Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A I R Import Repairs Inc

Phone: (253) 565-3049 Fax: (253) 565-8673 8016 27th St W, University Place, WA 98466 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.airimportrepairs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto mechanical service and repair for import automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A I R Import Repairs Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A I R Import Repairs Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A I R Import Repairs Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 1998 Business started: 12/01/1983 Business started locally: 12/01/1983 Business incorporated 12/23/1983 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Smith, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash and Credit cards

Additional Locations

  • 8016 27th St W

    University Place, WA 98466 (253) 565-3049

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ok here's the story about my experience with this company. My 2004 Volkswagen Touareg driver's side headlight went out. My car uses the Bi-Xenon HID system and the bulbs can be expensive. Thinking that it was just a burnt out bulb I went to ********** and bought a new one. After replacing it, the headlight was still out. I finally broke down and went to an auto shop to have it inspected. AIR Import diagnosed that the headlight was blowing fuses and the main control module for the headlight needed to be replaced. It was $625.00 for the part! After the parts and labor I was almost a thousand dollars into a headlight repair. I later researched the same part online (OEM brand new) for around $250. After they installed the control module the mechanics said that the new headlight bulb I had purchased didn't work so I paid an additional $185 to have another one installed. I was now well over a thousand dollars for a simple repair. Although most repair shops roughly charge between $90-100 for hourly labor, I felt that AIR Import failed to address the best possible repair to potentially save me, the customer, money. This was a total scam. On top of that, a few hours after the repair, the headlight went out again. I had to readjusted the headlight which tightened up the connection on the back. I also replaced the original bulb I bought from ********** and found out that it also worked. I called AIR Import to dispute and possibly be reimbursed for their false assessment which cost me the extra $185. They refused to take the bulb back and showed very poor customer service and retainability for any future services. The manager **** ***** told me to keep the bulb for the future when I would need it. However, these bulbs are guaranteed to last awhile, so it seemed insignificant to keep it. Also, this company utilizes many repair parts on a constant basis. I would never recommend this company to anyone. Understandably, when you own a European vehicle like Audi, BMW, or Volkswagen it is probable that you may spend more on parts than a GM vehicle. However, AIR Import was outrageous in how they assessed the problem as it seemed to be only geared towards profits. Buy-and-large, it is important for mechanic shops to maintain a good customer base to stay in business because mechanics are a dime-a-dozen and they don't receive constant business. Also, for their "policies" to not have any room for reimbursement is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: **** ***** refused to cooperate for a potential reimbursement settlement of $185. This was the total cost of the headlight bulb part plus labor, environmental tax, and sales tax. The total cost could've been avoided had they noticed that the headlight was not tightly secured to the main harness connection on the back of the assembly. This was a lower reimbursement sum that I figured Mr. ***** was willing to consider. Mr. ***** displayed poor customer regard and care that stopped any future business with this company.

Business Response:

Please see the attached word document for our response to this matter. 

Thank you,

AIR Import Repairs.

February 23, 2015

To Whom It May Concern:
RE: Case #********* ******* **

We did repairs to and replaced some light components on ******* ****  Volkswagen Taureg on January 9th and 14th.  These repairs included the replacement of a control unit, a fuse and a light bulb.  The vehicle left the facility with properly functioning lights.  Our invoices clearly state that the vehicle needs to be returned to our facility for the warranty to be in effect.  ******* ** did not contact us for further repairs. He called a few weeks later to say that he had replaced the headlight bulb and would like to return the one that we put in.  He wanted to get cash back.  This is not our policy.  We are sorry that Mr. **** is not happy with the service we have provided.

Best Regards,


**** *****
Owner
A.I.R. Import Repairs


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A I R Import Repairs Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)