Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Columbia Credits Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 296-2104 Fax: (541) 296-6148 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 W 3rd St, The Dalles, OR 97058 http://www.columbiacredits.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a collection agency.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbia Credits Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Columbia Credits Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Columbia Credits Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 07/28/1969 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs
Phone Number: (503) 378-4140
dcbs.dfcsmail@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Gillette, President Mrs. Patricia Gillette, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Gillette, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Judgment Recovery Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
Account Recovery Services Receivable Service Company

Additional Locations

  • 400 W 3rd St

    The Dalles, OR 97058 (888) 296-2104 (541) 296-2105 (541) 296-2133 (541) 298-1407 (541) 298-1458 (541) 298-1572 (541) 296-1825 (541) 296-2104

  • PO Box 1607

    The Dalles, OR 97058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from Columbia Credits requesting payments via the orginal collector **************************** The letter was addressed to ***** ********* C/O ******* at my address. I called the company to tell them they had the wrong name and I had no idea who the creditor was. The woman who answered only asked me the name of who the letter was sent, not the address. She very quickly said don't worry about it. I asked for a letter to be sent to me stating that in fact this was a mistake and she would not. I told her it seems like a scam without a letter to assure me that our address was removed from this collection and she never asked for any other information on the letter (packet id, customs Id, balance due, or even the address.).

Desired Settlement: A letter from the company saying that an error had been made and in fact our address was incorrectly given.

Business Response:

Response:       Complaint ID ********

I have reviewed the complaint and the associated events that lead to it.  Regretfully, we were provided an inaccurate address for a consumer that we had lost track of, by a third party data supplier.  I sincerely apologize for that error.  In an ideal world we would have 100% deliverable addresses in our database.  However, the fluidity of our transitory population makes that ideal an impossible goal.  It is truly regrettable that mail intended for another inadvertently ended up in the complainant’s mail box.

That being said, this complaint should never have been registered.  The letter in question was not addressed to either of the parties who have filed this complaint.  It was addressed to a completely different person.  The receiver should have written “Return to Sender, or Wrong Address” dropped it into any mail box and the piece would have been returned to us and the address would have been removed from our database.  What did happen however, is that despite the mail piece being addressed to a totally different person and that it is a federal crime to open or interfere with the delivery of mail intended for another, the complainants did just that.  By opening the envelope they not only interfered with its ultimate delivery, they violated the intended recipient’s right to privacy. 

To add to their irresponsible behavior the complainants further disregarded the intended recipient’s privacy by publishing their identity, the original creditor and the amount of the debt despite warnings on the BBB about including personally identifiable information.  I’m requesting that the BBB redact these elements from the complaint.  

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Columbia credit is attempting to damage my credit by putting a bill on my credit report that is not mine but my sons. I was in contact by mail and by phone with ***** ******** president of Columbia credit about this matter and have a witness of him acknowledging to me and another witness on conference call that it was my sons bill and my son had called and agreed to pay bill to them from his bank account last month but he has dinged my credit anyways. I have filed a complaint with oregon department of justice an I am now in contact with a attourney

Desired Settlement: I want my credit restored

Business Response: I received your letter of complaint based on the accusations from the above mentioned consumer. Due to the regulations that govern the activities of third party collectors, specifically those that protect the privacy of the consumer, I can address this issue only in generalities. I hope that will prove to be sufficient.

Columbia Credits, Inc. is a third party debt collection agency that has been in continuous operation since 1952. In our 63 year history we have never been found in violation of any state or federal law or regulation that governs the activities of our industry. Columbia Credits, Inc. is a member of the American Collectors Association as well as the local unit of ACA, the Oregon Collectors Association, for which I had the honor of serving as President twice. I have also served on the legislative committee for Oregon Collectors Association and held numerous other positions in the organization.

My intention here is not to give you a resume; it is to demonstrate that Columbia Credits, Inc. is an established organization with a long history of honest, reputable dealings with both our clients who refer accounts to us to collect on their behalf, as well as the consumers from which we collect from. Every letter used in our collection effort is first screened for compliance with federal and state laws before it is made available for collectors to send to consumers. Our practices are also reviewed to insure that they are in statutory compliance before being put into place. This is especially true when it comes to placing derogatory information on a consumer's credit report. No listing is ever knowingly forwarded to the national Credit Reporting Bureaus without a statutory authority permitting us to do so.




If a consumer believes that a derogatory item has been wrongfully reported, I am more than willing to investigate the issue, and take whatever corrective actions that are necessary, and I did so in this case. We pride ourselves in our compliance record; if we are doing something incorrectly, I want to know so I can remedy the situation immediately. Unfortunately, I have no control over what happens once the information is transmitted to the bureaus. It is not at all unusual for information reported by us to the Credit Reporting Bureaus to be placed in the wrong consumer's credit file when they share a like or identical name such as in the case of a Junior/Senior. This is especially true when they have shared the same address in the past. If that were the case, we would have no way of knowing unless the consumer contacted us, as we were in this case. I have reviewed the matter in depth by confirming identifying information with the original creditor and reviewed our data for completeness and accuracy. I can say with confidence the data given to me by the complainant for verification purposes is not, nor has ever been, mixed with that of any consumers in our system. We did not willingly, knowingly or maliciously transmit false data regarding the complainant to any of the credit reporting agencies as the complainant suggests. Why would we? What possible benefit would there be to do so?

If I can be of any further assistance in this matter please feel free to give me a call. My toll free number is ************.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Columbia Credits Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)