Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McEwen's

Phone: (425) 742-4442 Fax: (425) 742-9845 17925 Highway 99 Ste 102, Lynnwood, WA 98037 http://www.mcewenscabinetrefacing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers cabinetry, countertops, kitchen & bath remodeling, cabinet refinishing, and tile and laminate flooring services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McEwen's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McEwen's include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McEwen's
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2000 Business started: 09/27/1994 in WA Business started locally: 09/27/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bob McEwen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob McEwen, Owner
Business Category

Cabinets Cabinet Refacing Countertops Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Tile & Marble Marble - Cultured Marble - Natural Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Quartz Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Cabinet Refinishers Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Granite Cabinet Maker Cabinet Doors Pottery, Ceramics, and Plumbing Fixture Manufacturing (NAICS: 327110)

Hours of Operation
7am - 5pm
Alternate Business Names
Robert Allen McEwen

Additional Locations

  • 17925 Highway 99 Ste 102

    Lynnwood, WA 98037 (425) 742-4442

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint is filed on behalf of the estate of Ms. ***** *. ******* by ***** *. ********, Estate Executor to recover funds for services never provided as stated below. On January 21, 2015 Ms. ******* entered into a Proposal/Agreement with Mr. Robert M***** of McEwen’s Cabinet Refacing Co., Lynnwood, WA to provide ten (10) specific work items estimated at $15,549 of which Mr. M***** was provided a $5,000 cash down payment(at his insistence) to begin ordering parts and material. It was mutually understood that all remodeling work required Ms. ******* purchasing new appliances with the cook top burners mandated by the design as set forth by Mr. M*****. Telephone conversations from this point forward between both parties continued from March 3, 2015 through and including August 18th, 2015. During this period Ms. ******* purchased all the new appliances (currently stored since June 26th) sans any commitment to a time-frame when the work would begin or end. A copy of the work proposal/agreement is available on request or attached to this complaint. Final contact between both parties ended with Mr. M***** returning a call on August 18, 2015 stating he’d forgot about her and he would “get on it right away” and call back in 3-4 days with status update. All calls since that time and Ms *******’s passing on November 19, 2015 have been ignored.

Desired Settlement: Mr. M***** has not dealt in good faith on this matter throughout the 2015 year conversely, in the best interest of both parties the minimum resolution is the return of $5000 deposit fee by Mr. M***** (in cash or money order) to the estate of ***** L. ******* not later than December 25th, 2016 at which time the Estate will consider this complaint closed. Alternatively, failure to resolve the complaint at this level will definitely escalate this issue to civil proceedings for settlement to the Estate up to and including damages for stored appliances, loss of warranties on all appliances, loss of 10.6% estimated investment interest on $5000, all attorney and court fees as applicable through civil court proceedings and any other discovery damages by due diligence going forward.

Business Response:

First of all let me say that I am so sorry to hear about ***** she was an extremely nice person and I am sorry for franks loss. I would be happy to send a check back to ***** and will be sure they get it before the day it calls for. this was a complete misunderstanding and I wish that ***** was more involved. The last time I talked with ***** she was going to get back to me with some  dates she was available for. I was waiting on her as she was waiting on me. There was never any bad intent on either side on this .Again so sorry to hear the news.  Bob M*****

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:This is not a rejection so much as a resolution response. Again I'm amenable to withdraw this complaint in its entirety to the satisfaction of ***** ********  Estate upon receipt of the $5000 deposit in cash or money order payable to ***** *******. I'm available at anytime to receive this settlement by calling ************

Sincerely,

***** ********

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beware, Do Not Trust *** ******. I paid *** 1/3 down on December 12, 2012. He promised the kitchen remodel would take no more than ONE WEEK. I'm SO Stupid for paying in full on January 28, 2012, even knowing the JOB was still incomplete. *** has returned 2 of my 21 phone messages since I Paid in Full. I did make numerous trips by **** shop and was able to surprise *** on 3 occasions. PLUMBING (kitchen sink and dishwasher drain were not installed per CODE) only finished ONE WEEK ago, November 13, 2013. ELECTRICAL (several light switches and outlets installed at different levels on the same wall and room) finally corrected July 17, 2013 (27 1/2 weeks from start date). TILE BACK SPLASH took 12 1/2 weeks to receive the tiles. (The wholesale dealer quoted 6 weeks maximum.) I paid *** for the tile on April 5, 2013 and had to call *** TWO (2) times to get the tile ordered. I then called *** NINE (9) more times to finally obtain my tile on June 14, 2013. NOTE: I also called the wholesale tile dealer and found out that my tile had arrived on May 20, 2013 (4 weeks prior). The Tile was finally installed on August 15, 2013 because of the Electrical delay, then waiting for **** Tile Installer. MY FINISH WORK IS STILL NOT COMPLETE. Unfinished and missing trim work (around washer/dryer cabinet and under upper cabinets), missing baseboards, the huge granite counter top post was installed in the wrong place, there are numerous blemishes on the new cabinet doors and drawers. *** told me "I" could easily fix these imperfections with his "stain". Not TRUE! It does not work. I've even found exposed nails under lower cabinets. Get EVERYTHING IN WRITING. *** seems to have a terrible memory, and make sure **** Plumber and Electrician are licensed and certified. *** IS NOT. I call this BAD Business.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $300.00 to finally get the finish work done. I would really like to charge for the lack of response, his unwillingness to return calls and provide us with his licensed plumber and electrician earlier. This was a terrible, stressful progect. We paid *** over 17K. Our house in less than 1000 square feet to give you an ideal of our kitchen size.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/04) */ I will be happy to send *** what he is asking. I dont want to get into a he said I said .So I will get a check out this week. There a lot of exaggerations but thats ok. I gave him my plumbers name the same moment he called and asked for it, and the codes of the plumbing had more to do with the existing plumbing than what we did. But he did fix it and I did pay the bill.As for the tile that was more me doing him a favor because that had nothing to do with the original contract so I ordered and gave him the tile at my cost and supplied him with a name of a tile installer. And yes I am licensed and bonded and to say Im not is just wrong .I would hope we can remove that from the complaint because that is just libel. Im sorry he is upset and I hope the 300.00 helps. *** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am accepting *** ******'s $300.00 check, but only to try to finish the job that *** promised to complete within 2 Weeks. It has now been almost 11 Months (December 16th 2013). Also, if *** is a licensed plumber, than he should be ashamed of himself for not installing the plumbing correctly the first time. In fact, I had a flood in my kitchen because of the poorly installed plumbing. *** came over and fixed the leak, but again it was not per code. That was on January 28th 2013, the same day I paid *** ****** in full. He never returned to my home again to bring the plumbing up to code or to complete the job he was hired to do per our contract. This is extremely BAD BUSINESS. It certainly does not deserve AAA rating by the Better Business Bureau.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McEwen's
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)