Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fife RV & Auto Center Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 284-6600 Fax: (253) 284-6646 3520 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424 http://www.fifervcenter.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used recreational vehicle and car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fife RV & Auto Center Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fife RV & Auto Center Inc include:

  • 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Fife RV & Auto Center Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Carl, Controller Mr. Kevin Carl, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Carl, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fife RV & Auto Center Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3520 Pacific Hwy E

    Fife, WA 98424

  • PO Box 1255

    Milton, WA 98354 (253) 284-6600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/24/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 16, 2016 I met with Bob F******, salesman at Fife RV Center to see a motor home he'd called me about, saying it was a great buy. I went up with my friends **** and **** and son *****. We went through the RV. It was older but in good shape - no leaks and normal wear and tear. However, the generator didn't work, ladder was broken and it needed new tires which we made Bob aware of. Decided to purchase, put money down and signed a purchase contract where they would put on new tires, fix the generator and do a walk through PDI. They said I couldn't do a test drive that day so arranged to do one the next week. Got a call as I was leaving and said it wouldn't go into reverse. They needed to buy a part. Then after a couple of weeks they called to say it goes into reverse now but said it wouldn't start. They needed to order a new starter but after a couple more weeks, they realized it was the kill switch that was turned off when they worked on the reverse. Finally on March 16th I got to test drive it but since they still hadn't done the new tires yet, Russ said I could only drive it a mile down the street and not on the freeway. At the test drive, I notices leaks on the ceiling in the bedroom and in the bathroom apparently because of the rain. Went up again on March 25th to finally put out the awning with salesman Bob. It looked ok. That same day they finally put on the new tires and were supposed to fix the generator. I was told it would be ready for pickup on March 31st. I called March 29th to confirm delivery and was told by the general manager that it would be ready on the 31st. On the 30th they called with another problem - the wiring on the generator. Went up on the 31st to find the RV wasn't ready for a PDI (no propane, no water, wasn't cleaned) and NO working generator!! At this point it has been 3 months since I signed my contract; I still want the RV with a new generator, a safety check, a complete PDI and propane in the tanks

Desired Settlement: At the end of February, I cancelled my rental home in anticipation of the delivery of my motor home. I want my motor home in good condition as originally promised and inspected on January 16th, any and all leaks fixed that have shown up since the contract, the generator replaced with a new one, and now fix all safety issues including the back ladder. I have 3 witnesses as to the condition on January 16th and what was said and promised. I also have witnesses when I came up to do the test drive and see the awning out. It would be very nice to be given an adjustment for my 3 month delay and for my living expenses since I have already paid them $12,000 per my contract. I also want the receipts for all of the work and parts completed on the RV and deliver my motor home within 7 days.

Business Response: We have been in communication with Ms. ******* regarding her motorhome purchase.  As she mentioned we are working to make all necessary repairs to the motorhome she would like to purchase.  The repairs are being completed and we do not want to deliver the RV to Ms. ******* until all of the repairs have been completed, as I am sure she would not want a RV that wasn't 100%. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  On Monday, April 25th, the General Manager Kevin W*** said the coach would be ready.  This message was received by email.  I went up and drove the coach on Tuesday, April 26.  There were still many things that were not fixed and we reviewed these items.  I was told that they would be completed and ready on Thursday, April 28 to do the walk through (Pre-delivery inspection PDI).  Went up on Thursday and found that none of the items they had promised to complete were done.  They then said the items would be completed by 9 a.m. on Friday April 29th and to come up and finish the PDI at that time.  I went up on Friday for the appointment and found nothing was ready again.  Plus there was no water in the tank.  They filled the tank and when we turned on the various water related outlets, they ALL leaked (some leaking onto the floor of the coach).  Again I was put off and could not pick up my coach! I still don't have a time or date when this work will be complete so I can pick up my motorhome.   I have made MANY long trips to the FIFE RV CENTER dealership from Rainier at their request to pick up my coach.  How absolutely absurd is this?  I also heard several other clients complaining about lack of service and work not completed when promised!  I still don't know when my coach will be ready and this is really getting annoying.  I want my coach in good and safe operating condition and as promised back in JANUARY.  When will I get my coach????  

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

We have reached an agreement with Ms. ******* and resolved all outstanding issues. 

 

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I feel the agreement we reached (after 5 months of trying to purchase this coach) was a nightmare.  Fife RV Center never delivered my coach on time as requested.  I asked for my money to be returned.  After involving an attorney to negotiate I ended up paying $1000 to Fife RV Center to get the balance of my money returned plus I had to pay $500 to the attorney.  I will never do business with this company again!

Sincerely,

***** *******

5/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made an offer on a new 2016 RV. Our salesman was Mike A***** who was working with whom he said was his boss, Ross or Russ. We were told if we wanted exact pymt amt, finance charge and terms, to complete finance application. We completed as stated above and were approved by Robert T**** in finance for 4.99% or lower interest, pymt amt, pymt due date. given in agreement. Signed financing agreement. Were told to bring the title in for the RV we currently own as this was our trade in and down pymt. We had to leave a $500 check to hold our RV until we dropped off the title the next afternoon to our current RV. Dropped signed title off to Fife RV, signed over our current RV. Were told they would be calling us when our new RV ready to pick, up. Recv'd phone call from FIfe RV that very night stating that they could not finance as we agreed, that they needed to raise the interest rate to 8%. We told the new finance person that called that we already signed papers and were approved and they had our title. She agreed, but said we need to pay the higher interest rate. That they made a mistake, her name is Rochelle. They will not honor signed agreement and sale the day before. We were told the day before it was our RV and they even put the sold sign on it, took our title to our RV. We were told our payment book would be in the mail from the finance company and to expect to make our first pymt on May 15 - 45 days after signed agreement. That the finance company was in Eastern Washington,

Desired Settlement: We feel that Fife RV should honor the agreement we signed with the financing they told us we were approved for. We signed our RV over to them on the agreed deal we made with them. They have decided the next day to change the interest rate after we signed our RV over to them. This is false advertising and I would think fraud to sign papers on an agreement and then Fife RV is changing the terms after the agreement was signed and took our title to our RV. A person named Rochelle called us and stated this was a mistake. She also said the general manager would be calling us the next day and that this should not have happened. We want our original deal honored.

Business Response:

We welcome the opportunity to respond to the complaint by Mrs. **** regarding their purchase of a travel trailer from our company.  The interest rate on their purchase was set by the Credit Union we were able to obtain financing through.  We explained to the ****** as we do to all of our customers at the time of signing that all Interest Rates are subject to Approval of Credit (OAC).  The ****** were communicated with in detail about the entire process after we received the complaint and came back to re sign and have taken delivery of their travel trailer. 

 

 

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December I purchased a used 30' travel trailer to live in. I took delivery of the trailer on the 30th of December and had it delivered to my site. From the moment we began to try to set-up/hook-up the trailer at our location we discovered numerous problems with the plumbing and now the electrical system. The interior flooded when we hooked it up to the city water; we found a loose connection in the plumbing. The LP gas tanks ran completely empty with 18 hours even though Fife RV service insists the filled them. However, I filled them myself Monday the 4th and I still have one full tank. Then yesterday morning (1/11/16) we discovered the 12 volt electrical system has failed and I am still waiting for a return call! We have no heat, no hot water, no power to the monitors/pumps/heaters etc. We are disabled and in poor health and having no heat is complicating our problems, yet Fife RV is aware but chooses to ignore my call for help! I am now having to pay out of pocket for a repair tech to come to my trailer to fix these issues, as I cannot tow it myself, and I am about out of money for the month. We are on social security and unable to work. I understand this is a used unit however it is new to us and we just took delivery and day one started discovering major system troubles with it. This is from nothing we've done wrong, the trailer came to the site with these issues though Fife RV claims it was completely checked over and ready to be lived in!

Desired Settlement: I want a qualified electrician to come to my home and repair/resolve the issues with the electrical system ASAP and AT NO COST TO ME! It is winter and we are cold and unable to keep food in our refrigerator. Please do the right thing and resolve this matter!

Business Response: We have been in consistent communication with Miss ***** regarding her trailer.  The propane tanks were filled, depending on how much LP she used she could have ran out of propane we have no idea though how much she used.  We have made a couple trips out to her location and addressed her concerns.  Typically we do not make service calls but made an exception in an effort of Goodwill to go out to Miss ***** location and perform the necessary repairs.

1/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a new travel trailer from fife rv in 2014 the first year I had it was in shop most of the time to this date still have not fixed all the problems that I have had with the rv and they the warranty was up so then they told me we wont fix anything now that the warranty is up even if they new about the problems before the warranty was up and would not stand behind the repairs they made even when they were done wrong or not at all.

Desired Settlement: should pay me a refund of $2500. to get the repairs done and for lose of use for set at there lot for 8 mouths out of 12 mouths

Business Response: We have been in contact with Mr. ***** this morning and have made an appointment for him to bring his unit in for service next week. 

12/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fife RV hooked up our trailer after they winterized it. Within about 20 minutes of leaving the business the trailer came unhooked form the truck damaging the trailer jack and truck bumper. When we returned to Fife RV, the employees did not admit any responsibility but replaced the jack, then rebooked up the trailer incorrectly again. This is a safety issue. fortunately, nobody was hurt or killed. We are in the process of asking them to pay for damages to the truck bumper/hitch.

Desired Settlement: Pay for the repair of our truck and institute training of employees for industry standards of trailer hook-up, including the use of a checklist.

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Ms. ****** and have inspected her truck and had the body shop company that does all of our repairs inspect her truck.  We have communicated their findings with Ms. ****** and will continue to work with her and our body shop company to have her truck repaired.

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Fife RV and spoke to a salesman. After looking at RV's, I went away without purchasing anything from him. He continued to call me to follow up on selling me an RV. I told him that I found a used ****** that I'm going to purchase for the asking price of $6000.00, already set up in an RV Park. He offered to have a technician go check it out for me, free of charge, before I buy it from a private party. The next day, I went to the owner of the ******, with approval papers for him to sign from my bank. He said the RV is sold. Fife RV tricked me into letting them go look at it as a favor to me, then they bought it out from under me! I was counting on moving into it, already set up in the park, to save the expense to myself of having it moved/set up. FfFe RV has it for sale on their lot as of today 10/10/2015 for $14,000.00. The sales manager, unaware of the situation, called me today to follow up on selling me an RV. I asked him for pictures of the ****** they have for sale, and he sent them to me by e-mail. This confirms that they have the same ****** on their lot for sale that I was going to purchase from a private owner. I want them to return it to the park that it was set up in, and allow me to purchase it for $6000.00.

Desired Settlement: I want Fife RV to sell the ****** back to me for $6000.00 and move it back to the park that they removed it from.

Business Response: We were contacted by a former customer of ours asking if we would be interested in buying his RV as he needed to sell quickly.  We advised him we normally do not buy from private parties but we would make an exception since he was a previous customer.  When we contacted him the next day he said he had a pending deal on the unit and was a man of his word and would not break that deal.  He then contacted us again and said the deal fell through and if we wanted to purchase the unit we would need to pick the unit up by the end of the next day. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The Management at ****** **** was helping John to try to find a buyer for his RV so he could move to an apartment within their park.

The price of $6000.00 was quoted to me by them and John. He had no other options for selling his home.

I don't believe the statement about his being a previous customer.

If that were true, Fife RV needs to prove previous dealings with him, like a bill of sale.

 

Sincerely,

********** *****

Business Response:

Attached is the Vehicle Buyers Order for Mr. ******** purchase of the 2006 ****** from our dealership.  I have also attached the Cashiers Check that he paid with at the time of purchase in December of 2013.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased an RV along with a deluxe travel trailer starter kit. It was advertised at the building that along with the purchase of this deluxe travel trailer starter kit, this purchase includes a 1 year camping *** Membership. When I purchased my RV and signed the paperwork, I was told this 1 membership is included in the packet I purchased. He (The finance manager) gave me the *** membership packet and told me to disregard the outdated paperwork and it is still valid for one year membership even though the paperwork stated 7 free nights at *** resorts versus 1 year free membership. When I tried to pick up my membership from *** headquarters, we were told this doesn't include 1 year membership only 7 free nights at *** resorts. I contacted Fife RV and they told me they would look into it. Finally after a couple of days, I went by the location but was not able to speak with anyone. I took a picture of the advertisement cabinet that had the advertisement that clearly states 1 year membership to *** resorts. I finally received an email from one of the finance managers and he said my purchase only entitles me to 7 free nights versus the one year membership. He stated it clearly states it on the paperwork given to me even though I was told and it is advertised as 1 year membership. I have a picture of the advertisement of the one year membership.

Desired Settlement: I would like the one year membership or refund of the value of the membership.

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Ms. ***** and have explained to her that she does have a one year membership with the 7 nights free.  We also had *** speak with her and advise her of the same.  After thoroughly explain everything to Ms. ***** she understands that the membership is not expired and she has the 7 free nights. 

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I advertised my 2009 fifth wheel in the local paper(wenatchee Wa,) for $19,500 Keven K****** called me and wanted to sell it for me at fife RV. he said he could sell it within 3 months. he wanted me to pay $300.00 to have it pulled to Fife over 100 miles away from me. WE needed to sell it, so we paid the $300.00. They priced it at almost a new price, almost $33,000. so of course it did not sell. After the contract was up I went to bring the 5th wheel home, I discovered the power cord to plug it in to the power was gone, the battery was gone, and the stove was damaged. I then talked to the manager and he informed me I would have to take it up with Keven K******. I called numerous times and was told he was not there or they would have him call me,then no one answered my calls at all. I finally called on my wifes phone and he returned my call. He then informed me it was my problem! they were not responsible for it. I took it to a repair shop here in Wenatchee and was given an estimate of $466.29. I feel Fife RV should be responsible, we carry insurance, but it has a $500.00 deductible. I cannot believe they can get away with this?

Desired Settlement: I feel Fife RV should pay for the stolen equipment and the damaged stove

Business Response:

We explained to Mr. ******** that we do not cover theft or damage to any consignments while they are on our lot.  This is also explained in the consignment agreement that the owner is responsible for their own insurance and they will continue to carry insurance on their vehicle and the insurance will be primary.  In an effort of Goodwill we offered Mr. ******** a power cord and used battery.  He will need to come to the dealership to sign the Goodwill form and pick up the power cord and battery.  Please contact Kevin K****** to set up the appointment.       

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have already purchased a power cord and battery and am getting the stove repaired and they never said anything to me about stolen parts and repair. and they are lying about telling me that.

Sincerely,

****** ********

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I BOUGHT A 2003 BEAVER MOTORHOME FROM FIFE RV. THERE SALES MAN TOLD ME THAT ALL THINGS THAT DON'T WORK WILL BE FOUND AND FIXED WHEN THE PDI IS DONE. AND I BELIEVED HIM. THERE WERE 2 CHAIRS THAT WERE REAL LOOSE . BACK UP CAMERA NOT WORKING . ALDDEN SYSTEM NOT WORKING. ON MY HOME THE SMART WHEEL BURNED UP(SENT PICTURES). NO CRUSE CONTROL AND NO WIPERS . THEY PUT NEW FLOOR TILES IN. THEY BROKE THE OLD TILES BUT DID NOT REMOVE ALL OF THEM WHICH THEN GOT STUCK IN THE KITCHEN SLIDE OUT RAILS CAUSING THE SLIDE OUT TO BECOME STUCK.(SENT PICTURES).ALSO, WE HAVE THE OLD TILES WE FISHED OUT. . THE FRONT TV WILL NOT WORK WITH KING DOME AND DIRECTV. AFTER SEVERAL PHONE CALLS NO ONE WILL CALL BACK TO TRY AND RESOLVE THE PROBLEM AND NO ONE WILL ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY.CAN NOT GET THE NAME OF PERSON IN CHARGE,CHANGES DAILY.

Desired Settlement: WOULD LIKE TO TAKE IT TO A REPAIR SHOP OF MY CHOICE AND THEY CAN PAY FOR IT SINCE WE ALREADY PAID FOR A ROAD READY MOTOR HOME. THAT'S WHAT THEY PROMISED AND TOLD US WHEN WE SIGNED.WOULD ALSO LIKE TO KNOW "WHO IS IN CHARGE" AND WHO IS HANDLING MY CLAIM ????

Business Response: We have been in contact with Mr. ******** and he will be bringing his unit into our service facility for us to look at.  A few of the issues have been addressed over the phone and corrected the remaining issues will be addressed once we are able to look at his unit and see what is wrong.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:they stated they will look at the unit,not correct anything to the best of our knowledge.They will not agree on anything and stated to us to turn it in to our insurance.We feel it is not an insurance matter now,or ever was.We have a real problem with them looking at it as it was promised to us already that the problems would be taken care and the unit would be road ready when we picked it up.Our last conversation with them  they stated their maint. dept could not even fit us in for 4+weeks.We would like to take our unit to a private repair shop for the required repairs.
At this point we do not have any back-up camera working,we have no head lights or no running lights working and the tires are dated 2002,when they said they replace all tires older than 7 years.Our unit is not legal to drive on the road.They need to come up with a better plan.These are all items we have discussed with them.They sent us home in this unit and it was not road ready or legal and now they want us to drive it back to them so they can look at it again??? Something wrong?

Sincerely,

****** ********

Business Response: Mr. ******** has complained directly to us, the Attorney General, and your office alleging defects in the RV he purchased from us.  As we have told him, and you, we want to address his concerns but cannot do diagnosis or repair work over the phone or by email.

We have asked him repeatedly to bring the RV to our place of business to allow us to diagnose the issues and take appropriate action pertaining to the allegations.  Repairs can be undertaken by us or pursuant
to a service contract he purchased. Despite numerous requests he has not acceded to our requests.  Simply put, we can’t help him if he does not give us an opportunity to do so.

We did not tell Mr. ******** to contact his insurance company and make any claim.  He is likely referring to our reminding him that he has a service contract that may cover many of the alleged deficiencies.  Once again, we need to inspect the unit to determine what the defects are and how best to address them.

Whatever you can do in making that happen will be appreciated.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:They are not reading/or understanding anything we've written.They have already decided they are right.We don't know what to write anymore.They have all the facts and we are just paying for it.

Sincerely,
****** ********

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2014 motor home in 3/23/14. and needed a tow dolly to tow my pruis. at that time the service manager ordered the wrong dolly. I did not accept the dolly, I have been trying to get a refund for over a year.fife rv keeps passing the buck. I have sent letters to the owners and get no response. all I want is my money back.

Desired Settlement: $2,600.00

Business Response: We have no record that Mr. ***** did not receive his tow dolly.  He purchased his RV in March of 2014, we did not hear from him until several month's later regarding his tow dolly.  According to our records he received the tow dolly. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I did not receive the dolly, and nobody else picked it up , I went to las vegas for 8 months my grand daughter had to follow me down in my prius, so I could have my car with me in
vegas. I had her flown back to wa the next week with her baby. 

Sincerely,

**** *****

5/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/2/15 I went to the dealership to buy a travel trailer. I told the sales person that I wanted it to be around 25 feet and no longer then 29 feet overall. The sales person told me they had a 26 foot trailer and she showed it to me. I knew the 26 feet meant the housing unit but the overall would still be under the 29 feet. While the sales person was showing me the trailer told me the trailer came with two batteries. I agreed to purchase the trailer and they said it would take a couple day before I could take it home. When I got home that night, I looked online at the trailer I bought and I saw it said it was 31 feet long. I called the dealership immediately and told them online said the trailer was 31 feet long and I could not buy that if it was true. The person I spoke with said he looked at the specs for the trailer and it was just over 28 feet and the add online must have been wrong. on 2/12 Ten days later I went to pick up the trailer. I noticed there was only one batter for the trailer. I asked about the second one, as I was told it comes with two batteries. The dealership said it only comes with one and I had to purchase the second one. I told them I was told it came with two standard. The dealership said no and there was nothing they could do. After I got the Trailer home, I realized the trailer was longer then I was told. I measured the overall trailer and it was 31+ feet, which makes it complicated to park it at my house. I called the dealership and spoke with sales person that sold me the trailer. I told her that the trailer was longer then what she said it was. The sales person put me in touch with the manager. The manager said that I should have known the trailer was longer that his employee never told me the length was short then what was. He said the sales person has no recall that I told her what my specs were for the length and she would never tell me the trailer was 26 feet. The Manager started to insist it was my fault and I should have known the length was for the trailer. Product_Or_Service: Keystone Hideout

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I have no problem buying a trailer and the only reason I want to return it is because I was lied to about the length and its to long for my house to park it at. After dealing with the manager and them telling me its my fault and them lying to me about length and the battery, I want them to take the Un-used trailer back and cancel deal.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ******* complaint regarding our Dealership. I have spoke with both the Manager and Salesperson that had communication with Mr. ******* in regards to his purchase. After speaking with the Salesperson, she informed me that at no time did Mr. ******* mention he had a length constraint with regards to his purchase. He did inform her though that he had been in the market for a trailer for over two years and had visited 5 RV Dealers in the previous two weeks.
When Mr. ******* called to speak with our sales manager it was after he took delivery of the trailer. At this time the Sales Manager asked if he had ever informed his sales person that he needed a specific length of trailer. Mr. ******* replied No he did not.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did tell the sales person that the trailer cannot be no longer than 29 feet when I told her what I was looking for. Also I never told her that I had been to 5 other dealer in three weeks as I had only been to two prior to going to Fife RV. I have never been to 5 RV dealers in my life so this I know is a complete lie. Also I have not been in the market for a trailer for over two years. I only started looking for a trailer last year. This sales person is obviously lying or is confusing what I told her with someone else.

When I talked with the Sales manager I did tell him that I did give the sales person my specifics on how long I wanted the trailer to be. When I first arrived at Fife RV and spoke with the sales person, she asked me what I was looking for. I specifically told her that I was looking for a trailer around 25 feet and no longer than 29 feet. Which means the trailer cannot be longer than 29 feet. The reason I knew I could not have a trailer over 29 feet is because where I have to park it. I did not tell the sales about why it could only be 29 feet but it did tell her it could not be longer than 29 feet.

 

Also when I was talking with the sales manager, he told me none of his sale people would tell me the trailer was 26 feet as they all know the trailer is a 28 foot trailer. But yet when I called the sales person after I found out it was a longer trailer. She told me she would call me back. When she called me back she told me that she went out and measured a trailer like mine. Also when talking to the manager he said that he wanted to look up the specs on the trailer and he would call me back. So obvious it the sales persons and the manager had to measure it and look up the specs they had no idea what the length of the trailer was.

 

The entire time I was there we were looking at trailers around 25 feet. And when I was able to find one with what I wanted. I showed the sales person a broacher of a 26 foot trailer that I liked at Tacoma RV. The sales person said they had one that was like it and it was 25 feet. She said it was a 2014 model. After looking for it on the lot, we found out it was at their repair shop in Bonney Lake being fixed. After looking at the pictures of it I realized it would not work for as the counter space was too small. The sales person then told me they had a 26 foot trailer (the one I bought) and we looked at it. When we looked at it, I verified it was only 26 feet (the Living area) and the sales person said yes it was.  

 

Thanks

 

***** *******

 

Business Response: We have spoke with the Sales Manager and Salesperson regarding the purchase Mr. ******* made at our dealership.  The salesperson has worked for our company for over 2 1/2 years without any complaints against her.  She has assured us that the length of the trailer was never made a condition of the purchase by Mr. *******, which is confirmed with the paperwork signed by him as there is nothing stating any constraints regarding the length of the trailer. 

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a toy haul travel trailer from the Gig Harbor location in February, 2014. We had to wait about 2 weeks to pick it up as they were completing a safety inspection and dealer prep. After our first outing in June, we noticed odd tire wear and popping noises coming from the rear axle. We discovered that the rear axle tube was crushed, and the u-bolts had become loose as a result, causing the popping noise as the axle shifted. This occurred in mid June. We contacted the service department and scheduled an appointment at the Bonney Lake service center in early to mid July. We were to moving out of state in the second week of August, and wanted to get the axle repaired before we moved. At the service location, a technician inspected and agreed that the axle tube was indeed crushed, and that it appeared that someone had attempted to complete a hasty repair, unsuccessfully. The service manager (whom I believe was ***** ****** at the time) explaind that he could not order a new axle in time before we moved, and instructed us to file a warranty claim once the move was complete at a local RV dealer. We did this and the claim was subsequently denied as the damage was determined to be pre-existing and incorrectly repaired. After a few months of back and forth, the service manager agreed to order us a new axle. Once the axle arrived, ***** agreed to pay the local dealer to install it. We took the trailer and axle to the local dealer to have it installed, and it was the wrong axle. When we called the Fife service department, we were informed that ***** no longer worked there, and the new service manager, *****, denied any knowledge and offered ony $250 towards the replacement. The estimate without the cost of the axle is $524.61. the finance manager, **** ****, claimed that he had spoken to ***** since he had stopped working for Fife RV, and he denied ever agreeing to pay for the axle installation. A verbal altercation ensued and I hung up on **** ****.

Desired Settlement: Pay full cost to replace the axle, as it should have been noticed during the safety inspection. Stand by what you sell and do the right thing rather than weasling out of having to pay when you are called out for your ineptitude. Admit that you lied.

Business Response:

We respectfully disagree with the recitation of the facts by Mr. *******.  Our service manager never agreed to pay for the axle installation.  When we contacted the Service Contract provider regarding his axle they informed us that the reason it was denied was because someone told them it was a pre existing condition.  We have no knowledge of the axle being bent at the time of the delivery to Mr. *******.  After speaking with Mr. ******* and asking if maybe he could have done the damage he went into a verbal tirade, I advised him that if he didn't lower his voice that the conversation would be over.  He then proceeded to name calling and the conversation ended.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:either the service manager or the finance manager is being untruthful regarding the offer to pay for a new axle.

Sincerely,

******* *******

1/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint actually comes at the end of our horrible experience. I should be filing a complaint on customer service as well. But after numerous attempts and efforts we resolved the outstanding issues of initial delivery. But now a new problem arises which leaves us with continued customer services frustrations. That being said, our complaint is this: when we bought the RV we were under the impression that Fife RV as with any dealer would know the condition of the RV before they sell it. We saw that the engine light was on and were told that they knew that was a sensor light issue and nothing wrong with engine and that their service dept would take care of that. We were told that we would have a PDI and then told in finance that we couldnt have it. But that the RV would be inspected and we would get a walk through. We never did and now question if the RV was ever inspected and if Fife RV even knew the condition of the RV before they sold it. We went on our first trip and in less than 150 miles we found that we have power loss upon climbing hills. Can not go faster than 10-15 MPH. We called and explained this to****** in Finance and he told my husband that he thought it was reasonable to ask service to give deal on diagnostic. But after several attempts finally get answer that they dont do engine diagnostics. They send those out. At this point we bought this RV in April and took it on one road trip and believe that we were mislead in the practices and promises of what was being purchased. It was bragged about what GREAT condition this unit was in and that nothing was wrong with it and if there was after they went through it, it would be addressed and taken care of by them. We continue to get the run around and promises to get calls back and saying they care but actions do not show this.

Desired Settlement: We want to know what knowledge FIFE RV had/has on the total condition of this RV prior to our purchase as well as after our purchase. We want to know what the owner told them was wrong and what has/had been done to it. We want to know what if anything Fife RV did to the RV before and after our purchase. We want free diagnostic on the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ Ms. ****** purchased a 1997 Holiday Rambler Imperial Motorhome from our dealership in April of this year. At no time did anyone from our dealership advise the ******'s they would receive a PDI. We advised them we would do a Gas Check only and repair the Windshield. They purchased the Motorhome As-Is. We performed the Gas Check and repaired the Windshield as agreed upon. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were told we could not have a PDI, however we were told that since the RV had not been on the lot very long (which is why we viewed it unclean) that they still were going to do thorough inspection of it. We were assured several times by the salesperson of this. As well as that the RV was in EXCELLENT condition. That the check engine light was just a short in the dash and would be fixed. I still ask for the resolve of my initial complaint to be awarded. The RV dealership made statements that apparently were not true in order to make a sale. If I am told something is in excellent condition and that it will be looked at to make sure (again since it was new on the lot), I expect that to be done. So, I'd like to see records showing me what they were told by the previous owner and what knowledge they had/have of the condition upon receiving the RV on their lot as well as anything they found out while it was in their possession. What is a gas check? Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Wow, do we have to keep going in circles. The integrity of this business practice is in question. Their lack of responsiveness and salesmanship are unethical. The $200 gift card they speak of, we never received a gift card. Again, I repeat myself in much continued frustration. There was a check sent to me, FINALLY after many calls and visits from them to honor their word, which was to compensate us for the inconvenience we experienced at their Bonney Lake Location when picking up our RV. The Fife sales location offered up either $300 or tire covers, we already had tire covers, so we opted for the $300. I do not see any business offering to resolve anything. Only giving excuses. AT this point, I am moving towards the Attorney General to file a complaint as well as social media, including but not limited to the local news channels. Fife RV must be exposed for their unethical practices. In speaking about our experience with others, it has come to our attention, that we are not the only victims of Fife RV. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/10/17) */ Fife RV offered Ms. ****** $300 or a tire cover in Goodwill to help resolve any issues she might have. She opted for the money and we made good on our end to pay her.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2005 Wildwood Travel Trailer from Fife RV. There was a soft spot on the floor next to the bed. We were told by the salesman that they would replace the floor board all the way to the front of the trailer after we told him my wife was allergic to mold. They did not do this they just overlaid the floor with another sheet of plywood. Since they did not replace the floor, additional problems have occurred because the supporting boards are also bad. Since the supporting boards are all so bad the front of the awning is not secured to the trailer. I have tried to get this rectified with Fife RV but they tell me this is how they fix soft spots in the floor. By the time they completed what they did it was past the opt out time of the purchase. Product_Or_Service: travel trailer

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement The best solution would be an equivalent replacement with out the water damage that has caused all the problem with the one we purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ Mr. ***** purchased a Travel Trailer from our company in March of this year. We agreed to fix the floor in the bedroom of the trailer he purchased. The repairs were completed, there was nothing else promised or implied to Mr. *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) that response is not was promised. At this time I want to withdraw my complaint because fife rv is working with us to replace the water damaged travel trailer

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2004 Winnebago from Fife RV Center in Gig harbor. We were promised a tow buddy for our car and RV which they would going to install. We tried to get sales manager or finance person to call us back, which they would not. We contacted they offices in Fife WA to help us and finally after talking to him the manager from Gig Harbor returned our call. He explained that they weren't installing a braking system, but only a towing system. When we explained it said they were supposed to install the whole towing system he said that did not include the brake buddy. He said was I going to hold him accountable for an error in wording. Well yes, he made the commitment and we all signed it. He said he will not install the brake part of system only the part to hook our car up to motorhome. They also charged an a ridiculous amount for registering in our name. They said it would probably cost the whole $800 for new plates as well since it was a motorhome. We checked with DOL for WA state. It will cost 47.00 if we needed new plates, which we don't. It costs 111.00 to register in our name. Why they did they charge $800.00 if any was left they would refund. They added charges for additional services twice, which I am embarrassed to say we didn't catch at the time of signing. They needed a new contract because terms were different, but they said at that time it was too late for us the contract was already done. They have very poor customer service and are not following thru with promises made n writing.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to install the system that was promised which was a complete system, including brake buddy. Refund money that was charged in excess for title and registration. Rewrite the contract to remove inflated charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/08) */ Our Finance and Sales Manager have been in contact with the *******'s throughout their entire buying process. On the We Owe which was initialed by Mr. ******* it states we will provide a Tow Buddy, which we did install. The licensing fee has been refunded to the *******'s and the check was mailed to the address we have on file. In regards to the charges for additional services added twice, we are not sure what she thinks she was charged twice for. If she could please identify what she believes she was charged twice for as we have reviewed the file and can not find any services charged twice. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Fife RV has not installed the tow buddy as of this date(07/10/2014) nor have we received any such refund check for the overcharge on the licensing fee. Fife RV is not being truthful by claiming this as done. We have tried several times to make an appointment to have tow buddy installed only to be told parts are on order. As for fees we feel we were overcharged, it I in regards to aftermarket fees. They explained to us the fee of $5106.00 covered the extras like********** interior & exterior protection,****** for tires and GAP protection plan. But then we noticed an additional fee of $1250.00 for GAP plan. We would glad to consider a compromise if they were truthful and provided at least what they say was promised. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/14) */ Our Finance Manager *** ***** called and spoke with Mrs. ******* and went over the charges on her contract for the Back End Product. The check for the licensing fees was mailed last week. They should receive in the next day or two if they haven't already received the check. The tow buddy is set to be installed on Monday the 14th. If they have any additional questions or problems please have them contact *********. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My families buying experience at Fife Rv was completely unprofessional and shady. The sales girl at the Gig Harbor location was the only and best part about our experience. A Sales Manager named ****** lost them our business due to his hostile and rude communication. We are in the market for 2 fifth wheels and were going to purchase them from ****** when ****** told us that even knowing our credit and terms could be met that the deal "just doesn't work for him so they are unable to work either deal" This was of course after a $2000 mark up on each unit over sales price and 6 hours of our valuable time! This was a complete and udder disaster. Why would a company have such a person working for them that not only offended our intelligence but was down right rude about it? I am sorry to have ever scheduled an appointment and wasted my families entire Saturday working with these people.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from ******** boss and to be told why we could not make a deal?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/29) */ We feel bad that Mr. ***** did not have a good experience at our dealership as we strive for 100% customer satisfaction at Fife RV. After reviewing the details of the deals we noticed that Mr. ***** was not purchasing an RV and was there only to assist his friends with their purchase. There was no markup of the sales price, there were items that they wanted added to the unit, washer & dryer, generator and a mattress.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY RV HAS BEEN ON COSIGNMENT AT FIFE RV I WAS TOLD THAT MY BATTERY AND ALTINATOR WAS BAD AND IT WAS IN NEED OF SERVICE. I WAS TOLD MY RV COULD BE BROUGHT OVER TO THERE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOR DIANOSTICS AND THEY WOULD ADVISE. I THEN RECIVED A CALL TELLING ME THAT MY ALTINATOR WAS BAD AND THEY COULD NOT DO THE REPAIR AND RECOMMENDED THAT I TAKE IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME THEY WOULD BRING IT THERE AS THEY COULD NOT DO THE REPAIR. THEY DID BRING THE RV TO THE DEALER ( I LIVE OUT OF STATE) THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT THE FUSEABLE LINK TO THE BATTERY HAD BEEN BLOWN LIKE JUMP STARTING IT INCORRECTLY AND THAT THE REPAIR WOULD BE $5350.00 TO FIX. I CONTACTED ***** AT FIFE RV AND TOLD HIM WHAT THE DEALER SAID HE SAID HE WOULD GET BACK WITH ME. THE FOLLOWING DAY BRUNO DID GET BACK WITH ME AND TOLD ME IT WAS NOT HIS PROBLEM AND WHEN I ASKED HIM FOR THE OWNERS NAME OF FIFE RV TO TALK WITH HE REFUSED TO GIVE ME THE INFORMATION SAYING IF I WANTED TO KNOW I CAN LOOK IT UP AND FIGURE WHO IT IS MYSELF HE DID RELUCTINTLY GIVE ME A FEW OTHER NAMES OF GENREAL MANAGERS TELLING ME THEY WE INFORMED OF THE ISSUE AND REALLY DID NOT WANT TO HEAR FROM ME.

Desired Settlement: TO PAY FOR THE COST OF THE DAMAGES THEY CAUSED

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/11) */ Attached you will find a copy of the bill from ********* **** the amount is $347.97, not $5,350 which Mr. ******** claims in his complaint. After speaking with ********* **** they advised our consignment manager that they could not tell what could have caused the Fusible Link to go bad. ***** ********** will be contacting Mr. ******** today to discuss the issue he had with his coach. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

11/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/23/2011 we puchased an extended warranty, purchase price 4,996.00 dollars. We signed a cancellation form on 08/24/2013. Also fufilled all necessary obligations per that contract, to recieve a refund of 3000.00. Contacted service department after 8 weeks only to have them say we had to come in and give them a copy of my drivers license to make the cancellation. Keep getting a song and dance from them. It has now been over 10 weeks still no refund. I feel they have had ample time to fufill their obligation to refund. Please help us. Thank You

Desired Settlement: My Refund of the extended warranty contract of 3000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ We have processed the refund and the check was mailed out earlier this week. We apologize for the delay and confusion regarding the ****'s refund. If they have any further questions or concerns please contact ****** ****** the F&I Manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Fife RV & Auto Center Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart