Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Basin Appliance Repair

Phone: (208) 936-0665   http://www.basinappliance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides appliance repair & service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Basin Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Basin Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Basin Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 18, 2012 Business started: 02/23/2012 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Office of the Secretary of State
700 W. Jefferson 203, P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0080
http://www.idsos.state.id.us/
Fax Number: 208-334-2282

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Randy Bailey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Bailey, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Card, Check
Service Area
This company services the Treasure Valley, McCall, Donnelly and Cascade, ID areas.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Basin Appliance Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 713 Castle Rock Pl

    Middleton, ID 83644 (208) 936-0665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Basin Appliance Repair for a garage freezer issue. Randy came out and tested the freezer. He stated that there was a part that needed to be replaced that should solve the issue. His website guarantees his parts and lbor for 1 year. Two days later, the freezer stopped working. I called Randy and he said from the sound I was describing, it sounded like a bad evaporater. He said the cost to repair that would run about $400. I told him it was too much and i would just buy a new freezer. He said he would refund my money and asked if he could have the old freezer to fix and donate. I told him he could. one week went by and no refund. I called and left a message. no return call. another week went by and this time I sent him an email on his website. No reply. I called a second time. no response. I have called a total of 6 times and one email He will not respond. I have filed a complaint with my credit card company as well This person seems like a fraud. I think he purposly did not repair the freezer so that I would give it to him and he could repair and sell for a profit. he is a scam artist. The fact that he has never responded to any of my calls or email is a huge concern but he has stole money from me and he needs to refund it. his website says 1 full year. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I would like my $102.00 full refund. parts and labor.

Business Response:

Basin Appliance Repair diagnosed Mr. *****'s GE freezer on 4/12/16 as requested by Mr. *****.  The diagnosis was that the start relay on the compressor had failed.  The cause of failure had two possible scenarios.  1.  The start relay is defective or 2. The compressor is defective and ending it's service life.  Due to federal law all components in a refrigeration system are sealed in a metal housing known as a sealed system.  The compressor being sealed makes it impossible to inspect in any practical or traditional manner.  The only way to judge it's likely condition is measuring its amperage draw during operation.  On this GE freezer any amperage in excess of 1.75 amps would indicate immediate replacement is required, 1.13 amps being original(new) reading.  Any reading in between  1.13 and 1.75 amps is possibly repairable with a new relay but not guaranteed due to the fact as the compressor runs and heats up and the amperage may drastically increase destroying the new start relay.  The only repair guaranteed to repair the freezer would be replacing the compressorMr. ***** stated he would not replace the compressor.  The cost of that repair is in excess of $400.          Mr. *****'s freezer pulled an average of 1.6 amps which is marginal but very possible that it may last for years with a new relay but in no way guaranteed.  I explained the above to him and he indicated he would not replace the compressorI quoted him $101.50 to replace the start relay.  $25 part $75 labor $1.5 tax.  This is well below my normal rate but felt it better to fix it that have it end up in the landfill.  Mr ***** agreed to the repair.  Any refrigeration technician can validate my diagnosis and my discounted rate.

     The bottom line of this is simple.  The compressor in Mr. *****'s freezer damaged the new start relay, it was not a faulty part covered under warranty.  The labor I performed was not faulty.  When I departed his residence the freezer was cooling and there was no way any technician could predict if and when the unit would fail.  As stated above the only guaranteed repair for this freezer would have been a compressor replacement.

     I was surprised when I received a call from Mr. ***** days later informing me the repair only lasted a few days and he wanted his money back.  For customer satisfaction and what guessed as a confused customer I agreed to refund the money for the start relay even though it was not a faulty part and was damaged by the compressor the customer declined to repair. 

   ** Before I refunded the $25 I was contacted by Mr. *****'s credit card company with a request from Mr. ***** to have all $101.50 refunded as a false or bad charge.  I explained the charge and provided documentation of the service I provided.  Mr. *****'s credit card company agreed it was a valid charge and declined his request for $101.50 refund.  Receiving services and then not paying for them is a crime in the state of Idaho.

     I did refund Mr. ***** $25. 
Since this started this is a quick rundown of communications with Mr. *****.  I did save these messages so it is documented.
6/5/16 I want a full $101.50 refund.  Even though at his request I travelled to his location, diagnosed, repaired his freezer.
6/6/16 I was a crock of shit and a scam artist and I better refund the full $101.50
6/6/16 Mr. ***** has a witness that I told him the part was $52 and I was using bait and switch so I better refund him.  Obvious lie.  Trying to change the tax alone and still keeping to the same price would be a mess.
6/9/16 Mr ***** insults my web page.
6/10/16 Mr. ***** demands $101.50.
6/17/16 Mr ***** states that I am a blue collar worker that lives in Middleton(that was intended as an insult but I find it a compliment) that I am lousy at what I do.  I am a liar, I am running scam, he feels sorry for me, etc.
There are many more but this gives a feel for his manner.

Basin Appliance Repair has been in business for over four years.  We complete between 4 and 8 repairs a day five days a week.  Mr. ***** claims that finding 3 bad reviews on the web to validated his rant.  The reviews he found oddly enough are not customers I did work for but a method a competitor uses to get work.  On his complaint to the BBB he states parts and work I never discussed with him.  Evaporator?  That I was scamming him by trying to donate the freezer charity and that I just wanted to resell it.  If needed the pastor at the youth ranch I help will verify I asked him if he would like it and he declined the freezer and that is why I did not ask again about it.  So I feel the only possible way of dealing with Mr. ***** is to have my attorney file suit and demonstrate there is a penalty to false statement and knowingly smearing for financial gain.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  This is not true or accurate!  This is not what I was told!  His website states all parts and labor are guaranteed for one full year!!!  The owner has texted me and called me a dummy, a dirt bag and has implied multiple times that I am ignorant because I do not agree with his lying to me and stopped at my home to throw a $25 check in my mail box which is totally illegal.  I did not appreciate him opening my mailbox and seeing my mail.  He is unethical and untrustworthy!  The freezer lasted 1 day!  If the amperage was low, he should have known better than to try and do a patch job!  Someone from BBB needs to look at his website!  1 full year!!!  That's not what I received!!

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: There is nothing to offer to resolve this.  ***** ***** is making up my service call and part prices from thin air, how can I resolve this?  Basin Appliance Repair has never charged a $60 service call, ever.  He states as fact we charge $60.  If I did state it was a $60 service call he would state I quoted him a $40 service call, this is a non resolvable issue because it is obviously has nothing to do with the repair or cost.   You can't resolve or settle with a untruthful extortionist.  He has written bad reviews on social media as he threatened to do if I did not give him money.  I have a competitor that writes bad reviews on his competition and this is about the same, untruthful and typically what you would expect from a certain type of person.  I have provided his invoice, proven false statements, what else is required to resolve this with the BBB.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I agree there is nothing more to do!  Basin Appliance owner Randy did in fact quote $60 and he charged the same amount at a previous service call about 2 years earlier.  He called me a dirt bag and other names, he's lied every step of the way!  What is BBB going to do to resolve this?  Nothing!  Keep the money, you obviously need it!  

Sincerely,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Basin Appliance Repair
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart