Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Thomas Auto Sales Inc

Phone: (503) 640-7899 Fax: (503) 640-6399 4173 SE Tualatin Valley Hwy, Hillsboro, OR 97123 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thomasautosales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thomas Auto Sales Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Thomas Auto Sales Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

On October 17, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding sales practice issues. Consumers allege when they arrive at Thomas Auto Sales Inc's business location, the advertised agreement is not upheld. Consumers further allege the company verbally agrees to repair any issues with the purchased vehicle, but later denies this and refers consumers to their signed "as-is" purchase agreement.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Thomas Auto Sales Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2006 Business started: 08/01/1988 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/1988 Business incorporated 09/14/1995 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Garza, President Mrs. Jackie M Farnsworth, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Jackie M Farnsworth, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Tom Garza, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Method(s) of Payment

CASH

CHECKS

VISA

MC

DISCOVER

AMEX

 


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Thomas Auto Sales Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4173 SE Tualatin Valley Hwy

    Hillsboro, OR 97123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 0n 08/06/2015 My son purchased an Audi A4 from Thomas Auto Sales ( ****** ***** I saw condensation on the left front headlamp. I asked if the auto was bought at auction and was it submerged in water. The salesperson said itwas NOT . Two weeks later the front headlight went out. I ordered a diagnosis. It said the light the headlamp ignitor had shorted out and sever corosion exited. There was heavey condensation in the headlamp assembly. The cost for the repairs was $1800 I contacted Thomas Auto Sales to workout a trade in on the auto because of the auto was defected when sold. They has have not come up with a solution or option to fix this problem. I wonder how many other Oregon citizens have been take advantage of by the auto dealer.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace the auto with a vehicle that works and doesnt cvost $1800 to repair a headlight. If that is not possible I want the refund of my money $7700. I am willing to pay a return fee of 10% I want to work out something so as not have to file a small claims court suit.

Business Response:

We have resolved our customers' issues.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

5/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I bought my car on December 31st, 2014 I was promised that if I refered someone to Thomas auto sales and the purchased a vehicle I would receive a cash prize. On February 13,2014 I personally brought my friend in who bought a van. They even said I would receive it in the mail or call me to come pick it up as soon as the finance went through. When that happened I didn't hear from them. I called them and they said they would pass it on and get back to me. I have done that three times now, but I still have not heard from them.

Desired Settlement: I just want then to hold up their end of what they promise customers and myself

Business Response: Unfortunately, it was an office error. We did type his check way back but it was filed away. When we received the complaint we researched the file and located the check. We have since called the consumer and he has picked up his check.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ******

2/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Thomas Auto Sales on January 15th, 2015 to view a car and see what I could be approved for. I talked to a sales associate that took me for a test drive. Upon driving I heard a squealing sound. I asked what it was and the salesman said it could be the alternator. They stated they would fix the alternator (according to them they did). I sat at a table with the salesman and asked a few questions about the extended warranty and costs and stated I didn't want my credit ran until I had all the information and could have the car inspected by a mechanic of my choice, which I asked at least ten times that day and got the response "we can do that." Moments later the salesman came back with my credit report that I didn't authorize to run. Since I had my credit ran I figured I might as well get a quote on what I could get approved for. I sat at a desk with a finance guy who threw papers at me telling me to sign and explained that the papers I was signing were "If" I purchased the car I wouldn't be able to sue them without mediation. I was a first time car buyer and I was never told exactly what I was signing. I thought I was signing papers to have my credit ran to see what kind of loan I was going to be approved for. Before the papers were signed I re-explained I didn't want to finalize anything until I had the opportunity to bring it to a mechanic which was well understood by this point. They had me sign "As-Is" paper work which I was led to believe this was prep work for the final sale. After the papers were signed I never was told or given the option to accept or decline the APR (I noticed myself that it was 29.99% and the finance guy tried to weasel his way out saying it wasn't bad for such a small loan) nor that I actually signed for ownership of the vehicle or the rate especially after my numerous requests that I didn't want to finalize anything before the inspection. Many times they tried to sell me on the extended warranty and pushed me away from getting it inspected stating they inspect it in house and that the car had nothing wrong with it and was in fantastic condition. Upon asking if I could bring it to the mechanic yet another time they finally agreed and brought it to a mechanic. I still didn't know at this point I had already signed to agree to the terms of the APR or ownership of the vehicle. Upon reaching the mechanic about 1.5 hours later. He had a laundry list of problems. A caliper needed replacing, brakes (not just brake pads) were 0% on the entire right side, The engine was pushing up against the tire among other smaller issues. I don't even think they checked the engine or anything related to the "Mechanical" related parts. The mechanic stated it was in no way sellable or safe to drive and that the car needed major replair before being SAFE or in a sellable condition. He also stated it would cost XXX-XXX to fix the caliper (Thomas Auto Sales fixed it for 60'ish dollars...) I immediately went back to the car dealership and said I didn't want to continue purchasing the car. After 20 minutes of hearing life stories from the manager she said I was obligated even after explaining what was agreed and the tactics taken to deceive me. She stated I signed a document stating major "mechanical problems" (Upon asking what is considered major mechanical the finance guy gave the example "Tire pressure") Again still believing I didn't sign for ownership due to my request and that the "Major mechanical" document was only valid after I agreed to take the car pending the inspection and my decision. All of this happened in a time span of just a couple hours. The exact same day. The car never left the lot. January 16th 2015 (The car was left at the dealership over night) Thomas Auto Sales fixed the caliper and replaced break pads (they did not fix the breaks). Something that was quoted at the minimum 800-900$ for the caliper alone costed Thomas Auto Sales approximately 170$ to fix altogether. I again ask a different manager why am I being held to this contract due to the fact so many things were withheld and as a first time buyer was completely taken advantage of. He also said I'm legally obligated and I couldn't get out of the contract I had no Idea I signed. I regretfully took the vehicle home. January 23rd 2015 Salesman calls me asking for references. Thomas Auto Sales calling me over and over borderline harassing me. I return a call from the finance company whose asking me for my work history and contact information. Im explaining to the agent I didn't want to release anything to affiliates of Thomas Auto Sales because I felt they took advantage of me and that I would call the dealership. Upon calling Thomas Auto Sales the manager; I talked to the first time, answered and asked me for my work number. I said "I didn't know it." (Which I actually don't) She then gets very aggressive, rude, and threatening saying " We will get it anyways, we will find you one (loan) even if we have to in-house finance and she didn't appreciate that I was bad mouthing the company to the lenders." then promptly hung up. This has been the worst experience I have ever had with any company. I will NEVER do business there again.

Desired Settlement: I want them to be ethical and honor my expectations when I came in. I want Thomas Auto Sales to take their vehicle back, fix it, and sell it to someone who knows everything they are getting into. I don't want the vehicle due to misleading promises that aren't upheld. Instead of Thomas Auto Sales hiding behind their deception I believe they should do the RIGHT thing vs being a stereotypical money hungry business. At the extreme minimum I believe they should fix the squealing noise no matter what it is or how much it costs and give me a complete extended warranty at no cost. I rather just return the vehicle and get my full refund back. They have just ruined any chance in trust with me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/03) */ I beleive the problem has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the vehicle, and within a week the check engine light came on. I took in the vehicle and they "fixed" the issue within 2 hours. Went home and 2 days later the check engine light came back on with the same issue. I took the vehicle back in on Tuesday October 7th 2014 and they kept the car and loaned us a rental car. They were to look at the car and let us know what was wrong. With no phone call within hours, called them and they hadn't figured it out yet. Called the next day as they never gave us an update. They told us it was the head gasket. Said it would be ready by Friday. Called Friday afternoon and they said they haven't heard from the parts place and it would be Monday before they could work on it, as they would get the part that afternoon and their mechanic is not in on the weekends. And they said the car was pulled apart and ready for them to replace the part. Called Monday morning and they said they would check into it and call me right back. 2 hours went by and no return call from dealership. Called them back and they said the place that they get their parts from hasn't made the part and delivered it yet. He also said it would not be today and maybe tomorrow. Also this whole time they say they will keep me updated about the status, as they do not call and when I do they don't know what has been or needs to be done and they say they will check and get right back to me. They don't get back to me. I have to call and request information, and they still sound like they don't know what they are doing.

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to keep the vehicle, withdrawal car from my name and cancel the loan through the bank. As I don't want to ruin my credit by doing a voluntary repossession. Since I have signed the paperwork I have had the car for maybe a week.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ The Jeep was fix 100% FREE of charge even though the customer bought the car AS-IS. We even loaned them a car, which they returned very dirty. Maybe Mrs. ****** does not understand how much labor and time is involed in correctly repairing Both head gaskets, We did both side to be sure it was right, or understand the we sent both heads out to have them check for cracks and to be surfaced. My solution would be Mrs ****** apologize to the salesman for being rude to him. And then thank me for fixing the car. Mrs ****** has had her car back since 10/16 we only had it for a week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We did not return the rental very dirty. The manager told us to keep gas receipts and we would be fully reimbursed. As we never have been. Each time they loaned us a rental it had an empty gas tank, and when we left ours there we had just put gas in it and when we got it back our car was empty. They were very rude, and sounded like they had no idea what they were talking about. And one person didn't know what the other one was talking about. Every time they said they would call me with an update they never did. I had to call them. This was my third purchase with this dealership and I will never purchase from them or refer them to anyone. This dealership sells lemons, for too much money, and with too many miles on them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/10) */ After we spent $2000.00 fixing the car that was sold as-is one might think the customer would say thank you. I do agree that next time they buy a car that they go some where else, They should also get the car pre inspected and the ask the dealer "if something goes wrong even though I'm buying as-is are you going to fix it for us?" I'm sorry they are they are unhappy.

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a vehicle by Thomas Auto Sale that has a check engine light on corresponding to a sensor in the exhaust, and shortly thereafter I found out it had a leak in the CV Joint boot and bad front rotors. They guaranteed they'd fix the problem causing check engine light. It is on to this day. I admit that after 10 attempts at least, I have grown weary of their attempts to fix it. They've offered me a lower finance rate and also to trade the vehicle in. Under the advice of my mechanic, I was told to go into another vehicle that may have even more problems, would possibly be a bad idea. I have been laid-off since, January of 2013, and have not had the monies to fix the vehicle. In May, I was doing my budget I saw that I was going to have a shortfall of money, and went into their office to see if I could make arrangements. I asked that I be able to skip my June payment and have it put on the back end of my loan to which they agreed. The person I dealt with was *******. I paid my May payment, skipped June, and continued to pay normally thereafter. On October 9th, I received a phone call from *****, stating that my payment had been received late and that I owed an additional late fee, I told that was fine, I would send it in with my October payment. She said, ok, we got off the phone. She then proceeds to send me mail, email, an invite to join some ****** app, and then the phone calls began. I do not get good service at my residence so most of these calls went to voicemail. Then starting on October 25th the messages became more frequent. I have saved all of the messages. I mailed my payment with the late fee on October 29th, and then I receive a nasty email stating that my car payment is 34 days late and that the GPS device on my vehicle is on warning status. After two heated phone calls with *****, I have not yet talked to a supervisor there, and her last response was, "If I did not make my payment on time, she would Repo my car." I have yet to hear from anyone else, and am sick of being harassed.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed, and I want to quit being harassed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/31) */ *** has spoken with ** ****** and she is current at this time on her car payment and knows that if she keeps current she will not be receiving any phone calls.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Thomas Auto Sales Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart