Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers alarm monitoring and installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Security Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Security Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1973 in WA Business started locally: 02/01/1973 Business incorporated 02/04/1982 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Phillip G Harris, President / Treasurer Mr. Robert J Helstrom, Chairman / CEO Ms. Yvonne Helstrom, Secretary Mr. Robert J Swidecki, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip G Harris, President / Treasurer
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Answering Services Security Systems Services (except Locksmiths) (NAICS: 561621)

Alternate Business Names
A-Ace Fire & Security Systems Ace Fire Ace Fire & Security Systems Alarm Center Inc Carland Alarms Systems Cartland Alarm Custom House Custom House Alarms Custom Security Sears Burglar Alarm Systems Sears Burglar Systems Sears Security Systems The Technologies Intergration Group
Products & Services

Complete services for Burglar Alarm Systems, Fire Alarm Systems, Card Access Systems, Camera & Recording Systems, and Alarm Communication (monitoring) via our own private radio network, cellular, Internet, and phone lines. We can monitor any alarm.

Additional Locations

  • 4500 3rd Ave SE

    Lacey, WA 98503 (360) 786-0404 (360) 491-6320


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps sending me bills for a monitoring service which has expired and was canceled back in April of 2016. They now claim they did not receive "a written request" to discontinue the service. I recently spoke to "Cassandra" in their office and politely ask her to quit sending me "over due" bills on an account that no longer exists. A letter to notify them to close the account upon the expiration of the annual dues billing cycle was sent in March of 2016. She said she never received a written letter, so I am obligated to PAY. I explained a letter WAS written and it's not my fault if they have no record of it. She said, "OK, well just re-send a letter and I'll take care of it". So, I did and was thankful this has been resolved. But NO, Two days later, I get more bills (I had 2 accounts) in the mail. This time for a "reduced" amount. Oh, how nice of them REALLY? Are these people so greedy and unscrupulous to think people owe them money, and they deserve money, just because they send out a bill? What a joke. this business is doomed to failure with that attitude towards customers. Maybe their tactics work with the elderly, but not with me. I will not pay them a cent. If they wish to pursue this stupidity in the courts, then I am prepared. Thank You

Desired Settlement: Just Go Away Custom Security!

Consumer Response:



Upon letting the offending business know that I filed a complaint with the BBB, they now have quickly corrected their books and notified me that my balance is $0.


You guys have done your job by just existing! Thus, case ID ********, is resolved.


Best Regards,

***** *****  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Security Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)