Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dick's Mackenzie Ford

Phone: (503) 693-1133 View Additional Phone Numbers 4151 SE Tv Hwy, Hillsboro, OR 97123 http://www.mackenzieford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick's Mackenzie Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dick's Mackenzie Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dick's Mackenzie Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 01/01/1925 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1925 Business incorporated 02/26/1996 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shannon Inukai, Vice President Morley Fletcher, General Sales Manager Mr. Roger Mackenzie, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shannon Inukai, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Air Conditioning Equipment New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Mackenzie Motor Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dick's Mackenzie Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4151 SE Tv Hwy

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (503) 844-4058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the dealership approved for a specific vehicle. Once we negotiated price, I was subjected to multiple pushes to attempt to finance through the dealership, despite my statement that I wanted to remain with Capital One. I was very clear that I did not want any offers of financing by the dealership, and that I had my own. I will still pushed, and declined. 2 Weeks later I kept receiving multiple letters from creditors saying Dick's applied for financing on my behalf. I had my credit report pulled over 17 to date, when I specifically stated that I did not want this, and only authorized them to pull it once, to confirm my identity so that I could drive the vehicle home. I have been in discussion with Shaun the sales manager, who doesn't see this as an issue and insists that I gave my consent to apply additional financing. I feel the dealership is intentionally and fraudulently applying for financing despite clear directions not to, as a means to obtain a sales contract with a partnered financing company in an effort to pad their bottom line, and bring in further income in the most unethical way. Repeated attempts to communicate with Shaun have had no resolution and insist that I must have given my consent or they wouldn't have applied for all these lenders. Furthermore he contends that I never communicated that I didn't want financing ran, and wanted to stay with Capital One. Shaun's go-to line is now to ask why I applied for credit, if I didn't want any. And I continue to reiterate that I was told I had to fill out the application to have my credit pulled in an effort to verify identity and drive the vehicle off the lot, despite financing with Capital One. Which I do have documentation that I was required to do.

Desired Settlement: I wish for the company to contact all the lenders that they applied for financing on by behalf for, against my consent, and inform them that they did so without my consent and have the hard inquiries removed from my credit report. Additionally, I request the company immediately cease and desist in the unethical application of credit for customers that clearly and implicitly request that they DO NOT want them to finance on their behalf.

Business Response:

***Please see attached documents***

Mr. M***** submitted an online credit application, authorizing us permission to pull credit, and submit the application to lenders on 9/27/2015. On his second visit to our store, Mr. ****** agreed to purchase a 2012 Ford F-150. During the sales process, Mr. ****** also completed another finance/credit application and was clear at this point that he was pre approved with Capital One. The pre approval with Capital One still required us to submit his loan application. As part of our process we require a hand signed application in addition to the electronic credit application. Most lenders including Capital One require the hard copy of the credit application to be included with the loan application package.

Capital One pre approval that was brought in had a variance on the interest rate. We explained that we would need to send it over to Capital One for approval to get a final interest rate. Capital One auto approved the deal, but at the high end of the rate spectrum. As part of our customer service process, we always try to find competitive terms for our customers. Mr. ****** was no exception to this; Unfortunately Capital One was the only lender that approved the deal.

We take all credit inquiries seriously and only submit an application with written and or online consent from a customer.

I understand that Mr. ****** is concerned about inquires on his credit report. I have provided information from Experian, Equifax, and myfico.com to assure him that the inquiries made to his credit, will not adversely affect his credit score.

I have included a copy of the credit application, the online credit application and pre approval.

If Mr. ****** has any additional questions or concerns, he is free to call me directly at ************ or email at *************************


Equifax.com:
The 30-day grace period is not a credit myth. It’s probably a smart idea to compare rates and check out loan offers from several lenders before making a purchase of a car or a house.
Under normal circumstances, if you apply for a mortgage or an auto loan, any inquiries related to that application made within 30 days count as ONE inquiry. Even if you visit twenty lenders and all of them pull a copy of your credit report, those twenty inquiries should count as only one inquiry.
Experian.com:
When shopping for a car, it is common for auto dealers to submit your information to multiple lenders in an effort to find the lowest interest rate and most favorable loan terms. This practice allows you to benefit from lenders competing for your business. The same practice is used for mortgage lending.
Experian lists each inquiry that is made into your file for two years, so that you have a complete record of who has reviewed your credit history. However, you don’t need to worry about inquiries for auto and mortgage loans affecting your credit scores.
Lenders recognize that shopping for only one car or mortgage does not mean you are trying to open multiple new accounts. Credit scoring systems have been designed to account for that practice and include rules such as counting the same type of inquiry as only one inquiry as long as they are made within a short period of time.


Myfico.com:

What to know about "rate shopping."
Looking for a mortgage, auto or student loan may cause multiple lenders to request your credit report, even though you are only looking for one loan. To compensate for this, FICO Scores ignore mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring. So, if you find a loan within 30 days, the inquiries won't affect your scores while you're rate shopping. In addition, FICO Scores look on your credit report for mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries older than 30 days. If your FICO Scores find some, your scores will consider inquiries that fall in a typical shopping period as just one inquiry. For FICO Scores calculated from older versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 14 day span. For FICO Scores calculated from the newest versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 45 day span. Each lender chooses which version of the FICO scoring formula it wants the credit reporting agency to use to calculate your FICO Scores.


8/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dick's Mackenzie Ford listed a 2006 Merecedes-Benz S600 with 74,094 miles online for $9,995. This is a very low price for the vehicle in question so I contacted the dealer and began the process of checking the car out the day it was listed for sale, which was a Saturday. I was contacted almost immediately by a member of the sales staff. I asked some questions about the car, like where it came from and what condition it was in. It was a trade in they were looking to turn over quickly. Because I live in North Carolina it wasn't feasible to fly out and look at the car in Oregon, so I hired an independent vehicle inspector. The inspector I sent is a L1 Advanced ASE Master Certified Technician, which means he is at least as qualified if not more qualified than the MOST qualified technician that works at this FORD dealership. In the extensive report he gave me back on the car he found that the vehicle is in more than acceptable condition, despite the fact that he himself told me the car was likely a basket case at the price it is listed at. It needs nothing more than tie-rod ends and a couple radiator hoses to be in top shape. There was inconclusive evidence of a possible exhaust leak, but nothing that negatively effects the vehicle (he said it could be missing insulation). The inspection occurred on Wednesday and I attempted to buy the car on Thursday. They refused to sell me the vehicle. They said they were pulling it from the market and giving it to "the wholesalers" because it was "not in a condition to sell." I know this to be untrue, and they behave like I never had an inspection done for myself and couldn't possibly know the condition of the vehicle. They used the word "liability", and I explained I would be happy to buy the car as-is, since I am well aware of the vehicle's condition. They would have none of it. I don't know what game they are playing, maybe they are trying to get more money out of the car than what it was advertised for, but their business practices are anything but honest.

Desired Settlement: I want them to either sell me the car they advertised at the price it was advertised at when I first contacted the dealership or they need to reimburse me for wasting my time, at least to the tune of the $209 independent inspection that proves the car is in more than sell-able condition.

Business Response: Our entire inventory is automatically listed online as soon as we take the vehicle in, either by
purchase, or trade in. From the very beginning, while we were taking this vehicle in on trade, based
on information we received from the previous customer and visual inspection we knew that the
vehicle had had extensive body damage. We were unable to verify the structural integrity of the
vehicle. Since the accident was reported, that vehicle had been in and out of the shop many times.
We also knew from prior experience that the Mercedes S600 can be problematic.

Based upon an excessive amount of the vehicle being repainted, and no guarantee of what kind of
repairs had been done to the vehicle, we made the decision internally to not sell this vehicle
publically. We explained to Mr. ***** our position on the car many times. He kept insisting on
wanting the vehicle even after we told him that we did not want to sell the vehicle. We did not
feel comfortable selling this vehicle to anyone without being able to fully back the vehicle, and
in this case we simply could not do so.




Shaun W****

General Sales Manager

Dick's Mackenzie Ford

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
It doesn't matter whether or not they felt they could back the car or whether or not the cars are problematic. What the dealership fails to understand every time is that I had the car inspected independently. So no matter what their unsubstantiated gut feeling about the condition of the vehicle was, a L1 ASE certified Master Tech judged the car to be in good working sellable condition. And I had been approved for a bumper to bumper aftermarket warranty for anything and everything that could go wrong. I told this to both salesmen and they still refused to do business with me. The dealership cannot claim to be the only party who fully understood the condition the vehicle was in. The dealership wasted my time and my money, and I think I am at least due the $209 for the inspection I attached to my first complaint that proves they are not being completely truthful.
Sincerely,

****** *****

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we had purchased the car we were given a car fax sheet stating the car had a clean title history and had never been in an accident. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle I noticed that the temperature of the vehicle had only two extreme temperatures in the car - super hot or super cold. After a few months I wanted the car to display the outside temperature and noticed something was wrong. So thinking it must be a problem with possibly the computer system I took it in to another Ford dealership to have it looked at. They explained to us that the car had been in accident before and that you could tell the the bumper was replaced and the sensor was broken off of the car and had not been replaced. We were upset to find this out because we had bought the car with the impression that it had not been in any accidents. Knowing that we bought the car from ****'s ********* Ford, we called them to see if this is something they could help us with since we bought the car from them. We did not have the car repaired at all until we heard from ****'s *********. But of course they never returned our phone calls or directed us to the right person to talk to. Since we felt they were stiffing us, I had the car repaired and was given the part that was broken. Even after I had the car repaired I tried contacting a manager or sales rep to settle this problem and was directed to Ford Motor company. Ford reassured me that the repair I had done on the vehicle was due to a collision and damage to the sensor. If the company had run an inspection on the car they would have noticed a problem with the sensor. Although car fax states it had never been in an accident, if a car had been in a fender bender and not reported, auto body shops do not report that on car fax. After gathering that information, I contacted ****'s again to see if this is something that they could resolve with a manager. Instead the had the some other sales rep call us back, unable to respond I called back and talked with a sales manager. From the moment I said who I was he acted like he was ready for a fight and told me that because I did not even think of calling them or taking to their dealership that there is nothing they could do. I let him know that we did contact ****'s multiple times and tell them the situation and noone called us back or directed us to the right person. He apologised for that but for the rest he basically said that I was out of luck. He stated that he would let the General Manager and Service department know what has happened and someone would be in contact. Like the many times, again NO ONE has called or emailed me to resolve this issue

Desired Settlement: I would like an official apology from the business for selling us a car that had been in an accident and for them to pay for the sensor that we had to put back into our car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/03) */ *********, I on behalf of Dicks Mackenzie Ford, and Dicks Auto Group would like to apologize for your experience with our staff. The way that you were treated was very unprofessional, and unlike how we train our staff. We should have called you back when requested and followed up with the conversations you had with our staff. We were unaware that the vehicle you purchased had been in any kind of accident, and were also unaware that there was a sensor needing replacement. We agree with your request for reimbursement, and we are happy to do so. I would like to take the time to apologize again for your experience, and for failing to meet your expectations, and our own. Please know that is not how we conduct business. We take pride in our business, our community, and our reputation. If you have any questions, please contact me personally at XXX-XXX-XXXX or ******@dicksautogroup.com Thanks, ***** *****

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service department was not only condescending and rude, but immediately went to work on trying to assure us that the repair was probably not covered under the Ford 5-year/60k-mile warranty (before even looking at the vehicle). After having the vehicle over night, and needing to be reminded at noon that they were supposed to be looking at it, I received a call late in the afternoon stating just what I had thought, they had found the culprit and that one part just so happened to be not covered under the power-train warranty. I would be stuck not only replacing the part, but also for the repair of the parts that were destroyed by said unwarranted part (The parts that were broken happened to be under warranty, but weren't covered because the cause was this other part) After talking to the manager they decided that they would cover the warranted parts under the warranty (gee thanks), but I'd have to pay for the other part (approx $600 in parts and labor). After reaching this dead end they went about ordering parts, during this time I had requested the part number so that I could check with Ford on the warranty, the part they told me they were replacing and the part number they were ordering were different (the part they were charging me for was $150 more). After some back-and-forth the service manager realized that I was right, and he was about to order the wrong part. He ordered the correct part (another day later), but when the parts finally came in, and my car had been at the dealer all week, that's when I received notification that they forgot to order a part (a $5 snap ring), and it would be another 2 days. This meant another weekend without my vehicle. When I complained about this they suggested that they were doing me a favor by paying for the parts that were under warranty, and by giving me a loaner car. When I asked to be contacted by upper management because the repair was taking 2 weeks, and their incompetence was making me weary of their ability to actually fix the vehicle correctly, I was flat out ignored.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $452.30 spent on the repairs that should be covered by warranty

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ I spoke to Mr. *****. I let him know that I was willing to refund the $452.30 if it was going to restore his confidence in Dick's MacKenzie Ford. He thanked me for calling but said he would not be returning. I thanked him for his honesty and for talking with me. I also emailed him with my contact information should he change his mind or wish to contact me in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Dick's Mackenzie Ford
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart