This business is not BBB accredited.

AutoNation Honda Spokane Valley

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 850-9357 Fax: (509) 921-2117 View Additional Phone Numbers 8201 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99212 http://www.autonationhondaspokanevalley.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Honda Spokane Valley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Honda Spokane Valley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 20, 1992 Business started: 03/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Gookstetter, Manager Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager Russell Norman, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Gookstetter, Manager
Customer Contact: Russell Norman, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Used All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Alternate Business Names
Appleway Automotive Group Appleway Honda AutoNation Honda/Acura

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8201 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8201 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2004 Ford Excursion from the dealer on 2/7/2015. The transaction went smoothly, albeit, they need more closers on staff to provide a less than 4 hour total purchasing experience with 2 toddlers and 3 other kids under 8. The issue that I am having is that I repeatedly have called to have a part installed that was promised to be installed at closing, and they NEVER call back, except when I made a phone call to the general manager; I get a call back, and they order the WRONG PART, even though I specify in photos and emails the correct part to order. we are going on OVER 10 WEEKS since we closed the deal, and Autonation Honda has not made good on installing the part. Also, I have called to request information on where the windshield was replaced so that I can have warranty work performed on the seal that has separated from the top of the windshield, and THEY NEVER CALL BACK! Am I sensing a common theme here? Autonation markets itself on customer service and loyalty. This is my second Autonation purchase, and I want the general manager to make it right, not another ten weeks from now, but a phone call in the next week, is that too much to ask? You can find me by the vehicle type and year and sale date at the top! Just give me a call!

Desired Settlement: Please install the REAR cupholder in the center console, as promised in the sales agreement on 2/7/2015. Also, Please inform me of the contact information for the business that installed the windshield so I can contact them about warranty repair.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer on several occasions.  The windshield trim piece has been repaired and we are still in the process of trying to acquire the rear center console cup holder piece and will stay in communication with the customer.  If we cannot locate the part for the customer we will gladly reimburse him for the it should he locate the correct part.
 
Thank you,
 
 
**** *****
Service Manager
AutoNation Acura & AutoNation Honda
###-###-#### Ext **** 
###-###-####
*********************
“ We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then is not an act, but a habit.” 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue is not closed until we have a cupholder and/or full center console installed, or $7,000 cash. 

The center console and cupholder can be ANY color; it just needs to fit the form / function of a 2004 ford excursion center console.
This morning, between 10am and 11am, I received a phone call from Mr. ****** stating "he is willing to spend up to $7,000 to make it right."
Here are some cupholders:
****************************************************************************************** ***************************************************************************************************************************************** **************************************************** ****************************************************************************************************************
MATCHING COLOR:
*************************************************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************
Semi-Matching Color:
****************************************************************************************************************************************

Non-Matching Color:
***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
The above has the optional CD changer!

*********************************************************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* ******************************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************************************* ****************************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************* Oceanside, CA location has what you want!!!
*************************************************************
Anything that can be done to expedite this matter will be appreciated, since this matter is at 12 weeks and counting.

Regards,

*********** **********

Business Response: In response to ID ********:
 
We have had no luck in finding the correct part for the customer. Per the customers request we have made arrangements to deliver a check for $300.00 to the customer as he has informed us that he has a source for the part.
He should have the check in the next 7-10 days.  Once his part arrives we will install the part in the vehicle for him with no cost involved for him.
 
Thank You,
 
 
**** *****
Service Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

Dear *********,



I have only received a check on FRIDAY from the business. This case is NOT resolved until the business makes good on:



1) Waiting for me to order a part and receive it. This process could take up to TWO weeks.

2) Installing the part as negotiated. If the part is not installed for FREE, the complaint remains.



Overall, the business has not held up their end of the bargain. Once they have held up their CONTRACTUALLY obligated end of the bargain and installed a cupholder negotiated in the purchase agreement in FEBRUARY!!!  then the complaint will be resolved.



NOT RESOLVED until cupholder INSTALLED. This is a "FINISH THE JOB!" complaint. They have not yet finished the job.



I respectfully request this complaint be held open until the complaint is resolved.



*********** ********** 
***** * **** ****** 
******* ** *****

 

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 11, 2014 I brought my 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid to Auto Nation for a 160000 mile checkup. We had been going to this location when it was previously owned by Appleway and Valley Honda for many years. We had never had problems with that service department and decided to stay with the new business. About midday I received a phone call from Auto Nation was given a verbal list of things to be done, rotate the tires, oil change, coolant flush, etc. No cost information was provided. I had been used to the service that we received with the previous business and gave the OK. Nothing major was in the list so it was standard service. From past experience I expected the bill to be around $350. The bill was $661.21. To summarize my complaints: the labor costs are exorbitant, they do not follow manufacturer’s recommendations, an unnecessary and expensive service was performed and I had a service rep outright lie to me in order to add another charge to the bill.

Desired Settlement: Refund the labor costs of the induction service and overpriced coolant system service. The first because it was an unnecessary service and the second as penalty for the out-right lie told by the service rep.

Business Response:

RE: ID ********  **** *****

 

 

*** ****:

 

This is in response to the concern we received from your office regarding Mr. **** *****. After a full investigation and speaking to all associates involved in the transaction that took place on July 11, 2014 between AutoNation Honda and *** ***** I have found the following:

 

When the appointment was set on July 7, 2014 it was set for an Oil Change and the customer stated that there were 155,000 miles on their vehicle and would like to know what is needed at this mileage. 

 

*** ***** contacted me on Friday, July 18, 2014 to discuss his concerns regarding his service visit the week prior. I explained to *** ***** at that time that part of our service includes a Multi-Point Inspection in which we check numerous items on the vehicle. When our technicians do the inspection they complete the Multi-point inspection sheet with any factory and/or dealer recommendations. Again, these are recommendations and the customer has the choice to have the recommended services performed or can decline the recommended services.

 

During my conversation with *** ***** I asked if he had approved the recommended services that were in question and he told me “Yes” he had approved the Coolant Service $149.95, the induction service $219.95 (on any Hybrid vehicle such as the one that *** ***** brought in for service, this service is going to be higher than any gas vehicles, due to the labor involved) the oil change $39.95, Alignment $89.95 and Rotate and Balance of tires $49.95. When I spoke to the Service Advisor who assisted *** ***** he said he placed a call to *** ***** to discuss the recommended services after the technician had completed his inspection, he states that he gave *** ***** a cost with each service he was recommending and that *** ***** approved all of the recommended services.

 

As I also explained to *** ***** our pricing is very competitive as we do market pricing analysis on every maintenance/repair service we offer every quarter, these are very detailed to assure we are competitively priced in our market.

 

From the information I have received from both the customer and the associates involved, the process we have in place was followed and the customer approved the recommended services totaling $608.29 before tax.

 

Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

 

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two weeks ago I was in the process of purchasing a vehicle from AutoNation Honda for a grand total of $4,200 which included paper work fees and licensing. I was going to pay $2,200 in cash and needed $2,000 financed. They said okay they should be able to find someone to finance me. I was told to come back the following day to drop the $2,200 down and pick up the car. I received a phone call from ******** ****** questioning why I needed a loan. I then called AutoNation who explained to me that they are trying to find me the best situation and to not come out to pick up the car yet. 3 days had past no word on the situation, I receive a letter in the mail from **** denying the loan request of $4,982. I call AutoNation to find out why they asked for $4,982 when the car was only $4,200. The verbal agreement was only to finance the remaining $2,000. I spoke with **** and ******** ****** and they both said they only denied me because roughly 5 grand was too high given my circumstances. I then spoke with the lead finance guy at AutoNation today, I inquired about the extra $782 and why it was ran for $4,982 instead of the verbal agreement of $2,000. He told me they added a gap fee and he wasn't informed that it was only supposed to be a loan for $2,000. I then asked is there anything they can do to fix this on my credit report and he told me I would have to figure that out. So here I am trying to figure it out!

Desired Settlement: I Would like AutoNations Honda to have the finance companies that they had run my credit for an unauthorized amount is removed from my credit report. I am aware of 3 finance companies; they are ****, ********, and ******** ******. Or to please remove any and all companies that they had pulled my credit for this unauthorized amount. My credit has been dinged and I would like it corrected. Thank you

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

Attn: ********* ****

Resolution Moderator

 

RE: File# ********

****** ********

 

*********:

 

This is in response to the customer concern we received from office regarding Ms. ****** ********. After to spea**** to the individuals involved we have found the following: The finance department was instructed to submit the documents, there was no down payment noted on any of the paperwork. Following process, we submitted the documents for approval to the following banks, ****, ******** and ******** ****** for the full purchase price, plus applicable state tax, title fees and license fees. With every loan we submit, we submit the loan application with available protection products for the consumer. Ms. ********’s application was submitted with GAP insurance which will protect the loan if Ms. ******** choose to do so.

 

Our Finance Director spoke to Ms. ******** and instructed that if she wanted to dispute inquiries, that she could contact the credit bureaus and file any disputes with them.

 

If you have any further questions please contact **** ******, General Manager or **** *******, Finance Director, both can be reached at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******************

Service Manager

AutoNation Honda ******* ******

###-###-####

E-mail ************************

Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Better Business Bureau
Attn: ********* ****
Rejection Letter
 
********* this is in response to AutoNation Honda ******* ******’s response to my complaint. First off I’d like to point out the miss-spelling of my name. It shows how important this complaint is to the AutoNation Honda Company. Obviously they are okay with the fact that the gentlemen that helped me lied and didn’t tell me anything what so every that a GAP fee was involved with this transaction. I spoke to the Finance Director **** *******, he didn’t offer any suggestions to fix the mistake that his company made. I then suggested contacting the better business bureau and the credit score company, he then agreed.

I would like both **** ******* and ******* **** to write a letter of apology for not handling my situation and interaction with complete honesty, dignity, and professionalism. I would also like a list of all the company’s name and phone numbers of whom they had my credit pulled by for this transaction. I am aware that although I had specific interactions with these gentlemen the management is also at blame for allowing this type of behavior to go on at this company.

Sincerely,
****** ********

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response:

I understand the frustrations a customer can have when trying to get approved for a loan. ****** ******** asked us to help get a car loan. We have lenders for many different situations. The relationships we have with our lenders is very good and every time they will t*** us how much they would approve a customer for. In this case it was not the amount requested it was strictly based off of the consumers credit rating.

******* ******

AutoNation Honda/Acura 
**** **** ******* ******
******* ******** *****

 

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Honda Spokane Valley
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)