hi BBB, A company called SpamArrest in Washington just charged my account and took my money which was not authorized by me. I signed in to my old acct and it said that I had not been there for 502 days. They had an expired credit card on file but they must have changed the dates to put it through. They took my money out of my bank account and they were not authorized to do that. Their service did not work for me. It was supposed to stop spam or at least slow it down. My email account had so much spam getting through it became unusable. I changed my email about 510 days ago and gave up on spam arrest. At their web site there is no way to remove my credit card info. I just had to cancel my debit card so this wouldn't happen again. Now a have to wait a week for a new card for my bank account. The bottom line is they took my money for a service that didn't work and they were not authorized by me to do that. I hope you can help. ***** ******* *** ******** *************************

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern - a response to this was faxed in some time ago so we are confused as to why nothing has yet been posted. The link on the BBB website to log into complaints from the business was (and still is) broken so thus we faxed into one of the many fax numbers we assumed were local and are puzzled why the fax has not been logged as we have confirmation received. Here is a copy of the facsimilie sent on May 12, 2016 to: 253-830-2925. I know realize the link is broken and we must log in to access any information transmittal. 


To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for forwarding on the consumer comments from Mr. ***** *******. We have been trying to submit a response on line via the BBB website however the front page business link seems to be down so please accept via fax copy. 

We have issued Mr. ******* a full refund per his request as his experience has been regretful however we are confused as to why Mr. ******* did not cancel the account as instructed via email on 4/29. The cancellation link provided both at sign up and in our Terms of Service was re-sent along with courtesy instructions to follow.

Spam Arrest works hard to support a heavily growing global customer base and take all consumer needs very seriously. We uphold our values and services to a high degree. If a consumer is displeased and chooses to make their opinion heard to organizations or websites we encourage all communication and love and appreciate that we live in a place we are able to provide free speech and quality control. 

Although we feel we did provide Mr. ******* all the correct tools necessary to expedite his requests we have manually issued the full refund of $109.95. Please let me know if I may be of further assistance and thank hou for providing your services to both consumer and business - such an important tool for all of us to continue moving forward. 

Louise H***
Director of Operations
Spam Arrest, LLC


1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a customer for many years. However, they have never upgraded their service to keep up with the times. Gmail surpassed them years ago. Their servers are snail SLOW. I could get a cup of coffee waiting for my inbox to boot up. My business was a tangle of service providers, domain servers, etc. It took a long time to untangle, or I would have escaped Spam Arrest year's ago. Finally, we figured this out.   Spam Arrest says that since I paid two years in advance, they could not refund me a penny, even though I canceled the service and have not used the two years. I always paid only for ONE year. This was a mistake of clicking the wrong button. My credit card was instantly charged. After over seven years as a loyal customer, they refuse to refund a penny for two years of unused service.  My credit card company is now involved. I'll also be taking this to the FTC. It's illegal to charge for a service you have not performed. I EXPECT A REFUND!

Desired Settlement: REFUND !

Business Response:

I am in receipt of a letter received from the BBB- we would appreciate being able to
receive via email as this will allow for a more expedient response and resolve.
I have looked into this complaint and agree that the Customer Service
Representative that responded to this customer should have credited the difference
on the subscription owed. However, our Terms of Service do clearly state the refund
policy and other important details. This situation is regretful however if the
individual has contacted their credit card company then we cannot issue the refund
but the credit card company will and we will not refute the chargeback. This means
that **** ***** will receive the requested refund directly from the credit card
company.
If this is not the case and **** ***** has not in fact contacted the credit card
company I am happy to issue the refund directly.
I would like to point out that no, we are not Google. We do not have any where near
the resources available to Google and we remain a boutique service working
diligently to service our global customer base. We take great pride in our US based
company employing folks doing the best they can. In this case the situation was
unfortunately not handled in the best possible manner and for that I am regretful
however I am also concerned with a letter received directly from this individual that
was strangely threatening and angry, filled with infantile insults such as one
included on this BBB complaint that are not even technic**** feasible.

I'm at a loss as to how this method of communication could bring anything but bad
feeling and a real question to the underlying factors and intention. It's saddening to
witness this level of degrading communication in effect even if there has been a poor
choice made and in need of remedy. The customer is free to contact any agency or
any list or any person of their choosing- we fully endorse and welcome consumer
protection agencies to keep us all operating as best we are able and assist in areas of
concern for both individual and businesses. Keep up the good work and I greatly
appreciate a respectful tone and the human kindess this evokes for all of us .

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THEY HAVE TAKEN MONEY FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT,AFTER I CANCELLED MEMBERSHIP.THIS ISN'T RIGHT.I AM DISABLED ND LIVE ON A SET INCOME.I TRIED CONTACTING THEM VIA EMAIL,BUT NO RESPONSE.I NEED THEM TO REPLACE MY MONEY ASAP AND GET IT FIXED SO THEY CAN'T DO THIS AGAIN.I MEAN I TRIED TO LOGIN ON THEIR SITE AND THEY HAVE NO RECORD OF MY EMAIL ADDRESS OF MEMBERSHIP,BUT THEY TOOK $39.95 LAST YEAR AND THEN AGAIN THIS YEAR.I NEVER GOT ANY BACK LAST YEAR,I THOUGHT IT WAS TAKEN CARE OF,THEN THEY DO IT AGAIN.THIS IS TOO MUCH.PLEASE HELP.THANKS

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE THE MONEY FROM LAST YEAR AND WHAT THEY TOOK THIS YEAR ,WHICH WAS $39.95X 2,THIS IS SEEMS TO ME TO BE A COMPANY THAT NOT RELIABLE AND DOESN'T CARE IF THEY HURT SOMEONE.THEY NEED TO BE FINED OR SOMETHING FOR THEIR ACTIONS.THEY DEFINITELY NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding on this consumer complaint - I apologize for the tardy response however this is the first time we are in receipt. We have refunded the 11/08/2015 charge as a gesture of good faith to the consumer however we are not able to offer any further refunds as this charge in itself was in fact valid. An auto-renewal notice was sent out on 10/18/2015. No cancelation was received. Our cancelation policy is clear and easily accessible via our website but does in fact require the user to log in and access that actual cancelation link. This link was never utilized hence the account renewed on 11/4/2015.

On 11/08/2015 the consumer logged in and changed the account to renew at the end of term - four days after the account renewed and well after notice was sent. Consumer dissatisfaction is regretful thus we are honoring the refund request for the past renewal.

 

The credit has been issued in full and the account is closed.

 

Thank you,

 

Spam Arrest, LLC

Consumer Response:

O haven't gotten any refund   I will accept a refund in the amount of $39.95,however they haven't refunded any as of this date  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****

8/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a 30 day trial with the company. Since I didn't like their services I cancelled the trial and my account with them way before the 30 trial was finished. Now I discovered that they charged my credit card for a service that I was not using and an account that should have been cancelled. The company doesn't want to refund me with the money that they charged on my card.

Desired Settlement: They should take responsibility for their faulty system that didn't cancelled my account when I sent them the cancellation form. I should not be charge with something I was not aware of and charge without sending a receipt or invoice.

Business Response:

******** - I checked into this and the customer canceled on 5/4/15. She then reactivated her account on 5/17/15. She then went ahead and canceled again on 6/3/15. We have no documentation for a request for funds returned during time of use. I have no idea what to add other than we will go ahead and refund via ****** which was the method of payment. I can't speak to this person's judgement other than to say sounds like there was confusion on their end.

 

Thank you,

 

 

Louise H***

VP Operations

Spam Arrest, LLC

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********

8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We tried using Spam Arrest months ago and it did not meet our requirements. It was used for my wife's mobile devices on her business email. We cancelled it and have been charged 29.95 again (for the second time). The number provided on our credit card statement is no longer in service. When I called the number BBB provided for the company, the mail box was full.

Desired Settlement: Credit of the second $29.95 and removal from their account list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/06) */ Thank you for forwarding on this complaint. We are not sure we understand however because on 7/17/14 the consumer was refunded $24.00 and knew about this and accepted. If there are any other charges in question please specify date and charge. The account is closed so no further billing is possible. We apologize for the consumer being unable to access voicemail; I did look into this also and this has been rectified. Thank you

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ok... I haven't used your service in over a year... I also did cancel the service long time ago... I want a refund for service that I don't use ... So refund me my money since you had no permission to charge my account or it will be a charge back by my bank... YOU CHARGE MY CARD AS A FRAUD and I will be filling a police report.. Because my account was canceled long time ago....

Desired Settlement: FULL REFUND

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/15) */ Thank you for forwarding on this complaint. I am confused however as this customer was issued a refund on 10/28/13 and the account cancelled. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) not the full amount was refund....


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Spam Arrest LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)