Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

AutoNation Acura Spokane Valley

Phone: (509) 850-9359 View Additional Phone Numbers 8600 East Sprague Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99212 http://www.autonationacuraspokanevalley.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AutoNation Acura Spokane Valley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Acura Spokane Valley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2011 Business started: 03/01/1948 Business started locally: 11/20/2009 Business under new ownership as of: 05/08/2013 Business incorporated 11/20/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Scott Gooksetter, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Used All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Alternate Business Names
AutoNation AutoNation Acura

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Acura Spokane Valley has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8600 East Sprague Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212 (509) 590-1266 (866) 296-3079 (866) 313-0408 (509) 850-9359

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my Acura MDX to dealer for alignment. Next day noticed that power steering boot was ripped. Went back to dealer asking them to fix the boot and it may require alignment again but dealer refused to fix it, stating that this is not factory part and they are not responsible. Power steering rack and pinion is new and was changed in another place just few days before alignment and boot was new and NOT ripped. After alignment it is now ripped and may cause more damage to power steering rack and will need to be replaced again. It was twisted and ripped by mechanic at Auto Nation Acura dealer of Spokane. Dealer doesn't want to replace it and fix their mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I want dealer to be responsible for their stupid mechanic's mistake, replace the boot and do alignment again. If my power steering rack brakes again before they fix this I want them to replace the power steering rack as well. Thank you.

Business Response:

In response to the letter sent to you by Mr.*******.

 

The vehicle was brought into the Acura dealership for an alignment.  It should be noted that the vehicle he brought in has a salvaged title and aftermarket parts have been installed.  The alignment was performed by an Acura trained technician. It was noted on the alignment report that the right front toe was out of specification by -1.9mm.  To readjust this measurement requires only ¾’s of a turn on the inner tie rod end.  This is not enough to damage or twist the power steering rack boot in the manner that it was claimed to have.  Furthermore, the aftermarket power steering rack that was installed had the wrong type of clamp on the small end of the boot.  The clamp that was used is a hose clamp that was obviously over tightened and the is not the correct clamp that should be used on this installation.  It should also be noted that the rear camber was out of spec and  lower arm toe adjustment tab was welded back on to the car.

 

It is our opinion that improper parts and possibly installation led to the damage on the steering rack boot.

 

 

Best Regards,

 

 

 

**** *****

Service Manager
AutoNation Acura & AutoNation Honda

Consumer Response: BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When I brought the car over to dealership, **** took down VIN # and it showed that it was salvaged title right away. He even came up to me and said that it's salvaged title, so technician knew about it before he started doing alignment. In response to dealer saying that it only requires 3/4s of a turn for alignment please see attached images of a twisted boot. On a picture you can see how it was twisted and a hole on a right side. When I had to untwist it I had to turn it 2 times back to how it's supposed to be. There is no other way it would get twisted that much. It could only get twisted during alignment. When technician was doing alignment, he should of seen that the boot was getting twisted but he didn't notice that and it caused this damage. It doesn't matter if the car is salvaged, alignment can be done the right way. Technician's goal is to provide good quality service, and if something goes wrong they should notify the customer, but he failed to do so. I did NOT receive any good quality service and very unsatisfied.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

 

After further review, we have determined that the original statements were true and correct.  The technician would have a very hard time seeing the outer boot while aligning the car based on the position of the boot in proportion to the sub frame.  Granted the boot was twisted as we have the same pictures that were attached, but in no way would the -1.2 mm adjustment cause this boot to twist as much as it did nor would it cause a tear.

That being said, we would gladly replace the boot for a discounted rate of $86.13 instead of the normal price of $206.44.  If we were to replace the boot, we would then provide an alignment at no charge to the customer.

Consumer Response: BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Because this took longer than I thought it will, I don't accept Auto Nation Acura's offer. My car was in a garage for a week, I was not driving it so that dirt/dust doesn't get through teared boot. But I couldn't wait any longer and had to fix my car. I changed the boot and did alignment at another professional shop, and they did a great job without braking anything. Now because I had to pay twice for alignment, I would like to get a refund for the alignment I got at Auto Nation Acura. That alignment was done incorrectly and caused more damage to my car. My 2nd alignment was done properly and didn't cause more damage, this proves that it doesn't matter if the car is salvaged title. If service is done correctly it will not cause any damage. My car is now fixed and in great condition! I'm asking for a refund for the service was done improperly. 

Regards,

***** *******

10/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a new car from AutoNation Acura, was given a price for my trade-in, gave a down payment, and was told it would be about 2 months or so till the new car would arrive. After 2 months they called and said the car would not be produced in that particular configuration for another month and that I could expect delivery about a month after that - AND that since the car was taking longer than originally planned, my trade-in value was decreased by $3000. It was not my fault that the car was taking longer than was originally thought and I should not be penalized for their problem. A deal is a deal -how can they do this? I since found out that this vehicle has been produced in the configuration I asked for, so that is an out-and-out lie.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor this agreement.

Business Response: Mr. ********: 
This is in response to the customer concern we received from your office regarding **** ******. Ms. ******’s situation is much the way she describes it, with some exceptions. Due to ***** Corporation filling the order much later than expected, Ms. ******’s MDX is due months later than anticipated. Accordingly, we needed to make an adjustment with her trade value. We have apologized for the unfortunate delay, and explained the change in her trade in’s value.Our offer was to complete the sale with the lower trade value based on a late December 2013 delivery. The vehicle in question has not been produced and continues to be scheduled to be built the first week of November 2013. Our goal was to provide Ms. ****** with her vehicle on time, and at the agreed dollar figures. We have also agreed to return Ms. ******’s deposit check at her request. Should you have any further questions please contact **** ******, ***** Sales Manager at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely, 

****** ******************
Service ManagerAutoNation Honda Spokane Valley
###-###-####
E-mail ********************.com
Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue here is the reduction of the value of my trade-in.  I have talked with several other car dealers in the Spokane area and have determined that the practice of decreasing the trade-in value is unethical to say the least.  AutoNation could have done a dealer-trade to get the vehicle I wanted but chose not to.  I even told them of a car dealership in WA state that had that particlar vehicle and in fact, that same dealer is expecting another one the end of October. If the timing were the issue, I offered to solve that by turning my trade-in in to them and lease a vehicle until my new vehicle arrived.  AutoNation said they still would decrease the value of the trade-in by $3000, which is proof that timing was not the issue.  We need to focus on this unethical practice of reducing the value of a trade-in after a deal is made.

Regards,

**** ******




Business Response: Mr. ********: 

Below is our response to the most recent response from Ms. **** ****** (ID *******) 

08-10-13 we met **** ******. **** was interested in purchasing a new 2014 ***** MDX with a Advance/Entertainment Package in White Diamond Pearl exterior and Eucalyptus Parchment interior. Being we did not have this particular Package/Color in stock, nor could we locate one, we had to place a special order from the factory. When ordering from the factory all we can do at a dealership level is request the particular package and color and wait for a build date from the factory. The factory can not guarantee a production date of a special order. 

The car **** ****** has requested is still on order with a new production date of 11-01-13 (still subject to change). When notifying **** of the change in production dates of the MDX we also told her we would need to re-value her trade-in being so much time has passed. Trade-ins are always subject to change until the day we take possession. Factors that can change a trade-ins value are mileage, damages and market conditions i.e.: supply in demand, fuel costs, weather as with many others. We wanted to make sure **** knew of these factors as the trade would be affected. 

We still have the MDX on order for **** and would like the opportunity to show her what a trade value would look like when the MDX arrives. Since **** has talked to other dealers about her trade we could use any bid that she has got. 

Should you have any questions please contact **** ****** General Sales Manager at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely,  

****** ******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is obvious to me that this matter will never be solved as we are dealing with car dealers, and unfortunately the bad reputation attributed to car dealers is well-illustrated in this situation.  Their out-and-out lie that the vehicle I wanted could not be found is a very bold lie.  That exact vehicle was found by myself at a dealer in the Bellevue area, but for some reason, **** (the manager) would not deal with them. And once again I reiterate that I had offered to leave my trade-in with them at the time the car was supposed to be in, but they still refused to honor the deal.  Since it appears this is common practice for this Acura dealer, I have chosen to spend my $57,400 elsewhere where honesty and integrity exist.  Buyer beware when dealing with AutoNation.

Regards,

**** ******





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Acura Spokane Valley
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart