Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gus Johnson Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gus Johnson Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Gus Johnson Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 09/01/1972 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gus Johnson, President Ms. Neecha Munson, Account Payable/Receivable Lori Ophus Mr. Dan Shaffer, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gus Johnson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Dealers - New Cars

Hours of Operation
Sales/ Finance Hours: summer hours open until 8:00pm • Monday - Friday: 8:30 am - 7:00pm • Saturday: 8:30 am - 6:00 pm • Sunday: 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Parts Hours: • Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 5:30 pm • Saturday & Sunday: Closed Service Hours: • Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm • Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Alternate Business Names
McCollum Ford Sales, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gus Johnson Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8300 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First I would like to say the service department was very nice to my wife and I. When I was told that I would have to replace my starter, fuel filter and starter, I asked that I see the parts before they would be returned for the core charge. After all work was done I again asked but the starter was already locked away in the parts department and was unavailable. I was able to see the fuel pump. When the work was done and I met with the mechanic who told me if I incurred any problems with the starting of my vehicle that I would need to hit a relay (shown to me in the engine department) with a 2 by 4 piece of wood. He then told me that he had tried to order the relay but it was unavailable. I asked the service department coordinator who was in charge of my vehicle and he had no knowledge of the ordering of the relay. He would have known if if was ordered. Was the starter truly bad or was it the relay all along? Was the troubleshooting done on the starter done badly? I contacted the service manager 2 times and left voice mails but he did not contact me. A car salesman called me from Gus Ford about buying a new car and I told him of the problem and he said he would relay the problem over to Dan the service manager but again no return calls too myself.

Desired Settlement: Because it appears the mechanic never ordered parts and he tried to cover it up by saying he did, I request a refund of the starter price and that a relay be ordered and installed without cost to myself. The installation would need to be done at my local Ford Dealer in Puyallup WA. I'm also asking for a apology as I'd appears I was lied to deliberately to cover up.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** motor home was towed here for a no start problem on a Friday.  We diagnosed that it needed a starter.  We did not have one in stock and had to order it and it would not be here until Monday.  He did request to see his old starter when he picked up his motor home, but it had already been returned to parts so we could issue him a core credit.  The parts department was closed and we were unable to show him his old starter.  Mr. ****** watched the mechanic install the new starter.  When Mr. ****** picked up the motor home the mechanic had to tap the relay to get it started.  We could not get a relay that late in the day, so the mechanic showed Mr. ****** how to tap the relay and told him to get one we he got home.  We only charged him for the starter and did not charged him labor to install it.

We are sorry for any confusion and mistrust we caused Mr. ****** and apologize for it. 

Dan S******, our service manager, has contacted Mr. ****** and reviewed the concern with him.  He remembers the starter installation but questioned whether it was needed or not.  The starter was needed as tapping the relay with the old starter it would not start.  This issue has been resolved with Mr. ****** and we have agreed to send Mr. ****** a new relay free of charge.

Sincerely,

Gus J******



Consumer Response:
BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
File number ********. Bring this issue to a close, but to say I watched him install the starter is incorrect. I did not see the work done.Would a mechanic allow a customer into his bay while he is performing potentially hazardous work and is it not against state and federal safety codes to even do so. If the service manager would have returned my phone calls all of this could have been avoided. I was in the waiting room and the parts could have been shown to me before returning them as I requested before the work started. I have no further issues.







Regards,

***** ******

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2013 Ford Escort from *** ******* Ford on July 5, 2014, the salesman was **** ******. Part of the agreed deal was the installation of a new trailer hitch. Discussing my options with the sales person my choices was to go to U-Haul for a universal trailer hitch at a cost of around $250 or for a little more have a hitch installed at the dealership which would have a Ford dealer warranty. It was agreed that I would have the dealer install the trailer hitch and they ordered a new hitch. On July 24, 2014 I dropped the car off for the installation and picker it up the afternoon of July 25, 2014. Upon my arrival to pick-up my car I was presented a bill for $990, not a little over $250 as I was told. I expressed that I would not pay the bill so they recalculated it and reduced it to $835. This was still well over our discussion at the time of the sale but my car was blocked inside of the garage and I had no choice but to pay the bill or I would not have a car.

Desired Settlement: Based on my discussion at the time of the sale I expected a bill of around $300 – 350, I am requesting and adjustment to the bill to reflect the discussion at the time of the sale.

Business Response:

Mr. **** bought a used Escape from us on July 5th.  During the sale Mr. **** inquired about a trailer hitch for the Escape.  It was brought up that a universal hitch from U-Haul was around $250 to $300 dollars.  Mr. **** was concerned about the warranty of an aftermarket hitch.  The salesperson told Mr. **** that a Ford hitch could be installed that has a warranty and the cost would be around $495 plus installation.  When Mr. **** picked up his Escape, the bill was $990.  Mr. **** thought this was to high and we adjusted the bill to $835.  Included in the bill were mud flaps and a cargo cover as well.  The total cost of the hitch installed was $568 which is in line with what the sales person told him.  We already adjusted the bill and apologize for any misunderstanding.

*** *******

Consumer Response: BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Their response of quoting me $495 plus installation is a complete lie, no grey area here and the know they are lying.

Regards,

***** ****

Consumer Response:

Sorry about the second response, kind of under my skin.

 

Can *** ******* Ford produce a written quote for this?   I was not billed for the cargo cover as it was part of the initial deal.  The mud flaps installation and bottle of touch-up paint totaled $48.46.    

Business Response: *****,
Attached is the repair order detailing the items for Mr. ****.  The third op
down on the first section of the repair order shows the cover assembly
(cargo cover) for $135.99.  If the cover was to be included in the car deal
it would have appeared on the WEO showing that item.  As you can see from
his attached WEO, the only thing we were going to pay for was a gold card
for $50, which we reimbursed him, even though we paid for it. The cost for
the hitch installed is $568.  We have already reduce the bill once and
consider the matter closed.

Consumer Response: I apologize, I did not realize there was conflict of interest with Mr. ******* and the BBB, I withdraw my complaint.


BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2013 Ford Escort from *** ******* Ford on July 5, 2014, the salesman was **** ******. The sales process at *** ******* Ford is to follow a set process for every customer, every sale, no deviation. The staff does not listen to the customer. On at least a dozen occasions during my visit in July 5th, 2014 I was asker and/or prompted to take the car home that day, every time I responded I would not take the car home until the additional services I purchased as part of the purchased (windshield coating and interior/exterior protection) were performed, they would not let go and simply did not listen to their customer. It was also expressed that I would contact my baking institution on Monday, July 7th, 2014 to arrange financing, they insisted on financing through one of their resources before we could sign the sales papers and leave. The process from sales agreement to leaving the dealership took 3.5 hours, felt like a prisoner as I could not leave until they were ready. On July 24th, 2014 I brought the car in to have a trailer hitch installed and they had offered to “detail” the car while it was in and fill the take with gas as it was a little over ¼ full when I purchased it, not full as stated, no big deal but the offer to detail was a nice gesture. The car was not ready at the end of the day because the mechanic was having problems with the wiring for the trailer, I expressed that I was stranded downtown, I was told to have a good day and they would see me the next day. Stranded downtown I ended taking a cab ride home at a cost of $53. When I picked up my car on July 25th, 2014 it was in the service garage, washed but blocked in. After seeing the inflated invoice I had no doubt that I was not leaving with my car until I paid their price. I paid the bill under protest as I had no choice and they knew this.

Desired Settlement: Based on my treatment I will no longer have my car serviced at this dealership. I request to be reimbursed the $53 cab ride, which salesman **** ****** has the receipt for, and the *** ******* “Gold Service Card” which cost %50 and will never be used as I will no longer enter this place of business.

Business Response: Mr. ****'s vehicle was not done on time and caused a delay of a day.  The hitch and wiring took longer and it was not communicated to to him properly.  We will send Mr. **** $53 for his cab ride.  The Gold Card is provided to all our customers at no charge to them, so there is no reimbursement for that.

Consumer Response:

Hello,

 

As another follow-up (sorry) but this is really under my skin.  *** ******* Ford cannot produce an estimate or a quote as neither was created and presented to me at the time of the sale, when the car was brought in for the work or during the day and ½ it was in the shop.  Using the Gold Card complaint (complaint #********) as an example which has shown their willingness to not tell the truth, why would I agree to pay one amount and then turn around and state another amount was quoted to me?   Have the blocked inside of the garage, to me, signaled they knew what they were doing and the car was not leaving until the service was paid for.  On both documents I needs to sign before they would release the car I signed my name followed by “- Under Protest” as I was given no choice or I would not have a car.  *** ******* Ford can produce these documents to verify that I am presenting the facts.

 

I am very frustrated and this type of business practice should not be allowed. 

Consumer Response:

Hello,

 

Today I received a check in the amount of $54 from *** ******* Ford in partial payment of this complaint.  The complaint asked for $103.  *** ******* Ford stated that the Gold card was free to all customers which is incorrect.  I have supplied proof of the $50 charge and I ask that this complaint remain open until it is fully resolved.  For reference I have attached the receipt.

 

Thank you,

***** * ****, ***

**** ***** ***** ********** *** ***

**** ** *** *** **** ****

Spokane,  WA  99206

Business Response:

The WEO Mr. **** has attached shows $50 for a gold card he say he will never use.  He did not pay this $50 as that is an internal item we charge every car deal.  It comes out of the profit of the deal and the store pays for it.  I am sure Mr. **** won't agree with this, but I will send him $50, even though he doesn't deserve it.l

*** *******

Consumer Response: I apologize, I did not realize there was conflict of interest with Mr. ******* and the BBB, I withdraw my complaint.


BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****

5/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Gus Johnson Ford
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart