Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Atlas Motors LLC

Phone: (503) 255-6000 Fax: (503) 255-0590 605 SE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97216 http://www.atlasmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Atlas Motors LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Atlas Motors LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Atlas Motors LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2002 Business started: 08/01/2001 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/2001 Business incorporated 08/09/2001 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Lewis, Member Mr. Andy Baltz, Managing Member Ms. Karen Endicott, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Lewis, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Products & Services

Atlas Motors LLC sells the following brand(s): Acura, Audi, Bmw, Buick, Cadillac , Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Fiat, Ford, Gmc, Honda, Hyundai, Jaguar, Jeep, Kia , Land rover , Lexus, Lincoln, Mazda, Mercedes, Mini, Nissan, Porsche, Ram, Scion, Subaru, Suzuki, Toyota, Volkswagen

Atlas Motors LLC offers the following product(s): Coupes , Sedans, SUVs, Trucks

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Atlas Motors LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 605 SE 82nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97216 (503) 255-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a newer car...2008 Pontiac G6. Just over 60k miles. Less than a month after I got the car AND before I could ever make my first payment. My engine light was on. The catalytic converter was bad, the throttle body was bad and the computer system....the brain of the car was also bad. It won't accelerate. I cannot drive it to work. I went back to the car lot and they told me it was not their issue. And they weren't going to assist. Eventually they paid for the catalytic converter. But the real issue lies in the computer system. I have spent money fixing other things but it keeps coming back to the root of the problem....the computer system is bad.

Desired Settlement: I want Atlas Motors to make the issue right. I shouldnt have to ride public transportation when I am paying for a vehicle. This has been going on since November. I have to either ride the bus to work or pay someone to take me. And why should I have to deal with these issues when I'm paying a car note and insurance every month. It's frustrating and embarrassing

Business Response:

I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with your vehicle . Appx 90 days after you purchased your vehicle as is we as a courtesy repaired your catalytic converter at no charge to you.

It is apparent to me after inspecting the vehicle you traded in that it is possible you do not understand that vehicles need to be maintained.

After the purchase of your vehicle you are responsible for all of the repairs needed as a result of normal wear and tear. Please feel free to reach out to me .

You have never brought your car to us so we could try to assist you.

Mike L****

Managing Partner

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I fully understand that vehicles must be maintained but when the issue becomes apparent that the vehicles COMPUTER SYSTEM is bad and this is the reason that the car has poor performance, then I don't feel this is a bill that I should have to foot.  Before I ever made my first car payment there were numerous issues with my car. So it has become clear that Atlas DOESNT UNDERSTAND that selling quality vehicles is a priority. A computer system doesn't just go bad on a car. I would like the OWNER of Atlas to contact me. I could have kept my 2002 Chrysler with no issues and over 100k miles if I had known there would be this many problems.  This fix to the computer system is going to be a sizeable amount. Why am I responsible for a fix that should have been done prior to selling the car. Please have the owner of Atlas contact me. I have gotten no where with salesmen, managers and other folks on the front line. I would like Andy-the owner of Atlas Motors to contact me. He needs to be aware of the kind of service that repeat customers are receiving. I appreciate your fixing of the catalytic converter but again this too should have been fixed prior to me purchasing the vehicle. I think it's awfully strange that all of these engine codes came on IMMEDIATELY after me going through DEQ. I believe Your mechanic did just enough to sell the car. I have a $10,000 car that I cannot drive and havent driven in months simply because it won't go. I have already spent money attempting to fix an issue that was pre-existing. I refuse to foot this bill. Please have ANDY contact me l


Sincerely,

Terenie F*****

Business Response: I will contact you now  . My name is Mike and I am the owner

1/28/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a vehicle three months ago from atlas auto company whom has huge sign that says trust in atlas. But after purchasing a vehile i could not trust them becuase when they have said the car was in a good conditions and my acc does not work before it was bought i had to change the battery it did not come with center break light head light died winshield wiper replaced now my window would not roll up cheap tires fuse problems my rear heat does not work and i dont even know if the AC even works my trunk is not working properly...too much

Desired Settlement: Repair my vehicle that had problems when i first bought it

Business Response:

Mr *** , I am aware that you visited my dealership on Sunday the 17th . I would like to here about you concerns. My staff informs me you were threatening and explosive. Let me assure you that we value all of our customers, but let me remind you that any type of threatening behavior will immediately end the possibility of me helping you. 

Please feel free to call me and discuss the possible issues with your vehicle.

Mike

Managing Partner

************

5/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used car from Atlas motors on 03/13/2015. They told me it had a new engine so it was worth more than without the new engine. I asked for a car fax* they wouldn't give me one. I bought a car fax on my own after I bought the car. I found out it had been in TWO accidents. They sold me the car for about $7,000 more than what it is worth. I feel they took advantage of a grieving* mentally disabled women. Since my son died* I can barely function. I tried committing suicide twice since my son died. I can't function without 2 medications I take daily from my psychiatrist which I still see. When they sold me the car* they didn't inform me that it had been in 2 accidents and one of the tires was so damaged that it was beyond repair and was an accident waiting to happen. They just put in more air because it was low* so the warning light would go out. The damage was disguised by flipping the tire* so that the damage was on the inside and unseen. The rear breaks are needing replaced asap. I didn't think a dealer could or would sell a car that is dangerous. I'm sick that they sold me an unsafe car for almost double what its worth. I drive my daughter in this car.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to buy the car back from me. Or give me $7000 back that I overpaid.Thank you,****** ******

Business Response:

**** ******* We will be happy to accommodate you in anyway in order to make your buying experience a pleasant one.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely*

****** ******

3/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/4/2015 I purchas** a 1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer Edition from Atlas Motors. I paid $3,300 cash and trad** in my 2004 Kia Rio for $1500, for a total of $4800 down.This was my first purchase from a dealership ever. Upon entering the lot a salesman, ** came out to assist me. I immediately told him what I type of vehicle I was looking for and how much I was looking to spend ($3K). He stated that they didn't have any vehicles in my price range, but if I was willing to finance "a little bit of it" then he could get the Expedition "close" to what I was looking to spend.Hours later, the finance officer came out with the paperwork in a huge pile, which he had me sign and initial as fast as he could shuffle through. I was unable to read a single word on any of them. He did mention an anti-theft policy, a loan-insurance policy, and a service-warranty. I was not told that these were optional policies and were a significant additional cost to the purchase price of my vehicle.After I got home and was able to look over the paperwork, I discovered that the purchase price was listed as $7,131, a price that was never once spoken out loud at any time (and is nowhere "close" to the $3K I had been looking to spend or that ** had assured me he could get the price close to). There were additional charges for the service warranty ($1998.00) and insurance policies ($520 for the loan-insurance and $349 for the anti-theft policy [which ironically requires that I have anti-theft coverage on my comprehensive insurance]).Upon further research, I discovered that the Kelly Blue Book value of the vehicle, even with all the add'l features, tops out at $3,401 on the high end. After all payments are made, I will have paid $11,171.28 for an 18 y/o vehicle with 184K miles worth $3400.My down payment and trade-in was $1400 MORE than the total value of car, yet I still have an additional $5870.26 loan to pay off.Additionally, despite the 18-21mpg I was told the vehicle gets, it actually averages between 7-10.

Desired Settlement: Upon looking over their website, I discovered that at that time they had many vehicles in stock that were $2500 LESS, 10 years NEWER and had 100K FEWER miles.I would like to bring the car back to the dealer and trade it straight across for a vehicle that is VALUED AT the amount that I am being charged, without the "optional" warranty and insurance policies. Since purchase, I have driven very few miles in it since due to the ridiculously terrible gas mileage it gets.

Business Response:


*****, You are fabricating your entire rendition of this transaction. The after market products that you purchaed were fully disclosed to you as well as the price of the vehicle. You not only signed two different price disclosures you also signed a price rate , product and total of payments disclosure prior to signing the paper work you claim was rushed passed your eyes.  Further more all of the products you purchased are cancelable. You have already used your service contract once. If you would like to talk to me about this please call me at ************. I tried to call you and your phone is out of service.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Please provide documentation of the 2 price disclosures that I allegedly signed. I have cancelled both the GAP insurance and the Anti-Theft policy. I am in the process of canceling the ASC Warranty, as it requires additional documentation for cancellation. I have to go to a notary of the public and pay someone to verify the mileage details in order for the cancellation to be finalized. Cancelling the products has been a huge hassle for me and is taking up a significant amount of time that I do not have free. The prices of the three add-on products prices were not disclosed to me. Just because they are cancellable does not make it ok that they were added onto the car loan. Read my complaint, I did say that you did mention the products, but did not disclose to me the significant addition in price that they constituted, as the three add-on products in total were in excess of 100% of the balance left owing after my initial
downpayment and trade-in.

I have read your responses to others who have filed complaints through this forum and you seem to think that calling someone's integrity into question and calling me a liar will bully me into submission. That tactic will not work on me, as I know what was said to me and what was pointedly left out of any conversation. Had someone mentioned $7,171 for an 18 year old vehicle with 184,00 miles on it, I would have laughed at you and made my merry way down the street to continue shopping. I trusted that your salesman would keep his word that he would negotiate the price close to the $3,000 he assured me he would. I was willing to pay an additional loan fees in order to build my credit. I am unsure how you even managed to secure a loan for avehicle at more than twice the Kelly Blue Book value, as most banks will not issue loans for such excessive amounts when the product to secure it is less than 50% of the loan principal. You will note that I am not asking for any money back or a reduction in the loan terms, I simply want a vehicle that is valued at the amount I am being charged.

At least with the cancellation of the add-on products, I can now "rest easy" in the knowledge that I am only paying twice the value instead of three times its' actual market value. If you look up "predatory practices in car sales", your dealership hit me with 3 out of the top 4 listed schemes, a ruse I only fell for because I was not intending to secure a car loan that day, I was talked into it by your salesman who assured me that I would only be financing a small portion of the total purchase price. I did not have an opportunity to research shady sales and loan practices, so I was unprepared to deal with unscrupulous sales tactics, looking to make a huge commission off of an unsuspecting andtrusting customer.

I also still have not received the checks that were supposed to be mailed to me to cover the vehicle registration and licensing fees in Washington. I have already driven to your office once to inquire about the checks and was assured they would be mailed out promptly early this week. I could have had your administrator put a
stop-payment on the checks and issue new checks, as she said she could do when I spoke to her last week, she told me that it would be costly and a hassle to put a stop-payment order on them and reissue new checks right away, so I told her it would be ok if she waited until early this week to see if the checks were returned to your office (that's how decent and ethical people act: in a manner that does not unnecessarily harm or take advantage of others). Regardless of how many times I told your office that any correspondence mailed to me must be sent to my post office box (as we do not have residential mail service in the town I live in), the checks were mailed to my physical address anyway and at the time I spoke to your office, they were lost in the mail. I am sorry that I ever set foot on your car lot and I am sorry that I didn't believe that real live people would live up to the caricature of a used car salesman.

Additionally, I have NOT used the service warranty at ANY time. My phone service is NOT shut off, nor has it ever been. I am frequently unavailable to answer it if I am at work or in a meeting, but if you were to leave a message when you call I would certainly return it. Also, I do not believe the price disclosures or any of the
documentation that you insist I signed prior to signing the contract agreement even exist.The only thing I signed prior was a privacy notice, which I have a copy of. At this point, someone *is* fabricating, but itis not me.

My next step is filing a complaint with both the Attorney General's Office and the Fair Trade Commission.


Sincerely,


***** ********

Business Response: *****, I am very sorry that you are unhappy with you recent purchase. As I stated before several attempts have been made by myself to contact you.
 Let me assure you that our BBB rating didn't come easy and we strive to keep our A rating. I invite you to come in and meet with me personally so we can resolve any issues you are having with this transaction.

2/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off, they misrepresented the sale it's the car and the financing they secured, they called on the 8th day after the sale, also when we got there, they treated us badly, have us one option, talked down and yelled at my girlfriend and I, I believe we were discriminated against because we are a same sex couple, they tallied down to us about my girlfriend credit score, then taunted me outside the establishment while I waited for my girlfriend to secure the refund. I was very upset and I said some rude things but the way they treated my girlfriend when she was calm was not ok. We had receipts for work that had been done to the car and they were unwilling to reimburse us for any of it. There was 38.00 in New windshield wipers, 58.00 got oil change, oil flush, new air filter, at ***************, and a half a tank of gas tat was 10 gal at 2.00 gallon. Also took time out of my school schedule to take the car to the Honda dealership and get the fairy recall parts replaced. With no options to make any of this right. They treated us like dirt.

Desired Settlement: $116.00 for the parts and gas that they are visiting from, $30.00 for the 3 hours of my time to go to Honda, and someone to look into the business practices of this business. $146.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/27) */ Dear *******, Your accusations are unfounded and absurd. You did not buy a vehicle from Atlas nor have we ever had any business transactions with you . It would be a violation of the privacy act to engage in a conversation about another persons transaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The purchaser of the vehicle was my girlfriend *************, I was present and involves in the complete transaction, they ran my credit card for the down payment and again ran my credit card for the refund. The fact that you are stating you have never had a business taxation with me is completely false and I have documents to prove such. Along with receipt for the money I'm asking. I just believe they should not benefit from this transaction and at this point they are. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/29) */ ******* ***** , You did not enter into a contract agreement with Atlas, and I cannot discuss any transaction that you are not contractually involved in . If your girl friend has a problem with Atlas I suggest she calls me.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was damaged by an employee of Atlas motors encourages me to have the repairs done from Atlas motors at their shop, when I received my car back the bumper color didn't match, there were flaws in the paint, Bondo residue on the tail lights along with scratches on the tail lights. I have called the company Atlas Motors many times to try to fix the problems and haven't heard anything back.

Desired Settlement: I want to have the repairs done at a body shop in my home town and not 200 miles away in Portland, Atlas Motors to pay for the damage to my vehicle along with the rental car while car is being repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/20) */ Unfortunately *** ****** is unhappy with work provided by a business other than Atlas Motors. In an effort to keep ** ****** happy Atlas has paid in full for him to have his car repaired at a vendor of his choosing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The management treated me poorly with the whole situation it only got resolved when I was able to talk to the owner. I am satisfied with the outcome and moving on.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went there and was financed to purchase a car. I specificially told them I did not have a job at the time, however, was seeking employment. *****, supposedly a top sales guy there, just had me sign an agreement. I was told to not fill any of the paper work out, just sign the contract. So, I did. I then left with the sales person, *****, who was driving the car I was supposedly buying. The car ran out of gas, the salesman abandonded me and the car. When I contacted the owner of Atlas Motors, I was told that my issue was to be taken up with the salesperson who took my $4000 and that it wasn't Altas Motors issue. Well, I witnessed the owner, ****, falsify my credit statement for the bank to get the loan. Which I would believe, actually means that the owner was involved to.

Desired Settlement: Atlas Motors received their car back the very next day in exactly the same condition it was when it left the lot. So, I do believe that I should receive my $4000 cash back. If not, I will be contacting the channel 12 news KPTV here in Portland, Oregon and I will make sure that Atlas Motors never sells another car in Oregon again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ Dear ** ***** ,I will report this attempt of black mail to the police as soon as I remind you that the vehicle you say ran out of gas while you were on you way to vancouver was recovered 10 miles in the opposite direction. Your account of the events is nothing but false. We never recied $4000.00 from you did and did not falsify any documents. Please! your whole story is not even worth responding to. We realize that you believe that by accusing us of as crime you may be able to scare us into paying you money that was never recieved. Feel free to call the news channels. I welcome a chance to be interviewed about this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Atlas Motors LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart