Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 4300 SW Murray Blvd

    Beaverton, OR 97005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 11 2016 I bought a certified used 2012 Toyota Prius from sales person James V*****. He was aware I was making a cross country move for a job in Minnesota in 2.5 weeks from date of purchase. I was an Oregon resident of nine months who was looking to buy my car in Oregon where there was no sales tax. He assured me I could buy from him and have my car legally registered in Oregon by the dealership for a convenient $110 fee. I left Oregon on May 27 driving my Prius and began living in St. Paul on May 31. June 20 I still had not been mailed my Oregon license plates so I contacted Oregon's DMV. I was notified by a representative that the paperwork had not gone thru for my registration. I immediately contacted Beaverton Toytoa and their title clerk apologized for their mistake. She admitted that these promises from my initial sales representative were entirely untrue, admitted fault on the part of Beaverton Toyota, and apologetically offered to immediately refund $110 in titling fees charged on my initial purchase. Since Oregon registration did not go thru I wanted to obtain my title to get my car legally registered in Minnesota. I contacted the lien holder, Advantis Credit Union, to obtain a title or copy. On June 22 I was informed that the title was never transferred and Beaverton Toyota still held ownership. This is preventing my ability to legally register my car as of today July 24th, 74 days after purchase. Even more concerning is that when I do register my car I am going to have to pay 7.63% sales tax which is an additional $1,220 of expense that James V***** of Beaverton Toyota assured me would not need to be paid.

Desired Settlement: From what I have learned I will now have to pay state and local sales tax of 7.63% in Saint Paul, Minnesota when I do receive my title and am able to register my car. I estimate this tax bill will be roughly $1,220. I bought my car at Beaverton Toyota in good faith with their sales representative, James V*****, with the assurance I could legally register my car in Oregon and avoid any sales tax. For settlement with Beaverton Toyota I ask at a minimum that they compensate me for my sales tax bill and reimburse me for any rental car expenses incurred while my 2012 Toyota Prius was not able to be legally registered due to their deception and incompetence, $84.34 for the car I rented June 24-26 to travel to a wedding in Madison, Wisconsin, and an additional $800.00 for large amounts of time wasted on this issue with associated stress as I moved across the country for a new job. If Beaverton Toyota is willing to meet my demanded $2,104.34 I would consider our client relation healed.

Business Response:

Dear **** ******,

We most humbly apologize for the frustration you have encountered with the sale of your vehicle. 100% Customer Service is always our goal. We understand we failed meeting this commitment.

We are aware that at the time of sale you legally resided in Oregon. Based on this, your vehicle needs to be registered in Oregon. Vehicles purchased by legal residents of Oregon do not pay sales tax. Each state has their own tax laws and guidelines. We are aware of the laws in Oregon, however, we are not aware of the laws within each state. It would be your responsibility to find out what the tax laws are when considering a move. We refunded your registration fee at your request based on your conversation with Heidi Loney that you would register it yourself in Minnesota. 

We understand that you are currently waiting for your title. The title does not get sent to the customer when there is a lien against the vehicle. The title will be sent to Advantis Credit Union.

In order to complete your Oregon registration, we will need the following;

  -Return the Registration Fee of $110

  -Complete Step 3 on the attached forms

  -Complete the attached forms

  -Within 3 days of completion mail back to Beaverton Toyota P.O Box 4300 Beaverton 97005

There is a possibility you will need to purchase a trip permit in order to drive in Minnesota. If they do require this, please include the paid receipt and we will happily refund you.

We apologize and understand that this has caused considerable frustration, however, in no way did we attempt to defraud or deceive you. We assure you that we will do everything required by Oregon DMV to expedite this process.

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Beaverton Toyota's empty and insulting boilerplate rhetoric about customer service stands in stark contrast to how their sales representatives would not return my calls about speeding up retrieval of my car title so I could register my car.  

That being said, this week the Minnesota Department of Vehicle Services received my title and I was able to finally register my car.  Fortunately I was not charged Minnesota and local sales tax upon registration which was my main feared issue since that would cost me an additional $1,220 for my purchase.

I did still receive horrible customer service from Beaverton Toyota regarding the length of time it took to receive my title, but I don't know if we need to continue the BBB investigation since my primary fear of paying Minnesota sales tax did not happen.  However I am going to do everything I can to trash Beaverton Toyota online for my notably horrible customer service experience that created a situation where I had to drive an unregistered car for the first three months of purchase.  If Beaverton Toyota has any interest in compensating me for the stress and wasted time resolving the issue I won't make it my life mission to damage Beaverton Toyota's reputation online by warning future potential customers of the hideous customer service I was subject to.  Otherwise bad online reviews and forum posts is the only recourse I have as a customer.

Sincerely,

**** ******

7/20/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I refinanced a loan I had payed into for another at a lower interest rate. I was told dispite the higher cost of the new loan, I would be saving money with the lower interest rate. I discovered at home that the new loan in fact will not be saving me money, but rather costing me an additional $1600 more than my previous loan.

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/22/2015 we purchased a Lojack for a 2015 Toyota Corolla S. For $695.00. We were told that Toyota would contact us to schedule the install, however no one ever did. We ourselves tried numerous times to schedule installation for this, however we received the runaround from several employees there, including the Salesperson Hasan A*********, regarding install, telling us someone would call us back etc. And again our concern was ignored. After coming in personally to the dealership, we did receive a response from Hasan In April 2016, confirming that they do not install or sell the Lojack anymore. At this point, since they were unable to deliver the Lojack, a refund just needs to be provided, in the full amount of $695.00. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Lojack Refund $695.00

Business Response: The consumer was mailed his refund check and satisfied. 

6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have took my car over at Beaverton Toyota for repair because I had the ABS light on and ask them to check the car after the check up the mechanic called me and told me that the car is not worth to fix because it may cost over 1800 dollar and I really don't want to spend money for car my car is 01 Toyota Sequoia it is well worth over 8000 dollar any way after talking to him I change mined and had him stop working on my car because I got the filling that he did not want to work on my car, so I went and I got my car out of there cuple week later I wanted to change the tire and it was so tied that I could not get it open after that I lay down under the car and I found the ABS senser are open on boat front tier and it is henging out of place when I called them back they file the report and they sed we need to talk to the boos next day I got the call from there mechanic saing that they are not risponsibel for the dameg and if I need to buy the sensers It will coust me about 500 dollar and they never touched the tier so they have no idea a bout the tier, I asked the mechanic if you did not open the tier how it got so tied and they had no answer for me.

Desired Settlement: finish the job

Business Response: Beaverton Toyota apologizes for the inconvience.  We would like to review your vehicles issues with you.  Please call Cathy L**, Customer Relations Manager at 503 853-1493 to schedule a time that best meets your timeline needs.

3/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Buying a used car and the list of items the agency had included in the advertising was a keyless entry with a card to use with a code to unlock the doors. This card was not available to me as evidently was lost by someone. This was one of the items for the sale that I wanted. The agency stated over and over that this card was not existing but the owners manual stated and gave directions for use so it was available, and even had the listing on the list of options available with the vehicle. With the card missing anyone that is in position of the card could unlock and enter the vehicle and possibly steal either the vehicle or anything inside. I do want this card replaced either the original card or a replacement that can be replaced by a licensed dealer.

Desired Settlement: Need replacement of original card or replacement of new card by authorized dealer

Business Response:

We apologize for the late reply.  This customers issue was handled prior to receiving this complaint.  Beaverton Toyota sent a check in the amount of $60.00 (the cost to have the card replaced) to our customer.  

Kindly,

***** ***

Customer Relations

*** ********

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Toyota 4runnner for $20,994 the kelly blue book price they had on it. After driving it I noticed the air conditioner was not getting cold on the driver's side. I called and was told to bring it back and they would fix it for me. After looking at it a mechanic called and told me the part was not available and it could not be fixed. I went there and talked to the sales director who said they would buy the car back, and I could keep it while we both looked for another car for me. After waiting two months and they did not call back about another car, I found one to buy. When I called the sales director and told him I had found a car, he was nice and asked how many miles I had put on mine, I told him and he said that would take little or nothing off the buy back price. Then the next day 5 minutes before I left to bring it back everything changed. He said the kelly blue book price had changed over the few months that I had it and the new price was $1,413 less than I paid for it. When I said that I had already put $500 down on another car and now I was not going to have enough to buy it, he said if you don't like the deal don't take it. I had no choice but to take the deal or be stuck with a car with no air conditioning. Three days later the car was for sale on their website for $20,994, back up to the old kelly blue book price I had originally paid for it, This is the amount they get for it since there is no negotiating their prices. I am very grateful that they bought it back but I was counting on the full amount and them changing that at the last minute has been a real hardship being a single mom with 3 kids. They are getting the full amount back so I do not know where my $1413 went and would like it back.,

Desired Settlement: My $1,413 back

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

I have had a little time to discuss this issue with our management staff.  To follow is what I am being told, please correct me if I am wrong.

You made purchase of a 2006 4Runner on July 26, 2015.  At the time of sale you were offered the opportunity to purchase a Platinum Vehicle Service Agreement, you declined that purchase. 

We did agree to the following repairs at our expense during your sales process.  As described in your purchase agreement, once these repairs were complete this vehicle was being sold “AS IS”.

 - fill chip in windshield,  - repair front and rear bumpers,  - repair the gas door, - re-do a complete detail, - provide missing headrest, - repair drivers seat

It was soon after your purchase you encountered issues with the climate control. As a gesture of goodwill, Beaverton Toyota agreed to inspect the vehicle.  We did so and made some adjustments in an effort to fix this issue.  Unable to complete those repairs on a goodwill basis, we offered you a FULL refund and agreed to take the vehicle back.  This was in August 2015.  My understanding is you declined this offer. 

We feel it is an unreasonable to expect that you would be allowed to drive a vehicle for 4 months for free.  This is beyond the reasonable timeline to expect there would be no additional charges.  The Kelly Blue Book had changed and the value of the vehicle had declined.  The difference in Kelly Blue Book is the only charge we applied to you.  We didn't charge you for wear, cleaning, reconditioning or safety inspection (which we are bound by law to do before reselling).  There are additional DMV fee’s that we did not charge you for as well. 

We certainly feel just in asking the original price based on the repairs we did and the additional charges we are not passing along to you. 

It is the decision of Beaverton Toyota that there will be no further refund offered.

Thank you,

Cathy L**

Customer Relations Manager

*** ********   

 

 

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Everything stated was correct except that I was offered a full refund in August.  It was September 12th and I did not decline.  I said yes and he said I could keep my car until we found something to replace it since it was my only transportation to drive my blind daughter to school.  After receiving no call back from him for a month, I called to see if they had found anything yet. I was told they would try to get a trade in that weekend.  I said I would go higher if needed because I wanted to get this taken care of.  I never heard back. On November 5th another month later, I found a car on my own because It didn't seem like anyone was looking for a car for me there.  when I called on November 5th to tell him I found a car on my own, I was told little if anything would be taken off the price.  Then on the return date I was hit with the kelly blue book change.  My whole issue is that the $1403 kelly blue book change was thrown in at the last minute making me unable to buy the car I had found.  It wasn't even the correct price because three days later it was put up for sale for the same kelly blue book price I originally bought it for, not the lower price that I was told it had went down to when I brought the car back.  I would have been happy to pay the $152DMV fee and a reasonable fee to have had it cleaned and inspected.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

As stated in a previous response, you made purchase of a 2006 4Runner on July 26, 2015.  At the time of sale you were offered the opportunity to purchase a Platinum Vehicle Service Agreement, you declined that purchase.   

We did agree to the following repairs at our expense during your sales process.  As described in your purchase agreement, once these repairs were complete this vehicle was being sold “AS IS”.
 - fill chip in windshield,  - repair front and rear bumpers,  - repair the gas door, - re-do a complete detail,  - provide missing headrest, - repair drivers seat

As a retail seller of vehicles we certainly can ask what ever price we determine to be fair market price.  This price is determined by numerous factors and 3rd party pricing sites.  Kelly Blue Book being just one of them.    You drove this vehicle for 4 months, added over 2000 miles, that in itself lowers the value of the vehicle.  We did the above mentioned repairs and certainly can factor them into the new selling price.  We are in no way charging you for the air conditioner repair; the vehicle was sold AS IS. 

Again, we at Beaverton Toyota stand on its previous decision,  there will be no further refund offered.

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:There is no response, this business does not listen to anything or try to make the customer happy.  I cannot figure out for the life of me how they run their business. They tell me my car can't be fixed and that they will buy it back for almost the same amount I paid. Then they buy it back after begging them to and making my daughter cry, but not for the amount they said.  Then three days after buying it back, they sell it to some other person.  Either the part mysteriously appeared or the other person bought a car with air conditioning that does not work. Good luck getting your money back if you did.

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Tacoma from Beaverton Toyota brand new. I wanted the power package that includes power windows and locks, but they did not have this option in stock. The Sales Managers idea was to sell me the truck that was in stock, but to add an after-market power package from Coach (a third party company). I was eagerly assured that the after-market power package would be better than the standard that Toyota provides....it is not at all functional. 1) From the day I picked up the truck, the power locks did not work, nor could I use a key to enter the vehicle. 2) The "boot" around the stick shift was hanging loose (discovered that the Tech had broken the clasp that holds the boot to the stick shift shaft). 3) When you close the door, the window rattles against metal and sounds like it is going to shatter. After I opened up the access panel, I realized that it was about to shatter. The Tech had installed a metal strap with a wood screw touching the glass. It would have shattered if I did not discover this (of course Toyota or Coach would have not paid for that repair!). Resolution Attempt: After three trips and five calls, the Service Manager scheduled for Coach to inspect and repair. Coach fixed the driver’s door so that I could use a key...but nothing else. They stated that Toyota only approved that one item to be repaired and I would have to pay for any additional repairs out of pocket. At this point I am so frustrated at the complete lack of service provided by the Beaverton Toyota Staff. Truly, once you give them a check….they do not care at all what the Customer needs or wants. A truly offensive group of employees.

Desired Settlement: I want the service that I paid for, along with Concierge service to make up for the extreme hassle that I have endured. By Concierge service I mean, I drop off my truck, get a free rental vehicle to include insurance and gas. Come back a week later to pick up my functional vehicle. Outstanding Repairs: 1) Driver window will not roll up/down. 2) Passenger door lock, key does not work. 3) Boot around stick shift needs permanently attached. 4) A keyless remote that works without being up against the vehicle.

Business Response: We have received this customers complaint, we are reviewing their issue with our sales team and Coach Automotive.  We have a goal to have our investigation complete by 12/30/2015.  Should you have any additional information to add, please call Cathy L**, Customer Relations Mgr. Beaverton Toyota at 503 853-1493

10/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September, I visited the dealership knowing exactly what I needed in a new vehicle. At the top of my list was that it be able to tow my horses in a trailer; totaling approximately 4800 pounds when fully loaded with supplies and animals. Second to that was getting a monthly payment I could afford. I carefully explained these two concerns to the salesman who approached me at the dealership. The options were laid out for me including the four trim levels of the Highlander; it was explained that the LE Plus would be the lowest cost model that could do the job. Given the specs that were fully explained to me about this vehicle, including its ability to tow 5500 pounds, I took it for a test drive, liked it, then moved forward with the purchase. After taking the vehicle home I realized there was a discrepancy between the various pieces of information given to me by the dealership regarding how much the LE Plus can tow. • The salesman said it could tow 5500 pounds • The owner’s manual (found in my glove box) says it can tow 5000 pounds. • The sales manager later said it could tow 3500 pounds • The Monroney sticker (not displayed, but also found in my glove box) indicates it can only tow 2000 pounds. Everyone is lucky I didn’t tow my horses that weekend. Since I was assured by a Beaverton Toyota sales associate that it could tow 5500 pounds, I could have had my toddler and husband in the vehicle and I could have been towing a trailer loaded with two horses. The reality is that the car sold to me can only tow 2000 pounds. The catastrophic potential was deeply in the red zone. I feel strongly that my life, the lives of my family, and those of my animals were recklessly endangered for the cost of a sale. There was no reason to give me false information and mislead me to purchase this vehicle when there was a model on the lot that could have provided me with the safety and capacity I needed.

Desired Settlement: As it is, I have been trying to get a workable response from the dealership since October 6, but unfortunately have been unable to secure it. I have requested that the dealership honor their salesman’s words and provide me with lowest cost trim/model of the vehicle that can do what was promised that the LE Plus could do for the monthly payment of $476 that I agreed to. That would be the Toyota Highlander XLE. I am not willing to take my trade-in back of the 2013 Toyota ****** as my credit has already been changed by this transaction.

Business Response: 10/23/2015 ****** and ***** ** (Sales Manager) are currently in discussions.  We are making every effort to have a resolution by next week.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

To date, the solutions to the problem that I have presented that would meet my needs have been rejected by Beaverton Toyota. While, the two solutions that Beaverton Toyota presented, do not address my needs at all. I do not want to drive one of the "other vehicles" that Beaverton Toyota has to offer unless they can put me in a Toyota Highlander XLE at about $476 a month. They have previously rejected this solution.

The most recent solution that was presented by me today, 10/26/15, is as follows:

"*****, 

Thank you for the offer to take back the Highlander and exchange it for the options you listed. I appreciate Beaverton Toyota’s offering to try to put me in another vehicle, but those “other vehicle” options don’t work, as we have previously discussed. I would like to take you up on the offer to return the Highlander, but instead just get back the $3515 down payment made on it. I do not wish to exchange for another vehicle at Beaverton Toyota.

Please let me know today when I can come in and work out the above solution. I am available anytime.

Thank you,

****** *********

 

I will await response from ***** H****** and Beaverton Toyota on this offer. 

Sincerely,

****** ****************

Business Response:

Per an agreement between ***** H. (Sr. Sales Mgr.) and our customer, we acpted the vehicle back and returned down payment.  Sales representative involved has been placed in a 2 week training course to prevent this from happening again.  We regret this issue occurred and offer our sincere apologies.

Cathy L.

Customer Relations

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ********-*******

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2006 TOYOTA RAV4 at Beaverton Toyota. I purchased it Monday 10/5/2015. Pierceon was the salesman. We noticed some grease around the right front axle. I told Pierceon that I would need to get a closer look. He assured me that if there is a problem then Toyota would do whatever it takes to make me happy. I went ahead and bought the vehicle, signed all the papers, put 3500 down. Well Tuesday morning I took a flashlight and looked at the grease and found that something is definitely leaking because it looks like fresh grease. . I took the vehicle back tues morning around 10:00am. I asked for a simple request of an exact estimate of repairs needed. I left the car there. The service manager said to drive it home but I told him I could not drive it with that leak because if it's a boot leaking then I could ruin the joint if it runs out of grease. A boot repair is much less that an axle or cv joint replacement. Well here we are now Wednesday 6:15 pm and I still do not have a written estimate of repairs needed. They have not even taken it into the shop and put it up on a lift to check. All I want is for someone to check it and give me a written estimate of repairs. Another thing is that the service manager Chris told me that he spoke to a mechanic that remembered the last service on the vehicle and said that he saw the grease issue and did not repair it because it was minor. Wow, that reply blew me away. It did not make logical sense that Beaverton Toyota knew of a "Minor" issue but did not repair before selling it to me. And then Chris told me the mechanic verbally told him that the repair would be 3-4 hundred dollars, but nothing in writing. I went back Wednesday 10/7/15 to pick the vehicle up. Pierceon gave me a piece of paper stating that the repair would 500 dollars and that I would pay half. This was not an estimate from the service dept. The salesman wrote this estimate. I still do not know the exact problem. I am so disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to go to a reputable mechanic to get an honest estimate of repairs needed and for Beaverton Toyota to pay. The reason I would like to choose my own mechanic is because of the deceptive people at Beaverton Toyota. The assured me that they would do whatever it takes to make me happy. They failed. All I wanted was for them to repair it or give me an exact estimate of repairs. An estimate written up just like everyone else gets when they take their vehicles in for a repair. Not a quote scribbled on a piece of paper written by the salesman not the mechanic.

Business Response: Dear *****,

It was a pleasure chatting with you today.  As mentioned, we should have just done the right thing for you and completed the repair.  Understanding that "some" minor things will not be fixed on a 2006 with 160,000 miles.  Please trust that the required safety inspection for this vehicle was 100%.    Thank you allowing us the opportunity to correct this and know that we will reimburse you for the repairs (up to $366).   *****, you may reach me with any questions @ *************

Thank you, 
Cathy L**
Customer Relations Mgr.
Beaverton Toyota

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

6/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last year Beaverton Toyota has been trying to diagnose an intermitant safety issue of my front wheels locking up at highway speeds. They have not been able to diagnose the issue and are basically telling Me to keep driving the vehicle until the problem becomes more pronounced or it causes an accident. I do not feel safe driving this truck on the highway. It has happened at least 50 times in the Trucks first 18000 miles. They've test driven it around 100 miles and could not reproduce the problem. I believe that the way the right or left wheel locks up at highway speeds is having adverse affects on the front suspension and has shortened the life of this truck. I've considered just selling the vehicle so I don't have to deal with it anymore, But morally can't just pass this safety issue on to another person.

Desired Settlement: Either fix my Truck or refund my purchase price.

Business Response: The customer had come to us with a break concern in which our Service manager drove the vehicle to Salem, OR and back.  When he was unable to duplicate the issue, he then drove again to Salem with the customer.  The service manager was unable to duplicate the issue over 180 miles. After both test drives, we purposed that the customer either sell back the vehicle to us or trade it in and we offered him $29,000.  He decided that was not an option for him.  We have now set up a scheduled appointment for the vehicle to be test driven by our Field Tech Specialist on Monday the 25th and we will provide the customer with a loaner vehicle.  Our Toyota rep will keep the vehicle until we can duplicate the issue.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

Beaverton Toyota has been attempting to diagnose an intermittent problem of my front wheel attempting to lock up at highway speeds on my 2013 Tacoma truck. In the last diagnose attempt they found the steering to be out of alignment. I believe this Castor and Toe alignment issue to be a result of just one wheel attempting to stop the truck at highway speeds. This is putting excess stress on the vehicles front suspension and has shortened the vehicles life considering it's been going on almost a year now.

I do not want to spend the summer with my truck in the shop while Toyota attempts to figure out this issue. I bought a Toyota because I thought it would last until my retirement. Now that the whole front suspension and drivetrain has been subjected to excess stress I do not have faith that this vehicle will make it much past it's warranty with out requiring extensive repairs. Even Beaverton Toyota's customer service rep ******* said they had to take the repairs it may need into account for them to sell it if I traded it in. Kelly Blue Book's Private Party value's a very good condition Tacoma TRD at $31,000. I can't sell this vehicle to a private party with this safety issue.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They offered Me $27k cash, $29k trade in which is low trade in blue book. They have no clue whats causing this safety issue. This is the forth attempt at it. They are replacing a wheel bearing and a speed sensor on one side of the truck. This makes no sense being the wheel that acts like its going to lock up changes from the left to right, although is more prominent on the left side. They aligned it last week. It happened again two days later and the alignment seems to have changed already from the front left drive train binding up at highway speed. I have already spent many hours on this issue and weeks with out being able to drive my new truck. I did not volunteer to be part of a test program for Toyota. This will be the second summer that I will not be able to take my truck on any long trips with out gripping the steering wheel in fear of it swerving off the road with out notice. 

Sincerely,

**** ***********

Business Response: The parts have arrived and been replaced.  The customer has the vehicle and our next step is to determine if the issue will occur again.  We have done everything that we can on our side, but without duplicating the issue we can not determine what to fix.  We have tried offer the customer Market Value both for selling and trading the vehicle and he has declined our offer.  He paid $31,600 for the vehicle and we have offered $29,000 which is a fair value.  We will have to wait to determine if the issue arises again and determine our next step if it does.

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 11, 2015 my car was towed into Toyota Beaverton. Through initial diagnostics tests it was determined to by an issue with a cylinder head. In speaking with ***** the Service Representative, I asked when was the last time a Toyota Sienna van came in with this type of issue. ***** said that he did not recall a Sienna coming in with that type of an issue and that it was very rare. I asked ***** to review the service history to determine if there was any indication for cause of the issue. ***** reviewed and said from the service history there was nothing to indicate the potential cause or that the car was a 'lemon.' Due to the rarity of occurrence and the vehicle's service history if there was something that could be done as it seem it was caused by a faulty part. During this week one, Toyota Dealership through it's service representative said a call would be placed with Toyota Corporate to see if any Goodwill assistance could be made. Toyota Dealership Service Representative also indicated there was no identifiable cause of the issue. On Tuesday May 19th, I called Toyota Dealership and requested a loaner vehicle be provided and its cost be covered by Toyota Dealership and they agreed. Toyota Dealership Service Representative indicated on May 20th that his manager was not able to get Toyota Corporate to help and recommended that I call personally. I called and identified the issue and asked that I receive a case number, but it was not provided because the Corporate representative would need to call the dealership and then create the case number. On Friday May 22, Toyota Dealership called and said that Corporate would not provide any assistance due to an aftermarket thermostat and a break in service history. I asked if the thermostat was tested and they indicated it was not tested. I asked for Case Number and they could not provide it. On May 23rd Corporate could not provide it as it was not created and Dealership did not call in week one.

Desired Settlement: Toyota refund the cost of the total cost of repairs, parts, and labor, and inconvenience of our family being without our car.

Business Response: After the customer had their vehicle towed into our service department, we immediately started to diagnose the vehicle.  We have found that the radiator cap is broke, there is an after market thermostat and there are unknown fluids under the hood.  These are the cause of the vehicle issue in which the warranty company will not cover due to the after market parts.  We were unable to test these parts (i.e radiator cap) for they were not functional.  We have since reached out to Toyota for assistance and are awaiting a return call

3/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Rav 4 at Beaverton toyota feb 7th of 2014I traded in my owned 2003 350 ml mercedes, I had asked Ken G******* I wanted leather and a moon roof in the Rav he said not a problem.... after a week I decided i did not like the Rav and I wanted to unwind the deal and receive my paid off mercedes back.Ken said this is not a good idea, this will cost you much money, I said all it should cost is what repairs you made on my Mercedes...Ken came to my persona; home and collected a check in the amout of 6,000 ... i couldnt and still do not kn** where my money went..I left message for mr ********* with no return call back....10/20/14 then Josh returned my call stateing that they did much work on my car, i have the paper work and they spent $ 1209 so the question is where is the remaindeer of my $6000 no one will tell me and the numbers do not match up, I beleive this is fraud and I want this investigated to the fullest and kn** that I was robbed.... they say they are salary paid and josh said the rest was for commision h** could this be when they are paid on salary and I unwounded the deal??? can you please help me resolve this matter...I have told everyone I kn** never to shop there at all. please investigate this and get back to me .thank you \***** ***** *** *** **** Product_Or_Service: 1/28/2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund 6000 minus the repairs you did on my Mercedes... total beaverton toyota owes me is $4791if this is not resolved I will go to small claims court thank you

Business Response: Beaverton Toyota has been in contact with this customer. We will be speaking again Nov 4, 2014 @ 9am.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I *** ***** Met with Kathy l** today November 25, 2014 at 3 o'clock. We had a discussion over the contracts,
She's going to talk to Mr. ****** son a bout a settlement,
Kathy told me that she will get back to me right after the Thanksgiving holiday.
I didn't feel much relief from the meeting as they sold me my car back for over $8100 and then turned around and sold the rav and made my $8000 back up on the sale of the rav.
I will be looking forward to hearing from Mr. ********* himself regarding this matter.
I am so very displeased with this company.
Thank you
***** *****

Business Response: ***** had been advised by Ken G****** through numerous phone calls that by returning her Rav4 for her Mercedes, she would in fact lose money. Beaverton Toyota has also informed ***** that we are not at fault and will not be refunding her $4,791. This is because she had added about $3,500 in after market accessories to the Rav4 and about $1,300 of work needed to be done to her Mercedes. ***** was aware of this and accepted that she would pay this amount.

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WENT INTO BEAVERTON TOYOTA ON 11/28/14 TO BUY A CAR. I ENDED UP BUYING A 2015 TOYOTA COROLLA USING MY MOM AS A CO SIGNER. I TRADED IN MY 2008 JEEP CHEROKEE. WHEN I LEFT THE DEALERSIP I WAS TOLD I WAS APPROVED WITH MY PAYMENT BEING 391. AND SOME CHANGE WITH A INTEREST RATE AT AROUND 3.04%.I WASNT TOLD ABOUT ANY DOWN PAYMENT AT THIS TIME, AND 2 WEEKS WENT BY WHEN I GOT A TEXT FROM THE SALESMAN ABOUT THE DOWN PAYMENT DEC 10. STILL NO ISSUE ABOUT MY DEAL NOT GOING TO GET APPROVED. MY JEEP STILL WASNT PAID OFF SO I WAS GETTING WORRIED. I DID TRY TO CONTACT THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS AND GOT A VERY UNHELPFUL PERSON IN FINANCE NAMED *****. NEEDLESS TO SAY I ENDED UP ON THE PHONE WITH **** **** ABOUT MY DOWN PAYEMNT AND I DONT THINK HE WAS VERY NICE TO ME AT ALL. I ENDED UP IN TEARS BY THE END OF US TALKING BUT STILL WANTED TO KEEP THE COROLLA SO I SENT OVER MY $500 DOWN PAYMENT. THEY CASHED MY DOWN PAYMENT ON MONDAY 12/16. GOT THE LAST PAPERWORK BACK FROM MY MOM MISSING ONE PLACE TO SIGN AND I THOUGHT IT WAS GOOD TO GO. THEY PAID MY TRADE OFF WAY AFTER THE 15 DAY MARK THE PAYOFF GOT SENT ON 12/17 TO MY CREDIT UNION. 12/18 MY CREDIT UNION CALLED ME AND SAI THE PAYOFF WAS SHORT BUT WOULD CALL TOYOTA TO GET IT. TOYOTA AGREED TO PAY IT.MY SURVEY WAS SENT TO A FORMER EMPLOYEE TO FILL OUT THAT ISNT EVEN ON MY CAR DEAL TO MAKE SURE BEAVERTON TOYOTA WOULD GET A 100%. I HAVE THE PROFF IN MY EMAIL,THAT'S FRAUD!! I HAD THE SURVEY SENT TO ME AND I FILLED IT OUT ON 12/18. 12/19 I GOT A CALL FROM **** **** SAYING I HAD TO RETURN THE COROLLA.NO REAL REASON WHY ONLY NOW I WASNT APPROVED NOW AFTER 22 DAYS HAVING THE NEW CAR. I HAVE NO SINCE LOST MY WARRENTY FOR MY TRADE AND THEY MADE ME TAKE IT BACK. 12/22 I RETURNED THE NEW CAR TO THEM BECAUSE THEY SENT A REPO GUY DOWN TO MY JOB TO HARASS ME TODAY AND EMBARRASSED ME. I FEEL BEAVERTON TOYOTA DID THIS BECAUSED I FILLED OUT A BAD SURVEY ON THEM. I KNOW IT FLAGGED THIER CUSTOMER SERVICE AND EVERYONE WONT GET THEIR BONUSES.I THINK THIS DEALERSHIP IS SHADY IN THEIR DEALS! Product_Or_Service: 2015 TOYOTA COROLLA

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I WANT BACK THE PRICE OF MY WARRENTY THEY MADE ME CANCEL IT WAS $1900 AND I HAD 13 MONTHS LEFT ON IT.I HAVE LOST TIME FROM MY JOB FROM THIS SO I WANT MY LOST WAGES AND THE MENTAL STRESS FROM THIS HAS CAUSED ME TO MISS WORK TOO.I ALSO HAD TO MAKE A PAYMENT ON MY TRADE DUE WITH TWO DAYS OF GETTING MY JEEP BACK SO I THINK SINCE BEAVERTON TOYOTA MESSED UP THIS DEAL SO BAD THEY SHOULD MAKE THAT PAYMENT. AS FOR THEM ASKING SOMEONE ELSE TO FILL OUT MY SURVEY TAHTS A FRAUD CASE.I WANT SOMETHING FOR THA!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/29) */ Re: XXXXXXXX/3fa2cXXXXX Date: December 29, 2014 From: Beaverton Toyota Dear Mrs. ******, Unfortunately, until a bank approves financing we would never be able to "assure" anyone that they are approved. In your case, your financing was denied and a request to return the vehicle was issued. It was when you choose to ignore that request that we took measures to get our vehicle back. We offer to Toyota Motor Sales the email addresses provided "by the customer" to ensure a 100% candid response on the survey they send. If you provided us with your boyfriends email address during your transaction, we accept no blame for that. Beaverton Toyota has been in business for over 44 years and holds a high level of pride for the business we conduct. We accept no blame and will not be issuing any monetary compensation. Sincerely, ******** ****** Customer Relations Manager Beaverton Toyota XXX XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** **** took it apon himself to put in **** *****'s email himself ON MY DEAL WITHOUT ASKING ME.I was not asked AT ANY POINT where to send the survey, Plus before I left **** **** and **** told **** ***** to make sure he filled it out with 100%. That's FRAUD. I know my car was sold and I have the guys information. Dealerships dont pay off your trade or sell your car if your not approved. I wasnt given anything in writing either just a phone call on 12/19/14 to return the car. then out of knowhere there was some letter with a condition made up from toyota financial saying I had a condition was never given a chance to even MAKE THE CONDITION WHICH IS A LIE. I talked to****** *** ON 12/22 AND THE STORY CHANGED 3 TIMES THAT DAY ON THE APPROVEL!! I called the dealership more then 5 times on 12/19 I didnt get a call back from anyone. I THINK BEAVERTON TOYOTA MADE UP A FAKE LETTER OR HAD SOMEONE MAKE IT UP FROM TOYOTA FINANCAIL. BY THE WAY **** ******IS NOT MY BOYFRIEND, HE'S A FRIEND AND NOT ON MY DEAL WITH MY MOTHER & ME SO WHY WOULD I EVER AGREE TO HAVE ANYTHING SENT TO HIM?????? **** ****** DOESNT PAY MY BILLS OR KNOW MY PERSONAL BUSINESS. I HAVE THE BUSINESS CARD TO THE GUY BEAVERTON TOYOTA SOLD MY CAR TOO AND THATS WHY THE MILES WERE HIGHER. I HAVE SPOKE TO HIM TOO. HE TOLD ME HE HAD PAID BEAVERTON TOYOTA FOR MY JEEP. I HAVE MY OWN EMAIL BY THE WAY WHICH KNOWONE ASKED ME FOR WHEN I WAS IN ON 11/28 BUYING THE CAR!!!!! THIS WHOLE DEAL IS FRAUD!!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2015/01/28) */ *******, you purchased a Jeep which would mean that we would not be able to cancel your warranty for you. You would have to go to the dealership in which you purchased your vehicle from and cancel the warranty yourself. I do apologize for the confusion on the amount you would have have received after canceling your warranty. You are correct that you did not receive $1,900, but a prorated amount. Generally, however, when you cancel a warranty that money would go to the lean holder if there was still an amount owed. If you are concerned that you are still paying this, we would recommend that you take that prorated amount you received after cancelling your warranty and pay that to your lean holder. Beaverton Toyota believes that we have addressed all of your issues and consider this case to be closed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 30, 2015/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ThIs case is not closed I would have never cancelled anything on my jeep which includes my warrenty when I traded in my car to you if I wasnt told to do so because my car deal was done and didnt need to have a warrenty on the jeep if i didnt own it anymore. Bevaerton Toyota contuies to lie about everything they do. Its not my fault I dont have a warrenty its Beaverton Toyotas afult for doing a fraud car deal and wants to blame everyone else and cover up what they did. Now I am screwed with no warrenty plus they Lied about ever sedning me anything for the miles on my jeep after beaverton toyota sold it to someone else because the car deal was done then now they say it wasnt. its all Fraud and Lies out of Beaverton toyota!!! This is far from being a resolution!!! I do not accept this.

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle at beginning of Oct. 2014. We agreed on $1000 dollars down, and my trade in. my fiancé went in the next day to pay the $1000 down with my credit card and sign her portions of the paperwork. 6 weeks later I received a phone call from **** the sales manager asking me to come pay the other $1000. I told him I did pay that and I had proof. he said no I agreed to an extra $1000 down. however this is not the case. so I am in a dilemma, if I pay the $1000 then they win, if I don't then they will send me to collections and destroy my credit which in the long run, costs me more then this. the finance manager changed the numbers by the time I was signing. I feel like an idiot because I have already refereed 2 people to this dealerships. I was under the impression they were an ethical company. when they had me sign electronically, on the little pad thing. I wasn't able to even understand or see the screen to see what was signed. I also asked them to get me financed though my credit union because they were on CuDl. they told me it was declined and that they had to go through Toyota manufacturing finance. when I spoke with ****** credit union they said it was never sent to them and the are refinancing the loan, so Toyota gave me 8.99 when my credit union is giving me 3.99. I'm realizing they get paid from Toyota to finance through them. But I have always been about doing what's right for my clients, and that will get you repeat business. my original experience with them was great until all of this started happening.

Desired Settlement: I don't feel I should be charged the extra $1000 down this is there own fault it was not agreed to by me. if it was then they would have collected it at the same time. or had me sign something saying that I would pay it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/19) */ Beaverton Toyota thanks you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We have currently left a voice mail for this customer and will proceed forward once we hear back from him.

12/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 RAV 4 from Beaverton Toyota on August 2, 2014. At the time that we were going through different financing scenarios, sales person ******** ******* told me that we would be paying 1.9% interest, but nearly 2 hours later at the closing table, with two kids who had been waiting for a long time, it was revealed to me that the deal was for 3.9% interest. Because of my general frustration with the process, I went ahead with the purchase. I was also promised to have several scratches buffed out of the vehicles exterior paint job. I have been following up for months, even with the dealership's customer relations manager, and still have yet to get an appointment scheduled.

Desired Settlement: I feel that my promised interest rate of 1.9% should be honored and the scratched buffed out of the vehicle's exterior paint job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/24) */ I have spoken with the customer in regards to his finance rate that was offered to him. We have explained to him that because he chose a longer loan term, the 1.9% will not be an option for the bank will not approve such a rate at certain loan terms. Since our conversations, we have scheduled an appointment to buff out any scratches on the customers vehicle.

8/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I lease a 2012 Toyota Camry. Every 5,000 miles, we brought the vehicle in for maintenance and the oil change. We were told initially we would receive 5 free oil changes with our lease. No one ever told us that we have synthetic oil and that oil changes were only being done every 10,000 miles. EVERY TIME we brought the vehicle in for maintenance, we were misled to believe that an oil change took place-when it did not. I talked to **** ******* at Beaverton Toyota, and he explained that we have not been getting oil changes as promised because we have synthetic oil. We brought the vehicle in at 25,000 miles and spoke to ****** ****** at Beaverton Toyota, and he said this would be our last oil change. The invoice they gave us on that day, 12/5/2013, indicates that an oil change took place. This is not true; NO OIL CHANGE TOOK PLACE. We called and the service rep. checked the history and NO OIL CHANGE TOOK PLACE on that date. The invoice is misleading, and they are misleading us because they did not tell us. When I talked to **** ******* today, he agreed that this was deceptive and that we have lost money as a result. Apparently, they use the misleading documents to get money. There are several problems with what Toyota has done: 1) Toyota is misleading us to believe that oil changes are taking place when they are not. This is a deceptive practice. 2) Toyota gave us a false invoice on 12/5/2013, indicating an oil change took place when it did not. This is a deceptive practice. 3) Toyota is giving us false information about our vehicle and what is occurring when we bring it in for service. This is a deceptive practice. 4) Beaverton Toyota caused us to miss our last free oil change at 25,000 and now Toyota is trying to charge us $80 for that oil change. In essence, Toyota has misled us to gain a monetary advantage, at our expense. This is fraud. 5) The Beaverton Toyota service manager, **** ******** verified that by taking these actions, Toyota is involved in deceptive practices. These activities constitute fraud and deceptive practices on the part of the Beaverton Toyota and/or Toyota and ****** ******* As a result of their practices, we have been misled about our vehicle and what has occurred. Beaverton Toyota has used falsified documents to perpetrate their fraud. We have suffered various losses as a result: - 3 oil changes that were never made as promised: $240 - Miscellaneous expenses to recover damages to date: $100 - Expense for loss of time at work - $200.00 Total damages we have suffered as a result of Toyota's Deceptive Practices: $540.00.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the money we have lost to date: $540

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/08/04) */ Additional information has been requested from **************** (selling dealer) and ***** ************ (dealer that did 4 of the 5 maintenance visits). Will have this in a completed status by August 8, 2014. ***** *** Beaverton Toyota


Customer Review(s)