Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Car2Go N.A. LLC

Phone: (206) 420-4684 Fax: (206) 708-7101 3131 Western Ave Ste 324, Seattle, WA 98121 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.car2go.com/en/seattle


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers car sharing, smart car rentals and electric car rental services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Car2Go N.A. LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Car2Go N.A. LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2013 Business started: 08/01/2009 Business started locally: 08/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Nicholas Cole, Member Michael Hoitink
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nicholas Cole, Member
Customer Contact: Michael Hoitink
Business Category

Auto Renting & Leasing Passenger Car Rental (NAICS: 532111)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
9:30am - 5:30pm
Alternate Business Names
Car2Go

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Car2Go N.A. LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3131 Western Ave Ste 324

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 420-4684

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to take a car2go to go to a bar around 10:45-11:00PM on 06/04/2016. I noticed a medium-sized chip in the back of the car and hit "report new damage" on the screen. I was told to e-mail a photo of the license and the chip to an e-mail address. I went ahead and put the key in the start point and heard the automated driver start saying, "Thank you for using car2go." Because of this, I decided to head into the bar where approx. 10 mins. later, I received a message saying that my car2go reservation could not be completed and that I had to go back to the vehicle. I called the customer service line and could not remember what the gentleman's name was but this was around 11:20PM when I called. I politely at first asked him if he could turn the vehicle off remotely and charge me from the time the engine stopped (I have done this in the past without any incident when in a rush). He informed me that I could not and that I would be charged the full price very rudely. He stated it was in the terms and conditions and that the reason why was because the door was not closed so he could not end it remotely. I went back to the vehicle where I observed that all of the doors were in fact, closed. He was very dismissive and informed me that he could put in a claim but there was no guarantee I would be credited. I have spoken to dozens of car2go reps and he was by far the most condescending and rude for no reason whatsoever. I should have told him that in the last month, I have spent over $500 in ride-share services like car2go and ******** and that I planned to use car2go exclusively (because they allow me to park in cap hill) until today. Admittedly I did lose my temper while on the phone because I felt like he was trying to dissuade me from making the claim. He was not understanding and the worst part is that the car's doors were shut after all so I don't know why the doors did not lock. Why would the man's voice come on alerting me the service was ending..seems deceptive.

Desired Settlement: I am very upset that I had this experience with car2go. They were actually starting to win me over ******** with convenience and speed but now I am not sure if I will recommend this service to anyone because of the way they tried to gouge 25 extra minutes out of me. I would like a refund.

Business Response: I reviewed this case and found that on June 8th, we contacted our member and, as a courtesy, credited their account with 25 minutes of drive time to help adjust for any inconvenience . The members credited minutes are new available and will be valid for 45 days.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I would like to be refunded the amount onto my card. I do not wish to use the minutes on another vehicle after the terrible service I received. I am using ******** exclusively for all of my travel needs. 

Sincerely,

****** *********

Business Response: At the request of our member, I have agreed to refunded his rental on June 4th, and we will still honor the additional free minutes if the member elects to rent a car2go in the near future.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********

11/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a trip taken in July, the in-dash screen and voice informed me that the trip had been successfully ended, when it in fact had not made a connection. Due to that system error, 16+ additional hours of billed time (totaling over $95) was charged to my account. Over the course of the next 6 weeks I was informed that the miss-charge had finally been "resolved", thanks to multiple calls and emails exchanged with customer service representatives. I say "resolved" because, almost exactly 4 months later, that system-error-generated charge was erroneously pulled from my bank account, in another system error. This has lead to many socially-inept hours of customer-service-lacking conversations, with only promises of a potential refund. There has been no sign of any regard to my own needs, or common decency. A day ago I was informed a "system bug" has all refunds on hold, so that they cannot give me any expectation of when it will arrive. As of today, my point of contact regarding this issue still has no timeline or resolution affixed.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of $95.81

Business Response:

******,

Thank you for your comments, your feedback is very important to us at car2go. I sincerely apologize for this unfortunate situation and we have refunded your rental. Today I sent two of our associate to provide you with a refund, and to bring you a pizza and sandwich for your inconvenience.

I hope you will try our service again and remain a loyal car2go member. Please contact me if you have any questions or concerns at ************.

 

Happy Driving

Michael H******

******* *******

car2go - Seattle

10/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the Labor Day weekend (Sept 5-7), Car2go was advertising a special where you could rent their vehicle for the whole day for $59+tax. Their mobile application did not give specifics on the details of this special only a 1-800 number to call if you had any questions. On Monday September 7th approximately 4 pm, I called said number and asked very specific questions to their agent over the phone before renting this vehicle and taking this advertised special. What I was informed of by this agent was that as long as the vehicle stayed under 150 miles this deal would apply. I specifically asked if this was a 24 hour period of rental and their agent informed me that it was indeed a 24 hour period as long as I held onto the keys. At approximately 4:30 pm, I proceeded to rent this vehicle for the 24 hour period I was informed I could utilize; taking several trips that day and proceeding to take several the next day. I subsequently returned the keys into their respective place before 4:30 pm on Tuesday September 8th. Upon review of my bank account, I noticed that I had separate charges for Sept 7th and Sept 8th from Car2go. I called their home office to try and resolve this issue and was informed that they would put a request for reimbursement of cash or minutes to the Seattle branch of Car2go. Within minutes I received an email from Seattle Car2Go stating that I had not utilized their special correctly. I proceeded to write an email back and explain the situation and how their agent had informed me of the specifics of this special and asking for a management personnel to contact me to get this matter resolved. I have not had any response back from Seattle Car2go. Apparently Seattle Car2go is quick to tell their customers "NO", but not in the business of trying to resolve issues with them. There were no printed details of this special and all a customer can rely on is the words of the agent over the phone.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a fair reimbursement for the difference between the advertised special price and the charges that incurred over those two days either back into my account or Car2go minutes. I am also requesting that Car2go detail their special in writing so that there is no further confusion for others.

Business Response: Reached out to member ***** ******** in regards to the trips and resulting charges in question. During the first communication in regards to the Labor Day rates, themember was misinformed in regards to the time frame of the special. Approximately at 3:45 PM on Monday September 7, the member was advised that the rates would apply to a rental if kept for the next 24 HR period. The special was only valid during the weekend of Labor Day and for rates to apply rentals had to be ended by Monday September 7 at 11:59 PM. Mr. ******** proceeded to take a rental for ~ 2 HRS on September 7 with the trip ending at 6:40 PM. The member proceeded to take an additional rental the following day on September 8 at 1:46 PM for ~ 2 HRS. At this point the special rates were no longer available and daily rate wouldn't apply as Mr. ******** took two separate trips. car2go Hourly and Daily rates only apply to continuous trips. 

We've advised Mr. ******** of how Hourly and Daily rates apply and special rates as well. Due to the initial misinformation Mr. ******** received, we have fully refunded the second trip on Tuesday September 8 for a total of $41.42 (including tax). Both trips were correctly charged but we decided to refund Mr. ******** because we don't want our members to feel misled and be properly educated. 

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car from car2go on at 10am 10/31/14 intending to have it for 24 hour period for $50. After having it for 5 hours, the car was broken into and my purse was stolen. There was no visible damage to the vehicle, and I had locked the vehicle. I reported the theft to the police and to car2go. After numerous conversations with car2go to determine what may have happened, Delores with the Seattle office told me their computer showed the doors to the vehicle were unlocked at 316pm when I can prove I was away from the vehicle. The car was not unlocked by me so someone other than me unlocked this vehicle and got in to steal my purse. The company has been uncooperative at this point in pursuing any alternatives to how the vehicle may have been accessed, saying it could only have been with the key. I obviously did not unlock the car as I was not in range of the vehicle. They have a flaw in their system and refuse to take responsibility for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like: A) to be refunded $58.60 for the rental charges for the day of the rental. B) to be compensated for my losses for the theft. I will provide a detailed list of the items upon request. The total is approximately $1000.

Business Response: I reviewed ****** ******'s complaint regarding the theft of her purse on October 31, 2014. After carefully evaluating of incident, I found that the member initiated her rental at 9:54 AM. During the time in question, our logs documented that the vehicle was unlocked at 3:16 PM and then locked again at 3:34 PM. During this time, the vehicle was not available for other members to rent because Ms. ****** was in use of the vehicle. If Ms. ****** retained possession of the key and locked the door when she was not in use of the vehicle, it would prevent others from accessing the vehicle. The vehicle was not broken into; the only way the door could be unlocked would be by the key which was in the possession of the Member. As a customer service we provided Ms. ****** with 30 minutes of free drive time; however, car2go is not liable for stolen belongings per our terms and conditions, nor are we required to reimburse the member for the time she was logged into the vehicle. We will contact the member again to explain our position.
Please let me know if you have any questions or need any additional information.

Sincerely,
Michael H*******
Location Manager - car2go

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When the car was relocked at 3:34PM that was by me. It was unlocked at 3:16PM but that was not by me. I resent the claim "The vehicle was not broken into", clearly it was because my purse was stolen, as referenced in the police report I filed. If the business isn't liable in their terms and conditions, hidden under some contract I inherently signed upon becoming a member, then fine, I'll accept that, but resorting to calling your customers liars in order to resolve your business of liability is not a way to retain business. I want to part of your "free" 30 minutes. Which by the way, is a hollow offer, because as I explained several times to Delores, I cannot use because my card was stolen when my purse was stolen. I have no way to access the 30 minutes. She promised to send out a new card repeatedly, which conveniently I've never received.

Business Response: Regarding the customers response "resorting to calling your customers liars", we in no way want to imply our customer is a liar. Better put, we simply do not have any evidence the vehicle was broken into. The only way we are aware that the door could be unlocked would be by the key which was in the possession of the Member. If and how the vehicle was in fact broken into remains a mystery to us. I will make sure a new card has been issued to the customer. She is also able to use a smart device in the meantime to reserve and rent the our vehicles.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They did credit 30 minutes to my account, and if they mail me a new card then I will be able to use them. I accept that they don't know how the car's security was breached. I think they should be more concerned about protecting their customers and their property, but I guess that's a business decision.

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car2Go offers free minutes for gassing up their vehicles. I attempted to do this on a trip I made with the car in September, but unfortunately the card provided in the car was not working. I called the phone number on the back of the card, and spoke with the gas station attendant, but was unable to make it work. This stopover delay thus cost me extra time AND extra money that I had to pay for that additional time, instead of getting any free minutes (which I was hoping to use the next day on a planned trip). I emailed car2go when I returned home, to explain the situation and ask that they apply the free 20 minutes to the trip I had just taken and was unable to gas up. It took a couple weeks to hear back, and I sent several emails - first on 9/19, then on 9/22, and then on 9/30 with no response. I finally heard back on 10/5 and they just said they would give me 30 free minutes valid for 45 days. I responded the same day that I did not use the service often enough at this point (I don't have use of it while in school, when I have a bus pass) for this to really be of any use; and I also expressed the fact that their customer service was extremely delayed and unacceptable. I again asked that they please remove these promotional minutes and instead apply them towards the cost of my 9/19 trip. I felt this was only fair, especially given how delayed their responses were. I didn't hear back, and emailed again on 10/13. Finally, on 10/16, they stated that they "couldn't do this" as the promotional minutes had already been applied. I find this extremely hard to believe. I responded on 10/16, and had no response by 10/23. At that point, I stated the following: "This is absolutely unacceptable. It has taken over a month since my initial request and I have had to wait weeks for each subsequent reply from you. I have requested that you remove my charge for my 9/19 trip. You have kept repeating that you already applied 30 complimentary minutes, so you can't remove the charge. I know this is not true. To take forever to get back to me, and then offer me not what I requested (especially under ridiculous reasoning), but free minutes - for a service which I rarely used - is certainly a convenient and business-benefitting "solution" for you, but it is not at ALL what I want. I barely use your service as it is, and will not plan on doing so in the future if this is what is to be expected of customer service if any problems arise. If you resolve this issue to my satisfaction, I will consider using you on occasion, as I have in the past. But your customer service so far has been COMPLETELY unacceptable. Not only are you not even addressing my request, or my explanation for why your "solution" is not acceptable, but you AREN'T RESPONDING AT ALL. The last fact is the most egregious, and I will be complaining to the Better Business Bureau if I don't receive prompt rectification." I received a phone call - the first I had received so far - the same day. I missed it unfortunately, but called back within a couple hours. The person dealing with my issue was not present, and I was told they would call back. That was a week ago, and I have not heard anything else since then. The issue started with difficulty with gassing up, but the larger issue has been their complete lack of customer service - especially such long delays - in dealing with this issue.

Desired Settlement: Removal of the charge on 9/19. At this point, I also feel like I should keep the free 30 minutes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *************@daimler.com Discussed the situation with ***** **** and explained that the delay in our response was due to internal changes within our Customer Service team. Ms. **** was receptive and understood the situation. We advised Ms. **** to contact our local office directly with any further issues involving credit (regardless of the form). ***** **** was also advised that the refueling credit is never applied to a previous trip and is a reward for the action of refueling a vehicle. Once again, Ms. **** was receptive to this explanation. Ms. **** was refunded the cost of the trip in question and kept her courtesy minutes. We advised her that courtesy minutes can be extended once upon request. The issue was resolved and ***** ******* request was granted on our behalf in the month of October 2014.

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They take forever to bill you and when they do and their international billing sometimes doesnt work for they charge you $25 at least once a week and then you email complaining stating that you feel like its a scam, they dont return your emails and delere you account and charge you $25 to do that

Desired Settlement: I want my service back I work in Everett wa and I got to see my dying father (Which he only has a few weeks left) on the weekends its more convenient to use car2go than metro bus

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/31) */ Reached out to *** ******* in regards to the delay and issues with our accounting process. We have attempted to reach out to her to ensure that the problem has been identified and it has been resolved. We've left two messages (via voicemail) to discuss the situation & to advise her that we've credited her account with courtesy credits. We've also refunded the processing fee that *** ******* was charged for obtaining a parking ticket. In summary, we have resolved the problem and will continue to reach out to *** ******* in regards to the situation to make sure all concerns are put to rest.

9/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 1, 2014 I received an email from car2go Seattle informing me that I was the responsible party for City of Seattle citation #XXXXXXXX, issued on March 17, 2014, for Overtime on vehicle ******* which I had parked near ****** *** N ***** 98109 Seattle at 3/17/2014 00:25 AM according to car2go's records. On May 9, 2014 I received a Notice to registered owner of violation and failure to respond. This was the first time I learned of the citation officially from the City of Seattle. I parked the vehicle on the above block in a two hour time-limited spot, which is a spot where no Overtime citation may lawfully be issued to a free-floating car sharing vehicle, in accordance with Seattle Municipal Code and car2go Seattle's parking rules. car2go Seattle parking rules state that "you cannot park in street parking spots that are designated as under two hour spots" and Seattle Municipal Code 11.72.260 state that "No person shall stand or park a vehicle upon a street for a longer period of time than the limit that is signposted except for any free-floating car sharing vehicle that conforms to Section 11.23.160 ...." The citation was made in error. I brought this to the attention of car2go Seattle who insisted that I be the party responsible for contesting the citation with the City of Seattle. I put in a lot of time and effort in order to attend the contested hearing on June 3, 2014 where the citation was dismissed with a finding of not committed. I dispute that any research was performed on the citation before assigning me as the responsible party. I strongly believe that car2go Seattle should have been responsible for contesting the citation with the City of Seattle given that I parked exactly in accordance with car2go Seattle's parking rules. The practice of blindly assigning citations to car2go customers needs to stop. I can only speculate that the citation was issued due to a lack of training of parking enforcement officers. If there were only a handful of car2go vehicles in Seattle I would understand the confusion but with over 500 vehicles it is inexcusable. I hate to imagine how many car2go customers have paid for citations which were issued incorrectly. If the citation were legitimate there are other processes which must be improved. I find it unacceptable that I was not served with an official Notice of infraction from the City of Seattle shortly after it had been issued and with full details of the citation. The Notice to registered owner of violation and failure to respond contains no useful information to allow the car2go customer to perform their own research of the citation, and its default penalty of $25 is unjust given that it is not the fault of car2go customers that it currently takes several months to first learn of the citation. I requested that car2go Seattle send me a copy of the ticket to help me research the citation but my emails were ignored. That was simply rude and unhelpful and you must improve customer service at car2go. I hope that car2Go Seattle will work promptly with the Seattle Police Department to ensure that citations are not issued incorrectly to car2go vehicles, and that a more transparent and fair process is followed when citations are indeed legitimate. Car sharing is a great thing for this great city and car2go and SPD must be careful not to mistreat car sharing customers.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the $29.30 ticket processing fee that I was charged. I will also be happy to accept driving credit as compensation for the inconvenience caused. I hope that you are able to resolve all of these issues quickly and look forward to your response.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/09) */ A processing mistake was made by the ticketing agent and ourselves. The member was successful in challenging the ticket and voiding said fee. The car2go processing fee was fully refunded and the member was compensated for the situation. car2go has discussed the resolution with the member with our member satisfied and understanding of the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) car2go apologized for the inconvenience caused and assured me they were working to prevent it from happening again, to me and all other car2go customers.

5/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car2Go supposedly notified me of a parking violation 7 months ago BUT I DID NOT receive any such notification. The first notification i've ever received was from the municipal court 7 months later.

Desired Settlement: Car2GO should be penalized for misinforming and mis-notifying their customer and should pay the parking ticket since they failed to notify me which would have allowed me to dispute the incorrect ticket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/02) */ This member was notified by car2go via email on Friday, November 22, 2013 at 6:27 PM. We informed him that the car2go he had used was issued a ticket by the City of ******* for "Crosswalk" violation. This email explained that car2go had informed the City of ******* that he was the responsible party for the ticket violation. We have since verified that this email notification was sent to the correct address that the member placed on file with car2go. The email contained information of how to proceed to pay his ticket before it went to collections. He must contact the City of Seattle to pay or dispute this ticket. The City of ******* also notified this member via the mail regarding his ticket and how to pay. If he did not receive the mail notification, he needs to take this matter up with the City of ******** For the member's privacy we did not to include the email copy in this response as it contained personal information. However, if needed, we can provide proof of the email for verification.

2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a coupon from Car2Go via Twitter. I registered for their service using the coupon, which provided for free registration. I registered, providing personal information that included my address, drivers license number, and credit card number. After providing all of this information, I received an email saying that I used an expired coupon and that they would charge me $35 if I wished to register. That's a very clear bait and switch. They solicited my personal information under false pretenses. I was outraged so I terminated my account with them. However, I have no way to know whether they still have my personal information.

Desired Settlement: I would like BBB to lower their rating. They are not trustworthy and they are operating a bait and switch business tactic.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/01/16) */ To: Better Business Bureau 1/16/2014 From: *** ***** Car2go Area Manager Re: Case #XXXXXXXX A customer registered for our service using a promotion code that would waive our normal $35.00 membership fee. The promotion code was good for 1 day only, and it appears the registration was not completed before the end of the day. The customer was informed on 12/9/13 that the promotion code was expired, and that our normal $35 membership fee would apply. The customer sent us an email on 12/9/13 advising that he did not want to pay the $35 and asked that we delete all personal information that he had supplied in the registration. We offered to waive the registration fee of $35, but the customer was no longer interested in joining our service. We advised the customer on 12/9/13 that all his personal information had been deleted from our records. I can confirm that we have deleted this customer's personal information from our records. I apologize that this was a negative experience for our customer, but we did try to correct it by waiving the $35 membership fee. Sincerely, *** ***** Car2go Area Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Clearly I completed my registration on time. If I hadn't, the promotion code should not work on their website. Once they accept the promotion code and my personal information, a contract is made. When they don't honor the agreement and try to charge you for something that was billed as free, it's classic bait and switch. Hopefully, they have fixed their website and their business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/01/23) */ To: Better Business Bureau 1/23/2014 From: *** ***** Car2go **** Manager Re: Case #XXXXXXXX The promotion code our customer entered was valid on the day he began the registration process. Our review shows that the confirmation of the completed registration did not happen within the day the promotion code was active. This was our error, but not intentional. We offered to correct this error when the customer brought it to our attention. I do apologize for the frustration this caused our customer. Sincerely, *** ***** Car2go Area Manager

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car I rented from Car2Go on Oct 3, 2013, became disabled during my rental. I found a legal 2 hour parking spot in which to leave the car, which would have been a danger for me to drive any further (car fender fell off and was dragging along the road). I contacted Car2Go immediately, I let the rep know exactly what had happened, obviously they knew exactly where the car was parked, he apologized for the inconvenience, and told me they would take care of it and have the car repaired. But apparently, they did not do any of that and instead apparently left the car sitting there until it was ticketed by the Seattle Police on a subsequent day which had different parking restrictions. Once I got this notice, I attempted to contact Car2Go to discuss this, only after 4 phone calls and three business days later did they finally bother to get back to me. And Car2Go's Seattle rep *******, told me that his manager at Car2Go's Seattle office said that I am liable for the ticket and that in addition to the cost of the ticket I must pay the city, Car2Go is also fining me for violating their terms of service! I of course vehemently disagree with their conclusion. This company rented me a car that fell apart while I drove it and became a danger for me, and a hazard to drive any further. I parked it safely and legally, and alerted the company that the car was disabled. Clearly, my liability for this damaged and now hazardous vehicle ended right there. Unfortunately, I had to make 4 calls to Car2Go since last Thursday just to have the Seattle office respond to me! As has been reported several times in the local media, Car2Go has provided me virtually no customer service. In every interaction I have had with them so far, which has been many more times than I think was necessary, they have not yet once done what they said they would do, without at least one more follow-up call from me. I understand this is a European company, so while their standards of service and interaction may be ok by European standards, clearly they are not up to expected standards here, and I doubt standards set by the BBB.

Desired Settlement: 1) Contact the City of Seattle, take responsibility for this ticket, and have it removed from my record. 2) Reverse any charges or fees that were charged to my credit card because of this matter. 3) Reverse charges for both rentals that day (I had to stop in-between to try and affix the fender that had fallen off so I could complete my travel) as they already promised they would, but have not.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ TO: Better Business Bureau RE: Case # XXXXXXXX From: *** *****/car2go Area Manager During the rental on 10/3/2013 our member contacted our call center to report that the passenger side molding below the door had come loose and was dragging on the ground. The member advised that he had partially re-attached the molding and was going to continue driving to his destination. Our member received a parking ticket for parking in a Car Pool space that is not a legal parking spot for members of car2go. Our initial assessment was that our member should have found a legal parking space once he reached his destination. We question if the vehicle was truly disabled since the member continued to drive the vehicle after he re-attached the lower molding. We have agreed to pay for parking ticket, refund our processing fee, and refund the cost of his rental on 10/13/2013 as a concession to retain a good customer. The member was contacted on 10/16/2013 with this resolution and was satisfied with our response. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/10/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/24) */ TO: Better Business Bureau RE: Case # XXXXXXXX- Follow-up Response 10/24/2013 From: *** *****/car2go Area Manager In response to our member's additional questions, I can confirm that we have taken that following actions: 10/15/2013- 60 minutes' drive time was added to his account 10/16/2013- car2go paid citation XXXXXXXXX for $47 to the City of Seattle $29.60 ticket processing fee was refunded to the members account 10/22/2013- $8.47 drive cost was refunded. This was scheduled to be completed on 10/16/2013. The parking ticket was issued because our member parked the vehicle on 10/3/2013 at 3:12 PM in a space that becomes restricted for Car Pools Only from 7:00-10:00 AM. We were unable to schedule a pick-up of this vehicle on 10/3/2013 and did not know the vehicle would be ticketed if not moved before 7:00 AM the next day. I believe our member also did not realize he had parked the vehicle in a restricted space. We have agreed to pay the parking ticket, refund the processing fees and cost of the 10/3/13 drive because of the damage our customer noted with the vehicle. I apologize for any delays in resolving this for our customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Car2Go N.A. LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart