Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Bamboo Hardwoods Inc

Phone: (206) 264-2414 Fax: (206) 264-9365 View Additional Phone Numbers 4100 4th Ave S, Seattle, WA 98134

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers manufacturing and distribution of bamboo flooring and paneling services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bamboo Hardwoods Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2003 Business started: 02/01/1995 Business started locally: 02/01/1995 Business incorporated 02/27/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Maritz, CEO Mr. Chris Alstad, Manager Mr. David Keegan, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Maritz, CEO
Business Category

Bamboo & Bamboo Products Floors - Hardwood

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 9am - 5pm

Additional Locations


    4100 4th Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98134 (206) 264-2414 (800) 783-0557 (800) 607-2414


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought an engineered bamboo hardwood flooring product from Aboeda -- LOFT VG Hickory/59242 (engineered)-- through its distributor **** ****** Portland on 11/01/2014. The flooring was installed in our home in Gleneden Beach, Oregon by our contractor **** ****** who followed appropiate procedures for storing and conditioning the product until 01/10/2015. The product has a 50 year warranty as stated on Aboea's website which states: "WARRANTY: WE WANT YOU TO FEEL CONFIDENT THAT YOU'VE PURCHASED A HIGH-QUALITY FLOOR THAT WILL LAST YOU AND YOUR FAMILY A LIFETIME. FOR THAT REASON, WE NOW OFFER A 50-YEAR FINISH WARRANTY THAT IS STANDARD AND ON ALLOF OUR FLOOR AS WELL AS A LIFETIME STRUCTURAL WARRANTY. YOU STAND ON IT, WE STAND BEHIND IT."Since installation we have noticed cupping and lifting--a separation of the engineered layers in several places throughout the house. We had the Aboeda's bamboo hardwoods products laid in approximately 1800 square feet. We contacted Eric P******* and Jessica S*********, Aboeda's Brand and Customer Service Managers in April 2015 about the problems and sent them photos of the problem. We followed with a claims submission in May 2015. We have corresponded with Eric and Jessica who viewed the photos of the problem. The Brand Manager(Eric) told us in an email that "This does appear to be an issue with manufacturing from what I can see in the pictures. Assuming that's the case, we will stand behind our warranty and do whatever is necessary to fix the issue whether it is a repair or full replacement" (email to my wife, ***** ******, 05/13/2015).In June Aboeda sent its agent to inspect the floor at our house and talk to our contractor. In July, we got the response from Eric as "I spoke with ******(Agent), who did the inspection, and he is going to be in contact to schedule the repair work on the boards that have issues." Since then we have attempted to contact Eric several times but have received no response.

Desired Settlement: An independent flooring expert we hired indicates that the best solution to this problem is replacement of all flooring for structural reasons and to allay future occurrences of this problem in other areas from this same lot of engineered bamboo. We want 1800 square feet of the old flooring removed and new flooring of our choice to replace it. We will pay any upcharges to a better grade if necessary since we have had such a bad experience with this engineered product.

Business Response:

I was personally in contact with ***** ****** at the end of November to bring some resolution to this issue. As a result of the inspection done by our (Cronin) distributor rep ****** ***** it was found that only a few planks, not the entire floor as was stated in this complaint that needed to be replaced in the flooring.


***** called me at the Bamboo Hardwoods main headquarters on 11/30 and told me the repair had still not been done. I told her I would call the Cronin distributor rep, ******, directly to get the repair set up. After my discussion with her and getting her correct contact information, I called and emailed ******. At the time ****** was on vacation until 12/10. I immediately emailed ***** that ****** was on vacation and wouldn’t return until 12/10, I wanted to keep her in the loop.


When I found out ****** was on vacation, I called back into Cronin and talked with Nathan C***** (Wood Flooring Products Manager). I wanted to find out if someone else there could finish the repair in ******’ absence. Nathan told me he would text ****** that afternoon about the claim. Later that day I received an email from ****** that said he was setting up the repair for the week of 12/14.


***** called me again on 12/03 and said she hadn’t heard back from ******. This seemed odd considering ****** said he set up the repair for the week of 12/14. I explained to ***** that ****** was out on vacation as I had sent to her in my email. She said she never received my email. I told her since ****** was out of the office, she needed to call his office and leave a voicemail with dates that were good for her. I said I would follow up with him on 12/11 to make sure he scheduled the appointment with her. On 12/4 ****** emailed me that he set up the repair for the week between Christmas and New Years due to *****’s husband having knee surgery. I’m waiting on ***** to verify that the repair is in fact set up for the week between Christmas and New Years.


Thank You!

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bamboo Hardwoods Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)