Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Hall's Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bob Hall's Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Bob Hall's Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1976 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 01/28/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Teri Bailey, Controller Mr. Jason Midkiff, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Teri Bailey, Controller
Principal: Mr. Jason Midkiff, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies Steering Systems & Equipment All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Bob Hall Auto Dealership Bob Hall Fleet Bob Hall's Automotive Group Bob Hall's Sunfair Chevrolet Sunfair Chevrolet Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob Hall's Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1600 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901 (509) 248-7600 (509) 594-4125

  • 1700 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901 (888) 846-4893 (877) 372-8528

  • 1702 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint Begins in Feb 2014 when i went to buy my car. A 2003 VW Passat. I had been on the lot looking for a car. I had to go inside and pursue someone to help me. This car as i was told had been sold a half hour prior. The salesman who had been asked to help me was messing around on a fellow employees scooter (for a leg injury). Im not against having fun but as a customer it looks unprofessional when walking in and having to ask someone to help me. After returning and telling me the car i wanted was gone he began to go through their inventory to try and find me something. I had to tell him several times that I dont want to buy cars as expensive as he was trying to sell me... I had to tell him several times before telling him if i wanted something that expensive i would have purchased a car i had test drove at another lot. Eventually we found a car that fulfilled most of my requests. We test drove the car, during the test drive he lied to me about a heated seat working, and mis-lead me into believing that i just needed more experience with the windshield wipers (which were broken aswell). after the test drive I decided that i liked the car and would like to begin the purchase process. At this point he had lied to me before i signed the paperwork. He promised me a warranty and free oil changes for 3 years. The paper work for the warranty he told me he could not find but he promised i would come back in to sign it when he found it. We proceeded to sign papers and i left in my vehicle i had come in. Later that night i came back with a friend to pick up the car. one tire was almost flat and went in and asked for assistance blowing it up. He said sorry they dont have access to that equipment. Then getting in the car i noticed the headlights on the car had failed to work. They have a 110 point checklist in which headlights are guaranteed to work. They had closed at this point so i took the car, filled the cars tire myself and drove home with the fog lights. The next day a friend and i were driving around and he pointed out his heated seat didnt work. The next day i brought my concerns to the dealer. I was told the lights could be fixed and the heated seat would be looked into. Less than one week later my check engine light turned on. At this time i inquired about the status of my warranty and my oil changes. I was told that my car was a model year to old for their warranty and my oil changes were still in the paper work. Less than a week later after this i was told my oil changes were denied and i would not be receiving those either. Over the next 3 months I had my car in their shop over 7 or 8 times. In these times they kept it overnight 3 times. 2 of which they failed to notify me of this even tho they told me i would receive a call before the end of the day. And the times they kept it overnight they did not even do anything to the car. They simply took it apart, decided to order a part, and decided they didnt have time to put it together before the end of the business day. And if i called I was told it was to late and the Person in Charge did not have access to the shop where my car had been kept overnight. I know this to be a lie seeing as they kept it outside on their back lot. OH! And rolling back a bit a week after purchasing the car the person who sold me the car, lied to me about the car and the warranty, oil changes, etc. had been promoted to sales manager! Awesome maybe his past customers had a better experience than i did. But when i approached him about my car after this point he proceeded to tell me he could not deal with his past customers anymore and would be unable to help me. I had to go through his manager to resolve any complaints. I had my check engine light diagnosed and found it was a radiator problem. After i told them they ran their own diagnostic, found the same thing, and tried to charge me for it! I disputed that since i told them what they tried to charge me for. They took off the charges for that. They gave me and estimate to fix the problem at $1200. (which if i had a warranty would have been covered) I told them not to fix it as i would as someone else about the problem. (At this point im not giving any more money to the dealer whos been screwing me over) THREE MONTHS LATER!! They fixed my headlights!!! And my heated seat!!! I drove for 3 months without headlights! And the last time i came in to finally get them fixed they told me they decided it was too expensive to fix so they wernt gonna do it! I sat and argued with the salesman/manager (not the same person i bought the car from) for 10 minutes! before he finally told the man at the desk to just fix it and he walked off. (very rude but i was happy they were gonna fix it) And what about the other 7-8 times you might ask? They never worked on the car... They just kept saying they looked into the problem and would schedule a follow up appointment. (including the times they kept it overnight) So finally i had my car and they fixed what they said they would fix, they had a meeting and determined they would not do anything else to help me with any other problems. Windshield wipers, check engine light, etc. And Icing on the cake is i went to a repair shop i knew and got it looked at. They had the part the next day and fixed it for me... the total? $170!!!! The dealer was trying to over charge me by $1000!!! I also talked to a couple mechanics about the light all of which told me the timing on the light coming back on means that it was most likely turned off by the dealer before i drove it. I still have problems with my windshield wipers. I know their is a short in the circuit because when i hit a bump or turn to hard they come on for a second. My brakes are loud. Didnt know this on the test drive because the windows were rolled up and the car has good insulation. the brakes are pretty new is what i was told when i got a brake inspection. They were just cheap so they were loud. After purchasing my car ive been told by many people theyve been ripped off by this dealer. If i had heard a couple of these stories before hand i would never have purchased from them. The man who sold me the car FYI was ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Id like a serious apology. Im so upset with the service and the way ive been jerked around. A letter would be nice. In a perfect world id like reimbursement for all the repairs ive had to have done to the car and the repairs that are still needed like the windshield wipers. Preferably at my repair shop i trust (* ******** ****) As well as a membership or coupons for 3 years worth of oil changes at a local shop like ***** **** or *** *** ******. But after how ive seen their values in customer service i dont expect this. I really dont want to go back into the dealer for these services. Its very uncomfortable walking in there after how i was treated and the last few times i had come in i could tell they were tired of seeing me.

Business Response:

To the Better Business Bureau and Mr. ****,

On June 27, 2014, we received a complaint filed by Mr. **** in regards to our company.  I would like to address the different items of his complaint individually.

First,  the customer is requesting 3 years of oil changes.  Mr. **** did in fact initially try purchase a maintenance contract that would cover oil changes for his first three years of ownership of this vehicle.  The bank/credit union did not approve the financing with the maintenance contract included and would also not approve GAP (Guaranteed Asset Protection) insurance at the amount originally agreed upon so Mr. **** had to resign his purchase contract eliminating the maintenance contract and lowering the price of the GAP insurance.  Mr. **** signed the paperwork to this fact, since he wasn't approved for financing on the maintenance contract, he does not have one. 

On the vehicle, there were four issues; the lights ,the seat heater, the wipers and the check engine light.  I will address each below.

The Passat had problems with the headlights.  In his first time bringing it back to us, we covered the repair of the daytime running lamp, as we found the bulb had shorted,  We understood this to be the problem as explained by Mr. ****.   A few weeks later, it was clarified that the headlights were not bright enough.  At this point, we replaced both low beam lights, once again, at no cost to the customer. 

We also reviewed the passenger seat heater and found a bad switch.  We replaced the switch in the dash.  This vehicle was purchased as an AS-IS vehicle, and convenience features such as seat heaters are not covered by the dealership.  In this case, with all the hassle the customer had already been put through, we covered this repair, which included technician time and the heater switch. 

The wipers are functioning as a safety item, but the delay function does not operate correctly.  Once again, this vehicle was purchased AS-IS and this convenience feature isn't covered. 

The check engine light came on after the customer owned the vehicle.  We did do a diagnosis and quoted a fix, which included a new coolant temperature sensor and thermostat. As to our estimate being higher than the actual repairs the customer had completed, I cannot comment as I don't know what those repairs were.  I assume the difference between our $1200 quote and the $170 fix that Mr. **** referenced was due to the work we completed at no cost to him. 

Mr. **** purchased as AS-IS vehicle clearly stated on the Buyers Guide he signed however, we do understand his frustrations and apologize recognizing our communication could have been better.

In reviewing this history, we see how we could have better communicated with Mr. **** and we sincerely apologize.  We understand his frustration with the vehicle, and the multiple repairs, both those we completed at no cost to him as well as those he paid for.  We only hope he can understand that as per our buyers guide, the vehicle was sold AS IS and that we have done what we could to assist him with his vehicle repair.  We would like to reimburse Mr. **** for the $170 repair bill referenced in his complaint.  Please provide that invoice and we will reimburse. 

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter,

****** *******, Executive Manager

Note:  Please find the attached Buyers Guide signed by Mr. **** at the time of purchase.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Bob Hall's Chevrolet
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart