Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bank of the Cascades

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 617-3400 Fax: (208) 319-2444 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 369, Bend, OR 97709 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.botc.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bank of the Cascades meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company participates in the BBB's Code of Ethics program which include a commitment to ethical business practices.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bank of the Cascades include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Bank of the Cascades
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 1990 Business started: 09/01/1967 in OR Business started locally: 02/01/1977 Business incorporated 02/13/2014 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs
Phone Number: (503) 378-4140
dcbs.dfcsmail@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Mooney, Executive Vice President/Idaho Regional President Ms. Nancy Choules, AVP/Secretary Ms. Jenifer Dellgard, VP & Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Patti Kaser, VP Compliance Officer
Principal: Mr. Mike Mooney, Executive Vice President/Idaho Regional President
Business Category

Banks


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bank of the Cascades has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1100 NW Wall St

    Bend, OR 97701

  • 1101 E. Winding Creek Rd.

    Eagle, ID 83616 (208) 939-4096

  • 121 N. 9th St.

    Boise, ID 83702 (208) 343-7848

  • 1700 NE Third Stree

    Bend, OR 97701

  • 1820 Caldwell Blvd.

    Nampa, ID 83651 (208) 468-1660

  • 1850 N. Whitley Dr.

    Fruitland, ID 83619 (208) 452-7101

  • 250 S. Washington Ave.

    Emmett, ID 83617 (208) 468-4675

  • 2646 E Barnett Rd

    Medford, OR 97504

  • 265 Union Ave

    Grants Pass, OR 97527

  • 30 E. Broadway Ave.

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 888-1416

  • 3100 Crater Lake Hwy

    Medford, OR 97504

  • 320 SW Century Dr

    Bend, OR 97702

  • 3405 E. Overland Rd.

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 468-1700

  • 3630 N. Eagle Rd.

    Boise, ID 83713 (208) 468-1680

  • 400 N. 3rd East

    Mountain Home, ID 83647 (208) 468-6175

  • 4128 Adams St.

    Boise, ID 83714 (208) 386-9902

  • 57150 Beaver Drive

    Bend, OR 97707

  • 61250 S Highway 97

    Bend, OR 97702

  • 6981 Overland Rd.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 658-6660

  • 840 E. Avalon St.

    Kuna, ID 83634 (208) 922-3834

  • 888 SW 5th Ave

    Portland, OR 97204

  • 923 Dearborn St.

    Caldwell, ID 83605 (208) 468-4735

  • PO Box 369

    Bend, OR 97709 (541) 617-3500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In approximately March of 2016 I transitioned from Bank of America to Bank of the Cascades. Due to immediate dissatisfaction with the customer service I received I opted to transition my account to an alternate bank, Umpqua Bank. In mid-May of 2016 I was contacted by Tiffany C***, the branch manager at Bank of the Cascades and told I must come to the bank immediately due to an overdrawn account. I was shocked to learn that I had in excess of $1300 in overdrawn fees, all of which were fees incurred due to insufficient funds charges. After research on my part I learned that the majority of these fees were from my paypal account. In contacting paypal I found that although I had changed the payor source for my paypal account o Umpqua that some payors save the previous bank in their payment memory. I had no way to realize this information. I was receiving the goods as ordered and the amount for the goods was debited from my Umpqua account which was the correct account. The insufficient funds charges I am told are due to an attempt made to access my Bank of Cascades account and not because at any time a payment for goods was made on my account. Ms. C*** assured me she would follow up on the matter immediately. She did not. I contacted Ms. C*** on 5/24 and 5/28 and was told I would need to escalate my matter to a supervisor Melissa M****. I left three messages for Ms. M**** with no return call. On 7/20 I advised Bank of the Cascades of my continued lack of response and was assured the matter had been escalated. On 7/28 I received notification that the bank had turned me over to collections despite the fact that they had not issued any response. I feel that the Bank too advantage of an opportunity to incur an enormous debt. They failed to communicate me of this issue in a timely manner and have shown negligent and substandard communication over the last three months in my attempt to resolve this matter. I do not feel I should be held liable for these charges

Desired Settlement: Removal of all insufficient funds/overdraft charges.

Business Response: The customer also filed the same complaint through the Federal Reserve which was submitted to the Bank from the FDIC.  A letter to the customer has been mailed which details the Banks actions in response to the complaint.  A copy of that letter cannot be provided on the site due to the confidentiality of the customer banking information.  The customer will also receive a copy of the Bank's response to their complaint from the FDIC as required by regulation.

1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized removal of funds. Failure to return funds within the allotted 48 hours by law. Knowingly acknowledge illegal transfer of funds to a foreign country. Knowingly let transaction to happen after complaint on one less than three days earlier. Knowingly that i never e-check anything.

Desired Settlement: return my cash.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/26) */ Due to prior unauthorized activity, to protect the customer from future fraudulent transactions, the compromised account was closed and a new account opened on December 3, 2014. The customer has been fully refunded for all unauthorized charges effective December 15, 2014, following receipt of a required customer signed affidavit. The customer has been contacted by the Bank and is aware all unauthorized charges have been refunded. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Bank of the Cascades
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart