Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bellevue Rare Coins Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 938-3519 Fax: (206) 935-2818 View Additional Phone Numbers 4500 California Ave SW, Seattle, WA 98116 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bellevuerarecoins.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers rare coins, jewelry and scrap metal sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bellevue Rare Coins Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bellevue Rare Coins Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bellevue Rare Coins Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1977 Business started locally: 10/01/1977 Business incorporated 03/29/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric Hoolahan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Hoolahan, President
Business Category

Coins,Stamps & Precious Metals Dealer Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Buyers Scrap Metals

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 10am - 6pm
Saturday 10am - 4pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company's policy can be found at http://bellevuerarecoins.com/terms-and-conditions

Additional Locations

  • 18411 Alderwood Mall Pkwy Ste F

    Lynnwood, WA 98037 (425) 672-2646

  • 321 Bellevue Way NE

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • 4500 California Ave SW

    Seattle, WA 98116 (206) 938-3519

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My comment is that Bellevue Rare Coins advertises that they will give a free, thorough analysis of coin collections and provide, also free of charge, a verbal assessment of the value. Before I go any further, please note that I actually like and admire Bellevue Rare Coins, but I feel it is in the public's best interest that I make my observation known. I took a coin collection into their store a few days ago earlier this month. The liaison working there gave me the impression that she didn't have much of an interest in helping me. Her grudging effort was laden with errors. When I drew to her attention some of the mistakes, she gave the impression that she didn't much care. I'm concerned that their store may take advantage of people who take seriously the offer to give professional appraisal advise for free. After my visit to their store, I took the coin collection to a different business where I was given attentive customer service that reflected a sincere interest in helping me. It was 180 degrees opposite to what I received at Bellevue Rare Coins. The second store I went to also provided me with an appraisal that was over four times the value that Bellevue Rare Coins gave me. I realize that businesses exist in part to earn a profit, but I can't help but to emphasize the great wisdom "Buyer Beware" in this instance. I don't want to criticize the store, but I feel that there may well be vulnerable individuals in the general public who could benefit from knowing about my experience. I don't want to think that the store would intentionally take advantage of its customers, but I feel it wise to draw my concerns to the Better Business Bureau's attention. I hope this feedback will help the store and its future clients.

Desired Settlement: Since they charge $250 for the first hour and $75 for each subsequent hour when providing a formal, written coin collection appraisal, maybe they should stop advertising that they will give exactly the same kind of verbal appraisal for free. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/12/10) */ We are grateful to *** ******* for making the effort to bring this to our attention, and we appreciate the kind words that he has for Bellevue Rare Coins. It is clear that this employee did not rise to the standards that we expect from our staff. We take customer service very seriously and do everything that we can to create a positive customer experience for everyone, regardless of whether or not they ultimately choose to do business with us. We'd like to assure both The BBB and *** ******* that we have taken specific steps to address both the immediate circumstance as well as future protocols for all of our staff members. We will also take further steps to ensure that our advertising does not imply that we offer written, itemized appraisals in the hope that this type of misunderstanding does not happen again. In an attempt to win back *** *******'s business, and being an avid coin collector myself, I would like to offer my personal confidential email address to *** ******* so that he may contact me directly for any future coin-related questions or transactions (*********@icloud.com). Please let me know if there is anything else that we can do to further rectify this situation. Very sincerely, **** ******** Owner - West Seattle Coins Bellevue Rare Coins Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Dear Better Business Bureau, Thank you for all you do to help the Seattle area maintain a good business environment. As I said in my initial communication with BBB, I like Bellevue Rare Coins. The retail setting is a friendly, inviting place to transact business. In my heart of hearts I know that Bellevue Rare Coins wants to do a great job helping its customers. I truly trust that to be the case. I have no hard feelings at all toward Bellevue Rare Coins. When I wrote to BBB last month, my observations were intended to be concerns, not complaints. I hope that it was clear that I was offering constructive feedback. It has since dawned on me that my first responsibility after I became concerned would have been to bring my observations directly to the attention of the managers at Bellevue Rare Coins. For whatever reason, I chose not to do so, and I'm sorry I didn't. I wish I had. Bellevue Rare Coins' owner wrote a very sincere response to my BBB case. I accept his remarks. He has rectified the situation to my complete satisfaction. I have moved on from the misunderstanding. It is water under the bridge. My only request at this point would be that BBB please REFRAIN from posting my case on the Internet. I DO NOT want anyone from the general public to read my remarks. In BBB's December 11th e-mail message you write: "BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy." I again respectfully ask that you NOT post my case, please. I mean no harm to Bellevue Rare Coins and I wouldn't want the misunderstanding to linger in anyone's thoughts. Thank you very much for communicating with me and for the effort BBB has made to help me. I greatly admire BBB's objectives and earnestness in seeing them through to fruition. I wish both Better Business Bureau and Bellevue Rare Coins the very best for the holidays. Sincerely, *** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bellevue Rare Coins Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)