Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Law Offices of James H Magee

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 383-1001 Fax: (253) 383-2813 1108 N 6th St, Tacoma, WA 98403 http://www.washingtonbankruptcy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers legal services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Law Offices of James H Magee meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Law Offices of James H Magee include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Law Offices of James H Magee
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1996 in WA Business started locally: 10/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Bar Association
1325 4th Ave Ste 600, Seattle WA 98101
http://www.wsba.org
Phone Number: (206) 443-9722
questions@wsba.org

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James Magee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Magee, Owner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Family Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Attorneys & Lawyers - Personal Injury & Property Damage Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)


Additional Locations

  • 1108 N 6th St

    Tacoma, WA 98403 (253) 383-1001

  • PO Box 1132

    Tacoma, WA 98401

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 18th my appointment with Mr. James M**** was for a free half hour consultation to discuss my situation at the time. Regretfully he convince me to retain his services with a deposit of 200.00 that would be refunded if I decided not to continue with his services. So on the next day the 19th I called his office to cancel his service and I would like to get my deposit back and I was told by one of his office staff that she would send the request to accounting and it would take 2 weeks to get my full refund. I thought that this was strange and not normal for any business to hold a deposit for such time, so I asked his office staff for a refund discloser form or policy refund and her reply was that she would get back to me. After countless phone calls no return calls from James M**** and his office staff after I canceled my service with them. Nothing worse then feeling like you just got taken and rip off by an attorney James M****. On March 24th after over a month requesting my deposit I receive a final accounting of time and expense for the total of 185.46 for nothing. I find this fee's to be fraudulent and deceitful. This attorney did nothing for me. How can he justify this? Honestly I don't care about the money it's that fact this James M**** mislead me . His deceitful practice needs to be stop. This Attorney needs to disclose fees up front to everyone.

Desired Settlement: Return my full deposit of 200.00 and or a full refund discloser or policy form that I sign

Business Response:

***Please see attached documents***

We have reviewed Mr. *******'s complaint with the BBB. We feel that the charges are just and
authorized. On occasion, individuals don't understand that legal services are not like a pair of shoes
that one purchases at Nordstroms or REI. In a retail transaction at REI or Nordstroms that Mr.
******* might engage with at Nordstroms or REI, he can purchase a pair of shoes and wear the shoes
around town for a few days (or maybe even months) and then still return them for a full refund.
Retailers like Nordstroms and REI do or did have advertised "no questions asked" return policies.
Bring it back whenever and in whatever condition and receive a full refund - regardless of the
amount of use or the passage of time.
We understand that Mr. ******* might have expected his transaction with us to operate like a
Nordstroms or REitransaction as on rare occasion we do encounter people who have not employed
professionals previously. But we are clear in our fee policy (Mr. ******* was provided a copy on
Februazy I 8, 20 I 6) that our transaction does not operate like one at Nordstroms or REI.
Quite plainly, we ~ave drafted protections with respect to ensure we are treated fairly once we have
agreed to serve as counsel. This protects us from expending our resources without any compensation
when someone later decides to cancel a case for which they have contracted. Provision J recites:
"If you have paid your Down Payment Fee and/or Balance of payments fee and filing fee but cancel
the case or representation prior to filing .... then you agree that you will pay for all time and expenses
expended in dealing with your situation as follows: $395 per hour for attorney time, $170 per hour
for staff time including but not limited to all time and expense expended in checking in and
following up with.you, collecting your case information .... There is also an agreed minimum file set
up expenditure of .3 hours staff time and an agreed minimum file decommission/archive expenditure
of .5 hours of staff time, plus a presently agreed minimum attorney time of .3 hours for preparing and
approving the final billing and disengagement letter. Photocopies, pacer fees, and fax fees are to be
paid by you as otherwise provided herein this document at section 11(7)."

It appears that we have billed generously given those terms in Provision J. We billed only .25 of an
hour instead of .3 hours for file set-up, and at a reduced rate of $120 per hour instead of $170.
Furthermore, we billed the allowed .5 hours for file decommission/archive, but at the generous rate
of $120 per hour instead of $170. Furthermore, we reduced the time billed for attorney time in
connection with disengagement from .3 hours to .2 hours and reduced the rate from $370 per hour to
just $355 per hour. All told, the bill sent to Mr. ******* could have been as high as $272.46 under the
terms of the fee policy - but we reduced it originally by $87.00 to $185.46. (See attached). We
generously provided a refund of$14.54 that we did not have to provide.
Our fee policy also recites:
"I incur no expense, fee or charge until the Down Payment Flat Fee has been paid to the
attorney .. .. The agreement is not effective and attorney does not work on my case as my attorney
until after the Down Payment Fee has been paid to the attorney." In this case, Mr. ******* did
provide the down payment flat fee of $200.
Professional services like attorneys and perhaps CP As usually don' t work in the Nordstroms/REl
fashion - which is understandably how Mr. ******* may think it should operate. Some individuals,
perhaps including Mr. ******* do not understand this. We only have our time to sell. We can't send
the slightly used pair of shoes to the Nordstrom's Rack or the REI to recoup, so we have placed the
above provision "J" in our fee policy. It is quite rare in my experience that there is a lack of
understanding of the difference between a transaction with a professional like a CPA or attorney, and
a retail purchase transaction with a retailer like REI/Nordstroms.
However, in the spirit of compromise, we would be willing to reduce the charges by $50.00 from
$185.46 down to $114.46 if Mr. ******* should agree that the receipt of $50.00 would resolve all
issues between himself and this office. Should Mr. ******* agree to this compromise, then we would
anticipate issuing a check in the amount of $50.00 to Mr. ******* within 15 days of receiving Mr.
*******'s notification that he has accepted the compromise.
At no time did I make any promise or representation to Mr. ******* that his $200 deposit was fully
refundable. To the extent he has suggested he received such information, his recollection is faulty.
At no time have I ever made such a representation to anyone in a bankruptcy transaction.
lam sorry that Mr. ******* believes our response time to his request for an accounting of time and
expense and a billing was unreasonable. We only do such billings once monthly. In any event, the
$14.54 refund was dispatched to Mr. ******* on March 17, 2016, which is fewer than 30 days after
his request for a final billing and accounting. We feel that completing the accounting within fewer
than 30 days was a reasonable business practice given that this is a small office with a part-time
bookkeeper. Mr. *******'s portion of unearned fees and his accounting were dispatched to him
within just 28 days.
We try to be generous with those who have fallen on hard times; but Mr. ******* is still earning
relatively well. We do note that Mr. ******* is still fairly well off; he has earned highly and his spouse
does not work. Mr. ******* and his family enjoy substantial home equity and two luxury vehicles one
is almost brand new and the other a larger and costly imported sports sedan. It is also surprising
that at Mr. *******'s income and financial sophistication level he would perceive this transaction like
a REI/Nordstroms shoe purchase.
We wish the best for Mr. ******* and his family as he contemplates bankruptcy and confronts his
financial problems. We anticipate that he received valuable insight and information in his
consultation.
If there was some particular complaint that Mr. ******* had with a staff member or myself, it has not
been forwarded to me, but I would be happy to address the issue if Mr. ******* would share it with
me.
Please advise Mr. ******* of this offer and let us know whether he responds that he would like to
accept. If he does not timely respond with an acceptance or a rejection of our offer to resolve all
conflict in exchange for $50.00, then we ask that the BBB complaint filed by Mr. ******* be
dismissed for lack of a response on the part of Mr. *******.
Very truly yours,

James

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Law Offices of James H Magee
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)