Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tonkin Fiat

Phone: (503) 203-4600 9008 SW Canyon Rd, Portland, OR 97225 http://www.tonkinfiat.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tonkin Fiat meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tonkin Fiat include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tonkin Fiat
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ron Tonkin Fiat

Additional Locations

  • 9008 SW Canyon Rd

    Portland, OR 97225 (503) 203-4600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson was didn't tell us the vehicle was missing a key fob until after the sale was final.

Desired Settlement: I would like Fiat to refund the amount necessary to replace key fob.

Business Response: Re:Case# ********,**** ***********

Dear Ms. **********:


Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address the concern brought to us by ****
***********.


Mr. **** *********** purchased a 2007 Toyota Rav4 from Ron Tonkin Fiat on October 3, 2015. As Mr.
***********'s complaint says, the vehicle he purchased from Tonkin FIAT did not have a "Second Set"
of keys available for him at the time of delivery.

Although not every vehicle purchased, or taken in trade, has multiple keys available it is up to us
-the dealer- to communicate this to a prospective buyer. In this case we did not make it clear
until after the transaction was completed.

Therefore, I have contacted Mr. *********** and apologized for our lack of communication in this
matter. In addition to our apology I told Mr. *********** that we would provide an extra key for
the vehicle. Since Mr. *********** lives a significant distance from Tonkin FIAT, he said he would
take care of having the key made and would send me the invoice so we can reimburse him the cost of
the key.

Our call concluded with Mr. *********** stating that he was completely satisfied with the
timeliness of our response, and our willingness to address his concern. We will be sending
reimbursement upon receipt of the invoice for the key.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions. Sincerely,
Jim B****
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Fiat

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you for the rapid and professional response.

Sincerely,

**** ***********

8/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2015 Fiat in November 2014 from Tonkin Fiat. I was there looking at a used car they had for sale, which turned out not to be what I was really looking for. The salesperson, Chris R***, asked if I'd be interested in buying a Fiat. I told him that I had spoken to my brother (who owns his own mechanic's shop) and he said they weren't good cars, and while I was looking at reviews I found that people were having a hard time getting parts. Chris told me that Fiat bought Chrysler and they had Chrysler parts so there is NO issue getting parts anymore. He also said that I could take it to any Chrysler dealership for repairs and that I would get a loaner car if that needed to happen. I took my car to ******* ******** because I have problems with the car (several) already. Come to find out, I can ONLY take it to a Fiat dealership. I called Tonkin Fiat from the Chrysler dealership fully expecting for them to tow me, fix my car and give me a loaner. Instead of doing that, I was passed around, called a liar, told they weren't obligated to do any of that and every time I opened my mouth the general manager, Joshua G****, would talk over me. I raised my voice and he said I couldn't talk to him like that. I kept trying to tell him that I wouldn't need to if he would stop talking over me and just listen for a minute, but as soon as I opened my mouth to say it, he started talking. I would pause and he would pause. I tried to talk again and he talked over me again. This happened probably 15 times. Nice game. I finally said that there are laws to protect consumers from practices like this. He heard that just fine, but then said it sounds to me that you are threatening a lawsuit so I can't talk to you anymore and hung up on me. I called Fiat directly and another dealership dealt with me with no issues. I tried calling Tonkin corporate and was told "sounds like we dropped the ball. good training opportunity." At my expense??? What a joke.

Desired Settlement: Frankly, I want them to take the car back and I'll go buy a car from a dealership that will actually follow through with what they tell people. And one that would rather resolve issues rather than escalate them. I am beside myself by Ron Tonkin as a whole now. What a crappy way of doing business. I told the guy the manager at Tonkin Acura, Jim B***, that the least he could do was offer an apology. He said "I already did." I told him, no, what you said was "sounds like we dropped the ball and it was a good training opportunity. Yep. Very nice Ron Tonkin!!!!

Business Response: Re: Case# ********,**** *******


Dear Ms. **********,


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. **** ********* Better Business Bureau complaint.
Ron Tonkin FIAT is very sorry that Ms. ******* encountered anything less than an excellent
experience this past week.


While we were confident in our sales consultant's knowledge of available service locations for new
FIAT vehicles, we have taken time and re-trained the entire staff in this regard. A
misunderstanding like this should not occur again going forward. In addition to training the sales
consultants, we are
also revisiting course materials involving management responses to customers in need. Typically our
management staff has responded well, but in this case it appears they may not have. We are taking
steps to ensure they have the proper knowledge, patience, and empathy to completely assist in a time
of need.


Ms. ******* requested cancellation of her vehicle service contract, wheel/tire protection, and GAP
insurance. We have submitted these policies for cancellation and they have been processed; the
unused portions will be credited to her account with the vehicle's lien holder.

Our less than stellar performance at Ron Tonkin Fiat had tarnished the Tonkin name in Ms. *********
eyes. Fortunately, Ms.******* called Lisa N****** at the Corporate Offices on Friday, August 7,2015
to report that her faith in Ron Tonkin Family of Dealerships has been restored. We are delighted
that Ms. ******* had a wonderful experience at our Dodge store on August 6, 2015 and I am told she
plans on making you aware of this as
well. I hope that the one bad experience at our store will be overshadowed
by all of the other great experiences she has had in the past and will have in the future.


We value Ms. ******* as a customer and look forward to serving her in the future.


Sincerely,

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

While I appreciate having a better experience at the dodge dealership, it doesn't change the fact that I can't take my car where I bought it, nor can I take it where I was supposed to be able to.  It doesn't change how I was treated.  It doesn't change the fact that I was lied to and that hasn't been made right.  I don't appreciate being someones training tool.  If that's the case then put me on the payroll.  I canceled those things because they were services I am not able to utilize apparently.  I was not impressed that while I haven't used any of the extended warranty as my car still has 2 more years of the warranty that came with, I am being docked a portion of it.  It doesn't seem right that no matter which way I go in this situation, I'm the one who gets ripped off.
Sincerely,

**** *******

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We leased a Fiat in June 2013 at Ron Tonkin Fiat. We were Very unsure about the process of leasing so we spoke to the finance manager *** to explain in detail what what would happen if we wanted to get out of the lease. *** confidently stated that we had a couple options: 1, sell the car and payoff the remained balance 2: we could bring the vehicle back and for a fee of $495 (vehicle return fee as is stated in the contract) they would take the vehicle back. When we called 6 months later to start the process of returning the vehicle *** said he had never had someone do this before and didn't know their policy regarding this. He said he would have to research this and get back to me. I waited for several days and had no return call. I called a few times a week for 3 weeks until finally He answered the phone. *** said that he spoke to his rep and they would take the car back for the remainder of what we owe on it. So we would payoff the car in full but give them the vehicle. I quickly explained that this was not at all what he said previously stated about a return fee. He said he would have never said that because this was not their policy. I told him 3 weeks ago when I asked you to start the process of returning the vehicle you claimed not to know their policy. *** was devious in his dealings with us and lied in how he worded the contract. Product_Or_Service: Vehicle

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund To take the Fiat back as was stated by the contract for the fee of $495.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ TO: Better Business Bureau FROM: Ron Tonkin FIAT RE: Case # XXXXXXXX / ******* Dear Sir / Madam, The transaction for Mr. and Mrs. ******* was finalized at Ron Tonkin FIAT by *** *** ****** Although *** ***** has left us for another opportunity in the automotive business, he enjoyed a lengthy career with Ron Tonkin Acura & Ron Tonkin FIAT; nearly seven years - and a total of over sixteen in the industry. In that time, Mr. ***** became highly skilled, and trained as a sales consultant and Financial Services Director. Part of that training included retail (Closed End) leasing. The training included the following high-level view word track to describe the consumer's options while leasing: 1. Buy the vehicle. (The lessee may purchase the vehicle from the lessor at any time during the lease subject to the lease agreement. Also, the lessee may do this at the end of the lease term - again, subject to the lease agreement). 2. Sell the vehicle. (The lessee may sell the vehicle at any time during the lease, subject to the terms in the lease agreement). 3. Trade the vehicle. (The lessee may trade the vehicle at any time during the lease, subject to the terms in the lease agreement). 4. Drop the vehicle off and the end of the lease. (The lessee may drop the vehicle off at the end of the lease subject to the terms in the lease agreement). The terms for each of the above scenarios are then completely spelled out in the individual lease agreement as provided by the leasing company (Chrysler Capital, in this case). However, none of the above scenarios allow for paying off less than the agreed upon amount with the lessor (typically then, the total of remaining payments plus residual value, plus any certain fees as stated in the lease document). We apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding regarding returning the vehicle for a flat fee of $495.00. That is not the case, and that is not communicated to our clients. In fact, the Chrysler Capital lease agreement plainly states on the front page: "Early Termination. You may have to pay a substantial charge if you end this Lease early. The charge may be up to several thousand dollars. The actual charge will depend on when the Lease is terminated. The earlier you end the Lease, the greater this charge is likely to be." The fee of $495.00 is clearly listed as "Vehicle Return Fee. You will pay us a Vehicle Return Fee of $495.00 if this Lease is terminated before the end of the scheduled Lease Term and the Vehicle is returned to us or our agents. This Fee will not apply if the Lease ends early by your purchase of the Vehicle." Regarding Mr. ***** not promptly returning the calls from Ms. *******, we apologize for that too. That is not the level of service we wish our associates to provide to our clients. Nor do we wish to have any misunderstandings such as this. Please let me know if I might provide any additional information regarding this case. I would be more than happy to meet with Mr. and Mrs. ******* to address their concerns. Sincerely, *** ***** General Manager Ron Tonkin Acura / FIAT

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My partner and I purchased and then sold a Fiat 500. We were told that the cars protection plan that we had purchased would be refunded for a prorated amount. We've been directed that only the finance manager can help us with the refund. We have left at least 6 documented messages for him and spoken to several members of his staff. He's always "too busy" to get back to us. At one point he told us he'd be in the office at 10 AM and could help us then. We showed up and waited 45 minutes. We finally asked the sales team and it was reported that he wouldn't be in for at least another hour. We left. Either this is discrimination against us because we are homosexual or this is unethical and he's blocking us getting the refund on our protection plan by just not responding to us. Product_Or_Service: Fiat

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We'd like to have the refund as promised. We'd also like all consumers to know about the potentially unethical or possibly discriminatory actions on the part of Tonkin Fiat.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/05) */ Our Brand Manager at the Fiat store, *** ****** reached out to this customer and personally handled the claim on the warranty cancellation. WE will be getting him his refund shortly, and per their phone call earlier today, he is now satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tonkin Fiat
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)