Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Auto Services Inc

Phone: (253) 535-6185 Fax: (253) 535-1501 9804 1/2 McKinley Ave E, Tacoma, WA 98445


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Auto Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Northwest Auto Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Auto Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 1992 Business started: 05/01/1992 Business started locally: 05/01/1992 Business incorporated 05/05/1992 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Bright, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Bright, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Transmissions - Automobile Differentials - Automobile Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:30pm

Additional Locations

  • 9804 1/2 McKinley Ave E

    Tacoma, WA 98445 (253) 535-6185

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ook my car to Northwest Auto and told them I had a bad stater. Mark (the owner) did a diagnostic test ($40.00) and told me it was not the starter but a bad alternator. so I purchased an alternator ($252.00 + tax) and he installed it for $80.00 on my car. The next day my car was still not working so I took it back and he did another diagnostic test and told me I had a bad starter about ($100.00 + tax) and 160.00 to install. Refused to refund me for his mistake on the alternator and then told me he wouldn't even install the stater because he was offended that I was upset and felt I was ripped off. This company has been around for a while and I have done business with them before without issue so I know they know what their doing but this was clearly a mistake on their part and they refuse to make it right. I believe I am owed a full refund for their dishonesty. I tried politely to discuss the issue but Mark refused to admit any wrong doing and just told me leave and never come back.

Desired Settlement: To have my money refunded in full.

Business Response: Mike had Asked to check for a starter problem....Well first there is an Issue with a under charged Battery and an Alt that wasn't Charging.....Also a Battery that wouldn't pass Hydromiter Cell Testing....He did repair that as asked...His starting problems continued...even more over night...We kept the Range Rover over night  Wow starter Bendix is bad....Ok no electrical test will find that problem........We  will not offering any or free Labors or Refunds....

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I took my car to NW auto and told them it needed a starter. It was inspected and they told me it was the alternator and bad battery not the starter, so they replaced the alternator, the battery was left alone, the place I purchased the battery from would not exchange it because they said it was fine. I took my old alternator to the place where the new one was purchased and they did a test on it and said it was 100% operational with no problems and the diodes were in perfect working order. There was nothing wrong with the battery or alternator it was the starter like I said when I took in there. Nw auto misdiagnosed the issue even after being told what the problem was when the car was brought to them. They refused to warranty their mistake and should refund me 100%. Sincerely, ******* ****.

Business Response: There will be NO REFUND from Northwest Auto Service on **** ****s Complaint...Mark B******...Thank you

5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09-30-13, I spoke to a friend about an ongoing issue with the recently replaced transmission done by NW Auto Service on my daughter's 95 S10 pickup. The friend had been the one that referred us there and so he spoke to **** and made arrangements for us to have him look at the transmission on 1-01-13. That day the friend called me and said that the fuel injection system was the issue and that he would look for a part as **** was going to charge $950 for the work, which he felt was overpriced. He told me to pick up the truck and he would call me about the part. My daughter went to get it and was told the bill was $80. I had to go there to pay the bill and find out what it was for as I thought he would have just taken it on a test drive and I did not expect a bill as he had guaranteed his transmission. Come to find out, **** had put a tester on the car to diagnose the error code, which only came on after he did the transmission work and I thought something had not been reset. I never authorized the computer test and have now had another shop look at the problem and are having it fixed for over half the price as it is just a couple of hoses that are messed up, not the injectors as **** stated. **** did unauthorized work to the vehicle

Desired Settlement: The refund of the unauthorized work charges of $87.60.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/22) */ This was a friend of a friend referal.Diagnose of transmission problem FREE.Rebuild of treansmission was $500.00 off normal price.Rechecked transmission work FREE. Truck was running so poor-black smoke and a gas smell. Inspected engine running poor-fuel pressure drop test-shown a fuel leak under the intake manifold. the correct repair is: new fuel injector and feed hoses-new injector unit or risk fire or engine damage...The shop the customer used only did the feed hoses only-not a good idea. We will not be refunding the money in question. We have given great discounts to this customer already. We wish him luck. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The engine test was unauthorized and unwanted. The only authorized work was a check of the transmission that we thought was the issue. If the transmission was not the issue, we would have taken it to where we ended up getting the work done. There was no communication or any authorization in any way to do the engine check. Regardless of any previous discounts, this was a separate issue. The only link is that the check engine light was not on before the transmission rebuild, but was on after it was done. One of the fuel lines had a "cut" on it, but everything else seemed to be fine. Regardless, the engine test was unauthorized and unwanted. I am requesting my money back for the unauthorized work.

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Auto Services Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)