This business is not BBB accredited.

AutoNation Hyundai of Seattle

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 362-9500 Fax: (206) 360-4443 14005 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133 http://www.autonationhyundaiseattle.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AutoNation Hyundai of Seattle include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Hyundai of Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Hyundai of Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2005 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business started locally: 02/01/2004 Business incorporated 02/16/2011 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Berman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Berman, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 9am - 9pm
Sunday 10am - 8pm
Alternate Business Names
An Imports of Seattle Inc Auto Nation Hyundai

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Hyundai of Seattle has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14005 Aurora Ave N

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 362-9500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 77430

    Seattle, WA 98177

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I inquired about a 2016 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport through the dealership. I submitted all my information along with my trade in, and worked with the GSM on my trade value (i have all emails showing back and forth with him) and price of the new 2016 model car. I did online appraisal and got email from GSM for $24,6xx for trade value. I took my car into the dealership and had the GSM appraise my car and said $24k. We pre-negotiated the price of the new 2016 Hyundai to $25,000, They didnt have the color we wanted in stock at the time so we said we would wait and they said they would get the right color/options for us. So I signed a paper showing $24k trade and $25k for new car at 84 months payment would be $360+/- month. Time went by with my calling and emailing in and they kept telling me their working on getting the car. They finally got one that was close to what we wanted so we went back in to finish up the deal, thats when everything turned into a problem, The salesman said he didnt know how the trade value was $24k, The GSM was off so then GM got involved and said he wouldn't honor the price the GSM quoted even though I had all emails back and forth with him. GM said he would look into it and take care of it, I email the GM directly and never heard anything back. They kept saying they had no trade in value paperwork, The GSM took pictures of my car when i took it in. Was just given the same excuse of "dont know how he got $24K" (KBB trade online showed $23xxx) So after not hearing back from them i was told to file complaint by a friend.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to Honor the trade value price and sale price i signed for and was told during all the negotiations. I have all emails showing pricing.

8/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new 2014 Santa Fe on 10-31-13. We purchased a extended warranty from Hyundai for $1620.26for said Santa Fe. We paid off Santa Fe 10/11 of 14. Traded in Santa Fe on new 2015 Sonata on 12-27-14. on 12-30 14 we filed the necessary paperwork ( with Jason ) at AutoNation to start warranty refund process. We were told this would be a 6-8 week process. 3-1-15 went back to AutoNation to check on refund process. Was told they would email Hyundai for more information. also to see if check was sent to ***** *****, I stated that we paid the Santa Fe off 4-6 weeks before we traded it in on the Sonata. They hoped to get a response by 3-3-15. 4-24-15 , Spoke to Charlie , stated that our refund was in check writing, should be soon, week to 10 days. 7-7-15 spoke to Gen Mgr Lamphere , stated that he would have me an answers within the next 48 hrs. That was 3 weeks ago , have not heard ***** form him. *** and I are tired of this run around by Hyundai, they have had our money for almost 8 months now. I prorated this return out, my math has a return of approx. $1400. we want our refund back now !

Desired Settlement: We want of refund of approx. $1400. now... We want a written apology from AutoNation for screwing us for 8 months ... We would like to charge them interest for usury...10% should be reasonable for AutoNation $140.00.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a used car from Autonation Hyundai Seattle in September, 2014. This car was my 19 year old daughter's first car. After driving the vehicle for 1 month from purchase, the car broke down while driving on the highway and would not start. The car was towed to a local repair facility whom found several problems with the car that made it unsafe to drive. It is illegal for a car dealership to sell an unsafe vehicle. It was especially appalling the hear that the dealership knew of the problem that specifically caused the car to break down and did not disclose this during the sale, which is also illegal in the state of Washington.After taking the car to a 2nd repair facility to get a 2nd opinion on the problems found, they found the same problems. We took the car to Autonation for an inspection and they denied most of the recommended repairs. Autonation did refund the purchase price of the car and half of the repair costs incurred. Product_Or_Service: 2004 Hyundai Elantra

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund for the remaining half of the repair costs incurred of $750, plus their $65 inspection fee, the $125 towing fee and time without a vehicle of $1000.

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Hyundai Elantra GT 2013 to this dealership for a tune-up, oil change, and specifically requested that the mechanic inspect the tires, stating I'd noted uneven and overworn tread on the tires as well as a drop-off in handling. The mechanic noted that the tread was uneven, showing me measurements of 6/32, 4/32, 3/32, and 3/32 for tires with 27,000 miles of wear, but I was not made aware these were unnaturally low, or any possible reasons why. The mechanic stated that there was plenty of life left in the tires, and provided me no other information. I later took the car to to my regular dealership, 2 months and 7,000 miles later; during these two months I was traveling cross-country and did not have immediate access to a Hyundai dealership, and continued to notice extended wear and uneven tread, also noticing increased problems with the handling of the vehicle. My regular dealer informed me that my car has an alignment issue that had clearly been causing both the uneven and overworn tire treads, and that the previous dealership should have checked the alignment to notify me of the problem, and that if the previous dealer had done so, my tires would have been usable for a significantly longer period. As it is, I had to have all 4 tires replaced immediately as they would pose a threat to safe driving. I immediately contacted both Hyundai Customer Care as well as the dealership in question, providing them with photos of the tires, documents showing the wear of the tread, and the phone number of my mechanic for verification. They are being resistant to assuming any responsibility for their negligence, and to my knowledge have not made any effort to contact my regular dealership or mechanic, despite their claim that they would do so. In addition, because the warranty for the tires was only 12,000 miles, both Hyundai Customer Care and the dealership in question have stated they will assume no responsibility for the state of the tires, though negligence on the part of the dealership has directly led to damage to the tires.

Desired Settlement: I was advised by my regular dealership that the damage to the tires should be considered at minimum 50% the liability of the dealership I originally took the car to. I am willing to pay for half the cost of the tires and the total cost of the alignment service. So, I am asking for compensation of $225.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Service Man Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com hello,thanks for taking the time to listen to this matter,there was a 2013 elantra brought into our shop for his reg scheduled oil change,with our oil change service we do a multi point vehicle inspection with the customers aproval,on this inspection we noted that the tires in the front are at 6/32nds of thread depth and on the rear 4/32nds of thread depth, at 3/32nds we recomend replacement the avg life of tires is 30k miles ever 5k miles we recomend rotation of the tires to keep the tires equal, we told the customer he would need tires soon,now the customer called us telling us he needs tires,we knew he would need tires soon he also now tells us since he was here he went 7k miles any shop at that point would recomend replacing tires,in regards to the customer aligmnent questions we wouldnt normaly perform a wheel alignment on a car that already needs tires untill we replace those tires, and also with this wear you would want to replace all 4 tires with the alignment after Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This dealership is being dishonest. I asked the technician at the dealership to look at the tires and tell me why there was uneven tread. The technician at the time provided me with inaccurate and incomplete information. He did not recommend a tire alignment or even check for tire alignment, even though I specifically asked for an explanation as to the uneven tread, and he definitely did not tell me I would need new tires soon. My tires should have lasted far longer than 30k miles (they are assessed as minimum 40k miles), and they would have lasted longer if an alignment had been done in the first place, according to the tire company and the mechanic at my regular Hyundai dealership. When I provided this dealership with photos of the tires, faxed them all the documents regarding the tire alignment from my regular mechanic, and provided them with my mechanic's phone number (all of which were requested by the dealership responsible for the initial damage), the dealership stated they would call my regular mechanic to check this information out, and then call me back. They never did any of this, and have ignored emails I've sent them for follow-up. This dealership is being unprofessional now, was negligent at the time, and is not fully accounting for its actions or lack thereof in its response here. I am repeating my request for compensation of $225 and will continue to pursue this matter for as long as necessary. Final Business Response /* (4000, 33, *********** */ We have responed to this multiple times and will not be paying for any part of the tire wear on this vehicle. The tires should have been changed when you replace one and not two of them, so an aliginement wouldn't make a difference. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 35, 2014/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This business continues to be dishonest, both in its current argument and its ignoring of several important details during the period it provided me with service. Given that this appears to be the final stance from ********* I will itemize their poor business practices just based on their final response: First of all, I had to replace all four tires, not just two. I'm not sure if that makes a difference in *********** reasoning, but it certainly makes a difference in my costs, especially when at least two of my tires were not near replacement when I first went to Autonation. Plus, a mechanic at Autonation itself told me the treadwear on my tires at that time (I already knew this treadwear but paid Autonation to perform a multipoint inspection to get their professional assessment, which they apparently didn't do), but then told me I didn't need to replace the tires yet. ******** is telling two different stories, one then and one now. Second, an authorized, official Subaru mechanic from a Subaru dealership stated to me upon looking at my tires that Autonation had failed to perform a proper service on my car, and that had Autonation addressed (or at least informed me of) an alignment issue, then my tires would not have needed to be replaced. So, Autonation's argument is in direct conflict with the assessment of an official Subaru mechanic. Third, Autonation stated over the phone that they would speak with this mechanic after I informed them of his assessmentI in good faith and at the request of Autonation provided Autonation with faxes, photos, contact info, and other information, and they claimed they were going to contact my mechanicbut then they failed to follow up, which was incredibly dishonest and basically sent me on a run-a-round. My ultimate assumption is that they were trying to wear me out and get rid of me. Fourth, Autonation has repeatedly failed to address any of the prior three points, either in part or in total. Throughout this processmy phone calls to Autonation, emails to their manager, filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and restating my complain in several rebuttalsAutonation has taken a simplistic and revisionist stance on my complaint. I've taken all of this information to my established Subaru dealer, and their opinion is that Autonation is attempting to avoid responsibility. They were happy to point this out to Autonation several months ago when the issue of my tire alignment had first come to light, but Autonation failed to respond to the invitation. I can only hope that other people will read this thread as they decide whether to to business with Autonation, as their practices are unethical and irresponsible, and are ones for which I would hire an attorney were the damages significant enough to warrant the cost of legal fees. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14, 2014, I met with ***** ********* Finance Manager, and instructed him to cancel the Hyundai Vehicle Service Contract (VSC) #XXXXXXXXX and the AutoNation Vehicle Care Program (VCP) Agreement #AXXXXXXX. He prepared an on-line form which I signed and I assumed he submitted for processing. After learning on August 8, the *********** and AutoNation VCP parties had no knowledge of any cancellation, I confronted Mr. ******** at the dealership. He assured me the cancellation paperwork had been submitted and attributed the discrepancy to internal processing delays.I assumed he was lying and sent my own cancellation letters to each of the parties. As of September 18, 2014, neither the *********** nor the AutoNation VCP parties have any record of Mr. ******** submitting cancellation paperwork. However, Hyundai acknowledged receipt of my cancellation letter on August 12, 2014. Then on August 25, Hyundai sent Mr. ******** a statement explaining the amount of money to be refunded to me. AutoNation acknowledged receipt of my cancellation letter on August 20, 2014. Then on August 27, AutoNation sent my letter to Mr. ******** with instructions to process the cancellation.My letter (via Certified Mail) of September 18, 2014, to Mr. ******** remains unanswered. Over 75 days have elapsed since my initial meeting with Mr. ******** - more than adequate time in the normal course of business operations to process the cancellation and issue a refund check. Product_Or_Service: Vehicle Service Contract/Vehicle Care Pgm Agmnt Account_Number: Hyundai - XXXXXXXXX;

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am requesting an immediate refund of $3,548.90, the amount which I would be due pursuant to the cancellation provisions of both agreements had Mr. ******** processed the cancellations on July 14, 2014, as instructed. This breaks out to be $3,110.90 for the *********** and $438.00 for the AutoNation VCP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com I want to apologize to Mr ***** for the length of time it has taken to get his refund back to him. The Warranty cancellation for $3140.90 was mailed to him on the 25th of September and the balance of $438 is in process to be sent out as well. Once again we are sorry for the time it has taken to get your refund back. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On October 3, 2014, I received a check for $3,148.90 for the cancellation of the Hyundai Vehicle Service Contract. The balance of $438.00 for cancellation of the AutoNation Vehicle Care Program (VCP) Agreement is still owing. Today, October 13, 2014, I contacted The ******** ****** which administers the VCP, to inquire about the cancellation status. The ******** ***** advised me that the VCP has NOT been cancelled. The last activity in that regard was their return to the dealership of my cancellation letter on August 27, 2014. The dealer still HAS NOT submitted a cancellation for the VCP according to The ******** ****** The ******** ***** advised me that the dealer can submit the cancellation on-line at ***************** Until the dealer submits this cancellation, NOTHING is in process. Once the ******** ***** receives the cancellation, they **** send the dealer a statement which is authorization for the dealer to issue the refund check. Over 90 days have elapsed since my initial meeting at the dealership to cancel the VCP. This is a matter that should normally take 30-45 days to resolve. It is now incumbent on the dealer honor my instructions to cancel the VCP and immediately issue a refund check for $438.00 Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/06) */ I do believe this has already been refunded in October. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As a result of my letters sent directly to the parties administering both agreements, I received a refund of all monies due me in October, 2014. Please consider this matter resolved


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Hyundai of Seattle
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart