BBB Accredited Business since

Rairdon's Dodge Chrysler Jeep of Bellingham

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 734-8810 Fax: (425) 609-6742 View Additional Phone Numbers 1615 Iowa St, Bellingham, WA 98229 http://www.dodgechryslerjeepofbellingham.com/index.htm View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rairdon's Dodge Chrysler Jeep of Bellingham meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rairdon's Dodge Chrysler Jeep of Bellingham include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rairdon's Dodge Chrysler Jeep of Bellingham
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1961 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated 01/26/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susan Longley, Treasurer Ms. Angela Rairdon, Secretary Mr. Greg Rairdon, President Ms. Heather Connolly, Office Manager Mr. Micah Madche, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Longley, Treasurer
Customer Contact: Mr. Micah Madche, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Ms. Angela Rairdon, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Greg Rairdon, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
DCOB Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1615 Iowa St

    Bellingham, WA 98229 (866) 448-0086 (425) 605-5601 (425) 821-0900 (877) 566-3407 (360) 734-8810

  • PO Box 30950

    Bellingham, WA 98228

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rairdon Group offered a $25.00 "no purchase required" Visa Pre-paid Visa card for visiting their dealership(s) in Bellingham. I visited their (Hyundai) Dealership. Purchased a used vehicle, and presented the email certificate which stated the Visa Card would be received within 10 days. When I did not receive the card, I completed the online notification that I had not received same. Now: (Purchased / Visited on January 30th - It is now March 26th 2016), I have still not received the (10 day) gift card.

Desired Settlement: I request that the $25.00 gift card be provided as promised. To ALL of the claimants of same.

Business Response:

We apologize for the delay.  A delay with the third party who processes the gift cards occurred.  We have contacted the customer and are mailing a check rather than waiting for the card to arrive.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

* ****** *****

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle in Bellingham WA, after being broke down on a trip. I purchased on 4/17/15 and then had to put the vehicle in the dodge dealership in Bakersfield ca on the 4/20/15. The tail pipe had fallen off. Also I was then told, I needed brakes, had manifold leaks, muffler leaks(holes) in same,total cost not yet totaled. Had another shop double check everything. Same result, except the manifold leaks were on both sides. Cost so far of over three thousand dollars. Also, contract had Bank of Umpqua as lien holder. Dodge stated that ******** ****** ***** was lien holder. Does not matter paperwork does not match and Ca DMV will not register the vehicle with correct title until fixed. Dodge stated not there problem. Tried to contact ******** ****** *****, but could not at first talk about account as mothers maiden name was not correct. Another mistake by dodge dealership. Application for loan was not correct. I have also contacted dodge dealership to cancel (STOP GAP INSURANCE) and (EXTENDED WARRANTY). So far everything wrong with the vehicle does not fall under this extended warranty. So far I've been told I need to sign a form, but have not been given the form to sign for either item. I wish refunds on both items. GAP INS/WARRANTY/and sales tax on both (297.00).

Desired Settlement: Pay for repairs. Get the lien holder paperwork corrected so vehicle can be register in ca. Get GAP INSURANCE REFUNDED AND CANCELED. GET EXTENDED WARRANTY CANCELED AND REFUNED. Sales tax on both refuned.

Business Response: We have offered to take a look at the vehicle when our customer is back in town.  In the case of a used vehicle, malfunctions may occur without warning, but we are happy to assist. The paperwork given to him was correct, and had the correct lienholder listed but we are also happy to help in any way we can. A cancellation form has been sent, and we are happy to assist with this as well.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have had my **** ******* Federal Credit Union, try to get a copy of my contract that states ******** ******* Credit Union was the Lien holder. This was not done; due to the fact that the paperwork that the Dealership has, is not the same paperwork that I was given.  Also; yesterday I received a letter from some insurance company, stating that the terms of insurance for the 2010 truck was rejected and that new terms were sent to the Dealership on my behave. I do not know anything about new terms.  What new terms?  I could not just drop by the Dealership to have the truck looked at; I am nearly a thousand miles away. If I had not been broke down I would not have purchased a vehicle from this Dealership; it was a medical emergency.  The brakes on the truck were just above two, and I could not trust them to get me more than a thousand miles to have the Dealership look at them.  Two different shops looked at the brakes with the same results.  Also, the shop stated the brakes were not very good quality.  Beside that; the leaks on the heads should have been found during the CERTIFIED VEHCILE CHECK. There were leaks on both sides of the engine. So far the Dealership has made it seem that everything was small, but to take a vehicle and then have to have it in the shop three days later is just a bad vehicle.  Yesterday, May 19, 2015, I receive a message from the Truck, it now needs a oil change. I would think that a simple oil change would have been part of the   CERTIFIED VEHCILE CHECK, this to would have showed up.  This shows me that the possibility that a check was not done at all; what else is going to go wrong this month. This Dealership just hasn't been very honest with me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: In some cases, malfunctions will occur to a pre-owned vehicle while towing a heavy trailer for a long distance.  We do perform a brake and safety check on our vehicles before they are sold, and the brakes were in safe condition as was the rest of the vehicle. We have offered assistance to our customer with the non-safety items which concern him, and he has said that he will be back in the state in less than a month.  If further assistance is needed with getting lienholder information to the customer's bank, our office manager, Heather C*******, will be happy to assist in this as well. As to the insurance information, we must assume that this relates to either the service contract or GAP insurance, for which the customer has requested cancellation and a refund.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I guess that the fact that the salesman and mechanic both informed me that the trailer I had at the dealership; would be more than enough to tow my trailer.  The trailer in this case is an extra light toyhauler. Now that the vehicle is mine, it no longer can tow this light; not heavy trailer?  My main complaint is that I had to put four thousand dollars into a truck that I purchased from this Dealership; (all with a week of purchase), does this sound as if there was a safety check or check of the vehicle at all; or was it just checked and lets get it off the lot.  I did come by the dealership last week, but it happened at one oclock in the morning.  Understandably no one was there.  My family comes first and I had hospital visit was more important. Just remember, I had to put more than four thousand dollars into this truck within the first week or so I owned the truck.  The first week I had the truck three days with me/five days with the shop. Nest I had the truck two days/shop two days. Not a truck that you would think had been check out before being sold.  It's not just the money, the entire dealership seems to have a lot of different ideas about being honest. From the salesmen, finance, to the shop. I just want people to know that this place of business is something they need to stay away from.

Sincerely,

***** *****

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This past February, I brought in my 2005 Town & Country Limited in for servicing as it was showing an engine light error. Prior to taking the car into service, I had taken the van into an auto parts supply store to see what the error code was. It indicated an issue with the engines first cylinder. When I made the appointment and took the van in for servicing, I informed the service office of this code. Upon initial inspection, there was a laundry list of problems with the van. This included motor mounts, need for full tune-up, etcetera. The cost was $3000.00 to which I agreed as it was less than the cost of the van itself. The van was repaired and I paid the $3000.00. But the same evening I picked it up following this repair, the check engine light came back on. I returned it to repair. It was explained to me that the initial repair was not the original problem but indicative of a larger issue: the first cylinder lifter. The $3000.00 repair had fixed all the problems that were most likely caused by the lifter failure and it was that I actually needed a new motor. This would cost an additional $3000.00 (plus $550 in rental). As I had already paid the original $3000.00, I was obligated to replace the motor. Since putting in the new motor, the van has been back into servicing 5 additional times for an ongoing belt squeal. Despite this large cost, multiple trips to repair, and inconvenience, the van continues to squeal obnoxiously.

Desired Settlement: I would like to take the van to another repair shop to have the squealing belt issue resolved. As it has been in 5 times for this squeal and the issue continues, I would like the Dodge Rairdon to pay for another shop to fix and stop ongoing belt noise problem.

Business Response: We have contacted Ms. ******, and have an appointment with her to take another look at her vehicle.  We will be providing her with a rental, and look forward to assisting her.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ******

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Rairdon on 3/20/14 for an oil change and possible alignment. I noticed that when driving my car, I had to consistently have the wheel turned in order to drive in a straight line. I went to the dealership and they told me that they would do the oil change and look at the alignment, but it was probably just due to the roads in the area. When they looked at the alignment, they said it was off and they would fix it. On my way home from the dealership, I noticed the issue was still there, but it is not easy for me to just go back to the dealer and have them fix it. My wife called a couple weeks later and told them about the issue. It took so long to call due to being busy with work and we were waiting for the service survey, since they will respond to that. When my wife called, they told her there is no issue, it is probably the roads. My complaint is that either, the car was out of alignment, they claimed to fix it, but did not do the repair I was charged for, or the car was not out of alignment, they claimed it was, and charged me for a bogus repair.

Desired Settlement: I want my car repaired correctly, the money refunded for my time and wasted efforts, plus the repair will be done without any hassle to me, ie. the car picked up and dropped back off at home with a rental to drive in the mean time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ We are happy to look at Mr. *******'s alignment and make corrections if necessary. At the time the vehicle was in our shop, our alignment machine showed that his vehicle was aligned properly after the work we performed.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2012 I brought my Jeep into Rairdon of Bellingham because it was not starting. When they told me it was fixed I went in to pick it up and paid my $100 deductible for the work they did under the extended warranty. I get in my Jeep and it doesn't start so they keep it for a few more days. They call me again to tell me it is starting and I can come pick it up. I drive it for a few days and when I go back to ******* to pick up a key it wont start again. They had swapped out parts that wasn't even the issue. They keep it again till they find out the problem and when I come to pick it up they tell me that all they had to do was move some wires that were getting to hot and was no big deal. On September 8th 2013 I try starting my Jeep but couldn't because it was having the same issue that happened a little over a year ago. We brought it in to Rairdon of Bellingham again and tell them we are have the same issue as before that they said they fixed. They told us that they would diagnose it for free and worst case it would be $200. We also thought we had the 10 year extended warranty. When they called me to tell me what was wrong *** informed me that our warranty for parts and labor was 12 months 12,000 miles and our extended warranty expired January of this year. And because the part that needs to be replaced was a lot of work would cost $2000. He had also told me that they didn't replace the part originally when we were having the problem the first time because it wasn't covered under the extended warranty. At that point I told him I needed to figure out what to do and ended the call. The next day I called the company that our extended warranty was through and asked them if it would have been covered and the person I was talking to said generally not but because we bought the plan from Rairdon and bought EXTRA coverage then yes it would have unless it was abuse so they would sent an inspector to verify that it was not abuse. I ask for a case number or if they kept records of calls and they said yes. I asked if anyone called to verify if the part would have been covered and they said no, one asked about that. The next call was to Jeep to ask if the wiring harness was over the catalytic converter because *** told me that it was a known issue with Jeep and the harness had melted because of the placement of the harness. After explaining to the the gal everything she looked up the info I ask for and told me that yes it was where he said. She then asked if it was ok for her to call *** to see what his side of things were. I said yes she put me on hold and called ***. After a long wait she told me he put her on hold for 10 minutes and wouldn't talk to her so she hung up. Later that day I went in to talk to them and told them what I found out and that they needed to fix their mistakes and fix the problem that they were paid for over a year ago but did not fix. The manager then told me that he would only take part of the responsibility and would not charge for labor but that we would need to pay $350 for the part. He also told me that $100 for over a year was a good deal. I told him no it wasn't and that I paid for them to fix the problem but they did not. I reminded him happened originally in May last year. He then told me that he could get the part for $300 and that I would need to bend a little. After talking with my husband on the phone we agreed that we just wanted to get it fixed and be done. They had to order the part which they got the following monday. I few days into the repair they said that another part failed, they didn't know what happened but ordered the part and installed at no charge. They also said the harness that they got had two wires crossed and took awhile to figure out. Got another call from Rairdon saying that they figured out what had been making a noise a few months ago and that the water pump and belt would need to be replaced and was not safe to drive so couldn't even take it to another shop. After being told it would be done in the afternoon the next day and not receiving a call I called them around 2 to find out what was going on. *** told me the belt had to be ordered and that is why it was taking longer. We went in to pick it up about 4:30pm on Friday. When I got into the driver seat I saw grease on the floor but because our kids were tired we went home and my husband called and talked to *** about the floor. A little while later I was going to leave to do a errand when I saw the damage to the side of the Jeep. I called and talked to the service manager and he said he was unaware of any damage and that his guys don't get in trouble for accidentally damaging customers cars. I was told to bring it in next week and they would look at it. When I brought it in Monday, it was raining so it didn't look as bad as it was and they said they would detail and buff the scratches. I also let him know about a clip that had come apart and another scuff mark on the other side of the bumper that wasn't like that before we had it at their shop. He said he would snap it back together and also buff the scuff. Dropped my Jeep off at 9am Tuesday, they said they need 3-4 hours to do a good job and I said I had to pick it up no later than 2pm. About 1:30 I called and asked if they were going to be done at 2 and *** said he had called me a few minutes ago and left a message but I never got a call or message. When I picked it up the deep scratches were still there and the service manager said he didn't know how the damage happened because they don't have a brush that would do damage like that. I called my husband and told him that he was not going to take responsibility for damaging our Jeep and left. When I got home I was outside and saw another clip that was broke that was right in line with the damage bringing me to the conclusion that they ran into something or someone ran into it while it was at their shop for two weeks. I also took pictures of everything and showed the pictures to them.

Desired Settlement: We should not have paid anything for their mistake they were trying to cover up. They need to pay to have the damage to the body fixed and refund the $300 plus tax for the wire harness that should have been covered the first time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ The repairs needed on *** ****'s vehicle were not covered by warranty, and she had expressed that paying only for the part was reasonable. Although her vehicle was not damaged while in our care, we would be happy to either have the fender of her vehicle painted or simply give her $200 as a show of goodwill. We will honor this offer until October 25th, and ask that she simply let us know which resolution she finds acceptable. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/10/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I got an estimate from ***** ********** **** ****** and to get the damage repaired the estimate is $555.28. I don't feel comfortable with Rairdon touching my Jeep anymore and it is clear $200 will not cover the cost of repair. I can email the estimate if they wish to see it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/10/28) */ Altough her vehicle was not damaged while in our care, we have been willing to either have her fender painted by a reputable party or give *** **** $200. We will decline paying a retail price at another body shop. If she does not desire to have the work performed or accept our offer, we certainly understand this. If she would like to reconsider, we will extend the offer until November 5th. She may contact our service manager, **** ******* if she does reconsider. Consumer Response /* (-5, 19, 2013/11/11) */ This issue was not resolved. I will be sharing my story with the media and anyone else I talk to. Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2013/11/13) */ My baby has health issues and I did not have time to respond letting you know I am not going to accept their offer. Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2013/11/13) */ We have attempted in good faith to resolve this issue with *** **** and have offered her $200. If she does not find this acceptable, there is nothing further that can be done. Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2013/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have made it clear that they are not going to take responsibility for the damage they have done to my Jeep. I will continue to tell my story to everyone and make sure this doesn't happen to anyone. I am going to post my story on the side of my Jeep so that everyone know how they treat their customers.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rairdon's Dodge Chrysler Jeep of Bellingham
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)