Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

University Auto Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 962-7151 Fax: (509) 962-7161 View Additional Phone Numbers 1817 Hwy 97, Ellensburg, WA 98926

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on University Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1981 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Department of Licensing
PO Box 9034 , Olympia WA 98507-9015
Phone Number: (360) 664-0116
Fax Number: 360-705-6699

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jeff Faltus, Partner Mr. Dave Thomas, Partner Ms. Debra Brozovich, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Faltus, Partner
Principal: Mr. Dave Thomas, Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Dave Thomas Inc.--Faltus Motor Co. Inc.

Additional Locations


    1817 Hwy 97

    Ellensburg, WA 98926


    PO Box 619

    Ellensburg, WA 98926


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 07/06/16 I dropped off my Pontiac G6 for repair of steering column per unable to steer car. was quoted a little over $800 and a few days of labor. Got a call that more was needed and part was on order. another week went by and part came in broken so they ordered another part and when that part came in it was broken as well, but service person Frank said he could place the 2 parts together and make it work. when car was picked up after over 3 weeks later on 07/29/16 it drove great. I noticed there was a piece missing from under dash and called and they said they did not see the piece of plastic dash around. I noticed a little later that the cruise control also did not work and when the heater was turned on the heat only blew through the dash. I tried turning the ***** to get air to blow on window or floor and it was not moving. I called and made an appointment which was over a week and a half later. I took car back in to University Auto to ask them to fix the issues and look for the missing piece. After 3 hours of waiting Frank came back and let me know they had no idea about the missing piece and the tech did not remember seeing it. He stated that the cruise control was burnt out and that the heater was not something they did. He also stated that there was a bracket that was broken around steering column that they did not cause as well. I was not happy that they will not take responsibility for there mess up. I can get the piece of dash from a wrecking yard and I can glue or do something with the broken piece around steering wheel, I can live without the cruise control but the heater makes me very angry. I will not be able to drive car in winter without the heater working properly. I am a care giver for my mom and had a huge expense with not having a vehicle for more than 3 weeks but now I have to fix everything that they caused and will not. I was told that they would help me out by discounting a little if I wanted them to fix it. not giving them any more money.

Desired Settlement: need it fixed or adjusted properly.

Business Response:

RE: Complaint ID ********

Dear ***** ********,

I have received and reviewed the complaint from *. *******.  I have researched the prior repairs and have spoken to both the technician and the service advisor that were working with the vehicle/customer.  My findings are as follows:

  • When the vehicle was originally brought in, there were multiple trim pieces missing and broken (lower dash trim, kick panel, etc.).  Once notified of the missing component, we did inspect the technician’s area and found no related items. 

  • The cruise control switch is faulty, causing the cruise control to not work (has a short - no external damage). 

  • For the heater, there is a faulty actuator inside the heater box.  The case was not disassembled during repair.

The vehicle in question is 11 years old and has over 150,000 miles.  With time and mileage, parts do fail.  The items were working at the time of repair completion.  As a good will gesture, we did offer the customer a discount on the needed repairs.


University Auto Center

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on University Auto Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)