Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mullinax Ford

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 352-9300 Fax: (360) 956-9550 View Additional Phone Numbers 1925 Cooper Point Rd SW, Olympia, WA 98502 http://www.mullinaxfordolympia.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobile sales, service and parts. This company offers new and used automobile sales, service, and parts.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mullinax Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mullinax Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2000 Business started: 06/01/2000 Business started locally: 06/01/2000 Business incorporated 06/23/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Charles E Mullinax, Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles E Mullinax, Principal
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
All Star Ford

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1925 Cooper Point Rd SW

    Olympia, WA 98502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3121 Pacific Ave SE

    Olympia, WA 98501 (360) 352-9300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 11699

    Olympia, WA 98508

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new truck upon which they put a lift. The truck is still under warranty and we have an extended warranty which specifically covers lifts. Following a break line rupture the dealership told us it was under warranty and to have it towed to the nearest ford repair shop (****** in Shelton , WA). Once there, they told us it was not covered under warranty. Following 2 days of complaints, Chad and Brian (Mullinax managers) agreed it was covered. The next day, it was no longer covered even with the extended warranty which specifically says lifts are covered. Nonetheless, Ford says the extended warranty only covers factory parts, yet Ford doesn't sell an official lift. So, the vehicle was sold to us new represented as being 100% under Warranty, then sold us additional coverage to cover additional miles plus a Rider covering the lift. Neither of these appears to be the case. The vehicle remains I repaired and in-usable at the Shelton Dealership (******). We told them we'd be willing to accept a trade for a newer vehicle but they are requiring us to take a specific truck, which we do not want, and we would be penalized for turning in the defective vehicle early (we're in the red, they say). We'd prefer to trade because this is the third time this truck has had to go in for repairs associated with the lift. We just don't know what else will go wrong.

Desired Settlement: Fair trade for a new vehicle without penalty (being in red) or Proper repair under Warranty.

Business Response:


We completely understand Mr. ********** frustration in reading his complaint and we have tried to
assist to help resolve his concern where we could. The statement in Mr. ********** complaint "We
purchased a new truck upon which they put a lift" & "So, the vehicle was sold to us as new
represented as being 100% under warranty" is not true as it is directed against us. Mullinax Ford
of Olympia did not sell Mr. ******** his 2013 F-150. Mr. ******** purchased this vehicle from
All Star Ford on May 12, 2014. All Star Ford contracted DSI (Dealer Services International)
to install the suspension lift before Mr. ******** purchased it. Mullinax Ford of Olympia was not
involved with the purchase or the installation of the suspension lift.



Mr. ******** did review with our sales staff the possibility of trading in his 2013 F-150 to
Mullinax Ford of Olympia. In which Mr. ******** was offered fair market value for his vehicle as
a trade, but he declined. Mr. ******** felt that Mullinax Ford of Olympia should be responsible
for absorbing the negative equity in his vehicle or give him the full original purchase
price for the 2013 F-150 as trade value and if not, threatened to go to BBB and the
Attorney General's office against us. At this point Mr. ******** was advised and given
the contact information to All Star Ford (as the business still exists to handle their
liabilities) to resolve his demands with the value of the vehicle or any unresolved brake repair
concerns.



The only other involvement Mullinax Ford of Olympia has had with Mr. ******** was to assist him
with getting his brake concern resolved. Mullinax Ford of Olympia contacted the installer of the
suspension lift DSI. We put the DSI representative in direct contact with both Mr. ********
and ****** Auto Center to resolve the brake line concern on his vehicle. As of April 29, 2016 we
were called by ****** Auto Center and told that Mr. ********** vehicle was repaired and that DSI
was paying for the brake line repairs in full.



Mr. ********** also mentioned in his complaint that "this is the third time this truck has had to
go in for repairs associated with the lift". To date Mullinax Ford of Olympia has never serviced
Mr. ********** 2013 F-150 for any vehicle repairs.
So I am respectfully requesting that this fraudulent complaint against Mullinax Ford of Olympia's be removed from our file and redirected to the two correct and only companies that can effectively resolve  ** *********** concerns. First there is All Star Ford LLC that originally sold the vehicle to ** ******** and the second would be the installer of the suspension lift DSI (Dealer Services International). I have listed below the two companies with addresses and contacts that are involved with ** ******** purchase and installation of the suspension lift.

***************************

****************************

*****************************

*****************************

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


This business, Mullinax Ford of Olympia/Lacey, did not make a proposal for solving my complaint.  Instead, they rejected any form of solution blaming others for deficiencies.  Requests to Mullinax for assistance to correct the vehicle safety malfunction were ignored in favor of blame aimed at All Star Ford and others.  Recognizing Mullinax misdirection, ****** Auto Sales in Shelton, WA treated us respectfully and professionally.  

This matter arose because of a failed brake line.  In an attempt to have it repaired, I was given conflicting messages regarding purchased warranties (when we purchase the Ford F-150 new, we bought additional "wrap" coverage.  In the end I was told by Mullinax all warranties were void due to a lift they installed when new.  Our Ford F-150 was still under the original manufacturers warranty, yet Mullinax refused to help with repairs, insisting (as a Ford dealer) they had no responsibility (because Mullinax "purchased All-Star Ford assets, not liabilities").  I was repeatedly told they did not sell me the truck and had no records regarding my purchase, yet they continue to send me emails encouraging me to buy a new vehicle from them as it had been two years since our original purchase with them.  I simply wanted my truck fixed under warranty, which Mullinax assured me it would be, but once towed to the shop, all warranties were suddenly void.  It was only after repeated calls and visits to their showroom that they were willing to give contact information of other dealers and vendors, while still maintaining they were not required to do anything.  I suggested that I should be able to bring my truck to any Ford dealership for repair under warranty, to which they agreed but then proceeded to deflect responsibility.  To date, Mullinax insists warranties (the original manufacturer warranty and two other warranties I purchased for nearly $5,000) are void.

While is is true that I was willing to trade my truck for a newer model because of the brake problem, Mullinax would only do so by adding negative equity, increasing the length of the loan,  and only on one specific color and vehicle model chosen by Mullinax.    So in reality, Mullinax wanted to force us to absorb negative equity created, in part, by safety deficiencies and loss of warranties while at the same time clearing a specific vehicle off their lot which they have been unable to sell.  We also asked for them to buy the vehicle back, but only if they did not repair the truck and provide us with assurance that purchased warranties would be honored.  Mullinax would not agree to honor the factory warranty or assist in any way the use of the additional "wrap" warranty.  The vehicle was ultimately repaired, but only after we agreed to pay the cost and because ****** Auto Sales (third party) agreed to help as they were good businessmen and women (as well as standing behind a Ford vehicle).  Unfortunately, because of extended delays, we were forced to buy another vehicle causing added hardship.

Lastly, Mullinax claims they have no record of the sale or maintenance of my truck yet we have records of the sale, service by them, and (as stated above) emails requesting us to consider buying another Ford from them at the two year anniversary from the original purchase.  If they have no records as they claim , how do they know to solicit another sale from me as two years have passed.

This entire matter could have been avoided if Mullinax Ford had simply agreed to fix a warrantied Ford truck (regardless of point of sale). Once Ford towed the truck away under the guise of warranty coverage, they refused the repair telling us that at 25,000 miles we had no warranty.  Our complaint was no longer only about failure to fix brakes, but also about Ford selling new modified unwarrantied vehicles and Mullinax misleading statements and misrepresentation of the circumstance.

I strongly suggest that any prospective buyer avoid Mullinax dealerships.  While they are very happy to sell you a vehicle and press you to buy additional warranties, the will refuse to stand behind the Ford name, will not honor warranties, and will threaten you with a "team of lawyers" if you complain.  They will portray themselves as doing everything in their power to help once you do complain, but in reality they've do nothing at all, call you a liar, while at the same time blame and deflect all negativity toward others.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Business Response: RE: ******** * *******
File# ********
P. 0. Box 11519
Olympia, WA 98508
360-352-9300
www.mullinaxford.com
May25, 2016
Mullinax Ford of Olympia has responded to Mr. ********'s original complaint in which we stated the
facts surrounding this complaint. When Mullinax Ford of Olympia presented Mr. ******** with the
contact information to All Star Ford for resolution to his concerns, Mr. ******** refused to contact
them and ever since Mr. ******** has been trying to hold Mullinax Ford of Olympia responsible for a
vehicle purchase transaction, repairs and warranty liabilities that we have never been involved with nor
do we have the ability to resolve.
We have no other comments for this complaint other than what was addressed in our original BBB
response, Mr. ******** will need to direct his concerns and his complaint to the only companies that
have the ability to resolve them which are listed below.
All Star Ford LLC
Attn: Mark V*****
606 SE I 17th Ave. Suite 100
Vancouver, W A 98683
DSI (Dealer Services International)
400 W. Artesia BLVD.
Compton, CA 90220
Once again Mullinax Ford of Olympia is requesting that this fraudulent complaint be stricken from our
file.
Sincerely,
Kevin N*********r
General Manager
Mullinax Ford of Olympia
(360) 943-9300
***********@mullinaxford.com

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All Star Ford sold me a car on May 27th, 2014. This car was used, but said to be reliable. This car has broken down on me 3 times already and nothing is covered under the warranty that they sold me. I was told that the warranty covers everything under the hood, bumper to bumper except tires. I have had to pay out of pocket each time my car has broken down because the warranty apparently doesn't cover much of anything. I asked them to take this car back and put me in something more reliable, but the new name of All star Ford is Mullinax and they said they don't have to honor any of the old customers. They said that I could contact All star Fords attorney and take it up with them, but didn't give me a name or anything. I traded in my car for this plus put money down, I have 4 kids and I'm a single mom. I can't be without a running vehicle. One of my daughters had brain cancer, I need to travel to Seattle with her but can't when my car is broken down.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to buy this car back and put me in a more reliable car.

Business Response: All Star Ford, LLC is currently looking into your claim. We will provide a formal response on or before January 30, 2015. We apologize for the delay. Because of a recent sale of the dealership, there was a delay in our receipt of your claim. Thank you for your patience.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks.

Business Response: As we discussed on the phone, this office represents All Star Ford, LLC ("All Star Ford"). On July 16, 2014, substantially all of the assets of All Star Ford were sold to ******** **** of Olympia, LLC. While we sympathize with Ms. ****** situation, All Star Ford cannot do anything. When a customer brings in a vehicle for service, dealership practice is to analyze the issue with the vehicle and make a determination of whether or not the issue is covered by warranty. Apparently, the issues with Ms. ****** vehicle were not covered by the warranty she purchased. If there is a specific issue she believes should have been covered, we welcome her to provide additional information which we can further investigate if appropriate.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I contacted ******** ****, they said it was an issue I needed to take up with All Star Ford. How can I take this up with All Star Ford when nobody from All Star Ford is available? I was told the extended warranty that I purchased covered everything, bumper to bumper, except the tires. I have had my car in the shop 7 times now for the same issue. An issue that isn't covered under warranty. I feel this car falls under the lemon law and would like this problem resolved. I am not ok with everyone passing the buck and not taking responsibility. I was sold a piece of crap car and I want it fixed.

7/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to all star ford to buy a car from them and they were nice in the beginning, but i did not have access to my pay stubs, so i had to talk to my manager about getting them the next day to fiance the car i want. Next thing you know i was waiting for them to finalize my sell, next thing you know the police come and talk to me about Forgery on my bank statement and pay stub were being accuse of being FALSE. They were not false. I was being threaten to be arrested for forgery, but i talk to my manager to verify this mess with me. the salesmen ***** came to me and told me " How ******* dare you come into my lot and try to steal from us" I will **** you up. I told him to go *** himself. right in front of the police officer he said that. This bald ******* told me that: " this was all a bunch of ********!!!" I told him that i don't appreciate being called a criminal and told that. So i got to go from this mess back home and i realize i forgot my glasses from one of their cars i was test driving. So i came back peacefully and ask if i can find my glasses, he acted like he didn't know me until five minutes later. He said" didn't i see you hear earliar trying to buy a car, alright you need to leave now or i will call the police". I said "i am not doing anything wrong here to get this type of treatment from you." "The less you talk the better", is what the baldy salesmen said to me from the all star ford lot. He also told me "to go get drunk and rob the **** convenience store instead of theirs.

Desired Settlement: I want this business to go out of business for good and get money back for cost of getting new glasses total up to $450. Also monetary funds for distress that was cause by them up to $5000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ All Star Ford elects not to respond to this complaint and insists the BBB contact the ******* ****** ********** where a case has been opened. You can contact the ******* ****** ********** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Regards, **** *****

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While waiting for a 2010 ford taurus that I had financed with ********************** / all star ford they said we will fix the body damage chipped windshield and peeling tint on the passenger side window and until then they said they will pay for a rental car until the vehicle is repaired. After 3 weeks had passed they called and finally notified me that my car was ready for pickup. They told me they were only paying for the rental car for 3 days. Simply because ********** didn't notify them that we had the rental car and we had the car for 11 days. I asked why I would pay for the rental car when you guys said you would pay and I have a rental car due to them not having a ready car. They said call your insurance and see what they would cover because they are not going over 3 days.

Desired Settlement: Paying off the rest if the days of the rental car. Or if not some kind of perk like free car washes or free gas for a year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/23) */ To whom it may concern: The************** purchased a vehicle from All Star Ford / ********** **** ******* That vehicle was not ready to take home the day he bought it. Before agreeing to buy the vehicle, the customer was aware they would not be able to take it home until the repairs were done. Since they had recently totaled their vehicle, they were borrowing a friends car. When *** and his co-buyer expressed that there was an issue (because the friend they were borrowing a car from wanted their car back), we offered to help out with a rental car. *** spoke with ********** at ********** **** ******* and **** told *** that he needed to come sign some paperwork so we could help with a rental car. In these circumstances in the past, we have paid for 3-4 days worth of rental car use, which is what we had offered on the document the customer was supposed to sign. The customer never came in to do the agreement, and we did not know that they had taken out a rental car until the day before the customer picked up their new car. Additionally, the customer was offered up to a month's use of a rental car from their insurance company. The customer declined the free rental car. In an act of good will, All Star Ford agreed to cover up to 4 days of their rental car use. The last we had heard about it, the customer was trying to get their insurance company to pay for the remainder of their rental car usage. We feel that we have gone above and beyond for ********* buy offering to assist with a portion of his rental car use. Per the good will agreement that the customer signed, All Star Ford considers this matter resolved, and closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mullinax Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)