Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Top Performance Automotive, Inc.

Phone: (360) 833-2281 2119 SE 192nd Ave, Camas, WA 98607 http://www.topperformanceauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive repair services, except tires, bodywork, exhaust and European vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Top Performance Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Top Performance Automotive, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Top Performance Automotive, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 07/22/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Martin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Martin, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Carburetors Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Clutches Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Top Performance Automotive Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2119 SE 192nd Ave

    Camas, WA 98607 (360) 833-2281

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The number we originally called was for "*********** ***** in Camas owned by a *** ****** # *** ******** , to make an appointment to repair a car we bought for our Veteran disabled son. I had looked at all the reviews on ****** **** and chose them because of the great reviews and it was a small shop. When I called the above number it rang and was picked up by a man that said "Top Performance" I was confused and I told him that I thought I was calling *********** ***** and he said"that's us" so I made an appointment , my wife and I dropped off the car on a Sunday and left a not telling them where to look for issues that other mechanic in Gresham Oregon saw but wanted us to go to an expert in Volvo's. They did not one but two diagnostics on the car which I didn't realize that there would be two different charges. Then they sent us an estimate on the cost , wow! over 3,000.00. I told them we would be getting the car. But before we got our car I did some research on this shop and what I found was this: The original shop we thought we were taken to has a different phone number than Top Performance does so when you phone *********** **** Top Performance answers the phone, I found this confusing SO,, When I picked up the car I asked **** he was taking my payment I said "When my husband made this appointment he called *********** **** which has a totally separate number than your shop and your shop answered the phone, why is that ? Well he said "that's us" and I told him "no it's not” so then he replied "well the other place's owner retired and he sold us his client list" and then I added "Oh and phone number as well huh?". I told him why we came there thinking that the other shop and mechanic was the one we were going to and you led us to believe that this was the same place. Why did you do that? Then he became snotty "well if you didn't know you weren't at the same shop then you’re stupid" UNREAL! This is/was a bait and switch shell game.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop using deceptive practices to obtain customers , change the phone number of the closed business and stop holding your business out as the one that you purchased the client list from , That owner does not work there, never worked there nor does he own Top Performance. We would like our money back of 159.24 , they had already done the inspection before I found that they were not the same company. They got our business by deception.

Business Response: *****
********** called into Top Performance Automotive and he responded that he was
trying to contact *********** *****. We told him that we had purchased the business
of *********** *****. After explaining it to him several times he made an
appointment to have his vehicle looked at. He dropped vehicle off before
operating hours. We called ************ to ask what their concerns were. They
had three issues wanting to be addressed. First was the engine had a problem
with a “check engine” light on. Second was a problem with the power windows and
third, he suspected an oil leak at the engine turbocharger. We told him there
are diagnostic charges with the engine and a separate diagnostic charge with
the power windows (two separate concerns, not related to each other. Technician
has to complete a different set of diagnostics for the two non-related
systems). The third concern with the turbocharger oil leak, told ***** that we
would look at that for no charge. ***** agreed to these charges. Our policy for
every customer is to inform them of the dollar amount before continue, no
matter if the charge is only a $1.00.

After
diagnostics were completed, ***** was called to report our findings. Two repairs
for the engine concern, one repair for the power window concern and informed
him the turbocharger wasn’t leaking oil, the oil leak was coming from the front
and rear oil seals on the engine crankshaft and the engine oil pan was also
leaking. Oil leak repairs alone totaled up to over $1700.00. He was upset about
the repair costs but it is our responsibility to inform the customer of all the
needed repairs. It’s the customer’s decision if they want to repair vehicle or
not.

There
were several phones calls between Top Performance and the ************ in which
we talked to ***** and his wife. I don’t know if they were communicating
information from each phone call to each other.

We
have never had one customer have a problem with us taking over *********** *****
and have been very happy with our services. Most claim our services and repairs
are less expensive than *** ******’s *********** *****. It seems the ************
biggest concern was that Top Performance purchased the *********** *****
company and didn’t change the original phone number. We did not change the
phone number so all of the previous clientele could get in touch with us. This
number will be in effect for almost two years from business purchase date. With
all current listings with the previous company name in advertisement, online,
phone books will drop off when their original contracts expire. We have no idea
all the locations of where *********** ***** has advertised or listed their phone
number. Old phone numbers are automatically forward to Top Performance
Automotive and we have no idea that it is an incoming phone call from the old Independent
phone number. We answer the phone “Top Performance” and huge signs “Top
Performance Automotive” on the building, you know it’s not *********** *****.
The ************ chose to bring their vehicle, go over the problems with their
car, went over diagnostic charges and continued with diagnostics “BAIT AND
SWITCH” ??? If the ************ didn’t want to have services completed here,
leave before dropping off vehicle. The statement of service adviser’s acting
snotty, simply made up. We don’t talk to customers in that manner. They talked
to two advisers (one being myself) and our notes of all the experiences noted
with the *********** don’t match their claims of being treated rudely.

We
are not refunding the diagnostic money for services performed and the
************ have been told to never return to our shop after all the problems
they have caused.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this statement is not true, when I called on the initial contact, the number I called was for *********** *****, it rang and was picked up by Top Performance , I ask them if they were *********** ***** the person " yep that's us". Never having been to either shop I had chosen *********** ***** based on reviews on line, when someone this is the same place I would think that should be true, they never said to me that they had bought the client list from the other business, they did say this to my wife when she went to pay and pick the car up. This was not information that they freely explain. A good way to get people that would be interested from the other business to get them into your shop.we had never been to either shop , we chose Independent based on reviews and when you call their number you expect to get that business or get an explanation, which regardless of what the said they did not and they are lying. We don't care about the money , what we do care about is that they do not seem to think it's wrong to gain business by holding yourself out to be the same or an extension of a business that is no more . If they want to honest they should put this phone number on their website. And by the way I have Aspegers but that doesn't mean that I mis remember the first call I made to them and what was said. And don't worry we will never try to get service from your shop. Just plain dishonesty.




Sincerely,

***** **********

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took car to the shop with a complaint that suddenly the car was stuttering and hesistating while driving. Initially they estimated that the problem was with ignition coils ($300+), after replacing that, the problem remained unresolved. Next the indicated that the valves needed to be rebuilt ($600+), also that did not resolve the problem. Mind you that this was after keeping the car for about a week, then finally, they discovered that the real problem with the vehicle is that someone put sugar in the gas tank. This involved the dropping and draining of the tank, replaced fuel filter and fuel pump, flushing the gas line and cleaning the fuel injectors ($300+). Final cost was $1200, which I should not be totally responsible for.

Desired Settlement: Due to their failure to accurately diagnois the real fault in repairing my car, I should not be held liable for thing that were done that did not resolve the problem. I feel that I have been overcharged $900 for their mistakes in trying to accurately define the problem with my car and should not be held liable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ *** ***** brought his 00 Honda Accord V6 into Top Performance Automotive with the engine running very poorly. We performed tests on his vehicle and found a misfire on every cylinder. After completing engine diagnostics, ignition spark and fuel pressure was normal. Engine was making loud ticking noise due to some loose valves (out of adjustment). We diagnosed further, removed the engine timing belt cover to inspect for a jumped or damaged timing belt. Also, we removed a valve cover to check valve train adjustments. Timing belt was fine but some valves were very loose and others very tight. A common problem with Honda's is the valves adjustment causing multiple cylinder misfires. We adjusted engine valves not "rebuilt" (like *** ***** indicates) and engine ran a lot better but not perfect, (valves were quiet). Technician test drove vehicle and engine progressively ran worst. Performed additional tests on engine and found the fuel pressure was in normal range but the volume was low. Removed fuel tank to inspect fuel pump and strainer (vehicle does not have a fuel filter, only a strainer inside fuel tank). Fuel tank had been contaminated with sugar and had progressively damaged fuel pump, clogged the strainer and was plugging the fuel injectors. We cleaned the fuel tank, replaced the fuel pump, strainer and performed a "no charge" fuel injection flush to make sure the injectors would be ok or have to be replaced. Fuel injectors were ok after flushing. We did not replace any ignition coils as stated by *** *****. We did not rebuild the valves for $600 as stated by *** *****. We charged $382 for engine valve adjustment and gasket replacement (V-6 engine). We did not charge for the fuel injection flush. The engine needed a valve adjustment badly (which is a common problem) and engine ran so much better afterwards. Engine needed this service regardless for all misfires to be corrected. It is not a common vehicle failure to have sugar in fuel tank so diagnostics took a little longer than normal and we have no control on parts availability but we did not charge *** ***** for anything not needed not did we make any mistakes. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because the car had an engine put in, in March 2012 by Performance and it would seem highly unlikely that the valves would need adjusted in less than 16k miles unless of course when the engine was installed the valve were not adjusted. Plus as stated the valve adjustment did not rectify the problem, therefore should not be charged. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/31) */ The engine was installed by Top Performance and *** ***** chose to have a "used" engine installed instead of a new engine. When Top Performance installs a "used" engine, we will replace gaskets, some seals, spark plugs, water pump, timing belt, antifreeze, oil and filter. We do not go inside the engine and replace or adjust internal engine parts. The engine ran perfect when leaving the shop 6 months ago. It is the customer's responsibility to perform regular service intervals on any vehicle to keep operating conditions at their best. The valve adjustment was needed as stated before and the engine ran a lot better but was not perfect. With the continuation of test drives and diagnosis, the engine progressively ran worst due to the sugar in the fuel tank. *** ***** vehicle had multiple issues happening at the same time which made the conditions more difficult to locate. Adjusting the valves 6 months prior or at present time would have been the same expense. The valve adjustment was a desperately needed service and if they were not adjusted, they would have started burning due to some valves being very tight. If adjustment would have been put off any longer, the repair costs would have been approximately $1900.00 for a cylinder head valve rebuild.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Top Performance Automotive, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)