Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Columbia Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 895-3345 Fax: (503) 684-0781 View Additional Phone Numbers 1301 A St STE 800, Tacoma, WA 98402 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.columbiabank.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbia Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Columbia Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 05, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1925 Business started locally: 01/01/1925 Business incorporated 08/18/1981 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Sznewajs, President/CEO Mr. Jim Bishop, President Robert Bryce, President Mr. Roger Christensen, CEO Mr. Nick Davidson, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Analyst Ms. Melanie Dressel, President, Columbia Bank Shelley Herman, Manager Tom Johnson, Manager Walter Mc Laughlin, Manager Mr. Eric Melin, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Analyst Mr. Doug O'Connor, Manager Jerry Reed, Vice-President Mr. Adam Stein, VP, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Manager Mrs. Cara Thompson, Corporate Compliance Mr. Rex Townsend, President/CEO Ms. Kristen Warner-lee, Site Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Davidson, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Analyst
Principal: Mr. Bob Sznewajs, President/CEO
Business Category

Banks Mortgage Brokers

Alternate Business Names
American Marine Bank Bank of Astoria Columbia Mortgage Group Columbia State Bank First Heritage First Heritage Bank Summit Bank West Coast Bank
Additional Information

According to information provided to BBB, Columbia State Bank took over on January 22, 2010, and is assuming control for Columbia River Bank.

On May 20, 2011, Summit Bank was closed by the Washington State Department of Financial Institutions, which appointed the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) as receiver. The FDIC entered into a purchase and assumption agreement with Columbia State Bank of Tacoma, Wash., to assume all of the deposits of Summit Bank. Depositors of Summit Bank will automatically become depositors of Columbia State Bank. Deposits will continue to be insured by the FDIC, so there is no need for consumers to change their banking relationship in order to retain their deposit insurance coverage up to applicable limits. Customers of Summit Bank should continue to use their existing branch until they receive notice from Columbia State Bank it has completed systems changes to allow other Columbia State Bank branches to process their accounts as well.

For more information, contact the FDIC at (800) 894-3219 or at www.fdic.gov/bank/individual/failed/summit.html.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24341 N US Highway 101

    Hoodsport, WA 98548 (360) 877-5272

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    665 Woodland Square Loop SE

    Lacey, WA 98503 (360) 456-2400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1005 Green Acres Rd Ste 101

    Eugene, OR 97408 (541) 683-9559

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1060 Wallace Rd NW

    Salem, OR 97304 (503) 399-2955

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 Harrison Ave

    Centralia, WA 98531

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11675 SW Pacific Hwy

    Tigard, OR 97223 (503) 598-7482

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1301 A St STE 800

    Tacoma, WA 98402 (503) 292-6319

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13305 NE Highway 99 Ste 106

    Vancouver, WA 98686 (360) 571-7104

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1455 SE 1st Ave

    Canby, OR 97013 (503) 651-3157

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 W Ellendale Ave

    Dallas, OR 97338 (503) 623-9281

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    155 S Evergreen Rd

    Woodburn, OR 97071 (971) 983-3300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    160 E Charles St

    Mount Angel, OR 97362 (503) 845-2265

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1755 Mount Hood Ave Ste 120

    Woodburn, OR 97071 (503) 981-8365

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1800 Wilco Rd

    Stayton, OR 97383 (503) 769-7307

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Main St E

    Monmouth, OR 97361 (503) 838-0601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2307 Olympic Hwy N

    Shelton, WA 98584 (360) 426-5581

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2350 N Coast Hwy

    Newport, OR 97365 (541) 265-6691

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2540 Newberg Hwy

    Woodburn, OR 97071 (503) 981-0100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2850 Harrison Ave NW

    Olympia, WA 98502 (360) 754-2400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    290 NW Chehalis Ave

    Chehalis, WA 98532 (360) 748-1887

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    29702 SW Town Center Loop W Ste A

    Wilsonville, OR 97070 (503) 682-9818

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    303 Union Ave SE

    Olympia, WA 98501 (360) 753-2400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    315 E Main St

    Silverton, OR 97381 (503) 873-5376

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    316 E 3rd St

    The Dalles, OR 97058

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3305 Commercial St SE

    Salem, OR 97302 (503) 399-2978

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    390 SE Church St

    Sublimity, OR 97385 (503) 769-8336

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 Industry Dr Ste 110

    Tukwila, WA 98188 (425) 251-6525

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 E 3rd St Ste 200

    The Dalles, OR 97058

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 E Main St

    Molalla, OR 97038 (503) 829-2237

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4157 NW Highway 101 Ste 135

    Lincoln City, OR 97367 (541) 994-9161

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4221 Bridgeport Way W

    University Place, WA 98466

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    425 NW Hemlock St

    Waldport, OR 97394 (541) 563-3273

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4260 River Rd N

    Keizer, OR 97303 (503) 399-2966

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Broadway St Ste 100

    Vancouver, WA 98660 (360) 695-3439

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    506 SW Coast Hwy

    Newport, OR 97365 (541) 265-6666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    510 Lancaster Dr NE

    Salem, OR 97301 (503) 399-2944

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    541 N Highway 101

    Depoe Bay, OR 97341 (541) 765-2356

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    550 Center St NE

    Salem, OR 97301 (503) 399-2920

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5686 Commercial St SE Ste 110

    Salem, OR 97306 (503) 362-2174

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8140 Freedom Ln NE Ste A

    Lacey, WA 98516 (360) 923-0638

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    874 Seneca Rd

    Eugene, OR 97402 (541) 687-6870

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8805 SW Tualatin Sherwood Rd

    Tualatin, OR 97062 (503) 691-9929

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1050

    The Dalles, OR 97058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently experienced fraudulent activity on my checking account in September 2015. The bank issued a provisional credit while investigating the transaction. In December they took back the provisional credit stating that the transaction was approved by myself. I called back stating that this was NOT a transaction that was approved and they need to further investigate. They stated that there was a signature provided with the transaction, the billing zip code, and the security code on the back of the card. I've looked at the signature and it is not my signature. I've submitted an affidavit of forgery against it. Also if they stole my debit card information then they can also steal my other information (poor security on a website, anytime my card is given to business to pay for check or tab). The original transaction was $2000 but was denied because I didn't have that much in my account. So instead they took out $694.03, the exact amount left in my account. Why would I attempt a transaction of $2000 when I know that amount is not in my account? The merchant that the transaction went through is also a false merchant. There is no location of the business, no phone number, no contact person, no website, no email address, and no business is listed as "Military Ways" on the Washington Business Licensing website. Columbia Bank and VISA Card Services have done an incredibly poor job at investigating. It has also been incredibly difficult to obtain any further information on my case. They continue to tell me that the case has been escalated even though they cannot provide me with the person who is investigating the case.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $694.03 back. The whole point of putting funds in a bank is to protect those funds. If the bank cannot protect my funds with the insurance they have, what is the point of using a bank?

Consumer Response:

Hello,

 

I was just contacted today by the bank and they have resolved the issue by returning our funds and apologizing for the situation. Thank you for your help.

--

******** ****

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: many times in the past I've tried to get online on my cell phone for banking with this bank and it locks me out, I answer the correct passwords username and so on and it locks me out.I have to call their office, then they unlock it and it goes to the elementary deal how to spell words and how not to capitalized or so on and then I get back in for a little while and then I get back out again I think they've got a bad system I want them to correct the problem,I love to use my cell phone but it's just too hard for Columbia bank to get it right,it even asked me the wrong challenge questions if I answer it correctly it would be wrong, I'll never get in then,if I don't answer the challenge question I won't get in.

Desired Settlement: the problem with security is not usually the person using the account.it's usually a problem with the security of the servers such as ****** and also such as ****,server problems.

Business Response:

Columbia Bank appreciates this opportunity to respond to this matter.  The complaint has been researched, and the Bank has confirmed that incorrect passwords were entered into the system. There have been no systemic issues resulting in the experiences described, at this time it appears to be isolated to this customer. Columbia Bank has attempted to reach this customer but has been able to speak directly with him as of this point.

Regards,
**** *****
AVP, Compliance Program Manager and Complaint Program Administrator

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:   it has happened before, i have called the bank before for this problem,,  talked to a lady,,  your system asks for the incorrect challenge question, so it will naturally be wrong answer,,, if you check with you computer  people you will find this to be true,  i have allways had this problem with your bank,, 
Sincerely,

*** *******

Business Response:

Good morning,
 
I am writing to provide an update. This resolution is ongoing and the Bank is working to resolve the customer’s login issues. A manager from the Bank’s online services department has been corresponding regularly and has proposed solutions that we believe will resolve the issue. We believe that we are close to a resolution, and that the online banking login systems are all functioning properly.
 
Sincerely,
**** *****
AVP, Compliance Program Manager and Complaint Program Administrator

10/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of the 27th of Aug. 2013 my cards have been shut off for both accounts. We are ********** customers NOT Columbia Bank. I called the 1-800 number. The lady agreed the cards are shut off. She told me my balance is $52.99. I asked for explaination of that amount. There was a deposit of $1387.23 as of Aug.23, 2013. I also verified with online banking. All she did was argue with me. I understand there has been alot of change overs. I also am aware of account being overdrawn, prior to deposit on Aug. 23, 2013. Taken all into account, there is still $361.51 missing from my joint account. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I want our money found and accounted for. It belongs back into our joint personal account. I can not understand how a bank looses customers money like this. Thank-you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/14) */ September 13, 2013 Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Customer Complaint Case ID: XXXXXXXX, ***** ******** To Whom It May Concern, Columbia State Bank, as successor by merger to **** ***** ***** ("Bank"), received a copy of the above referenced complaint on Wednesday, September 4th, 2013 ("Complaint"). The Bank appreciates the opportunity to address **** ********'s concerns. In the Complaint, **** ******** states that both of her debit cards were closed on August 27th, 2013, and that an employee of the bank (who she spoke with by phone) confirmed the closures. However, internal records do not reflect that either card was closed on this date. Transaction histories confirm that both debit cards have been in active use since the date of the Complaint, and both remain in an open/active status as of the date of this letter. While it is difficult to sort out who said what to whom weeks after a verbal conversation; we apologize for the misunderstanding. The Complaint also states that there is discrepancy of $326.51 in the balance of one of **** ************ accounts. We have reviewed the balance calculation in regards to the account and no accounting errors were located. The Bank welcomes **** ******** to provide further clarification regarding this balance disparity (i.e. when did the Bank's balance first deviate from **** ********'s records; how was the $326.51 amount calculated; are there inaccuracies in any specific transactions posted to the account). In summary, the Bank regrets any frustration that **** ******** has experienced, and we hope we have addressed her concerns in this matter. If she wishes to furnish clarifying details regarding the $326.51 balance discrepancy, she may contact us at the phone number below. Best regards, **** ******* Vice President, Compliance Officer Columbia State Bank (XXX) XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I do not. I can see with my evidence that there is missing funds from my account. The bank just wants to contact me directly!! No, I want these funds put back in my account!! The bank has no right to steal customers funds/deposits at all. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/10) */ October 10th, 2013 Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Customer Complaint Case ID: 22409329 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX), ***** ******** To Whom It May Concern, Columbia State Bank, as successor by merger to **** ***** ***** (''Bank''), received a copy of the above referenced complaint on Friday, October 4th, 2013 (''Complaint''). The Complaint represents a re-opening of a previous Complaint (''Original Complaint''), which was received on September 4th, 2013. In our response to the Original Complaint, the Bank welcomed **** ******** to supply further clarification of the balance discrepancy she has described so that the Bank could accurately remediate her situation. We did not receive any clarifying details from **** ********; therefore no additional research could be performed. However, with the re-opening of her Complaint, it is apparent that **** ******** has lingering concerns. To ensure we resolve these concerns, a Bank employee will be contacting **** ******** directly. If **** ******** would like more immediate action, she may contact us at the phone number below. Best regards, **** ******* Vice President, Compliance Officer Columbia State Bank (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Columbia Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)