Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Speed Sports Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 305-8011 Fax: (503) 305-8012 13456 SE McLoughlin Blvd, Milwaukie, OR 97222

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers used auto sales and service as well as racing parts and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Speed Sports Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2009 Business started: 07/01/2008 Business started locally: 07/01/2008 Business incorporated 07/29/2008 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Matt Crandall, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Crandall, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Speed Sports Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    13456 SE McLoughlin Blvd

    Milwaukie, OR 97222


    PO Box 68223

    Oak Grove, OR 97268 (503) 305-8011


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ We have been aware of **** ***** and her claim of an accident indicator on Carfax. The car was sold to her in April of 2014. The Carfax accident indicator was placed on the report in November of 2014. We had no prior knowledge of this. Carfax gets it's information from a variety of sources and there can be months or years before certain issues are reported. She did have an issue with a faulty temperature sensor for the HVAC system on the car right after purchase. We took care of this right away. It was a technically difficult repair that was done at the MBZ dealer in Wilsonville. The part needed to be coded into the ******* network to function. We gave her a loaner car, which she had while the car was off road. When she purchased the car, she bought a service contract for future repairs. She did make a claim on the warranty while she had it. She then canceled the warranty shortly after May of 2014. We did the cancelation and refunded the amount to ********* ****** ***** where the car was financed, as per dealer agreement. She had assumed that she would just be getting a check for this amount directly, not it going against her loan. She was very unhappy that we did not give her the check directly. This had been difficult deal to finance due to the large amount of revolving debt she had. To get this car financed she had to pay off a large debt on her credit cards as an stipulation of the loan. On Jan 3rd she called us about the Carfax report for accident. She was upset and was difficult to talk to, but we said that she could trade the car back in to us. She was very upset and said that she could not trade the car anywhere because of this Carfax report. We told her that we were not aware of it since it was just reported. We offered to help her out and trade the car in. In the last 10 days we have had several conversations with her about trading the car in. In the last few conversations, we found out that she wanted a $300 month payment, but was 3-4 months past due on her payments for the MBZ she had purchased. We have not been able to get a credit application from her to try to obtain financing or have her in to discuss. The last conversation with her, she hung up the phone on us when we asked we about the past due and debts she had. We are still happy to take the car in trade, but financing is going to be tough with it being currently past due. It is not in either of our best interest for the car to be repossessed. So timing would be of the essence to figure this matter out. I think the reality of the situation is that she is having financial difficulties and is upset due to that situation. We are happy to help her out in anyway that we can can, but to say she has been difficult to deal with would be an understatement. **** ********

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ads that I saw were listed on two separate web sites; Kelley Blue Book and the Speed Sports LLC website. On both web sites it was emphasized and listed multiple times that the vehicle had a DVD player and a navigation system. While on the test drive it showed up on the screen something about the navigation. It was in a foreign language and I could not fully understand it, the salesman claimed that he would have someone more familiar with Audis look at it upon our return. It wasn't until after the papers were signed that another salesman informed me that the vehicle had neither of those previously stated features. I even brought up the issue of those features as per their "disclaimer", which states that it should be brought up prior to finalizing the sale (not verbatim) and the staff still didn't give me a definitive answer until the sale was over. After going back and forth with Speed Sports over the issues, I finally just told them I wanted my truck back, they refused and offered to resell it back to me at a price of $1,500.00 more than what I got out of it as a trade-in.

Desired Settlement: I just want my truck back. They can take their car and we can go out separate ways.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ We had a listing error on a option. We have spoke with ***** multiple times. We offered to give him $500 cash back, or a one year extension on his warranty for the item. It also says in the ad to verify all options at your time of purchase. It was a auto decoding issue. ***** has given us many excusess why he would like to unwind. I offered to un due and he pay the recon and re stocking costs of the trans action to buy his truck back. We have at least $2000 invested in his truck, with all brakes, two MT tires, massive detail, seat repair, PDI, Oil change. We have also paid off his truck with **** ******* I have personally spoke with ***** several times along with finance manager, and his salesman to try to work this out. It is a case of buyers remorse, he was here on two different occasions prior to buying the truck, and did a very long demo in the car, and was very excited out the deal at time of sale. I am willing to work with him, but not a loss for his remorse. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have only ever been there two times total; for the sale and afterwards. Also, I did bring up the options prior to the sale but was lied to. During the short demo ***** told me that the options were installed but he didn't know how to use them and that he would have ****, who is more familiar with Audis, show me how they worked. It wasn't until after the sale that he told me those features weren't installed. Then we I talked to ****, the owner, he told me a different theory then **** did. I was never excited for the sale and it's not buyers remorse. It's because I was blatantly lied to numerous times by various people. I brought up getting my truck back before any of these extra costs even occurred. The tires had less than 10k miles on them so there was no need to replace two of them. So either A) that's a lie or B) that was a bad and unnecessary call by your staff. Also , I've only spoke with ***** multiple times and the owner once. So, if this is the owner, claiming that we've spoke multiple times is also a lie. All of these claims that I am making can be verified as well. I have physical proof. Again, based on your "disclaimer", I was the only one who followed it and brought these issues up prior to the sale. It was your staff who lied to me and didn't tell me the truth until after the papers were signed. If this is **** replying, none of this would've happened had your salesmen just been honest. If you wish to speak with me off the record, ***** has my number. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/07) */ Here is out resolution with ***** **** Please see attached thanks **** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As you can see, with each of your responses, the story changes. As if to further prove my case. I have never ever once said that I have buyers remorse. The ONLY time those words came out of anybody's mouths were from your salesman and even that was an attempt to push the blame from their lies and deception. It's a sad cop out. Again, everything that I am stating can and will be proven to be honest. I'm sure you've heard that I'm working with an attorney. What's going to cost more; swallowing the "costs" because you're salesmen are liars who deceive people or going to court? Again, you have my number.

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 12, 2014, I went in to Speed Sports to purchase a BMW 335i. Upon purchasing, the sales person informed me that all the features that were listed were in working order. Since the car came with so many features and the sales person does not know the feature that well (For example I asked him how to set up Bluetooth hand free device and he had no idea). I accepted his good well stating all the advertised features were in working orders and bought the car. Speed Sports did not provide me with any user manual so I had to go home and downloaded a manual myself and going over the feature myself. After downloading the manual myself at home and started trying the features, I realized The dealership removed the naviagtion DVD and never put it back The Bluetooth hand free device does not seem to work I immediately contacted Speed Sports letting them know the issues and they asked me to come back the following day to have them take a look. Up on returning the follow day, Speed Sports got me a navigation DVD which I later learned from BMW dealership is defective and they cannot figure out how to set up the Bluetooth. The owner of Speed Sports and the sales person asked me to bring the car back to BMW have them take a look, or repair and they will take care of bill for me. I talked to the owner of Speed Sports one more time on the phone and he asked me to have the car repair and gave him the receipt and he will take care of it. I brought the car back to the Portland BMW dealership the following week on March 20, 2014 to have them take a look of the Bluetooth, BMW informed me that the Bluetooth device was broken and the Navigation DVD is defective and I had the Bluetooth device repaired with BMW like Speed Sports asked me to in the first place. The Bluetooth was a total repair of $984, and the Navigation DVD is going to be $250. After I obained the receipt and dropped it off at Speed Sports the following day and was told the owner will get back to me soon. From March 21, 2014 to May 10, 2014 I made numerous phone calls to Speed Sports and asking their staffs for the status of my refunds and asked to speak to the owner but the owner was no where to be found and the staffs always told me they will get back to me but I have never heard from them. I am requesting the refund of repair of $984 and the cost of navigation DVD of $250 mail back to me in the form of check to **** ** **** *** **** **** Portland OR 97209 ASAP.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the refund of repair of $984 and the cost of navigation DVD of $250 mail back to me in the form of check to **** ** **** *** **** **** Portland OR 97209 ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/30) */ I am responding to this complaint. I am **** ******** the owner of Speed Sports. I was involved tin this transaction. Mr ** took delivery of the car following an third party inspection of the car. The car when we got the car did not have a n disc. He also asked us to set up the Bluetooth for his cell phone. We tried to set it up, but we were not able to. It was after our service department closed, so we did not have a technician to look at it. I told him that we could look at it if he brought back in. He said he had appointment for regular service at the dealer and he would get a quote. The Navigation disc was not in the car when he took the car for his inspection, so at the time of sale we took a disc out of ***** *********** personal car (his salesman's) so that he would have one. It worked perfect in his car. This was the last we had heard from him till he brought a bill for installing a bluetooth system in his car at BMW. His car never came with a Bluetooth system form the dealer, it was not broken or removed prior. We would been glad to help him in some matter, but we do not pay retail at the BMW dealer, nor would we of paid and additional $1234.00 somewhere else when we could of taken care of this here for less than $250. I am willing to do something out of good will but, not pay retail for unauthorized work, plus the Nav disc that we provided was good. Best Regards **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, the car did come with Bluetooth which I was told by the sales person, and it was also listed online when the car was posted online for sale. And the BMW service had confirmed the Bluetooth device was installed before I bought the car but it was defective. The bill is for replacement of the Bluetooth device which was defective when I bought it not to install one. The Navigation disc was also being tested by the BMW service and being stated as defective as well. I will not take more or less for what the repair bill was for. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/06/28) */ I was personally involved in this transaction on the BMW from doing the paperwork to delivery. When he came back the next day after our service department was closed to get his 90 trip permit, we were informed of the bluetooth issue. I personally tried to figure it out. I told him that the service department need to look at it a scheduale an appointment with ***** our service manager. Customer took car to BMW for repair and paid for it to be fixed without us being involved. This was not our choice but the customers. I do not give out open checks to customers to have things repaired without us being involved. Even if we did say take it to BMW for repair, we could of had it done for much less. We also provided a working DVD for the navigation. Like I said before I am happy to give $500 in good will, if negative review that have made made are removed from ****** or other reviews not seen. ***** was given my card at signing, I did his paperwork. He also signed As-is three different times and singed a we-owe stating that we did not owe him anything. I can see he mis understanding, but we would of taken care of it internally, for about $500..

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Speed Sports Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart