BBB Accredited Business since

American Auto Painting & Body Repair

Phone: (425) 271-4913 Fax: (425) 271-3525 310 Factory Pl N, Renton, WA 98057 http://www.americanautopaintingandbody.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile painting and auto body services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Auto Painting & Body Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Auto Painting & Body Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Auto Painting & Body Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Copeland, President Ms. Julie Copeland, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Copeland, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Alternate Business Names
DHC Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Auto Painting & Body Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 310 Factory Pl N

    Renton, WA 98057 (425) 271-4913

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am contacting the BBB in hopes to discuss with Mike C*******, owner of American Auto Paint, to make repairs to poor workmanship that American performed or had subcontracted. I have already attempted to discuss these problems directly by phone or certified letter but have not received a response. I paid American Auto a total of $10,147.37 to repair my 1976 2002 BMW. These repairs included metal repairs to the front cowls, stripping entire body down to metal, painting base/clear coat on the entire body (except for engine bay and trunk), installing a headliner and installing front and back windshields. Following delivery of the car January 22nd, I discovered the headliner had been damaged by the shop with a screw hole put in the wrong place. Shortly after, the headliner failed altogether, coming unglued and sagged. Then the front windshield leaked, flooding the floor pan from an incorrectly installed window seal. The sunroof rails then came off from incorrect screws used at installation. And lastly major errors to the body and paint work are apparent in the front panel which was not sanded smooth prior to paint, an incomplete clear run with drips near the cowls, and misaligned hood and doors causing damage to the new paint. I have contacted American on most of these problems multiple times by phone and once by certified letter providing them a quote from an outside technician to reinstall the headliner, windshield and sunroof tracks at their coast. American did not respond to my letter. After paying over $10,000 it is my hope in contacting Mr. C******* through the BBB that he will take seriously the problems in the workmanship his shop performed (or subcontracted) and want to make this right for me as his customer by either redoing the work correctly or proposing an agreeable refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mike C******* at American Auto Body to review my car personally to examine the work I paid his shop to do. Following a careful review of this work I would like him to have these issues corrected or refund me appropriately. These issues include having the headliner replaced or repaired, having my front windshield reinstalled and sealed correctly, reassemble the sunroof rails correctly and for any body or paint work not meeting the quality standards of the price I paid to be redone. It is my hope that Mr. C******* will agree with me that the current workmanship on my car does not meet the standards of a $10,000 job nor the reputation that I am sure Mr. C******* would want for his business. I sincerely hope that Mike and I can work together create a suitable way forward in making this right.

Business Response:

The gentleman came into the shop to ask what we were planning on doing. I had already wrote a check to him for the amount that was given by the other company. He hadn't received it so I cancelled that check and wrote him a new one giving it to him personally. He had said he will be fixing this too. He will be bringing his car to us on June 10th so that on Monday June 13th we will be able to start some repairs he needed done and for us to fix a few spots we need to fix.

 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

It appears that the American Auto had responded to my initial letter on May 4th with a check to have repairs done but for some reason the letter and check was lost by USPS. They did indeed cut me another check today and furthermore made arrangements to have some of the paint work repaired.  I am very pleased with their willingness to make things right and also pleased that they had initiated a resolution immediately following my initial letter (prior to a bbb complaint).

Following today's experience I will continue to recommend this business to others and ask that you maintain their high rating with the BBB


Sincerely,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on American Auto Painting & Body Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart