Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Payless Used Car Sales LLC

Phone: (907) 677-2886 Fax: (907) 677-2830 919 E 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501 http://www.paylesssales.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Payless Used Car Sales LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Payless Used Car Sales LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Payless Used Car Sales LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2013 Business started: 01/31/2010 in AK Business started locally: 01/31/2010 Business incorporated 01/31/2010 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Blvd Ste 900, Anchorage AK 99503
http://www.doa.alaska.gov/dmv/dealer
Phone Number: (907) 269-5551
dmv_webmaster@admin.state.ak.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ali Sheikh, Member Mr. Lloyd Pennebaker, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ali Sheikh, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company's policy is that if the buyer's inspection shows that the vehicles has major mechanical issues or needs over $500 in repairs, the company will refund your buyer's inspection fee.

** Some restriction may apply, call company for details.

Additional Locations

  • 919 E 5th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 677-2886

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I went to purchase my truck I noticed the engine sounded different then what I was used to as it had a knocking sound. I asked my salesman about this sound, he indicated it was normal. When I pressed further he took me to their shop also known as ******* **********. They assured me that the engine knock sound is perfectly normal for this vehicle and is an intentional sound for this vehicle from GM. The engine was inspected by 2 different companies who both laughed at Payless' assertation that the sound was normal and said a new engine is needed. I contacted Palyess, the owner their assured me they would replace the engine if it's needed. He had his shop listen to it and the owner told me no new engine is needed. I asked if there was another shop in town where I could take to inspect the engine and if we could go off what they said and he would not answer this question after asking 3 separate times. Only to respond and say he stands behind the engine, no new engine is needed no matter what any other shop says. He offered me a warranty, however this is a pre-existing conditions so that won't cover it, he offered if I Buy the engine to have it replaced in his shop and he won't charge me labor, or to give me a check for $1500. The cost for an engine ranges from $7800 - $9200. These are not acceptable options especially after promising me the engine was fine and he would replace it if it's not.

Desired Settlement: replace engine or give me my money back for the truck.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

This has been resolved with the business.  I would like to withdrawal my complaint as part of the settlement.

Sincerely,

******* *****

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Subaru Legacy from Payless Car Sales in Anchorage Alaska about 2 weeks ago. I was told I had to trade in my truck to get the loan to go through and they recommended an extended warranty so I bought one. I was told that it was in good condition but had an overheating problem but was assured that it was fixed. Not even 24 hours after the purchase, the car overheated. The dealership towed the car to an auto shop that they use for car repairs and gave me a car to drive while it was being worked on. Since it was less than 24 hours I just wanted to dissolve the purchase. The dealership stated my car was sold and it wasn't possible. I was told that it was fixed but the next day, the car overheated again. It was towed the second time and once again I was given a car to drive while repaired. After I got the car back a third time, it overheated again. At this point I once again wanted a refund and my trade in back. I went to the dealership and my trade in was there but they refused again to annul the deal. I requested to take the care to a dealership which I had to pay for and they found several other things wrong with the car but could not get it to overheat at this time. I was told that my extended warranty is not valid for 30 days from purchase. Three weeks later it is again overheating. The dealership was notified but no offer of help was given. The auto shop that the dealership used put some liquid in the car to see if it would not overheat but it still is.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund my down payment, cost of my trade in, the doc fee, the cost of a repair out of pocket, the amount the loan and the cost of the warranty. They can have the car back but unfortunately I cannot get my vehicle because it is now sold. I could have ended this easily the first 24 hours with no problem but was mislead about the status of my trade in. possibly the difference they made on my perfect running trade in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/23) */ As a dealership we have done everything we can to accommodate this customer. They did experience overheating problems with there car, and as they stated we where prompt to pay for any repairs at the time, and we provided a loaner vehicle. Once the repair shop notified us that the customer was attempting to file a fraudulent claim against our business we where forced to refer the customer to there extended service provider which will help them from the time of purchase. At that time the vehicle was inspected by an ASE certified shop and by the Subaru dealer, and the over heating could not be duplicated. I strongly believe this customer has tampered with the vehicle in the hopes of unwinding the deal due to buyers remorse. Once the certified shop informed us of the attempt of fraud we no longer could assist the customer, not to mention 2 independent shops, one being the Subaru Dealership found nothing to be wrong with the car. We do our best as a small business to accommodate our customers if any breakdowns occur shortly after a purchase but we can not, nor will not, help those who attempt Fraud or Falsifies claims against our business. The car has since been returned to the Subaru dealer and is now showing different problems that where never seen nor documented before. This discovery of new problems leads me to believe that the customer has intentionally created the problems that currently exists with the vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Payless Auto agreed to pay for any repairs the 2006 Subaru had related to the overheating of the car. This was completed and paid for Tuesday 1-14-2014. Thank you Payless Auto. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/01/12) */ We are addressing the needs of he customer at this time.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe you are wonderful people. Yet you clearly do not state anything to me. I am a first time buyer and as clearly stated I can name five things wrong the reconstructed title that appearantly you said you don't sell. So why are you selling my vehicle? I can surely assist you that the very bottom lower piece was missing. You never insisted on my vehicle as being a trade in, but cash down.

Desired Settlement: I want you to complete the tasks you said you would. I have documentation saying you will do the oil change, but you didn't and told me to do it myself. I am and I did also with the alignment. I believe you will do what you said such as the back tail light, re-inburse me for the oil change and the alignment and the trunk release is broken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/18) */ *** **** we apologize for any inconveniences that you might have experienced at our business. We strive to offer superior customer service and I strongly believe this may be a case of miscommunication due to a language barrier. *** **** we agreed to do an oil change, an alignment, replace a plastic piece on your front bumper, repair your trunk release, and take a look at your rear tail light. It is my understanding all of those things have been done. Due to the service shop not accepting credit cards via telephone, you did have to pay $80.00 which I offered to reimburse to you. *** **** please stop by our office so we can discuss anything you my be unhappy with. We will gladly take care of you sir.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Payless Used Car Sales LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)