Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Revolvo West LLC

Phone: (541) 956-4951 Fax: (541) 479-0153 View Additional Phone Numbers 699 Union Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97527

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers mechanical repair on all makes and models, specializing in Volvo. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Revolvo West LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Revolvo West LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2000 Business started: 05/11/1998 in OR Business started locally: 05/11/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Larry Kaufmann, President Ms. Kathline Thompson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Kaufmann, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Transmissions - Automobile Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Alternate Business Names
Revolvo West

Additional Locations

  • 699 Union Ave

    Grants Pass, OR 97527 (541) 956-4951 (877) 857-8954


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 11, 2015, I purchased a used Volvo from Revolvo Grants Pass, Oregon. I first contacted, the owner, Larry K****** in April to discuss Volvos on his lot that would be affordable and reliable. He had a few models ranging from Volvos to BMW’s. I’m a special education teacher and travel for work. I explained that the purpose of my purchase was reliability for employment, not cosmetic. He suggested that I focus on two specific vehicles that would be in my stated price range of 2000$. Both were Volvo wagons. One wagon Mr. K****** stated had “a baked hood”, meaning cosmetic paint damage, but that its positive features included low engine miles and clean interior. He also pointed out a prior original owner. The other vehicle had less cosmetic issues, but higher engine miles and older interior. I requested photos of the first Volvo wagon with low mileage via email. After reviewing the photos, the hood damage seemed minor compared to the benefits Mr. K****** stated, he specifically continued to reference the low mileage. On May 3rd a Saturday (non-work day), I traveled 90 miles to Grants pass from Crescent City, CA. to look at vehicles at the Revolvo lot while they were closed. I inspected outsides of both vehicles and decided that they appeared worth pursuing. I emailed Larry that I wanted to proceed with a purchase and would send a money order for total amount of 2000$ for good faith to secure the vehicle until I could arrange a ride to Grants Pass and discuss further. I suggested I would come on May 11,, 2015. Based on my conversations with Mr. K******, I trusted the car was reliable and would provide me with “reasonable” performance for a period of time before requiring serious maintenance or engine work. On May 11, 2015, I traveled to Grants Pass and Revolvo, signed necessary paperwork with Mr. K******, including application for registration and title for additional 50.00$ fee. The car did not have a current license plate or registration. After traveling back to Crescent City, 90 miles, my neighbor informed me that the tail light was out. I also discovered that the steering fluid was “pouring” out of the reservoir. I put a container underneath to measure how much and over what period of time. I went to an auto parts store in Crescent City and the clerk filled with fluid, pointing out that it was dripping on the alternator and that that would cause the alternator to malfunction. At least 70% of the fluid added leaked out over a 24 hour period. On May 19th I emailed Mr. K****** that I would have a new address for my title to be mailed, and included the information about the brake light and leak. I asked if I could come by Revolvo on May 28th, but never received an answer. The car remained parked at my house in Crescent City until I was able to drive back to Grants Pass and have light and steering fluid checked. When I visited Revolvo on May 28th and explained issues to Mr. K******, he checked light, repaired and further explained that the steering fluid leak would “eventually” need to be repaired. I returned to Crescent City, only driving the car an equivalent of 1 or 2 miles a day. On May 29, 2015 the “check engine” light went on and I discontinued driving the car until I could return to Revolvo. On May 31, 2015, I left Crescent City for a teaching position in San Francisco. I drove directly to Revolvo from Crescent City, CA. At this point, I had only driven the car a total of 400 miles. I met with Mr. K****** and discussed my concerns about engine light, possible repair work and breaking down on the highway alone with all my belongings. He had his mechanic run a “scan” on the Volvo. The scan results are as follows: There were (3) codes, (114), (233) and (212). He wrote them on the back of a business card, handed to me and stated that I probably wouldn’t break down on highway, but if the engine light went on again, that I should show those numbers on the card to a mechanic. That basically they meant there would need to be an adjustment to the idle. It did not sound urgent. From Grants Pass, Or. I drove to Nevada City, CA. I drove the car locally for 6 days. I left for San Francisco on June 6, 2015 for a position in San Francisco. Outside of Sacramento, CA. the engine light went on again and the car started making noise, 4 lights on the dashboard started to flash. I managed to get off the highway and find a place to park on the street. The car would start but not would not move forward or engage in gears. Because of my work schedule I only recently (October) was able to address the condition of the car. My concern and purpose of my complaint is to state my belief that Mr. K****** sold me a vehicle fully aware that it would need immediate and major repairs after my purchase. I use the evidence for my contention as, in total I drove the 240 miles before the engine light illuminated for the first time. That after I informed Mr. K****** of my concerns about breaking down, he did not claim that I wouldn’t break down, but merely alluded to “when the engine light goes on again” to use those current scan numbers as indicators of what the problem was. On June 9th I sent Mr. K****** an email, copied below, explaining the situation about the car breaking down in Sacramento. Hi Larry, Volvo didnt make it past Sacramento, check engine light went on again, along with ABS and flashing arrow lights, I had to park car and get to SF for work. Unfortunately I dont have resources for repairs at this time, I thought it would be fine to drive for awhile before any maintenance, as I've only driven 900 miles max. Do you have any contacts in Sac? I need to try and sell car. Is there any information about the car I can access for a buyer? Any ideas would be helpful as I dont have a place to park car, or tow it, and worried about getting impounded. I request that Mr. K****** reimburse me for the expense of the vehicle, 2000.00$, or pay for repairs to return car to running condition.

Desired Settlement: I request that Mr. K****** reimburse me for the expense of the vehicle, 2000.00$, or pay for repairs to return car to running condition

Business Response: We sold ***** what we believed to be a very reliable one-owner, low mileage Volvo.  It came to us from a couple who were liquidating their father's estate.  We owned it for a short time, performed our standard safety inspection, and repaired anything we found.  The difficulty we were presented with in ******* situation was her leaving the area.  That is specifically why I recommended the lower mileage car.  When she returned, on her way down to San Francisco, we scanned the computer and retrieved the three codes.  (More on that in a minute).  Again, the difficulty was a lack of time on ******* part for us to do anything about them.  I honestly believed they were not a threat to her being able to drive the car.  The "212" is an oxygen sensor out of range; no big deal in terms of reliability.  The "233" is a climate control code; obviously not a performance issue.  And the "114" we could not find any information on.  Upon receiving this complaint, I have performed further research on it.  It is a transmission code for the "park-neutral position" switch circuit.  Potential causes range from simply being out of range to failure of the switch.  At this point I must say, ***** is a dear and favorite customer of mine.  We sold her a Volvo many years ago which she loved and raved about.  We would never put her in a questionable car nor leave her concerns unaddressed.  The email she writes of never reached me; otherwise I would have responded.  I think ***** knows that.  It would have been a good idea, upon receiving no response, to contact me via phone.  I most certainly would have addressed her problems with the car.  I am very sorry she has had this awful experience, but this is the first I am hearing about it!  Having said that, if she is still in possession of the Volvo, she should make arrangements to have it delivered to me for the transmission switch repair.  We are very protective of our reputation and go way out of our way to insure that our customers are satisfied.  I believe were it not for the traveling aspect and the undelivered email, ***** would have never felt compelled to file this complaint.  We are still here for her.  Sincerely, Larry K*******

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It is unclear how car would be transported to Grants Pass, Oregon from Sacramento, CA. Who would incur expense? Perhaps it is more cost effective for Revolvo to consider reimbursing repair expense with reputable dealer in Sacramento.


***** *******

Business Response: I am sorry for the inconvenience of getting the car back to us for repairs.  I have offered to repair the park neutral position switch at no expense to *****.  We have no obligation to repair a used vehicle once sold, regardless of how many miles or how many days it has been driven.  We are trying to be accommodating in this matter as we are serious about customer satisfaction, but it is not our responsibility to give ***** what she is asking for.  The only alternative would be for us to send the switch to a repair facility of ******* choosing for them to install.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


***** *******


That offer is not satisfactory and does not address the issues outlined in the complaint.

I would like more information regarding the arbitration process. Thank you

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Revolvo West LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)