Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tonkin's Motocorsa

Phone: (503) 292-7488 2170 NW Wilson St, Portland, OR 97210 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new and used car sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tonkin's Motocorsa meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tonkin's Motocorsa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 1990 Business started: 02/20/1986 in OR Business started locally: 02/20/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Long story short I bought a 2010 Ducati 1198S from Motocorsa, they have torqued down the oil cooler lines causing them to come loose under heat and engine vibration resulting in a loss of oil that leaked all over the rear tire resulting in my high side crash. When I had this accident I suffered a fractured left shoulder and laberum tear, and a left ankle that requires a fusion or total ankle replacement. I have emails, forensic engineering reports, and crash scene photos to substantiate my claim. I understand that Arun S***** has tried his best to resolve this with Ducati however your shop is the last ones to have done the complete maintenance on my bike.

Desired Settlement: Settlement

Business Response: Dear Ms. **********,
Mr. **** purchased a new Ducati motorcycle from our dealership on
On 8/15/2012 we installed several accessories purchased by Mr. **** and
performed a basic oil change. His motorcycle had 3,338 miles at the time.
We did not hear from Mr. **** again until 6/14/13. He had moved to the
****** **** (*******).
He contacted our dealership asking for assistance after having issues with
******** *********** of *****, an authorized Ducati dealer. After having
this dealership service his motorcycle, he had crashed.
Both Ducati Motor Holdings (the manufacturer) and the dealer who last
serviced the motorcycle, ******** Motorcycles, offered to repair the
motorcycle but, to our understanding, Mr. **** refused demanding a
settlement for physical injuries.
The Correspondence from ******** to Mr. **** (forwarded to us at the time)
said: "We gave you an opportunity to have your bike repaired at the cost of
Ducati, solely as a matter of courtesy towards a client of the Ducati
brand. You did not take advantage of that offer. At this point, there is
nothing that can be discussed between us. Should you feel you have a
claim against us, please proceed to file the said claim."
It is important to note Mr. **** contacted me for assistance resolving the
matter. I was actively communicating with Mr. ****, Ducati North America
and Ducati Motor Holdings attempting to assist Mr. **** in resolving this
issue with the dealer in *****.
After refusing a final offer from Ducati and the dealer in *****, Mr. ****
contacted our dealership stating: "I couldn't get them to pay so I'm going to
have to come after you."
While we certainly sympathize greatly with Mr. ****, we do not
understand the connection with our dealership as it relates to his issue.
Another dealer, in another country, was the last to service his motorcycle.
That dealership agreed to repair his motorcycle and Mr. **** refused.
Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the start of the sale when the bike was advertised as having all its records and when I had the salesman ********* look at the ad and he stated the bike had no records and then changed the ad to read correctly after it had been posted for several weeks. Then when I decided to purchase the bike the salesman ********* again stated that there will be a $20 charge for credit card transactions also incorrect. The charge was $35. Then the finance guy had the paperwork all wrong with the incorrect price and color of the bike. The salesman ********* never follow through as promised. The salesman didn't even tell me that my bike was picked up and was in transit to California or even the name or number of the company until I called and asked also no pink slip was sent with the bike. I finally called corporate office because I was so upset with the lack of customer service I couldn't take it anymore.

Desired Settlement: A formal apology, and compensation for lack of customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2014/10/03) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ****************** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 September 22, 2014 Re: Case # ********, ************** Dear***************: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to ********************* letter. ********** initially contacted us on 8/22/14. She responded to an online advertisement for a used motorcycle. After speaking with our salesperson, *********, she placed a deposit on 8/23/14. After giving her deposit she requested clarification of several items, including the condition and records for the vehicle. The employee who created the listing assumed there were full service records as this was a one-owner vehicle. When she asked for confirmation of these records we discovered the incorrect listing and adjusted it. Also, we completely relayed the error to her and offered to refund her deposit in full. She acknowledged the mistake, explained her frustration, but wanted to move forward with the purchase of the motorcycle. ********** wanted to pay for the entire purchase on her credit card and was informed our dealership has a $5000.00 limit for credit card transactions. As she wanted to pay for the entire vehicle on a credit card for convenience she was told there would be a 3% charge for the amount above $5000.00. When she asked how much that would be the salesman said "it should be around $20.00." Once the exact amount of the total purchase price was established (and what the processing charge would be) ********** was contacted. She was upset the amount was larger than initially estimated but we did not process any charges without reviewing them with her and getting her consent. Paperwork was sent out on 8/27/14 and received on 9/4/14. There had been a $50 change in price for the motorcycle, but this new cost was not updated on the purchase order. ********** notified our Finance Manager, ****, about the issue. This was immediately corrected and a new document was emailed. As for the wrong color listed on purchase order, there is limited print space on the sales document. While the correct color of "black/silver" was in our system, only the "black portion printed in the space allowed. On 9/4/14 ********** was notified her bike would be picked up on 9/6/14. in order to meet our shipper's schedule, her bike had to be picked up after hours and our staff had left for the day. ********** states our salesperson, *********, did not follow through with information on the shipment of her motorcycle, but he was not given the opportunity to do so before she contacted him. The moment we were back on Tuesday, 9/9/14 he communicated all relevant information, including the shippers name and contact phone number. Lastly, ********** is upset the title to her bike was not sent with her motorcycle, which is accurate. However, it is important to note titles are never shipped with vehicles. This is done for several reasons, all with the security and interest of the customer. Titles are sent directly to the customer via ***. As per BBB case #********, ********** would like "A formal apology, and compensation for lack of customer service." I have personally sent an apology on company letterhead, via *** on 9/19/2014. In addition, I have included a check for $15.00 to address the credit card processing costs. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, *********** General Manager MotoCorsa

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tonkin's Motocorsa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)