BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales, service, parts and rentals.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tom Matson Dodge Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Matson, CEO Mr. Corey Forsberg, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Corey Forsberg, CFO
Principal: Mr. Thomas Matson, CEO
Related Businesses
Bud Clary Chevrolet
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Renting & Leasing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Tom Matson Auburn Hyundai Tom Matson Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2925 Auburn Way N

    Auburn, WA 98002 (253) 833-2485 (888) 352-5695 (800) 717-7814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Tom Matson to have my oil changed as I receive a free lifetime oil changes with the purchase of my 2006 Dodge Dakota. Tom Matson changed my oil and completed their point service inspection. I was advised my radiator was low on coolant and my reservoir was empty. I was confused why that was. I advised the counter person two months earlier, I topped the radiator and overfill. The counter person stated, "You shouldn't be losing that much fluid in a short period of time." I agreed, we scheduled an appointment on Saturday 4/12/16 at 8am to inspect the coolant system and see what was going on. I arrived on 4/12/16 at 8am and they inspected my vehicle. I received a phone call from Tom Matson. Per my conversation with Tom Matson, the tech noticed my radiator was leaking coolant and recommend the radiator to be replaced. I advised how much would this cost me, Tom Matson stated $1000 or $1050 and we can have your vehicle ready by this afternoon. I advised Tom Matson that I didn't have $1000 to repair my radiator. I went back to the shop paid $60.21 for the service. Again, Tom Matson stated there is a leak and its hard to notice it as the system is still pressurized and the colder weather, you wouldn't notice the leaking. My R/O# 76004581/1. I called my son's friend father ***** (certified mechanic), I wanted to a second opinion as my radiator hasn't been leaking at home or at work. I was confused to what was going on. He pressurized the radiator and held the pressurization for 5 min, the radiator never lost pressure and no leaking was noticed. ***** then pressurized the radiator cap and the cap didn't hold the pressure, the cap was going bad. ***** recommend to replace the cap, re-fill the reservoir and monitor the situation. Total cost $20 Tom Matson was going to charge me over $1000 to replace my radiator that wasn't defective. This is a perfect example of consumer fraud. If I said yes, I would've never known this to be a lie and fraudulent way to make money

Desired Settlement: My Desire Outcome: I want to know why your "Certified Mechanics" lied to me about my radiator leaking and try to fraud me out of over $1000 on repairs that didn't need to be made. It was a $20 repair bill. I'm curious how many other "not so inclined mechanic" customers you may have swindled out of their money to make a buck. There has to be some laws about this, right? I want to be contacted by the business manager of the service department to explain this to me. Please do not tell me it was a mistake, you don't have to be a "certified mechanic" to notice something leaking or not. How are you going to correct this so others won't be taken advantage of? If I feel you are lying to me again, I may just call "Get Jesse" and get your name out of there on negative press. I'm sure your new management Bud C**** would love this exposure. I gladly look forward to speaking with you on your disease called fraud. Have a great Bud C**** Day, A customer...no more.

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2004 ***** ******* caught fire on June 8, 2015 and it was towed to Tom Matson Chrysler Jeep Dodge on June 16, 2015. I was able to get a rental on June 12. On June 23, 2015, I received a call from one of my insurance agents to say that the mechanics had found no evidence of a fire. The mechanics told him that my serpentine belt and all four of my O2 sensors were missing. After speaking with the agent he was compelled to go look under the car to see if he could see anything, well he did. He reported melted plastic and wires to the mechanics who apologized for missing the clear evidence of a fire. They said they would get right on it. Now here it is July 20, 2015 and I still do not have a vehicle. They were supposed to put in a wire harness last week to see if that was the issue. I also told my insurance that I know for a fact that there were O2 sensors in the vehicle because I bought a replacement part and personally looked under the vehicle to see where they were located. Sure enough all four were intact and in place. They insist that I did not have any and are trying to charge me for it. I have not received any updates, apologies, or explanations to why it is taking so long. My rental coverage ended July 14. I was supposed to receive an estimate that I still do not have. Chris called me once toward the end of last week, to say they would provide me with an estimate. Have not heard from him since. I have called and tried to get to someone over Chris or even a call to the owner so that he may know how crappy this service is. My insurance claim agent, and others, have tried multiple times to get them to move faster. This situation is unacceptable. I either have to deal with them or come out of pocket to go somewhere else. I have five children, attend school, and this was my only working vehicle. This was a hiccup that was only supposed to last two weeks, at most, that became an over a month long nightmare. I also received a notice about an airbag part recall.

Desired Settlement: I expect a huge discount on my out of pocket repairs as well as an apology from the owner.

Business Response: Ms. ******
**** has a 2004 Dodge Durango that per the customer was taken to a different shop for repair recently.  Subsequent to that repair, the vehicle broke down while driving due to damage caused by fire.  Not knowing what specific repair was performed at the other shop, it is unknown whether the fire was related or unrelated to that repair.  She initially had the vehicle towed to her house.  She then had her 2004 Dodge Durango with 116,640 miles towed to our dealership on June 15, 2015.  

Upon initial inspection of the vehicle, our technician unfortunately did not see any evidence of fire and also said that the vehicle appeared to be missing oxygen sensors.  We did not state that the serpentine belt was missing, but rather indicated to the customer that the belt was in need of replacement.  The customer and her insurance company, ***********, were given the results of our inspection.  *********** came to the dealership to inspect the vehicle and verified the existence of burnt wiring in the engine area and gave approval for us to replace the wiring loom.  The wiring loom was no longer available through Chrysler due to the age of the vehicle.  We then had to source the part through a “vintage” vendor.  After the order was placed for the part, it took almost two weeks to receive.  At that time, it was discovered that a second part for the wiring loom was needed.  This second part was received on July 30, 2015.  Upon receipt of the second part, the vehicle was brought into the shop and the repair completed on July 31, 2015.  The majority of the time that has elapsed causing the delay in repair includes 1) waiting for the insurance company to inspect the vehicle, 2) waiting for the insurance company to authorize the replacement of the wiring loom and 3) sourcing and acquiring the wiring loom and related parts from the alternative parts source.  As much as we would like to be, we are not a parts manufacturer and can only make the repair with the parts in hand. 

Upon completion of the wiring loom repair, *********** stopped any further authorizations for any additional repairs to the customer’s vehicle.  As to the missing oxygen sensors, they were found during the installation of the wiring loom to have been disconnected and tucked away in the engine compartment (possibly by the other shop?).  The technician reinstalled the sensors at no charge to the customer.  With these repairs complete, the vehicle still runs poorly and needs further diagnosis.  With the poorly running vehicle, the vehicle might have to be towed. 
The customer was notified of all of this on July 31, 2015 and declined any further diagnosis. 

Today, August 13, 2015, **** from *********** Insurance has authorized the dealership to further diagnose whether the poor running condition of the vehicle is related to the fire.  Once diagnosed, we are more than happy to either repair at the direction of the customer’s insurance company or provide a quote to the customer for the cost of this repair.

Unrelated to any of the above, there is an outstanding recall on the airbag for the customer’s vehicle and we are waiting for parts availability to make the repair.

We regret any inconvenience experienced by this customer either through time delay or lack of communication with her as to the status of her vehicle and look forward to returning the vehicle to her.

Business Response:

November 4, 2015

RE: Ms. ****** ***** BBB Complaint#********

Thank you for the opportunity to provide a supplemental response to the second complaint received by your office from Ms. ****** ****.

As an update to our initial response provided to your office back on August 13, 2015, we have no plans to reciprocate with any name calling, but will repeat that this customer did state to our Service Manager that the vehicle had been looked at by another shop prior to bringing the vehicle to our dealership. Thus, her statement to the contrary is just not factual. With that said, it does not take away from the fact that there was a fire and that repairs to her vehicle were necessary.

Vehicle loaners and rentals are a finite resource for any dealership and it is a business decision on how to ration these out. Vehicle loaners and rentals are designed to be short term in nature and we unfortunately do not have the resources to loan and/or rent these out for multiple months at a time.

Our response to her first BBB complaint clearly explains the time challenges experienced by us in our attempts to repair this vehicle. Since then, another reason for further delay was added in that the customer for a period of time was under some sort of protective order and unable to be contacted. In good faith, we have been trying different approaches to the repair of this vehicle above and beyond what her insurance company has authorized at our expense without success.

In conclusion, the repairs necessary to take care of the damage directly caused by the vehicle fire have been performed. However, the vehicle does still not run properly and it is our opinion that any further diagnostic and resultant repairs are unrelated to the vehicle fire and require further efforts at the customer’s expense. We were in contact with the customer on October 27, 2015 to advise her of this and she has declined any further diagnosis. On October 28, 2015 we were in contact with **** at *********** ********* and he has confirmed that they are not authorizing any further diagnostic or work on the vehicle. There is concern that any remaining issues that are behind the poor running condition were in existence prior to the vehicle fire. As a result, without any additional authorization from her or her insurance company, her vehicle is ready to be towed from our shop. As of November 4, her vehicle has still not been picked up.

We regret the inconvenience experienced by this customer.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: My statements are factual concerning not having work done on my vehicle by a previous auto shop. The vehicle  was not even inside the auto shop, but instead sitting outside in the parking lot. It has been a back and forth with this dealership since the beginning with them denying that a fire had even taken place. I refuse to pick up a vehicle that has had thousands of dollars poured into it but still does not run. If you lied you lied, it's not name calling at all.

Sincerely,

****** ****

10/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 3, 2015 I bought a 2015 Chrysler from ******* ******** ***** **** *** of Kirkland, WA, and on March 18 I had a subwoofer installed by ***** ******* of Kent, WA. On the afternoon of July 9 I drove the car approximately 20 miles without incident, stopped the vehicle for 10 minutes or so, and when I went to restart it the car would not do so. The odometer read approximately 4500 miles at this time. Later that day I had the vehicle towed to Tom Matson Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram of Auburn where it sat until August 18, at which point I reached out to the dealership to get an update on the status of my vehicle. The service consultant who I was communicating with, Mark G*****, informed me that the car had been repaired and that the repairs would not be covered under warranty because the cause of the problem was, according to Mr. G*****, due to the aftermarket subwoofer. They never gave me an estimate of work to be done, only a final bill of $3555. Mr. G***** also informed me that I was to immediately return the rental car that they provided for me or be charged for all subsequent charges, plus a $35/day storage fee for everyday thereafter my car is in their possession. According to Mr. G***** the remote wire (a wire that sends a signal to the amp that the car is on so the amp is not constantly drawing power from the direct positive lead connection to the car's battery) was tied into the power feed for one of the car's computers, namely the PCM, and as a result two other computers, the TCM and BCM, were damaged along with the car's valve body (a mechanical part, but the issue is electrical). The PCM and aftermarket parts blamed for the problem were totally unaffected. I notified the owner of ***** *******, **** ****, to inform him that the dealer was blaming his installation for my troubles. Mr **** has been very cooperative in trying to help me resolve this issue. I know that he went down to the Tom Matson service department and spoke to Mr G***** as both Mr **** and Mr G***** have attested. Mr **** has also told me that he has spoken to other audio installers and auto electricians, and based on the information he was able to gather he has decided to stand behind his installation, also stating that his establishment has performed several similar installations on Chrysler cars without any issue. I have a contract and warranty with Chrysler and, according to my attorney, the dealership and/or the Chrysler group have breached both as they have not proven my problem to be a non warranty issue. My attorney also informed me that the dealership was in violation of Washington State's consumer protection statutes by performing repairs without an estimate or notifying me that I would have to pay for it out of my own pocket.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money and honor the contract/warranty between Chrysler and I

Business Response:

Please reference the attached.

Thanks,

Corey

 

RE: ***** ******, Case ID #: ********


Dear Ms. ********:


***** ****** had his 2015 Chrysler 300 (Vin#*****************) with
4,500 miles towed into our dealership on July 9, 2015. The customer stated his concern that
the vehicle would not start and that multiple error lights illuminating in the dash area were
present. When the vehicle detects electronic faults that could result in a catastrophic failure,
it will not allow the engine to start.


Given the current model year of the vehicle combined with the low mileage it was presumed by the
dealership that the repair would be covered under factory warranty. Accordingly, the
customer was given a complimentary rental to allow us to proceed to diagnose the vehicle failure.
Our scan tool indicated that the Body Control Module (BCM) was not responding. The next
step was to perform a capacitor reset of the system (i.e., a hard reset of the battery). After
the capacitor reset, the vehicle was able to start. Many voltage codes were present as a result
and it was confirmed that the BCM was not communicating with other modules such as the
Transmission Control Module (TCM) and the Power Control Module (PCM). It is important to
note that all computer modules in a vehicle are networked and that it is a process of
elimination to narrow down the cause for any communication problems that are present.

Per diagnostic procedures, the TCM and transmission valve body (i.e., designed as one part) was
replaced in an attempt to fix the communication error with the TCM. After replacing the
TCM/transmission valve body, the TCM was still showing intermittent power. With issues still
present, the next step was to replace the

Antilock Brake Module (ABS). With issues still remaining and after extensive testing and
very late in the repair process, it was determined that the BCM was shorted internally due to the
alteration/modification of the power wiring installed at the factory due to the installation of
aftermarket subwoofers. To find the wiring for the aftermarket subwoofers and where it was
drawing power, we had to remove some carpeting and the aftermarket subwoofers. After tracing the
suspect wiring, either the customer or the customer's agent tapped into this wiring on the power
side of the TCM and as a result, the aftermarket subwoofers drew too many amps causing the BCM
to fail and to have intermittent power when grounded necessitating replacement.
The blue wire that was installed to power the aftermarket subwoofers was added to an
unprotected circuit. In an unprotected circuit, there are no fuses or circuit breakers
to protect the system in case of excessive draw. The picture below clearly shows the
modified condition of the factory-installed pink and white wire. Some of the insulation from
this wire was removed and the non-factory blue aftermarket subwoofer power wire wrapped
around the now exposed portion of the modified factory pink/white wire. It should be noted that no
type of insulation (e.g., wire nut, electrical tape, etc.) was used to protect the modified wiring
allowing the circuit to be shorted as it either worked itself loose or touched other bare metal
some 83 days after the installation of the aftermarket subwoofers (i.e., per the customer's
complaint, the subwoofers were installed on March 18 and the car failed on July 9). Once the
non-factory wiring was removed and the original wiring repaired to factory specifications, the
vehicle no longer exhibited any drivability problems. The aftermarket subwoofers were left
unpowered.

In conclusion, the modification of the wiring to allow for the operation of the
aftermarket subwoofers caused all of the drivability problems and communication problems with the
vehicle. Repairs that are normally covered under warranty will end up being the responsibility of
the customer when it is determined that outside installation of aftermarket equipment directly
interferes with the vehicle and its operation. More specifically, the DVD provided to the
customer at the time of delivery describes the potential impact of making modifications to the
vehicle as follows:


Page 12


3. What's Not Covered


3.1 Modifications Not Covered


A. ...But your warranties don't cover any part that was not on your vehicle when it left the
manufacturing plant.. .Nor do they cover the costs of any repairs or adjustments that might be
caused or needed because of the installation or use of non-Chrysler parts, components,
equipment, materials, or additives.

Mr. ****** understood and agreed to pay for the intensive diagnostics and necessary
repairs to his vehicle. Mr. ****** understood that his "non-factory" components and their
installation were the fault of the vehicle's breakdown and resultant tow into our shop. As a
courtesy to the customer, the dealership did not charge for the rental cars he had while
his vehicle was being diagnosed and repaired, but rather absorbed these costs internally.
When speaking to Chrysler Customer Care directly, they informed Mr. ****** that Chrysler
was not responsible for the repairs to the vehicle due to the aftermarket installation being
the cause of the failure to the vehicle. Chrysler also verbally informed our
dealership of their decision and of their conversation with the customer.


As a franchised new motor vehicle dealer, we sell and service Chrysler vehicles. Had we known up
front that the cause of the vehicle malfunctions were due to the installation of aftermarket
subwoofers, the customer, as required by law, would have certainly been given a proper cost
estimate to repair the vehicle by us. We did not know about the modification to the
vehicle being the cause of the malfunctions until the last day prior to completion of the
repair, at which time the repair was rapidly completed.


We regret any inconvenience experienced by this customer.

Please contact me at ************* ********* *** should you require additional information.


Sincerely Yours,

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did not and still do not, understand how this aftermarket wiring caused damage to so many parts that it was not connected to. The wire was connected to the pcm according to Tom matson, yet no damage to the pcm or aftermarket equipment was present.
Sincerely,

***** ******

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The wire in question draws no power, the argument is invalid.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: Thank you for providing us the opportunity to provide further clarification.

 
The wire modified by the customer or the customer’s agent is indeed the power wire for the transmission control module.  To say that this wire is not the raceway for the requisite power for the TCM is simply not factual.  Further, a second reading of our last submission to the BBB did not say anything about “the wire in question draws power”.  It is the modified use of a circuit not intended for anything else but power to the TCM that caused the problems to the vehicle.  
 
The preferable, but more labor intensive and more costly alternative to effect the modification would have been to bring power to the subwoofers directly from the battery to avoid any issues with the vehicle.  This was not done and the damage to the various modules occurred as a result.

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: In October of 2013, my wife and I purchased a brand new Dodge Dart from the Tom Matson Dealership in Auburn, WA. Although finances were tight, we knew we would be starting a family in the near future and wanted a reliable and safe car. Unfortunately, the car we were given did not fulfill those requirements. We brought our Dart into the Tom Matson service center on 11/18/14 because we began smelling an incredibly strong chemical smell coming from the vents and we were unable to drive the car without having all the windows down at the same time because the smell was so intense. The service center kept the car until 11/28/14 and said they replaced the miniverter and cowl screen extension as the factory had installed them incorrectly and they were damaged. After bringing the car home we almost immediately began smelling the same odor again. We brought the car back to Tom Matson service center on 12/4/14. The service center kept the car for another couple weeks, and gave it back. Still, the odor continued to flow from the vents. We brought the car back AGAIN on 12/26/14 and they kept the vehicle for another 3 weeks and we did not receive one phone call update in over 20days. During this time the tech who test drove my Dart stated that he vomited from the smell, and other techs admitted they also smelled the odor coming from the dash, however no solution had been made. We ended the back and forth with Tom Matson service center and tried going to another Dodge dealership in the area to get a second opinion on 2/3/15. This dealership also confirmed the chemical odor and essentially told us they didn't know what else they could repair, as the Tom Matson service center had replaced everything that would produce that odor. We left that second dealership with a our Dart that still produced a horrible chemical odor and felt like we were stuck into a car that is unsafe to drive. The Tom Matson service center responded by pointing us in the direction of a phone number to call and deal with it that way, instead of owning up to the problem at hand and assisting their customer in solving their problem. My wife just had our first child on 2/5/15, and since the Tom Matson dealership was unable to determine what the odor was, or where it was coming from, we refuse to drive the car with our newborn son in it. This odor gives anyone in the vehicle headaches and we are unsure of whether or not this odor is potentially toxic. So we have been forced to just park the vehicle in our driveway and pay for a car that is detrimental to our health and safety. My wife is home with our baby son all day without a proper vehicle now, and does not have transportation in the event it is needed. Essentially, the Dodge Dart that we purchased for our growing family that we thought would be reliable and safe has actually been an incredible health concern and completely unreliable. We have done everything we can do to try and get this problem fixed, however we have been unsuccessful. The Tom Matson Dealership has been incredibly passive, lacks any sense of urgency trying to figure out this health concern, and claims they have run out of options knowing that we are stuck with a vehicle that could potentially cause major health problems. In order to fix this issue, we are requiring a complete buy back of this dysfunctional car from Tom Matson, and replaced with a new car that is reliable and safe. Since we are not able to drive the Dart we currently have, it is essential that we get this buy back completed immediately. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, **** ********

Desired Settlement: At this point the only way to resolve the issue of this dysfunctional vehicle and its detrimental health affects to those who use the car, we are asking for a complete and immediate buy back.

Business Response: On 3/30/2015 the vehicle in question was traded in on the purchase of a different vehicle. To the best of our knowledge the customer is satisfied.

5/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2015 Jeep Patriot. The salesman told me that the only thing this car didn't come with was the power locks or windows which was why it was priced low. I didn't have a problem with that. I went to turn the air on, on a hot day and it wouldn't get cool. Took the car in to be serviced and the service department then noticed that the car didn't come equipped with air, which had I known beforehand I would not have purchased the vehicle. I called and spoke with the sales manager who then told me that they took a $1600 loss selling the vehicle to me because I wanted to stay in a certain price range. I told him that that wasn't the reason why I was calling and it had nothing to do with my car now having air. He told me that all base model cars do not come standard with air which makes no sense to me. A 2015 should come standard with air. He didn't help with my problem but made sure to let me know that they took a loss selling the car to me. He helped after I told him I wanted to file a complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a car with air or a refund of my deposit and they take the vehicle back.

Business Response:

We strive very hard to match each customer with a vehicle that best fits their wants and needs every single time.  As part of this process, attempts are made to obtain from a customer which features are “deal breakers” so that our sales staff can present only those vehicles that match up best with the customer’s selection criteria.  We were unaware that air conditioning was considered by this customer to be a deal breaker.

We also train our sales staff to avoid using phrases such as “this vehicle comes with everything” or that “the only thing that this vehicle does not come with is power locks or windows” as the number of possible build combinations for any vehicle are simply too great to make these phrases meaningful or accurate for our customers. 

The Jeep Patriot purchased by this customer did not come with air conditioning and our sales staff did not make any direct representation that the vehicle came with air conditioning.  Vehicles that are built with air conditioning contain a button with an “A/C” label and “Air Conditioning” is clearly listed as an option on the Monroney label window sticker. 

Unfortunately, there is no 3-day cooling off period in the State of Washington.  However, had the customer come in immediately to express their concern with regards to the lack of air conditioning, while there are no guarantees, it might have been possible to affect a vehicle exchange based on vehicle availability.  At this point, however, this vehicle is registered to the customer and is now considered a used vehicle making any vehicle exchange no longer a possibility.

With that said, we would be more than happy to assist the customer in a possible trade for an alternate vehicle that has air conditioning.  For example, we did just acquire a nice red 2012 Jeep Patriot Limited that might be a possible vehicle for the customer.

We look forward to being able to assist this customer further.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

While I know that people are trained a certain way, it doesn't mean that they all follow their training. I was told that the only thing the car didn't come with was the power locks and windows. If you want to take that up with the salesman and his brother (that probably was not properly trained) about the verbiage used, that is fine. I however am not willing to accept that there is nothing that I can do about this car. At the time the vehicle was purchased there was no need for me to check the AC because it was not hot outside. I would not knowingly purchase the vehicle without air. I would like to have air in my vehicle. Me trading my car in requires my credit to be ran again and I am not willing to do that. I want to have a car that has AC so that I know my child will be comfortable while riding with me. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

4/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Dodge Journey from Tom Matson and when i was signing my paperwork I was told that there was a warranty applied I ask why this is a brand new car with a warranty they then said sign today and we will take care of it. After about a week of no response I called the warranty company that held the contract the warranty company said they had no contract to contact my dealer or wait a week to see if they get it. I waited a month and nothing still finally i get a call from the warranty company she was nice enough to remember me and helped me cancel the warranty. Two weeks later i get a call from the finance guy stating that they have my check but they will not sign it until i come in and sit down with a manager or general manager. Some sort of scare tactic. I called the warranty company and they stated that this was unprofessional I just want my warranty refunded

Desired Settlement: Refund my Warranty

Business Response: Ms. **** purchased an extended service contract at the time of her vehicle purchase.  First and foremost, I would like to thank her for her business!

In order to cancel an extended service contract, it does require a customer signature.   We did receive a signed cancellation request for this customer directly from the extended service contract provider which is all we need to cancel the extended service contract.  Based on the customer’s complaint, it appears that our staff dropped the ball and did not get back with her regarding the cancellation.  Further, our office staff was mistakenly under the impression that we needed a customer signature on our internal form as well and that is simply not the case.  I would like to apologize to the customer on both counts.

The cancellation refund will be 100% of the purchase price and the check will be issued March 27, 2015.  If the customer still has a loan balance on the vehicle, the refund will be sent directly to the lender.  Should the loan be paid off, the refund will be sent directly to the customer.   

We appreciate our customers telling us when we exceed their expectations and also appreciate hearing from our customers when we fall short.  All feedback is used internally for ongoing training to modify our processes to improve with each passing day.

If there is anything else that I can assist this customer with, please have her contact ***** ******** at *************

3/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2014 year we purchased a new 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited from Tom Matson Dodge. We purchased the vehicle with oversize tires and a leveling kit already installed, when we purchased the vehicle we also paid $300.00 for the tail light extender as we were told it was needed for the oversized tire on the back. Since we wanted to keep the entire vehicle under warranty we went ahead with it. From the time we drove the Jeep off the lot the back tire wobbled any time we went over a bump. This was concerning because we had asked the salesman if we needed to have more support for the back tire but he assured us it was fine. Well we've been emailing with *** (our sales representative) and had multiple conversations with him about getting the wobbling fixed but didn't end up getting a solution. Eventually the back door starting squeaking so I brought it into Tom Matson service they tightened the bolts then returned the car. From there it was less than a week and the back door was squeaking again and the wobbling was not fixed so again we brought it into the service department. At this point I showed the service guy exactly what I was talking about with the wobbling by closing the door and letting him see it. He also spoke with my husband, ***, who voiced our concerns about the wobbling. The service worker agreed that the tire is too heavy for the door and a support is needed to maintain the integrity and safety of the door. He suggested we talk with *** and get a resolution since the support we are considering comes with the tail light extender that we already paid $300.00 for. Since this time we have taken the spare tire off the back door and have been driving around with it in the back of the jeep. The account above is a summary of this very frustrating process we are going through and there are multiple reasons I have decided to write this letter to try and get a solution. This is our first new vehicle we have ever purchased and the primary reason we did so is because we wanted to have the security that the bumper to bumper warranty gives (which we purchased the lifetime bumper to bumper warranty). We know we could've saved money on the tires/rim/light extender by not purchasing them as part of the original sale but we wanted it all to be under warranty so we paid for it. Since there have been problems we can't get a response by email, phone message etc. from our sales person who apparently is who we need to talk to for a solution. On the occasions where we've gotten a hold of him he's busy or there's a big sale and he'll call us back after the weekend etc. (always some excuse). Basically what was a great initial experience has turned into one of the worse experiences we've had buying a car. When purchasing used you know there may be problems that arise which is why we opted for new. I'm not one to write a complaint without a possible solution so these are my thoughts on moving forward. I do not believe that the vehicle should've been sold to us new in a condition that was not safe and drive ready. This is an error on the part of Tom Matson Dodge and should be corrected at the expense of Tom Matson. The ethical thing to do would be for the additional support needed to be corrected by Tom Matson and that support should be covered under the bumper to bumper warranty. If we were to go out and purchase and install the needed tire swing arm it would cost us approx. $900.00 for the part not including installation and would no longer be covered under the lifetime bumper to bumper warranty. If we were intending to start purchasing lots of additional aftermarket parts right away we would not have paid the extra money to Tom Matson we would've purchased them ourselves outright but we paid the extra so it could be covered. Please let me know as soon as possible ho w we can get this situation resolved. Contact History with Tom Matson Dodge for 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 9/9/2014 Purchased Vehicle 9/30/14 Email to *** ********* 10/8/14 Email to *** ********* 10/9/14 *** ********* emails says he will look into it 10/20/14 Email to *** ********* 10/28/14 Email to *** ********* 11/10/14 Phone call to *** ********* 11/11/14 Phone call to *** ********* 11/18/14 Brought in for Service - door squeaking and tire rattles. 11/21/14 Phone call to *** ********* 12/3/14 Brought in for Service - Written down from Tom Matson service department that the back tire needs to have some additional support to work like a swing arm back tire holder. The service department suggested we speak with our salesman. 12/3/14 Phone call to *** ********* 12/4/14 Phone call to *** ********* 12/11/14 Phone call to *** ********* 12/17/14 Phone call to *** ********* 12/30/14 Phone call to *** ********* 12/30/14 Filed an online consumer contact to Tom Matson thru the Better Business Bureau 1/9/15 Phone call to *** ********* 1/16/15 Phone call to *** ********* - *** said he was trying to work to figure out a solution and would call us back. Never called back. 1/21/15 Phone call to Sales Manager *** ********, promised a return call within 24 hours after he speaks with the GM. 1/23/15 Received a call from *** at *** ******, he is calling at the request of ***** ******* from Tom Matson to answer questions related to my Jeep. I called *** back a couple minutes later and was told he is busy. 1/26/15 I left a message for ***** ******* at Tom Matson asking for an explanation why *** ****** is calling me since I have not paid any money to them only to Dodge and I was told that someone from Dodge would be calling me back. 1/26/15 Had not heard back from *** at *** ****** so I called him again. We spoke and I explained that I wasn't sure why I was dealing with him since this is an issue with Tom Matson, I have not paid anything to *** ******. *** explained that sometimes he gets put into this situation with dealerships but if we want to be refunded for the part that doesn't work he will take it off and refund us then turn around and bill Dodge for the work. Thinking this is the only person who is actually calling me back I scheduled an appointment with him for Wednesday the 28th to drop off the vehicle and have the part they put on removed and my money refunded. 1/28/15 Went into *** ****** to speak with ***, showed him the vehicle and explained the problem again in detail, he looked at the back extender that was put on and said that it was cut (*** ****** is the one who installed it and cut it) so he can't return it to the way it was. He said he would look into solutions and call me. *** called me and said we would need some sort of support, he believes the door can handle the weight of the tire but we need to buy a separate mount. He suggested a new door mount that is approx. $265.00, he said if we purchase the mount he will install it for us and refund us the price of what we buy, he will then just send a bill to Tom Matson for the work. I told *** I would look into this and get back to him. I looked online at what he is suggesting and from the reviews I can find this is a solution for some Jeeps with this problem but not for all, it also requires that holes be drilled into the body of the Jeep to the mount to be installed so if we are one of the vehicles this does not work on then we will have holes drilled into the body. It seems the only sure way to solve this from almost all reviews online is to purchase a bumper and swing mount that is anywhere from $900-$1500 for ones that have consistent good reviews for usability. After speaking with my husband and feeling really weird about purchasing the mount *** suggested then getting a refund I picked up my vehicle and left a message to have *** call me. I intend to walk into Tom Matson today and speak with ***** ******* 1/28/2015 Walked into Tom Matson and spoke with ***** *******. After some discussion he agreed we have the same goal to make it right but he was not going to do that himself he was going to have me to go *** ****** and he did not like the idea of drilling holes into the car either. He got *** from *** ****** on the phone who agreed to see me on Friday. 1/30/15 Went to *** ****** on my lunch break, *** went on a ride with me and heard the door noise he lubricated the rubber, gave me a bottle of the lubricant and sent me on my way. I called him right away when I got back to let him know that hadn't helped the problem with the tire shaking on the door. He said he didn't know what to do but that the hinges can hold 200lbs so there is no problem. He said some sort of extender on the bump stops would be helpful but he looked and could not find anything. I asked for his email so I could contact him electronically. 1/30/15 I did research on extenders for bump stops and with one google search found some. I also read thru the owner's manual from Jeep and discovered the owner's manual specifically states that the entire weight on the back door mount cannot exceed 85lbs! I forwarded the page of the manual along with the link to the bump stops to *** @ *** ****** and ***** ******* @ Dodge. 2/6/15 I had not received a call back from *** ****** so I called and spoke with ***. He looked up the email and said cool I found bump stops but he didn't see the weight being a problem on the back door since it holds 200lbs. I asked him to tell me or show me where this 200lb limit he is talking about is coming from because I have documentation on the tire mount for 85 and I can't find anything on the hinges. He said he couldn't remember where he saw that but either way there is nothing he can do to help me. **I am not too surprised at this because I have not paid *** ****** a penny. I paid Dodge they sold me the vehicle like this, they may have made a deal with *** ****** but that is not for me to fight their battles. 2/6/15 I sent another email to ***** ******* at Dodge explaining to him what response I had from *** at *** ****** and requesting a response ASAP. 2/11/15 I had not gotten a response from Dodge about my email or the documentation I provided I called Dodge and was told ***** was busy so I left a voicemail. 2/12/15 Knowing that ***** is not the best at contacting me back I am emailing Jeep because this is out of hand. It has been month and months and I've just been pushed around. Email contact made with Jeep with all the above info. 2/13/2015 Received response from Jeep regarding my email, see below. Dear *******, Thank you for contacting the Jeep Customer Assistance Center regarding your Jeep Wranlger. We have received your email regarding your recent service experience at. I regret your dissatisfaction with the service you received and appreciate the time and effort you took to bring this matter to my attention. We realize our reputation depends in part on the quality of service provided by our dealers. Because dealers are independently owned businesses, they are, however, responsible for addressing concerns directly related to their sales and service activities, as well as their personnel. We do not have the authority to resolve concerns related to dealer workmanship, service scheduling, or repair pricing, so you may want to pursue the matter directly with dealership management for further resolution. Information received from customers such as yourself enables better evaluation of dealers' service activities. Your complaint will be retained in the dealers file. Also, their conduct has been documented in our system. Your dissatisfaction is regrettable, but we hope you will understand our position. We hope this experience will not cause customers to misjudge our products. Although we recommend that you return to your selling dealer for service, any authorized Chrysler Group LLC dealership can repair your vehicle. You are not limited to the dealership that sold you your vehicle. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you have had. I hope we will have another chance, sometime soon, to restore your faith in Chrysler Group LLC. Thanks again for your email and I apologize for the inconvenience of this situation. Should you require additional assistance, or have any new information to provide, please reply to this email message or call *************** (**************). Sincerely, ****** Customer Service Representative Jeep Customer Assistance Center For any future communications related to this email, please refer to the following information: REFERENCE NUMBER: ******** EMAIL CASE NUMBER: ******* 2/13/2015 I responded to ****** giving my concern that replacing the back door myself is going to negatively affect my lifetime warranty that I purchased.

Desired Settlement: I would like Tom Matson Dodge to make this right. I was sold a vehicle that was deficient to their own standards. With a back tire that wobbles and is damaging the door due to being over the weight. They are refusing to take responsibility and trying to push the issue off on others. I want to get a guarantee that my vehicle will be still under warranty when I replace the tire carrier, I also want Tom Matson to pay for the price of the carrier and any necessary installation costs. It has been 6 months and this has not been taken seriously.

Business Response: The customer purchased a new 2014 Jeep Wrangler from our dealership on September 10, 2014.  At the time the customer selected a vehicle with stock tires and wheels on the vehicle.  Upgraded tires and wheels were requested by the customer and installed as part of the deal.

 
I believe we have a potential solution to the wobbling noise referenced by the customer with the use of rubber extenders that will allow the tire to make firm contact between the tailgate and the tire.  After we receive the parts I will have our service department reach out to the customer for installation.
 

We deeply regret any inconvenience experienced by this customer.   

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on july 7,2014 i took my car to *** ****** dodge because the engine light was on and it was shaking and vibrating. i paid $1,110.60 for a tune up and to have some other work done with the valve covers or gaskets. the problem came back less than 5 months later with the engine light and shaking and vibrations. i took it back on december 1,2014. this time i was told that it was an ignition coil and one of the spark plugs. i paid another 241.97. less than two weeks later, the exact same problem returned. now, i am being told that the problem is in the engine and will cost $5000.00 to repair. i requested to speak with a manageer and waited over 45 minutes, but the manager would not come out to speak with me. one of the workers, **** *****, tried to help me but he was not the manager and he was not able to provide me with the help that i needed. i feel that i was taken advantage of because my car should have been fixed after the FIRST trip in totheir shop. it is not my fault if their equipment was not able to determine the problem on the initial visit.

Desired Settlement: i would like for my car to be fixed for the money that i have already paid even if it is at a loss to them. currently, i am the one at a loss because i am out of $1,352.57 and i have the same problem that i had when i took it in. i should not have to pay for their 'guess' work until they can finally fix my car. the other option that would be acceptible to me would be for them to take the amount that i have paid off of the repair charges as well as waive the labor charges and get my car in working condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/09) */ Ms. **** ******** brought her 2006 Dodge Durango with 92,513 miles in for service on July 7, 2014 with the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle running poorly. The diagnosis uncovered a failing EGR valve with a recommendation to remove and replace which the customer authorized and the repair completed. Additional items recommended and completed during the same visit as follows: 1) the PCM software was out of date and needed to be upgraded to the most recent version, 2) the spark plugs were recommended to be replaced due to time and mileage and 3) the wiper blades were removed and replaced. The customer returned for service on her vehicle with 97,095 miles on October 6, 2014 for an oil change with no mention of the check engine light being illuminated at that time. Almost 5 months and some 7,447 miles after the July 7, 2014 repair, the customer returned for service on her vehicle on December 1, 2014. The check engine light was illuminated again, but this time it had nothing to do with the EGR valve, but rather a cylinder misfire. The diagnosis uncovered the need for a coil for the number 7 cylinder. The coil was replaced and the vehicle returned back to the customer. The customer returned on December 8, 2014 stating that the engine light was illuminated again and after diagnosis we found there to be two cylinders with misfires. The coil was swapped with another cylinder and the misfire did not follow the coil showing that there is a problem with the cylinder and not with the coil. Our recommendation provided to the customer is to remove the cylinder head for inspection to see if it is excessive carbon or a cracked seat between the valves. The customer was given an estimate to tear down to further diagnose the issue, but the customer declined. The vehicle was returned back to the customer. Because of the misdiagnosis of the coil on December 1, 2014 we are willing to refund the customer the cost of the coil and the labor for the coil installation. The original diagnostic labor estimate given to the customer was $125.00. The total labor charge on the repair order is $160.00 and $79.97 for the part. We will refund $35.00 for the labor ($160.00 minus the $125.00 diagnostic) plus the $79.97 part cost plus 9.5% sales tax for a total of $125.89. I understand the customer's frustration with her vehicle, but the repair for the cause of the illuminated check engine light performed in July is unrelated to the illuminated check engine light in December. Check engine lights illuminate for a variety of reasons which require further diagnosis to determine the underlying cause. There is currently a cylinder misfire code coming from the vehicle that has yet to be fully diagnosed and that is not related to the code that necessitated the EGR valve repair in July. We regret any inconvenience experienced by the customer with her vehicle, but with the customer's authorization of the estimate previously provided we would be more than happy to find out what needs to be done to take care of this latest issue. Alternatively, should the customer have any interest in trading her vehicle in for a newer vehicle, we are at her service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i disagree with their response. i feel that i should have been refunded the full $241.00 for my second visit to their shop. however, i traded the durango in for a new vehicle. they told me that they took the 1400.00 that i had paid in repairs and removed it from the price of the new car that i bought. i did receive the check for the $124.00. since i do have a new car now and feel that i received a fair trade in for the durango, i am willing to consider the matter closed. thank you for your time and assistance.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a vehicle that had a trailer brake controller module however the vehicle I drove home does NOT have one, The saleman keep messing me around in hope that I will give up, The part that I have already bought is going to cost about 500USD and the dealer have offered to 50/50 it with me after a week of battling! I am not paying for something that I have already paid for as this is not right or good business. **** ****** has also caused me stress during a family vacation through his lies.

Desired Settlement: The business should install the part that I was sold with the vehicle at no cost to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/12/20) */ Subsequent to the December 2, 2014 filing of their complaint, the customer continued to discuss the issue with one of our sales managers. An agreement was reached with the customer and they brought their vehicle in on December 4, 2014 to have the part installed. We feel the issue has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had our 2010 Jeep Liberty in now five times in the last year and a half to get an oil leak fixed. Each time they say they cannot find or see a leak. The vehicle now drips at about a 30 second rate. After a few minutes a puddle forms. After a few hours the puddle is about 12" in diameter. Went in on 9-29 to see if we could drop the car off on 10-2 so they could have have 10-3 & 10-4 to work on it. When calling on 10-4 to check on the car we were told it would not be looked at until Monday 10-6. Why were we not told that the car would not be looked at until 10-6 when the original agreement on 9-29 was that they would look at it on 10-3 & 10-4. No one called about the delay, absolutely zero communication. We have bought 3 vehicles from this dealer and have had all of our service done there. We now feel like we are being taken advantage of and being disrespected. We simply want the leak fixed that we asked to be fixed starting a year and half ago.

Desired Settlement: Fix the leak that started a year and half ago. Communicate properly the time frame of the repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/24) */ Mr. **** was last in our shop for an ongoing oil leak concern that we were unable to pinpoint the source. We cleaned off the residual oil, added fluorescent dye to the oil system, and instructed the customer to drive the vehicle until the leak returned. Mr. **** was contacted via email on 10/14/2014 with an apology and an invitation to return for repairs. He indicated in his response email that he was currently out of town, but would make arrangements to have the Liberty return for service. He is currently scheduled to come in 10/28/2014. We are sincerely sorry that we have not yet been able to pinpoint the source of the oil leak and will do everything possible to repair it. Mr. and Mrs. **** have been very loyal customers and we whole heartedly regret we have not given them the quality of service that Tom Matson Chrysler Jeep Dodge is known for. We greatly appreciate the ****'s patronage, and look forward to regaining their trust and confidence.

9/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 news cars from Tom Matson in 2012 on the same day. I bought a 2012 elantra and a 2012 accent. We have not had any problems with the vehicles until recently the accent has a loud pinging noise when going up hills or when all the time when its hot out. I brought it to Tom Matson and they listened to the noise and agreed that there is a problem. They had the car for 14 days and put 230 miles on the engine to try and find the problem. They called and said that they had fixed the problem and the noise is gone. They stated to me that all they did was put 92 octane in the car. I have always ran the 87 octane like the owner manual states and for the reason I bought the car which is for an economical commuter vehicle. I was told that I had to now run 92 octane in the vehicle in order for it to not ping and ruin the motor. I was told to not bring the car back and that there was nothing they will do to fix this. I did not buy an expensive sports car that required a premium costing gasoline and feel I have been ripped off. My wife's car has the same engine in it as the accent and is not having any issues with pinging. I feel this motor wont last long with metal sounds like that coming out of it. I was told that as long as the noise cant be heard with the windows up then they will not consider anything wrong with the car.

Desired Settlement: They need to fix the car to run on the 87 octane like the manual recommends.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/25) */ Mr. ****** brought his 2012 Accent in for a "rattle in the engine" concern on June 22nd, 2014 at 54,813 miles. The technician was unable to duplicate the concern. The customer road tested the vehicle with the technician, verified the customer's concern as a slight rattle going up hills under load and considered it to be a normal operating engine. We recommended to Mr. ****** to try a different brand of fuel. Mr. ****** returned on July 29th, 2014 at 56,678 miles with the same "rattle in the engine" concern. The technician performed a fuel sample analysis and found a specific gravity of 7.39 at 82 degrees with 9% alcohol content. The technician contacted ******* ******** with the results and they recommended "top tier" gasoline along with a fuel system cleaning. We performed the fuel system cleaning and filled the gas tank with 92 octane. The customer road tested the vehicle and agreed that the "rattle" was gone. We acknowledge Mr. ******'s comment with regard to fuel octane level, but want to point out that the manual indicates running fuel with an "octane of 87 or higher". We have enclosed some additional information regarding this topic for the customer's convenience. Mr. ****** had no previous visits to our service department. Mr. ****** has since contacted ******* ******** ******** and at their suggestion we have put in a request for a Field Service Engineer to examine the vehicle. As of the writing of this letter, it has yet to be scheduled. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have had my jeep for a month and keep delaying when it will be ready. When we called they don't return phone calls. They also tried to put a part in it and grossly over charge us. My husband had to take off from work to talk to them because they won't return calls. When he even tried to see the head mechanic at 11:00 am they told him the mechanic was on a lunch break. So, at 3:00 the same day my husband went in to talk to the mechanic and he was told that the guy was on his lunch break. There is no end in sight as to when I will get my car back.

Desired Settlement: I want my car back with all the appropriate recall parts fixed and installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ On June 19, 2014, Mrs. ****** brought her 23 year-old 1991 Cherokee with 209,461 miles in for an anti-lock brake concern. The technician diagnosed a failed ABS motor, actuator and accumulator, all of which are covered under two recalls issued 17 years ago back in 1997. At the time of the recall, the parts were readily available. However, due to the passage of time, they are much more difficult to obtain, but not impossible. The first parts were ordered on June 24, 2014 and received July 7, 2014, but they turned out to be defective and had to be reordered. The current ETA which is unfortunately still subject to change has the reordered parts arriving on July 25, 2014. We will repair the vehicle as soon as the parts arrive. We understand the customer's frustration due to the passage of time and if we could manufacture the parts at the dealership level, we would certainly do so. The customer's vehicle is also in need of a $200.00 speed sensor and unfortunately it is not part of the recall. I believe the price quoted for the repair for parts and labor was $325.00 plus tax. While *****, their service advisor, feels that he has been in constant contact with Mr. ****** regarding the status of the vehicle, should the customer at any point in the future feel that they are not receiving a timely response to their questions, I would appreciate it if they would contact ***** ******** (GM/CFO) on his cell at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and I definitely want to know when we are not meeting that standard. We regret the inconvenience the customer has experienced while waiting for their vehicle to be repaired. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their claim of being in continuous contact with us is false! In the now 6 weeks of having our vehicle my husband has made almost all the contacts with the exception of them RETURNING his call only a couple of times. Regarding the sensor part once again they have been false with this information. 1. You cannot test that part without a properly working ABS actuator motor which as we all know there isn't one. 2. According to our mechanic the sensor part costs only $30.00, plus is easy to reinstall. Their level of professionalism, communication, and expertise is unacceptable. Frankly, I don't trust them. But, according to Jeep/Chrysler head quarters this is where they sent us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What I said before was already stated plus mr ***** ******** has not really addressed the issues. Not only that my husband has tried to call him and he never can get through with the number that is provided. They don't care so they don't call us, they don't answer our calls which also means they don't call us back. Plus now we have another issue with the incompetence of their mechanics and what they have done to my car since I got it back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/08/19) */ We feel we have addressed the issues that have been outlined in this customer's complaint including the time delay, the mechanical issues and the cost of the speed sensor. Further, Mr. ****** reached ***** ******** on his cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX. He indicates that he has some issues with the vehicle subsequent to picking up the vehicle. He was going to have his wife email some pictures to *****'s email address at ******@matsondodge.com. As of August 19, 2014, ***** is still waiting for the photos.

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The engine of my 2003 Chrysler Sebring Convertible seized up while driving in Aug 2014 in Renton, WA. Had vehicle towed to *** **** Dodge in Renton ****** who determined the engine seized up because when Tom Matson Dodge (TMD) replaced the oil pan and gasket the service tech failed to bolt down the pick up tube. When notified, TMD agreed to correct the matter by replacing the ruined engine with a new long block engine. I was told by the service manager **** ****** the new engine came with a 3-year 100,000 mi warranty. While my vehicle was being repaired, neither TMD nor *** had a loaner vehicle available, so *** arranged a rental through ********** *** ****** ***** for 7 days, which was to be charged to the repair order. However, when *** concluded the error was because of TMD, they closed their repair order and had TMD create their own repair order so the repair and all related costs could be charged to their dealership. This is where the problems began: 1. I was charged $245 by *** in December 2013 for the 7-day car rental, most likely because they tried to bill **** who refused the charges because they closed their repair order. Ironically, the cost of the rental is on the repair order as being paid by TMD! 2. My biggest frustration in dealing with TMD is that they have ignored my repeated requests to provide a written copy of the 100,000 mi warranty. My first request was when I picked up the vehicle, in which I was brushed off that he could not provide right away, which I thought was suspicious for a company dealing in good faith. Afterward, I never heard from Mr. ****** again, he never replied to any of my voice mails. In fact, when I brought the vehicle in for an oil change one of the service advisors pointed him out to me, but he never came out to meet me when I requested to meet him. In a subsequent visit I asked the service advisor for a copy of the warranty information, and he said he couldn't provide a copy so I was referred to the Parts department. The Parts staff thought the warranty was 3 years 36,000 mi, and also believed the engine was a refurbished engine, which implies fraud on the part of Mr. ******* Also the Parts staff provided me with a printout from what I believe was the MOPAR website describing the different types of warranty, so left Mr ****** another voice mail to clarify if the warranty offered was a powertrain warranty or something different: no return call or contact. To me, it is only proper to provide a customer a copy of the warranty terms so we both know what is covered or not covered and what, if anything, voids the warranty, especially when it has been requested. 3. I also attempted to contact the TMD Service department in January of 2014 online through their website to address my issues. The contact was received because I received a response that they received my inquiry and would be in touch soon. 6 months later: no response via phone nor email. 4. In March or April 2014 I contacted the ******** ***** Complaint line to voice my concerns. After telling my story to them, they indicated they were referring it back to TMD: the same non-responsive negligent company that began the problems! Supposedly it was being routed to either a regional manager or someone higher up the chain than Mr. ******, and again I heard nothing. 5. Since my engine was replaced, I have had the following work done on my vehicle: a. Shortly after getting my vehicle back it began to leak oil, which TMD pointed out in one of their inspections during an oil change. I was told it was nothing to worry about, but why would a dealership tell someone not to be concerned with an oil leak, when cars are not supposed to leak?! I was able to determine it was the valve cover gaskets, which I paid someone to repair. No more leaks, and my feeling is the valve cover gaskets should not need to be replaced on a new engine. b. I noticed a clunking sound underneath my vehicle after a couple of months. I was told it was the engine mount, which I paid to have replaced. Some of the clunking disappeared, but not all. I discovered the source of the clunking while getting an inspection at the *** **** ***** ******** in June: the front sway bar link was incorrectly installed, which required it to be replaced. I can only believe it was improperly reassembled during the engine replacement. This is consistent with the shoddy workmanship on the initial repair that caused the engine malfunction to begin with. c. Since I got the vehicle back I've noticed my fuel gauge no longer reads correctly. I did not have this problem prior to the engine repair. Mechanics have suggested it is the fuel gauge sending unit; if I had a copy of the warranty I would know for sure if the repair is covered. That is my reason for believing they will not provide the warranty information voluntarily: they do not want to be responsible for further repairs, so the less I know the more they can skirt their obligations. d. Shortly after getting my car back, I refilled the windshield wiper fluid reservoir, and the fluid leaked out almost immediately. TMD was aware of the leak, explained it was most likely a crack in the fluid reservoir. While getting the sway bar link replaced, the mechanic removed the wheel well shroud and noticed the lower hose of the reservoir was not pushed on tight. It has worked fine ever since, but again, I can't help to believe my car suddenly developed so many problems after an engine repair. To me, this is an outrageous display of unprofessionalism, courtesy, customer service, good faith, fair dealing and honorable business practices. The irony of it is auto dealerships charge exorbitant costs for parts and labor, but justify the prices by trumpeting their expertise and familiarity with the vehicle. I didn't begin to have problems with my vehicle until TMD did something more than just oil changes, then they compound the headaches by ignoring my requests for attention to my issues caused by them in the first place. Perhaps they hoped if they say nothing I'll disappear; therefore, I am requesting the assistance of the BBB and other consumer groups in hopes that shedding light on companies like TMD will force these poor business practices to cease.

Desired Settlement: 1. A copy of the warranty in writing; 2. $245 to reimburse me for the rental car that was supposed to be paid out on the repair order; 3. Reimbursement for all repairs I paid out that would normally be covered under warranty. Of course, I don't know for sure what that is because I don't have a copy of the warranty by design!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ The numbers below reference our responses to the numbers used by Mr. ****** in his complaint: 1. Through Mr. ******'s previous complaint filed with another agency, it appeared that there might have been charges other than the $245.00 amount that is specifically being referenced in this complaint which is why we made the request to have him provide a copy for our review. In this complaint, it is clear that he is referencing the $245.00 amount listed on our repair order rather than additional rental expense of an unknown amount. The $245.00 listed on our repair order was set up to be paid to ********** upon receipt of their monthly statement. Upon further research, while an ********** invoice had been received, it never appeared on their statement and this item remains an open item on our ********** account. In conclusion, upon receiving a copy of Mr. ******'s payment to ********** for this rental, I will direct our accounts payable to reimburse the customer $245.00. 2. We either replace a motor with a new motor or a remanufactured motor, but not a refurbished motor. The part number for the engine installed in Mr. ******'s vehicle was RLXXXXXX-AB. The RL designation contained within the part number indicates that a new motor was used for this customer's vehicle. A copy of the warranty was provided as part of our response to Mr. ******'s complaint filed with another agency. We regret the difficulty that Mr. ****** appeared to have trying to get in touch with **********, our service manager. **** states that he was not aware of the customer's desire to meet with him nor does he recollect receiving any voice mails or emails from Mr. ******. Should he be unable to get the answers to his questions from our service department personnel now or at any time in the future, I would appreciate it if he would contact call ***** ********, GM on his cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and I definitely want to know when we are not meeting that standard for our customers. 3. I would ask the customer to refer to our response to the complaint he filed with another agency. 4. I would ask the customer to refer to our response to the complaint he filed with another agency. 5. Responses to comment # 5 follow below: a. Mr. ******'s engine was replaced on 08/21/13. Mr. ****** returned 10/26/2013 for a 500 mile follow up inspection. The only item noted was residual oil on the exhaust which was then cleaned. He returned again 12/30/13 for a routine oil change which the multipoint inspection revealed an oil leak, the need for a transmission service, the airbag light on and both license plate light bulbs were burnt out. The customer declined any further diagnosis and repairs and he has not returned since. b. Our Service Director, **** ****** had no knowledge, until now, about these concerns. The engine mounts were not changed with the engine and would have been a customer pay issue if they needed to be changed. ********** is unable to see how a sway bar link could be installed incorrectly and would request that the customer provide us with more information on the repair performed. c. Mr. ****** never mentioned any fuel gauge concern on his 10/26/2013 visit nor his 12/30/13 visit nor in his complaint filed with another agency. The engine replacement would have no effect on the fuel sending unit which is located in the fuel tank. The warranty is only for the long block and does not cover seals and gaskets. d. Mr. ****** never mentioned any windshield wiper fluid reservoir concerns on his 10/26/13 visit nor his 12/30/13 visit not in his complaint filed with another agency. I did receive a voice mail from Mr. ****** on the afternoon of July 22, 2014 referencing my request in my last response for him to contact me. My Service Manager and I would be more than happy to meet with Mr. ****** to address any of the above or any additional concerns that he may have regarding his vehicle. While we certainly strive for perfection, we are not perfect and are the first to admit when we have made a mistake and that is the reason we stood by the faulty repair that necessitated the replacement of the engine to begin with even though it was on a vehicle where the value of the engine is greater than the value of the vehicle itself. I would make the case that standing by your work is in fact professional, courteous, good customer service, good faith as well as a fair and honorable business practice. We regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced throughout the entire process of getting his vehicle repaired.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: took my car to tom matson dealership to fix my 2004 pt cruiser.they replaced the pcm for $1000.00.that didnt fix problem. two days later they replaced two oxygen sensors for $300.00 and that didnt work. two or three days later they had to come to my work and tow car to the dealership. they said its the wiring harness and would have to order part which was on back order for a month. the price for that is $2200.00 more for the same problem.when back order part got to shop a month later it was the wrong part. dealership service dept. said there was not a part for my car anywhere in usa and that chrysler would make me one. during this time i have called *************. and they have called a couple times and left **** messeges with no reply and i left several messeges to **** the service dept. manager and he never got back with me.i wanted to talk to him about some sort of credit since i already paid $1300.00 and didnt fix problem and they want $2200.00 more now. so they had my car over a month and half and they do not have loaners. i didnt buy car from this dealer. needed a chrysler dealer that thought could repair my car correctly. Product_Or_Service: 2004 pt cruiser

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) would like some sort of credit for monies i already paid and never fixed the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/29) */ I have reviewed the various repairs made on *** ******'s vehicle with **** ******* our Service Director, and they are summarized in the following paragraphs. On June 13th, 2013 *** ****** brought in her 2004 PT Cruiser with the vehicle's check engine light on. *** ****** was advised of multiple fault codes (8) in the computer system, the need for a new Powertrain Control Module (PCM), and likely wiring harness issues. We advised the customer that due to the expense of the repairs and the unknown nature of the wiring issues, she may want to consider trading the vehicle in. On June 27th at the customer's request, the PCM was replaced, the fault codes were cleared and the vehicle returned to customer. On July 6th the vehicle returned 271 miles later, check engine light on, with two new fault codes. At customer's request the Oxygen sensors were replaced, the fault codes were cleared and the vehicle was returned to customer. On July 20th the vehicle was towed in 36 miles later, running rough, due to a shorted out main engine harness. *** ****** authorized repairs, parts were requested and became back ordered. While waiting for parts, our Service Director had numerous conversations with Chrysler Customer Care and *** ****** to address her concerns. Once received, we installed the new engine wiring harness, and released the vehicle to customer. On October 14th the vehicle returned running rough and is currently in the shop in need of an additional wire harness that is no longer available from Chrysler. We offered *** ****** a rental car at no charge while we attempted to locate a harness. We found only four remaining harness available, but to date *** ****** has declined both the rental car and the repairs. While we sympathize with *** ******'s concern, she was made aware from the beginning of the potential escalation of costs and events when it comes to repairing shorted wiring. Our offer still stands to provide her a rental car at no charge while her vehicle is being repaired. We are still waiting for her authorization.

8/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised "cash" in my pocket for a sale/trade, as well as transfer of personal plates to trade vehicle. I was told it would take an additional 3 days for the check, which has now been 3 weeks, and last thursday(7/31) was told this could take up to 6 weeks. Also, the girl at the dealership called on same day to ask if I wanted my personal plates transfered as there was no note saying otherwise. I saw the note written, so where did it go? Had I known up front that I would be waiting for my money, I would have NEVER made the deal. I traded in a 2010 Dodge Challenger with a clear title. They asked for my title and registration which I gave immediately. I now have broken promises, and a "temporary" registration. Nothing has been completed as promised

Desired Settlement: I would like to see immediate action taken on the agreement. My plates transfered, a registration, and no more excuses about the money they owe me. OR Give me my car back, as they did not fulfill their end of the agreement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/26) */ We are in receipt via mail your letter to us dated August 19, 2013 for Case # XXXXXXXX filed by Mr. **** *******. Mr. **** ******* purchased a used 2004 Ford F150 miles on July 14, 2013. In his complaint, he cited two outstanding issues as follows: Issue # 1 – The customer states he is looking for cash back as a result of his deal. Status of Issue # 1 –The customer is correct in that he was due a cash refund as a result of his deal. The customer received his refund and our check # XXXXXX made payable to him cleared our bank account on August 8, 2013. His refund was temporarily delayed pending receipt of the warranty refund check that needed to be signed over to the dealership by the customer to satisfy the balance of his down payment still due to the dealership. The customer was given his refund check after he signed over his warranty cancellation refund check to us. Our relatively new employee who he spoke to unfortunately was mistaken when telling him it could take up to 6 weeks. We appreciate his bringing this to our attention so that additional training can be provided. Issue # 2 – The customer states that he wanted the dealership to transfer his personal plates from the vehicle he traded in to the vehicle he purchased from us and that he saw the note written indicating same. Status of Issue # 2 – It is unfortunate that the note the customer says was written was misplaced or not noticed. However, our title clerk has been given instructions to contact our customers who have personal plates to see if they want them transferred if the title clerk does not see any notification in the deal. In the State of Washington, auto dealerships have 45 days to transfer title to the retail buyer of a vehicle. Mr. ******* purchased his vehicle on July 14, 2013 and the dealership licensed and transferred his personal plates to him on August 6, 2013, or 23 days after the date of sale. We regret any inconvenience Mr. ******* experienced in resolving these two issues. Should he have any other issues, please have him contact ***** ********, General Manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX, extension ***. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As soon as the warranty check was recieved by the dealership I was called, and the check was signed. My personal plates have since been transferred. It is my own opinion, that any dealership should make known ahead of time to customers about how things work and hopefully avoid complaints like this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Tom Matson Dodge Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart