Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Weinstein & Riley, P.S.

Phone: (206) 269-3490 Fax: (206) 269-3493 2001 Western Ave Ste 400, Seattle, WA 98121 http://www.w-legal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers legal services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Weinstein & Riley, P.S. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Weinstein & Riley, P.S. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Weinstein & Riley, P.S.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1991 Business started: 03/16/1985 Business started locally: 03/16/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Bar Association
1325 4th Ave Ste 600, Seattle WA 98101
http://www.wsba.org
Phone Number: (206) 443-9722
questions@wsba.org

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William Weinstein, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Weinstein, President
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)


Additional Locations

  • 2001 Western Ave Ste 400

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 269-3490

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i recently filed chapter 13 bankruptcy. i have never receeived anything from this company, dont know what its for or when it occured. as soon as i filed, they showed up on my credit report. they were not on there before. when i looked up the ocmpany, they buy old debts and try to bring them present by contacting the person who owes the threat and try to collect. i was a victim of identity theft and as soon as i filed bankruptcy they show up on my credit report. i called and they couldnt even find an account number. they told me they were a third party collection company for several different companies but wouldnt give me nay other information. i dont have any outstanding debts in the amounts indicated. ive filed a report with the FTC and Ohio attorney general as well because this is not right and it is incorrect. i have never received any correspondence neither do i know who this is for. i have a fraud alert on my credit report because a thrid party collection agency took over $2400 from my account 2 years ago. i dont anyone any money and i dont know who these people are. i was informed to file a police report for fraud and i think that may be my best option.

Desired Settlement: To dimiss the fraudulent inquiry of my credit report and to have no further communication with the bankruptcy court.

Business Response: This is in response to the complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau by ****** ******

concerning the law firm Weinstein & Riley, P.S., ("W&R") on March 26, 2015. Because of personnel

turnover, the complaint was not brought to the attention of the appropriate parties at W&R until May 6,

2015. W&R apologizes for the delay in responding.

Ms. ******' complaint is that after she filed a Chapter 13 bankruptcy case, a claim showed up on her

credit report of which she was previously unaware. Ms. ****** reported that she called W&R but that

the unidentified person with whom she spoke was not able to provide her with information about the

account.

W&R does not have a record of a call from Ms. ******. In Ms. ******' complaint she did not state that she

provided any identifying information about herself in the call. Because as a matter of law it is illegal to

provide information about a debtor's account to a caller without first verifying the caller's identity, it is

not unlikely that Ms. ****** was not provided with information about the accounts.

After receiving the complaint, W&R reviewed its files and has located four accounts that the law firm is

handling on behalf of a client, ********* LLC ("********" ), that bear Ms. ******' name and address.

******** is the current owner of these four accounts. According to ********' records, Ms. ******

incurred the obligations underlying the accounts between February 2011 and May 2012:

On February 26, 2011, Ms. ****** incurred an obligation in the amount of $761.57 to an entity

named Paydayone.

On April 7, 2011, Ms. ****** incurred an obligation in the amount of $966.84 to an entity named

***** ***** LLC

On May 13, 2011, Ms. ****** incurred an obligation in the amount of $646.76 to a lender

named "***** * **."

On May 12, 2012, Ms. ****** incurred an obligation in the amount of $1,130.00 to an entity

named ******* ******.

Each of these loans was charged off by the original creditor when Ms. ****** defaulted on them.

Ms. ****** filed her bankruptcy petition on December 2, 2014. ******** purchased the accounts on

December 30, 2014, and W&R filed proofs of claim in her Chapter 13 case on January 8, 2015, on

account of them.

Neither ******** nor W&R as its attorney engage in credit reporting, and neither has reported these

debts to any credit reporting agency. Moreover, because ******** did not own the accounts before Ms.

****** filed her bankruptcy case, neither it nor W&R ever made any efforts to collect the debts before

Ms. ******' bankruptcy petition.

Ms. ******' attorney has filed an objection in her bankruptcy case to each of these claims, contending

that she has no obligation to ********. There is no contention that Ms. ****** does not owe the debts to

Paydayone, ***** ***** LLC, ***** * ** and ******* ******, whose names were clearly stated on the

proofs of claim. A debtor's denial of recognition of the current holder of her debt is not a sufficient basis

for an objection to a claim.

However, ******** is mindful that Ms. ****** claims to have been the victim of identity theft. ********

has communicated with Ms. ******' attorney and has withdrawn the claims based on the assertion that

Ms. ****** did not borrow the funds reflected in the accounts.

W&R hopes this information satisfies the concerns raised in the complaint. Please let W&R know if there

are any additional concerns or questions.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10549911, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I never received prior response from this law firm, ******** or any if these companies. None if these companies were able to give me anything in writing or could locate my account. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our bank account was seized without notification of claim. We just refinanced our home and WPR released a lien they filed on our house stemming from a debt incurred in the 1990s. WPR said we had been served on debt when we never received any notification from any court in Texas. I haven't worked in 1 year and money seized was my wife's paycheck which was our sole income. The action WPR took left us in dire conditions. Supposed complaint of WPR was in my name only and bank account has my wife's name included. This debt should have been removed after 7 years and they're collecting 24 years later.

Desired Settlement: Release of our checking account and taken money $1,200 restored.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ April 17, 2014 Better Business Bureau Complaint Department Re: **** **** Case No. XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern: *********, Pinson & Riley, P.S. ("WPR"), has received the complaint that you forwarded from **** **** dated April 4, 2014. Mr. **** complains that his bank account with **** ****** ***** containing $1,200.00 that he shared with his wife was frozen without receiving notice of a lawsuit WPR filed against him in Texas based on an unpaid credit card account. Mr. **** requests that his checking account be released and that the $1,200.00 be returned. In the underlying action, WPR represents its client, ******* ****** ************ which acquired the credit card debt at issue from the original creditor ********* **** ************** on ********* behalf, on March 19, 2007. WPR filed a Petition for Collection of the Liquidated Amount (the "Petition") on behalf of ****** requesting a judgment be entered against Mr. **** in the amount of ********* in the Justice Court, Precinct No. 4, Dallas County, Texas, and Mr. **** was validly served in person with the Petition on April 10, 2007. The debt at issue arose from an unpaid credit card issued by ******** with an account number ********* (the "Account"). Mr. **** defaulted on the Account on November 3, 2003. WPR filed the petition within the applicable six-year statute of limitations in Texas to collect on an unpaid credit card account. Mr. **** failed to file an Answer to that Petition and the court granted a default judgment in favor of ****** in the amount of $4,663.82 on June 8, 2007. ****** subsequently assigned the judgment to ****** ****** ************ On ******** behalf, WPR filed an application for a writ of garnishment against Mr. **** and **** ****** ****** **** *********** in the Dallas County Justice Court on January 8, 2014. On February 7, 2014, the Dallas County Justice Court signed an Order for Issuance of Writ of Garnishment. ***** froze *** ****' bank account until the garnishment proceeding is resolved. However, ***** has not yet removed funds from his account. Mr. **** called WPR on April 3, 2014, after the writ of garnishment was already issued. Mr. **** asked if he could pay off the judgment through a payment plan. He was told that he could either pay the entire balance in full or wait until the garnishment proceeding was resolved before he could setup a payment plan to pay off the remaining balance. When a writ of garnishment has been issued, it is WPR policy to not arrange payment plans with a debtor until the garnishment proceeding has been resolved. On April 14, 2014, WPR forwarded a proposed garnishment order to ****** WPR expects that the order **** be signed soon and Mr. ****'s bank account **** be released. Thereafter, he can contact WPR to arrange a payment plan for the remaining balance. On April 15, 2014, WPR sent Mr. **** a letter notifying him of the garnishment proceedings with information on how to contact WPR to discuss the case. If Mr. **** is experiencing a financial hardship he should contact WPR to explain his circumstances and explore the possibility of a special payment plan. Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. WPR welcomes the opportunity to discuss this matter. Kind regards, ****** ** ****** *********, Pinson & Riley, P.S.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Weinstein & Riley, P.S.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)