BBB Accredited Business since

Capitol Chevrolet Cadillac Subaru Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 888-0591 View Additional Phone Numbers 2855 Maple Ave NE, Salem, OR 97301 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.capitolauto.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales, service and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Chevrolet Cadillac Subaru Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol Chevrolet Cadillac Subaru Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol Chevrolet Cadillac Subaru Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1927 Business started locally: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Casebeer, Director of Marketing Mr. Scott Casebeer, President Mr. Bob Myers, COO Mr. Brian Schindler, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Casebeer, Director of Marketing
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Schindler, Marketing
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Capitol Auto West Valley Capitol Subaru of Salem

Additional Locations

  • 2855 Maple Ave NE

    Salem, OR 97301 (800) 888-0591

  • 3235 Cherry Ave NE

    Salem, OR 97301 (855) 349-4857

  • 812 SE Jefferson St

    Dallas, OR 97338 (888) 517-7727

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new car from a Chevy dealer about 4 years ago. I experienced issues with one of my hoses so I brought the car to the dealership. The service department identified the hose and replaced it. No other recommendations where made at time, I assumed the car was safe to drive otherwise the service department would be putting me in danger. the next day during my commute to work the car overheated. I immediately pull over and get towed to the dealership by AAA. I called ahead to inform the service department that the same car they just had in was coming back, I was not happy after having service done a very short time before this failure, so I expressed my concern. I asked to check all the hoses and make sure the car is in good order so I would not be stranded on a dangerous highway again in the near future. Minimal service was preformed, another hose was replaced as the cause of the over heating. Service also told us the steering gear need to be fixed it was UNSAFE to drive as it. I was alarmed to know that I was driving unsafely even after the dealership inspecting the car days earlier (Why was this issue not found then?). the service was preformed and I drove the car home. Over the weekend another hose was causing a issue and the dealership was closed. This car being my only way to work need to be fixed, and I had the hose replaced by another service provider because it was a Sunday. I am very unhappy that the dealership that claims to be experts the most qualified to work on Chevrolet cars have repeatedly overlooked serious issues causes unsafe driving conditions. I have concerns that when I ask for preventative maintenance recommendations they offer no suggestions but will charge me to fix symptoms of an underlying issue. I would like to feel confidant that I am driving a safe car and the dealership has not provided the level of service they advertise.

Desired Settlement: I would like the service I requested be done correctly and to the standards the dealership claims to provide. With the option to use a different dealership. I have lost trust in this location.

Business Response:

In Receipt of your comments, The vehicle was not purchased from our Dealership, The vehicle is a 2011 Chevrolet Aveo ***************** that was first brought into our repair facility on December 11, 2015 with 77,887 miles on it. We did not have any maintenance records for the vehicle, Customer stated that temp gauge went over way, lost power and acceleration. Upon inspection, technician noted that coolant was very low, and looked like overflow bottle had pushed out coolant due to faulty check valve and radiator cap. We performed a block test at that time and it passed. We ran the vehicle for over two hours and found no leaks. On March 18, 2016 vehicle was towed in to our facility and customer stated that he replaced his heater hose himself because it came off. He stated that coolant was not cycling and temp gauge starts to get hot and them goes back down. Our technician noticed that the heater hose that the customer changed themselves was leaking because they used an aftermarket clamp that was to big for the hose.  We found an air pocket in the system and had to purge, we performed a pressure test and found the water leaking. we replaced the water pump and thermostat. Road tested vehicle no other leaks were found. On April 21, 2016 customer had the vehicle towed back into our facility stating that it was leaking coolant. The next day the customer **** ******** came in with ******* ***** and myself and my Assistant Service Manger spoke with them. ******* kept asking why we did not perform a block test the first time? We Did! I also explained to the both of them that we have no maintenance records or history of the vehicle and that someone other than us has clearly been working on this same concern, I stated that all of the hosed have aftermarket hose clamps on them and that the one that customer stated he did himself was clearly too big for the vehicle. I explained that we would perform another block test, and that the radiator needed replaced. ******* did all of the talking, not **** who we had been dealing with. We replaced the radiator, performed the block test and ran the vehicle multiple times over the next two days before contacting customer to re-deliver. We replaced the radiator, coolant, and block tested the system with no expense to the customer.

We agree, the customer should take the vehicle to another repair facility in the future. We have only tried to track down and repair concerns that someone else has already been into. I truly hope that the coolant concern is resolved and that the customer chooses a repair facility that can meet there expectations.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The reason why you could not find any service records was because the Aveo did not run into any issues. We are the original owners. Your dealership was the first one to have ever touch the cooling system starting on December 18. With that said the issue is coming from the March 18th visit when I came in with blown heater hose. You guys said you fixed the issue pressure tested radiator cap, pressure tested system found water pump leak replaced water pump and thermostat also you guys replaced steering gear. Did not do block test. Funny thing in your response you also neglected to mention that a mere two weeks later I came back in on April 7th with a blown lower radiator hose. Which you guys put aftermarket hose clamps on lower radiator hose you fixed. So that argument is invalid. I spoke to Mark your service tech and said to him that I want you guys to find out why I'm blowing radiator hoses and fix the problem. You guys fixed radiator hose pressure tested system and radiator cap NO BLOCK TEST. After receiving car back Mark said that he could not assure me that another radiator hose was going to blow. Which means you guys did not fix issue you guys did not do everything you could, because you never addressed the issue of pressure getting into my cooling system causing my radiator hoses to blow. On April 10 my upper radiator hose blew and it was a Sunday and your dealership was closed so I had Firestone fix it. April 21 the radiator hose you guys flamed to have fixed you know the one I fix but used an oversize clamp as you put it well that started leaking. Took car into dealership spoke to Aaron **** did ask why the block test was not performed before? Which you again failed to do on March 18, April 7th (after I specifically said to fix the issue not just the hose). You also failed to fix the leaking radiator hose that was origanlly brought in on March 18. We were given a new radiator because our radiator was damaged due to the negleance of your service team addressing the issue of residual pressure in the cooling system. You guys then fixed radiator pressure tested system radiator cap, and finally performed BLOCK TEST. Also you added factory hose clamps to both heater hoses but not the lower radiator hose (you failed to mention you guys repaired on April 7th) you did not take off aftermarket clamps you doubled up on them . My guess is that your service tech did this to remedy the issue of the hoses backing themselves off because of the residual pressure inside the cooling system that you guys failed again to fix. Also would like to point out when you said that I had said I knew all of the hoses have aftermarket clamps which you guys fixed two which you guys put on we're way too big which was not the case because as you stated before **** did all of the talking.Your pathetic attempt to make yourselves not look like the bad guys is laughable since I have documentation on what services you did do and you guys did not perform block test on March 18 & April 7th when it came back for same problem. This car will be back if another radiator hose blows due to your service teams negleance and you will perform service up to customer standards as you and your team has failed to meet those obligations in fixing the issue. You guys DID NOT try to track issues down because if you did I wouldn't have to spend over $ 2,500 at your facility diagnosing the same issue over and over. An issue you guys failed to fix after 4 attempts. You replaced radiator because it was damaged due to residual pressure in cooling system. You also failed to mention that radiator was not leaking on March 18 April 7th you guys found leak on third attemp April 21. If you guys pressure tested system correctly you would've found leak.....



Sincerely,
**** ********

7/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Location: Account Cart Help Messages . Search the List Shop Deals ***************** Answers Write a Review . *****'s **** **** ** ********** *** Indianapolis, IN 46202 Phone: X-XXX-XXX-LIST (XXXX) Hours: Monday through Friday: 8:30 am - 8:15 pm EST Saturday: 8:30 am - 3:00 pm EST Review Date: May 27, 2014 Company Name: Capitol Chevrolet Cadillac Category: Auto Service Services Performed: Yes * More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed. Work Completed Date: May 15, 2014 Hire Again: No Approximate Cost: $56,000.00 Description Of Work: Purchase of 2014 Cadillac SRX This was by far the worst car buying experience I have ever endured, and that is saying allot as I have purchased many vehicles over the past 30 years. I was intrigued by the incentives on the specific SRX I purchased, but wasn't really in the market for a new vehicle as I currently own a luxury vehicle made by a competitor. After a significant amount of negotiations I agreed upon the terms and signed the sales agreement. I was told that the terms were approved, and I drove the vehicle home. Eight (8) days later when I discovered that I had left some prescription sunglasses in my previous vehicle, I drove to the dealership to retrieve them. I was approached by my salesperson and was advised that the terms of the original agreement were not available, and that the dealer was requesting a $8,000.00 down payment in order to honor the terms of the original contract. You might be able to deduct where this is going. Keep in mind, the original deal required 0 down. I was advised by a third party, one with whom I had no previous interactions, that "these things happen", and offered to fill up my previous vehicle with gas with two free oil changes to compensate me for my trouble. This after I drove the vehicle for eight (8) days, showed it to friends, co-workers, and family. I was told ( in the middle of the showroom) that my debt to income ratio didn't match. That little detail was never disclosed to me at any time during the previous eight (8) days. I recall asking when they planned on sharing with me this most recent development, and was advised that they were attempting to resolve the issue. At no time did I embellish, misrepresent, or lie about my income or debt. I NEVER would have agreed to take delivery of this vehicle had the dealer expressed any concern over the terms of the contract. To add insult to injury, after expressing great dismay over how this all unfolded, I was assured by the General manager that he was going to get to the bottom of all of this, further assuring me that not only would he resolve this matter, he guaranteed that he would personally get back to me the next business day. He further encouraged me to take the vehicle home again as he was confident he could resolve this mess. I chose not to take the vehicle home again as I had no confidence in this dealership or it's management team. Not only did he NOT make contact me the next business day, he did not resolve any of the issues. The original sales person has reached out with offers on other vehicles, but I would sooner pour salt in a wound. By far, the most unprofessional group of individuals I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with. Thankfully, there are plenty other dealerships who deserve my business. Subsequent to filing my original complaint with the dealership, I have learned that Capitol Cadillac submitted a total of Four(4) hard credit inquiries, something I NEVER authorized.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to be held accountable for their incredible unprofessionalism. Additionally, they should loose the endorsement of the BBB for unethical practices. They have also violated consumer practices by submitting a total of four (4) hard credit inquiries thus impacting my credit profile.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/06/26) */ Mr. ******** income didn't verify when the bank asked for prof of all income stated. He made additional attempts to obtain financing for him only after asking if he wanted us to continue. It is unfortunate that financing under the terms we were seeking for him didnt work out. However we did communicate what were doing every step of the way. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Total misrepresentation of the facts. What I provided to the dealer was true and accurate. The GM assured me he would make the deal work if that's what I wanted. I advised that I was open to resolution, I never authorized the dealer to continue to pull hard inquiries on my credit. Additionally, the GM assured me that he would personally make contact with me the following business day. He did not. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/07/09) */ We have used this situation to better train our employes about communicating all of the ramifications and actions required to assist clients in obtaining financing. As we are not the lender we can only use experience and good judgment in choosing a lender for the client. However the only way we can truly know if they will extend credit to the client is by having them pull the clients credit report. We are in a support role and not the decision maker for any loans. We apologize for not being more clear as to what was needed to continue trying in your behalf to obtain credit. I hope we can conclude this matter. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I DID NOT authorize or instruct Capitol Cadillac to continue to pull hard credit inquiries to salvage the deal. In a face to face meeting with the GM, **** ***** on May, 11 2014, I told him that if he believed that he could make the deal work that I was open to a fair resolution. The caveat to that instruction, was that there would be NO further credit inquiries. Additionally, I retained a text from my sales person that assured me that there would be no further credit pulls. Capitol Cadillac continues to misrepresent the facts. As such, due to their continued unauthorized credit inquiries my credit profile has been negatively impacted.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol Chevrolet Cadillac Subaru Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)