Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Haight Studio Limited Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 485-1354 Fax: (425) 485-4457 View Additional Phone Numbers 12910 NE 178th St, Woodinville, WA 98072 http://www.haightcarpet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers carpet, floor coverings, and installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Haight Studio Limited Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Haight Studio Limited Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Haight Studio Limited Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 1990 Business started: 12/01/1988 Business started locally: 12/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/12/1988 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Haight, President Mrs. Kristina Haight Mr. Arthur Zahed, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Haight, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Covering Stores (NAICS: 442210)

Alternate Business Names
Haight Abbey Carpet Haight Carpet & Interiors

Additional Locations

  • 12910 NE 178th St

    Woodinville, WA 98072 (360) 805-4648

  • PO Box 2076

    Woodinville, WA 98072 (425) 485-1354

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally went into Haight carpet/Woodinville in early October and dealt first with an inexperienced sales associate. When I pointed out the carpet I was interested in and asked for pricing, the manager, *** ** ******, gave me an initialed quote that would have resulted in the carpet costing $44.99/sq yd installed with $8.50 /stair additional. My room is 62 sq yds (including 10% overage)with 14 stairs which would have resulted in the carpet costing $3150 all inclusive with tax. Subsequently a Haight salesperson came out to measure and sent me a quote for 68 yds of carpet and a total of $3964. In less than 2 weeks the carpet increased almost $800 and the size of my room increased by 6-8 sq yds over what I and two other certified carpet installers measured (the room is 60-62 sq yds with 10% overage). In addition, last week (Oct 21, 2013) I contacted ****** special order services to request a quote for the carpeting. This is one of 3 quotes from local businesses that I requested. Two days later I was contacted by a ****** specialist who informed me that ****** works with Haight carpeting in Woodinville for their carpet clients. Since I had already been working with Haight for a quote I told the ****** representative this. He said he would work together with Haight to come up with the best quote for my carpeting needs. Two days later the carpeting person from Haight, **** ************** contacted me with the quote. (I never heard again from the ****** contact). As I have already stated, *** ************** quoted me over $800 more than two other quotes and over 6-8 sq yds more than anyone else quoted. This exact area has been re-carpeted twice in the past 11 years (the last time in 2009, quite satisfactorily by ******* with a similar Berber carpet to what I am now considering)so I am very familiar with the measurements and costs. I told **** from Haight that his measurements and costs were inaccurate and deceptive and asked for a re-quote and to tell me what the ****** pricing would be. **** sent me an email telling me that Haight declines to work further with me. This is absolutely inappropriate behavior for a reputable business and very inappropriate for a subcontractor to ******* Haight should be working to correct the mistake and provide an accurate quote and ****** should be following up with me to provide this quote. I feel like I have no recourse to the poor business practices exhibited by Haight. They did not honor their initial quote. They inaccurately and deceptively measured the room to be far bigger than it actually is. They refused to give me an accurate quote that reflected ****** pricing practices. Finally, as a subcontractor to ******* I should not be told that Haight will not deal further with me when I am simply asking for a reliable ****** quote with accurate room measurements. I would like an accurate and ethical quote from ****** for the carpet. Further, Haight should not be allowed to continue its unethical business practices of providing one preliminary quote that they have no intention of honoring and then giving an erroneous high room measurement to try to get more money out of a client.

Desired Settlement: An accurate quote for the carpet. Improved and ethical business practices that honor initial quotes and show a client exactly what measurements are used for the room and ask the client to confirm at the time of measurement and ask the client to initial each and every overage that they are putting in their quotes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/31) */ I am going to answer this point by point: There were not two different quotes. The first "quote" was an in-store "ballpark" quote that ******** provided to give the customer an aproximate cost for doing her job. ******** then asked the customer if she would like us to provide a free in-home measure and detailed estimate (we will not do a job unless we see the actual job-site and do an on-site measure). It is important to note that it was always clear that there was no obligation and our estimates were totally free. Our salesperson **** was given the lead and set-up an appointment to measure the customers house so he could provide an estimate with our figures. We don't use other companies measures and he measured her house with a Disto Bluetooth Laser Measure which in inputed directly into our RFMS Measure Software. He then based his estimate on the amount of carpet that came up using the automated features of our Measure Software. This is exactly how he has been trained and the software is usually very reliable. Furthermore **** was always aware that this customer was getting competitive quotes so he tried hard to keep his estimate as competitive as possible. He actually benefits from the number of sales he makes rather than the dollar amount, ie. he tries to keep his pricing down. Despite all of that sometimes we end up being higher priced than other companies---is this suprising? We don't win every job! Usually the customer will just choose the another company with a lower estimate but for some reason this customer chose to email **** accusing him of trying to decieve her and saying he was just out for her money! This in our opinion was out of bounds. We at that time said we would not be interested in pursuing her job and this as you can read has made her very angry! Anyway, if it helps her to vent here I have no problem with that and to set the record straight I instructed our sales person **** to please inform ******** that we would not be working with her. It also needs to be made clear that no money ever was exchanged and never was there any contract obligating us to provide her service. As a further courtesy at this time I would like ******** to know that there is a totally different flooring vendor working out of the Kirkland ****** and they would be a great alternative for making a fresh start. **** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Overmeasuring a room IS a deceptive and inappropriate practice for a carpet company and is a very deceptive way to get more money out of a consumer. I am actually delighted to have found all of this out BEFORE money changed hands and before I potentially selected Haight to do the carpet job. I am angry that you are allowed to get away with your unethical business practices and others need to be aware of your misleading and dishonest way of conducting yourselves. I am further angry that you are speaking on behalf of the Woodinville ****** and that I cannot use my local ****** to do the job and have informed them of this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Haight Studio Limited Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)