This business is not BBB accredited.

The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop

Phone: (503) 304-7030 2031 State St, Salem, OR 97301 http://www.tscbride.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wedding gowns, formal gowns and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 04, 2013 Business started: 04/01/2012 Business started locally: 04/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Eileen Padilla, Member Ms. Sara Bayes, Member
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sara Bayes, Member
Principal: Ms. Eileen Padilla, Member
Business Category

Bridal Shops Consignment Service

Hours of Operation
Tuesday - Friday
11:00am - 6:00pm

Saturday
10:00am - 4:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Jeapse LLC The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2031 State St

    Salem, OR 97301 (503) 304-7030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put my wedding dress and three other items on consignment with this business on January 13th, 2015. I contacted the company on October 15th, 2015 and asked to come pick up my items as it had been a while and they had not sold. I received the following response on October 16th, 2015. "Sorry it took us so long to get back to you today. It has been busy here. I pulled up your account this morning and it looks like we have your wedding gown and corset bra on layaway at the moment so as soon as those are paid off we will be issuing you a check. We do still have a formal, and slip on your account that have not sold. It looks like we took them in last January so you have not come to the end of your consignment period with us, but if you want we could certainly pull the formal and slip and have them ready for you to pick up. Thank you for contacting us, just let us know what you wish to do with your items that are still on the sales floor, Elizabeth. I was not aware of this "layaway" policy so I asked what that meant. I was told that as soon as the bride paid off the dress I would be issued a check. I received a check on February 17th for $100 less then the consignment agreement. I called on February 17th to inquire about this. Sara called me back and told me that on 7/15/2015 my dress was reduced to $500 since it had been on consignment for 6 months. I was not notified of this and no where in my consignment agreement that I signed does it say that prices will be reduced at 6 months. I was told that my dress sold in August (been on consignment for 7 months) but how do I really know this since it went on layaway and I didn't even know that it was sold/on layaway until I contacted the business on October 15th to pick up my items. I would love to share a copy of my consignment agreement that I signed. The terms are different then then the current consignment terms on the business website. I believe they updated their terms after my dress went on consignment.

Desired Settlement: I sent a e-mail to Sara on 2/17/15 with my signed consignment agreement attached and requested the remaining balance owed to me. I heard nothing back from her and contacted her again on 2/22/16 and finally got a response on 2/23/16 that they felt they had completed their obligation. I requested again on 2/23/16 the remaining money that was owed to me per our signed consignment agreement. I heard nothing back again and contacted Sara on 2/26/16. Im requesting the balance owed to me per our signed consignment agreement. I would be happy to share my consignment agreement with the BBB.

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My future wife went into this store to look for a wedding dress. she found a dress and purchased it on feb 1st 2015. later that day she realized she purchased the same dress as a friend. she wanted to return the dress but the store was closed for the next two days(sunday and monday). She called and left a message for the store. to see what could be done. The store informed her. they could only refund her 250$ of the dress because they've already paid the orginal owner of the dress. my problem with this is. if you go to there FAQs on their webpage. it says " Checks are usually mailed out between the 10th and 15 of the month after the sale". in conjunction ****** ****** had the same dress for 50$ cheaper that weekend and its a brand new dress. not a used dress. the whole reason of shopping at a consignment shope was to save money and we did not.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a full refund of the dress. The dress has not been worn or altered. The business misled us with prices and offered no other solutions.

Business Response: We are truly sorry that you feel we have misled your fiance in the purchase of her dress. As a small, local, family run business, we pride ourselves in going out of our way to ensure our customers are completely satisfied.

However, we do have policies and procedures in place that are strictly enforced to protect our clients and their assets. Our policy is that wedding dresses may be returned within 3 business days (not including the days we are closed) for a refund of half of the purchase price. This policy is clearly displayed at the register, as well as printed on the purchase receipt. This policy is more than generous as most other bridal shops, including ******* ******, do not offer any returns of any kind. All of those sales are final.

Additionally, our records indicate the dress was purchased on January 31st; our store was closed on February 1st. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays. We sold the dress to your fiance for $450, and this dress was also brand new with tags and had never been worn. Not all dresses in our shop are pre-owned. ******* ****** has the exact same dress, also new with tags and never worn, for $499, so your fiance actually saved $50 by purchasing it from our shop.

When we opened the shop again the following Tuesday morning we promptly returned the voice mail left by your fiance during our closed hours. We explained to her our policy and the options, and unfortunately it doesn't appear this news was well received. We apologize that our response is not favorable, but we must uphold all of our policies to every customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Shabby Chic Bride Consignment Shop
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart