BBB Accredited Business since

Foreign Engines Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 333-9889 View Additional Phone Numbers 6907 216th St SW Ste A, Lynnwood, WA 98036 http://www.foreignengines.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers foreign automobile engines and transmissions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Foreign Engines Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Foreign Engines Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Foreign Engines Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Peterson, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Peterson, Partner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - New Automotive Parts and Accessories Stores (NAICS: 441310)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Foreign Engines Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 11 1/2 weeks after receiving engine, I still have no car to drive! Ordered an engine for my vehicle Aug. 2015. Received in VERY poor condition and not complete, as I was assured it would be. Very little compression, piston rings shot, compression rings shot, took 12+ hours to clean, broken distributor. dented oil pan, unusable valve cover, and that's just the beginning. My very experienced mechanic of over 40 years could not believe the condition of engine. After spending more time, countless hours for my mechanic (labor), more $$$$, and over a dozen phone calls to company, they sent a second engine per warranty, in even WORSE condition. Engines arrived absolutely filthy, dented, broken parts, etc. Company claims Japan does the compression checks and cleaning, and they go on to say that the engines will be clean and have good compression upon arrival. Company refuses to take any responsibility; they say, "It happened in Japan, there's nothing else we can do." ONE bad engine MIGHT be acceptable only if the company made it right (which they did not), but TWO bad engines??? TAKE RESPONSIBILITY!!!! After spending all this time, money, effort, labor, phone calls and new parts, etc., I would have been better buying a brand NEW engine!!! Foreign Engines is supposed to sell quality parts, in this case an engine that runs half decent. Unacceptable. I did receive one thing from Foreign Engines: A COMPLETE RIPOFF. They should refund your money instead of sending you a worse engine. Lost work days, no car, and now I'm completely broke. DO NOT BUY AN ENGINE FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!! I heard decent things from this company before ordering, as well. This place is literally a junkyard, and they glorify it by sending new gaskets, seals and an oil filter. I ordered these engines from Foreign Engines out of Coeur D' Alene, Idaho, for the record. Currently, I am out of $4,0176, and NO RUNNING ENGINE/CAR.

Desired Settlement: They should REFUND my money instead of sending another engine that is in worst shape than the first one! That's the ONLY way to make this half way right. Big deal: They warranty their engines for a year as long as the button stamp is intact, then send me another one in even worse condition. REFUND SHOULD BE GRANTED AFTER TWO JUNK ENGINES.

Business Response:

We had never spoken to **** ** **

We did figure out her father bought an engine from us.  We contacted him and he told us he was unaware of any problems with the replacement engine we sent.

The original engine we sold him was using too much oil so we sent him a replacement engine.

We contacted his daughter and found out they never installed the replacement engine but she had contacted us telling us she wanted a refund.

We are no longer buying from the company that supplied us with this engine because of their poor engine quality.

Per company policy, once we found out she wanted a refund we gave her a full refund.

We strive to satisfy our customers!

If you have a problem with an engine or transmission purchased from us, please contact us before contacting the BBB.



Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** **

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is a one year warranty on the motor I bought from Foreign Engines and the first motor they put in my car went through thirteen quarts of oil from August 12th to November 20th. Foreign Engines couldn't put the second motor in for three weeks. They gave me the choice to wait or have a company over in Spokane Wa do the work. I took it to Spokane. I had a one year warranty on this motor. The reason for my complaint is I feel it would be there responsibility to pay for it. It has a one year warranty and I already put out of pocket almost 4,0000.00 for a motor that didn't work. They are saying because I didn't buy a labor warranty that cost 99.00 for labor on the motor. Not if the motor was no good. Besides the labor on the motor to have second one put in cost more then the warranty. Besides the motor not working I ask for a receipt from Japan asking to see if they even purchased motor from Japan but the service rep (****) told me that the don't get receipts from Japan. He said they come in bulk. I said every thing in the world gets receipts. There is always a paper trail. Besides this while I was leaking all of this oil. I brought my car over to my machanis in Spokane wa to ask my mechanic if the motor had ever been changed all he said is this is a rebuilt head. And his dad who owns the company said that's a lot of money you put out and you don't even have seals or gaskets. I called we an and he told me to bring my car in. I dropped my car off in the morning 10:00 am and picked it up at 6:00pm. Make a long story short when I had the second motor put in the machanic said to me there are no seals or gaskets on this motor. This is only the beginning of my night made. This has been going on for one and one half years. I really want my money back for the instalation of the second motor but I can't get anywhere with them so here I am making a complaint to you. Thamñk you ******************

Desired Settlement: I want my money back on the installation of second motor. They act as its my fault they gave me a bunk motor. They have given me the run around for so long now I just decided to go this way. Thank you ******* **********

Business Response: ******* ********** bought a engine from us. As is standard in the used auto parts industry the engine warranty only covers the engine. It does not cover any other costs(installation, towing etc.) But we do offer an additional warranty to cover labor costs.
She was offered this additional warranty and declined the coverage. We do have a signed warranty from her that she did not want the labor coverage.

It was determined that the engine was using too much oil so we provided a replacement engine and we sent her new gaskets and seals needed for the intall.


12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an engine for a 1993 Nissan Quest Van on 07/29/2013, for $895.00, plus shipping $240.00. The motor was installed by **** **** ****** in Bartlett Tn. Once I picked up the vehicle, I notice a very loud ticking noise and question the owner of the shop. He stated that it may quick down after a while of driving but he stated that he thought it was a defected motor. He stated when he took the water pump off a lot of rust was in there. After I drove it for about a week I noticed that my radiator was full of rust. I contacted Foreign Engines Inc my email. The technician called back and asked question so I gave him the shop owner's number that installed the engine. I had the radiator flushed 3 times and it still has rust in it. I contacted foreign engines again via email. There technician stated the oil pressure may be low. I took the vehicle too *** ****** ****** in Dobbs Nissan and they tested the oil pressure and it was fine. I asked them what they could do to stop the loud ticking noise. Both dealerships service department stated replace the motor I just purchased.

Desired Settlement: I would like all my money back or at least half of the 1,135.00, credit to my card. I paid $1200.00 dollars to have the worthless motor installed. I'm out over $2,300, plus dollars. I learned a horrible lesson with these guys. The Foreign Engine Inc ( ****** ) stated he would refund all my money about 20 days ago and I do not see a credit on my visa as of yet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/04) */ We have been in contact with the customer. He has received his refund but had not realized it. He said he was going to let you know he had it. We would have liked to solve the problem with the engine but it was hard to deal with the customer and getting the vehicle to another mechanic so we never really got an answer to what the noise was. Could be a easy fix or need another motor. I understand he is using it with the ticking noise. Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/12/09) */ The company was very, very generous in settling this complaint. I am satisfied with the company's response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Foreign Engines Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart